paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on p8ntboy2000's Review / Comments on p8ntboy2000's Review / Comments on p8ntboy2000's Review / Comments on p8ntboy2000's Review / Comments on p8ntboy2000's Review

Comments on p8ntboy2000's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

p8ntboy2000 Friday, April 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months28 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I returned a TES marker and bought a Misfit because the TES kept having problems. The Misfit has been real good to me and the guys at Syndicate are the best! They talked to me for over an hour on the phone just to go over how the gun works. I didn't even to read the owners manual!
Marker Setup: I really didn't need to add any accessories to it since it came with almost everything I wanted on a gun. I use a Crossfire 47ci with 3k preset reg. I get the marker down to low pressure easily and it works good with my CO2 tank when I can't get my HP tank filled.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If someone can dual reg it for CO2 use you'll be able to get it to work at lower pressure. But at 500psi it works real good with CO2. On my HP set up I have it humming at 375psi! Not bad for a sear tripping blow back!
Strengths: Looks great, Works Awesome, stock parts are made very well, Syndicates service is the best!
Weaknesses: I wish they had more aftermarket accessories from the factory
Review: This gun is the best gun you can get under $300. NO CONTEST. I bought mine for only $255 and that was much less than what I paid for my TES gun which never worked. When I returned my TES I even had enough to buy a new revy!!! The Misfit works great and the guys at Syndicate are really cool. They spent a lot of time with me to make sure I knew how to use my new gun. Keith at Syndicate told me that everyone that works there plays paintball and this made me feel real good about my purchase. I liked knowing that the Misfit was made by paintball players and that they use their own product. I heard the Draxxus paint is made the same way and that's why I only shoot Draxxus. It's better to know that your stuff is made by paintball PLAYERS and not some old dude in a board room. The Misfit works just as good as it looks. I dumped a hopper full of paint with at its max rate of fire (16BPS!) and didn't chop a ball once. The gun has a lot of milliing and a ton of features. 3 firing modes, adjustable rate of fire up to 16 bps, adjustable trigger, LED display, ALL METAL HANDLE, a really cool valve, and other stuff. This is only the 4th gun I've owned and is far the best for what I paid for it!!!
Conclusion: I recommend that anyone with $250 that is looking for a new gun ... BUY A MISFIT! The service from these guys and the gun itself are awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
nahthan Friday, April 23rd, 2004 | 1:15 pm PST
No contest >?

What about a used BKO ?
How about a used MAG?
Maybe even a used COCKER?
How about a PHANTOM, SNIPER, or an AMP ILLUSION?
Or even a PGP?
Perhaps a PIRHANA or an E-SPYDER?
(all can be bought for and most are slightly to extremly modded for $300)


IF YOU SET THE MARKER TO FIRE AT 16 BPS THAT DOESN'T MEAN YOU SHOOT AT 16 BPS AND A 12 VOLT REVOLUTION FEEDS AT AN AVERAGE 12.6 BPS !
Last edited on Friday, April 23rd, 2004 at 1:25 pm PST
   

whistlebritches Friday, April 23rd, 2004 | 2:23 pm PST
Actually, a revvy with an x-board only feeds a constant 11.0 bps. And, if you paid more than $250 for a T.E.S., you are an idiot. If you would have ordered it online, you could have gotten it for $250. Also, if you worked at a paintball place, wouldn't you play? You would need to be fired if you didn't play. It seems like you're saying that if you work at a paintball place that you wouldn't be expected to play. That's like saying that an automotive technician doesn't work on cars.
   

p8ntboy2000 Monday, April 26th, 2004 | 9:14 am PST
I have bought other markers and the SERVICE behind them was crap. I was trying to show that their service is good nothing more. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, and I know my purchase was the right one for me. When the TES first came out you could not buy it online for less than $275...believe me I checked. BKO's, Cockers, Mags are a bit too sophisticated for my level of play. I need a marker that can be easily teched and I do not know as much about these markers as a simple upper & lower bolt just yet. I have owned a Spyder and Piranha before and when I had a question I could not get any real help from the manufacturers. They seemed too busy to care. You guys may know enough about guns but for the newbie the Misfit is an excellent choice. You can knock me all you want, but you can't deny that I am happy with my new marker and the service that was given to me. Maybe when my level of play get to "cocker/mag" status I'll feel differently about using an upper and lower bolt marker but I believe the MISFIT is an excellent stepping stone. You shouldn't care too much about what I am doing and just worry about what you're doing.
   

PBrocker Saturday, May 1st, 2004 | 4:00 pm PST
ADA KID...TELL EM
   

player4 Sunday, June 27th, 2004 | 3:15 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by p8ntboy2000
Mags are a bit too sophisticated for my level of play.

mag to sophisticated...........it's 100% mechanical...........maintenance requires oiling to gun.........hardly anything goes wrong with those guns....they're probably the most relibale guns also............to sophisticated for your level of play..............MAN YOU MUST BE THE CRAPPIEST PLAYER I HAVE EVER HERD OF!
   

sodiumbenzoate Monday, July 5th, 2004 | 8:23 am PST
?

This gun is basically entry level.

A mag is mid level or even low-high level.

There's a big difference in the people who are going to buy the two guns.

Besides, I'd much rather have a new marker, that may not be quite as good, over a used marker.
   

mattjwhitworth Tuesday, July 13th, 2004 | 4:54 pm PST
i don't have a comment but a question. can you walk the trigger?
   

mattjwhitworth Wednesday, July 14th, 2004 | 9:46 am PST
I want to know if you can walk the trigger on this misfit gun because i might buy one.
   

mattjwhitworth Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004 | 3:27 pm PST
forget it i'll just save up more and buy an impy
   

AceMcCloud Friday, August 20th, 2004 | 3:07 pm PST
Mattjwhitworth; yes you can i am sitting in my pro shop right now playing with this gun. To tell you the truth i am actually impress with how inexpensive this gun is and how many purks you get.
   

General Spyder Monday, August 23rd, 2004 | 12:49 pm PST
i love the mags, they r small and fast. i wouldnt consider the misfit entry level. ive been playing for a while and the misfit was nice. 16 bps sux ass tho. i hate to admit it, but a mag is still better. i like the misfit. but im a sniper. i might get a mag or WGP sniper
   

muzzmastah Saturday, September 4th, 2004 | 7:26 pm PST
Hell, there's even a better sear-tripper for that much money. Try the Piranha Evo by PMI - better looks, an anti-chop eye (and yes, it is break-beam and it does work), and a BPS cap at somewere around 20 bps.
   

General Spyder Friday, September 17th, 2004 | 6:08 pm PST
mag and a retro valve. nice combo. i like my misfit its nice as hell!!!
   

KillerKaribou Monday, September 20th, 2004 | 9:30 pm PST
ok... the freakn board cap doesn't matter... its what the gun can actuallly cycle at... you can get uncapped boards on spyders... does that mean they can shoot a hopper in under a second? no... and second of all a gun which can cycle over 20 BPS is kinda pointless because i don't know very many people who can walk a gun that fast even for small periods of time and in a game you have to be able to keep up your ROF...
   

General Spyder Thursday, September 23rd, 2004 | 3:02 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by KillerKaribou
ok... the freakn board cap doesn't matter... its what the gun can actuallly cycle at... you can get uncapped boards on spyders... does that mean they can shoot a hopper in under a second? no... and second of all a gun which can cycle over 20 BPS is kinda pointless because i don't know very many people who can walk a gun that fast even for small periods of time and in a game you have to be able to keep up your ROF...</quote

good point!
   

Mikey_Gee Friday, September 24th, 2004 | 6:03 pm PST
I have had my Misfit for a little over 2 weeks now and will do a FULL REVIEW after a bit more time with it, but in short, so far I love it. Got it from PBL in Montreal Canada on special for $199 canadian (YUP .. Canadian) that is only $156 US Dollars.

Here is the URL ( http://www.buypbl-paintball.com/cgi-bin/mp_core.pl )
Great bunch of guys for sure.

I have a CP on/off ASA and a CP Lightening Drop with a Empire Reloader. I don't need stupid high bps, I hate the SPRAY AND PRAY mind set. 13 PBS is MORE than enuff for me.

Here is my question, I have a 47/3000 HP crossfire and I know a ruff estimate is about 470 shot from this tank from what I have read online. Today I decided to go out with my tank filled to 2500psi and some balls and dick around. After ripping about 250 balls in my back yard (not to meantion about 10 dry fires), I looked at my gauge and realized I was only down 700psi on my tank.

Se here is what I did:
3000psi divided by 700psi = 4.285
(because in theory I should get my 700psi (or 250 shots) 4.285 time out of the tank)
4.285 X 250balls.shots = 1071 balls/shots

I am new to AIR (just got away from CO2 and VERY GLAD I did), but are you telling me this gun is that air efficent that I will get 1000 shots (give or take) out of a 47/3000 tank. Or once you get under like 500psi on your tank does it drop off or will it go all out till the tank is empty? Crap, I would be happy with 800 or so shot out of this little tank. I wounder what I would get out of the new 88/4500 Fibre Crossfire I am getting.

I was running the guns reg at 375psi and I am chronoed at 260 fps. I also have a light/medium sypder spring in it to help with the Low Pressure 375psi. I know that normally when you run at a lower pressure it is less turbulance on the ball but it is less gas efficent, but the boys at MISFIT told me that with their PATENTED REGUALTOR that does not apply here. So anyone who dumped the MISFIT regulator for another one may be loosing out.

Any help or comments would be FANTASTIC.

++++++++++
+ UPDATE +
++++++++++

Well I stared with my 47/3000 Crossfire steel tank with about 2500psi. I ran it until it was dry (well until drop off anyway, just under the 500psi level and then the balls started to drop off). I used mixed 2nds paint (meaning all sizes and not the best barrel to paint match so my efficency would suffer) and I still got an OUTSTANDING 775 shots from this small tank. I wounder what I would have gotten out of it if my tank was filled to the 3000psi capacity and proper Ball to Barrel matching !!

THAT'S CRAZY to say the least. WOW, once I get my new nylon like bolt and a barrel kit (not sure on the Freak, Pipe or Empire yet) to do paint matching, it will be EVEN MORE EFFICENT.

Cannot wait for my 88/4500 (can you say a STINK LOAD of shots)

KILLER MARKER FOR SURE !! My "Full Review" will be coming very soon.

BTW,
Aftermarket bolt for Misfit is at this link, bottom of page:

http://www.mustangpaintball.com/bolts/lesspop.html
Last edited on Thursday, September 30th, 2004 at 5:27 am PST
   

yellownestle Sunday, March 27th, 2005 | 7:07 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by General Spyder
i love the mags, they r small and fast. i wouldnt consider the misfit entry level. ive been playing for a while and the misfit was nice. 16 bps sux ass tho. i hate to admit it, but a mag is still better. i like the misfit. but im a sniper. i might get a mag or WGP sniper

everyone knows there no sniping in paintball.. sure you can shoot from a hidden place and w/e. but NOT FAR!

16 BPS not fast enough for you, if i shot s straight line of paint at the speed of 16 bps, how many times do you think you would get hit? too many freaking times, thats how much...

a mag might be the same price used, but will it be electronic, no.
   

usapatriot Thursday, August 4th, 2005 | 8:19 am PST
i hate people who think blowbacks suck and cant compete for **** with electro-pneumatics. well guess what, today i faced off 2 v 2 one kid on the other team had a shocker the otherone had a mag. I had my misfit and my brother had a pilot and we won.
   

ummmmm Friday, September 2nd, 2005 | 3:35 pm PST
if i gave a tipman to a really good player and a dm5 to a furst time player....i wonder who would win.....dont matter ur marker as much as ur skill. we had a 17 vs 2...2 guys wit tipmans...they got 11 of us before we overhwlmed them. they still only had tipmans well we had some guys wit higher-end spydes and a few ions(LOL IONS SUCK THOGUHT)
   

misfit0022 Sunday, April 8th, 2007 | 6:33 pm PST
You said its the best marker for under 300, Not really. There's the Ion, VS2, VS3,(I dislike Spyders),Tippman with e-grips, etc. So try those out and post another review.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media