paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on jontom's Review / Comments on jontom's Review / Comments on jontom's Review / Comments on jontom's Review

Comments on jontom's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

jontom Thursday, April 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
old flat style hoppers and they have nothing over this one. this is simply the best small capacity hopper out there.
Marker Setup: Automag w/ 20 oz remote tank 11" custom barrel
VL Triad w/ 14" smart parts progressive barrel
Spyder Victor II
Tippman 98 w/ 9 oz tank 21" barrel.....anyone want a 21" barrel btw lol, dang gas hog
Strengths: small,more "realistic" shot capacity,unobtrusive,perfect for sniping and simulation
Weaknesses: clear color. easily fixed with some black or camo spraypainting.
Review: this is simply the best hopper for "realistic" tactical games and for snipers. people are getting way too into large capacity hoppers and wasting paint. MAKE YOUR PAINT COUNT!!!!!! why would a "sniper" use a 200+ count hopper? the only reason i can come up with is... they must be a lousy shot! one shot one kill. as for "realistic tactical" games, you have to be aware of how many rounds you can carry and how many you have spent. what better way than with a low count hopper? anybody can hit someone with enough paint flying out of their barrel. try doing it with as few rounds spent as possible. i have heard some people say you can't use this hopper with a semi-auto. you can if you vent the hopper with a few well placed holes drilled into it to vent gas. i use it with my Automag, Triad, and Tippman and shoot about 8-10 bps with it.
Conclusion: the only recommendations i can make for it is spray paint it either camo or flat black, depending on your game areas, and to drill some holes in it to vent gas when used with a semi-auto
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 15th, 2004 at 6:52 pm PST
 

Review Comments
tippmann4life98 Saturday, December 11th, 2004 | 10:30 pm PST
i want one...how much??
   

ncoco252 Thursday, April 7th, 2005 | 5:46 pm PST
i know this is an old review but where did u drill the holes?
   

CCI Sunday, April 10th, 2005 | 7:37 am PST
Well, I guess it's a good thing I play to have fun, not to have "real tactical experiance." I be that when it's a nice windy day or you chop a ball, you wish you had an extra 160 rounds.
   

rrdude Friday, June 24th, 2005 | 6:53 pm PST
lol i agree CCI...half the fun of playing is moding your marker to go faster...im not a speed baller and i have a 98c the king of spec ops paintball and rec ball...dont even try to argue it...well i got mine to shoot 15bps...and just seeing that is so much fun...why aim if you dont have to...if you want a tactical experence join the Marines like i will be doing in 2years.
   

Slinky17 Friday, March 17th, 2006 | 4:16 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by rrdude
lol i agree CCI...half the fun of playing is moding your marker to go faster...im not a speed baller and i have a 98c the king of spec ops paintball and rec ball...dont even try to argue it...well i got mine to shoot 15bps...and just seeing that is so much fun...why aim if you dont have to...if you want a tactical experence join the Marines like i will be doing in 2years.

MARINES ROCK!!!
   

ViceVersa Tuesday, September 5th, 2006 | 4:58 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Slinky17


MARINES ROCK!!!


correction, air force rocks.
   

MecTurtleCocker Wednesday, November 1st, 2006 | 3:33 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ViceVersa


correction, air force rocks.


Agreed. And Uhh..There is no such thing as a paintball sniper, I will pee my pants if you can shoot 5 rounds and get 5 eliminations.
   

pber13 Sunday, January 21st, 2007 | 9:09 pm PST
if you are a really good pump player, that would be relatively common
   

Ravenwulfe Sunday, March 18th, 2007 | 2:28 pm PST
I just wanted to point out the reason a sniper would want a large hopper is for two reasons
A) A paintball's accuracy is no where near a real bullet, so extra paint is sometimes needed... especially in a scenario game (I am never playing a scenario with a 30 round tac cap ever again).
B) I ask you, what's more stealthy? A guy who doesn't need to move as much with a larger hopper or a guy who has to reload frequently with a smaller hopper? If you can't move anywhere without being spotted, a larger hopper comes in VERY handy for holding your position.

Trust me, I snipe a lot in games (One shot kills are unreasonable unless it's at short-medium range, which isn't too tough if you can shoot properly). It's a lot more convenient to camouflage a hopper than to refill every few minutes. Just because you have more ammo loaded doesn't mean you'll shoot more. Besides, it's better to be versatile and change roles as needed. A sniper isn't always going to be necessary (case in point, I would rather have riflemen and support as opposed to a sniper if I were to defend a line against charging players which happens a lot in scenarios).

But overall, good review and this might be one of the few popular Brass Eagle products out there. =)
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media