paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Rotties67's Review / Comments on Rotties67's Review / Comments on Rotties67's Review / Comments on Rotties67's Review

Comments on Rotties67's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Rotties67 Friday, April 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Blue Streak (horrible paintballs)
After Burner (Like purgatory, not really bad, but not good either)
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix
Evo 2 Hopper
14" J&J Ceramic barrel
Dye Sticky 3 E-Grips
ACI Bulldog 3 68/4500 HPA
32* Spring Kit
Recommended
Barrels:
J&J worked great. The Stock Spyder barrel worked well too.
Strengths: Strength of shell, bright fill, accurate
Weaknesses: None yet noted
Review: This paintball is great for the price (about $26 for a thousand, same as for Blue Streak). I put them through all sorts of tests with my Fenix, and it passed with flying colors. Here is a rundown of what I did and the results of each.

Full Hopper on full auto: For me this is one of the best tests. Gives you that whole Rambo feeling. But for all the work not one paintball broke. I was already impressed.

Semi-Auto with mixed firing speeds: Again the painballs did not break. I staggered the shooting from 8-10 a second to maybe one or two with pauses in between.

3 or 6 round bursts: Again the results were the same. Paint held up better than I thought it would. For Wal Mart paint this just became my new choice.

Target practice: The groupings were all within about 3-4 inches of each other, but every once in a while you get the "kamikaze paintball" that likes to fly off and do it's own thing.

Now I will warn you that my wife had nothing but problems with this paint in her Spyder Imagine (we shared the bag of paint, so it cuts down quite a bit on the variables coming from paint. Anyway, she had more paint in the barrel then anywhere else, but I think I know why.

1. She was shooting with un-siphoned CO2 (Might has well have been Chirstmas for all the snow she was spraying.

2. Due to the fact that the batteries in her Egg2 had died, she was shooting with a regular gravity fed hopper. And although she wasn't shooting burst or auto, she was still shooting too fast for the paint to keep up.

3. She never cleaned the barrel after the first break.
Conclusion: I like these paintballs and recommend them to anyone that is playing recreationally. I know they wouldn't be my first choice for a tournament, but they are cheap and pretty accurate. The only reason I am marking it a 7 is because the trouble my wife's marker has with this paint. She will shoot 30-50 fine, then it looks lie she is finger painting with her barrel. And this is paint that is grabbed from the SAME BAG that I was using and didn't break one.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 26th, 2004 at 4:26 am PST
 

Review Comments
whistlebritches Friday, April 16th, 2004 | 6:55 am PST
un anti-syphoned co2 won't cause barrel breaks, or chopping. If your wife was shooting under 9bps, the hopper should've kept up. Are you sure it was chopping, and not barrel breaks?
Good review anyways, though.
   

Rotties67 Friday, April 16th, 2004 | 8:33 am PST
To be honest it could have been simply barrel breaks, the only reason I thought it might be otherwise is because I used the J&J ceramic as well as the stock Fenix barrel and shot fine both ways. However, we have since gotten her a used Dye Boomstick, and are playing this weekend. I'll update it then and make the neccessary changes.

Thanks for the feedback.
   

dude14 Saturday, April 17th, 2004 | 8:10 am PST
man, im glad these balls work good for yall, but they are horrible for me. Some boxes of 500 have no broken balls in them and work fine, but others dont. i dont really get it. i use draxxus dusks( 2$ cheaper, NO chops)
   

Rotties67 Monday, April 19th, 2004 | 10:45 am PST
Here is the weird thing about these, after all the ones I have gone through, I haven't chopped one with my Fenix. My wife's Imagine will do nothing but chop them. I have let her use my barrel, the HPA over CO2, all sorts of stuff, but nothing works for her. The strange part is we share the bags. So I will take a hundred, and have not one problem, she will take a hundred, shoot fifty fine, then the barrel wants to finger paint with the rest.
   

bry1187 Tuesday, July 6th, 2004 | 8:24 pm PST
is it only this paint she chops... maybe she needs a new bolt or something
   

TIPPMANN1490 Thursday, December 23rd, 2004 | 3:12 pm PST
anti chop system
   

Empyre Saturday, December 25th, 2004 | 7:52 pm PST
Where exactly does the paint get "chopped" if its in the chamber then you probably need a new bolt, maybe her's is scratched to bad. If the paint pops in here barrel then she either needs a good squeegee or to get a barrel that has been microhoned. I have a little problem with barrel breaks in my imagine but that is because I am using the stock barrel and I can even see that inside it is not the smoothest.
   

pigpower100 Friday, March 25th, 2005 | 5:53 pm PST
arn't afterburners and blue streak the same thing
   

SuperMan23 Tuesday, March 29th, 2005 | 3:55 pm PST
Do any of you guys think that these balls will bust b/c of the speed of a fast gun ? One guy told me that Scorch paintballs dont do so well in a fast gun and im about to get a ICD Freestyle and i dont know what kind of balls from wal-mart..lol no other place to get balls around where i live unless i order them...but n e ways what kind of balls do you guys think will do good in that fast of a gun w/ out the busting in the gun ? from wal-mart that is :)
   

jester_s1 Monday, August 29th, 2005 | 6:20 pm PST
If she was blowing snow the breaking is probably from that. My Imagine does the same thing without an anti siphon tank, and I've beveled the bolt to make it a little more ball friendly.
The lack of a regulator makes Imagines a little rough on paint too. I just added one to mine and it has helped.
   

alienshinubie Monday, September 19th, 2005 | 8:22 pm PST
LOL,
Eggs feed horrible wen there gravity and no battery. Sometimes the paint wont even feed cuz the impellers get in the way. Duh she was choppin, imagines dont have eyes. Nothing wrong with paint. If the only reason that it was given a 7 was becuz of ur wifes experience then Your review was not at all helpful.
   

Hellbovine Thursday, October 27th, 2005 | 2:50 pm PST
If you are not having problems, while sharing the same bag with your wife, who is having problems, and after reading all of your explanations, I am almost 100% positive that this is the problem:

Your wife is trying to shoot fast, which is fine but she may not be pulling the trigger all the way back, she may actually be chopping her own paint because she isn't allowing the bolt and striker to return to their proper place before she pulls the trigger and fires again.

In essence, she's chopping her own paint. Have her shoot her gun right in front of you a few times and watch her trigger finger... can she pull the trigger back further than she is? if so, than she is chopping her paint, its not her gun.
   

FockerJ9 Tuesday, December 20th, 2005 | 7:53 pm PST
u need to teach your wife how to handle your paintballs, tell her she needs a ball agitating hopper, preferably a vibrating or propeller agitating one, and also tell her not to outshoot your balls, those balls can only feed so fast, and if she is squeezing off alot of your balls per second then your balls may jam, even if they are fresh from your bag, i would also reccomend nitrogen propelled balls, so that she wont be snow-blowing from the barrels end anymore or get a anti-siphon tube for your tank, as co2 tends to snowblow alot under cool conditions, if she gets new ball feeding stuff and learns how to treat your balls carefully with the right equipment she will find your balls wont bust nearly as fast as they were before, longer time between ball busts=more fun for the shooter, u might need a lighter anitchop bolt which is much softer on your balls than the stock, id get a delrin one that forces your balls back up into the hopper rather than busting them in the chamber, making a big gooey mess, you can also modify your own bolt as that one guy said, so that it has a chance of pushing your balls back up into the ball feed neck, this is done by grinding your bolt to like a crescent moon shape so that it gently cups your balls and pushes them in or out rather than smashing them into the bolt, you can also give her smaller balls to play with, a smaller size paintball could perhaps feed better and pass through the tube smoother than a big sized ball
Last edited on Tuesday, December 20th, 2005 at 8:08 pm PST
   

notinthenutts! Saturday, June 10th, 2006 | 8:34 pm PST
no noted weaknesses and yet you give them a 7...

?
   

madcatmk3 Sunday, July 9th, 2006 | 9:35 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by SuperMan23
Do any of you guys think that these balls will bust b/c of the speed of a fast gun ? One guy told me that Scorch paintballs dont do so well in a fast gun and im about to get a ICD Freestyle and i dont know what kind of balls from wal-mart..lol no other place to get balls around where i live unless i order them...but n e ways what kind of balls do you guys think will do good in that fast of a gun w/ out the busting in the gun ? from wal-mart that is :)
I know this is late but I got an FS 05 I have two recomendations for you.
1. Get your board flashed to predator code.
2. Do your own trigar job.
And for paint you can use big balls they work well.
   

madcatmk3 Sunday, July 9th, 2006 | 9:41 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by SuperMan23
Do any of you guys think that these balls will bust b/c of the speed of a fast gun ? One guy told me that Scorch paintballs dont do so well in a fast gun and im about to get a ICD Freestyle and i dont know what kind of balls from wal-mart..lol no other place to get balls around where i live unless i order them...but n e ways what kind of balls do you guys think will do good in that fast of a gun w/ out the busting in the gun ? from wal-mart that is :)
I know this is late but I got an FS 05 I have two recomendations for you.
1. Get your board flashed to predator code.
2. Do your own trigar job.
And for paint you can use big balls they work well.
   

JChan819 Sunday, January 21st, 2007 | 6:45 pm PST
Dude, IMPACT is the way to go!!!
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media