paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on bunkerme001's Review / Comments on bunkerme001's Review / Comments on bunkerme001's Review / Comments on bunkerme001's Review / Comments on bunkerme001's Review

Comments on bunkerme001's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

bunkerme001 Friday, April 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hammer
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel System
Dead-On Products 8-stage expansion chamber
Macro-Hose kit w/ 3 90s and 1 straight fitting
20 oz. Pure Energy CO2 with Smart Parts On/Off
Psycho Ballistics 6" drop forward
Double Trigger and guard
Polished Internals
Dark Horizon Lite titanium hammer
Full Boar rear cocking system with RVA and beavertail
Custom trigger job
Custom paint
Strengths: Light
Quick Cycle
Reuces Recoil
Weaknesses: Limited supply
Review: First Thoughts

My Hammer came in the mail in a padded envelope as to not damege the product. It seemed well padded and secure. It came with an order invoice and a sticker that's supposed to go on your hopper. Installation was very easy. I simply lifted the old hammer out, took out the spring and the cocking knob, and replaced. I instantly noticed that the Titanium bolt was as smooth as a new window. After putting my gun back together, it seemed about a quarter pound lighter.

Testing

While dry firing, I noticed that my recoil was reduced by about 90 percent! In fact, the only movement causing the gun to move was me pulling the trigger. After dry firing about 10 times, I loaded 50 Draxxus Blaze and 50 RPS Marbs into my hopper and shook it up so that they would mix. I shot at a target at 60 feet.
I initially noticed that it was much more accurate with the reduced recoil. The cycle rate was also vastly improved. My results showed a 12 inch vertical spread and an 8 inch horizontal spread with 8 outliers. I had no ball breaks, typically I would have had about 2.

Test Conclusions

My vertical spread was 4 inches smaller and my horizontal spread is about 3 inches smaller, which is very good, especially with a Flatline. Even though I was shooting decent quality paint, no ball breaks was unusual. I'm glad that I can go onto the field with more confidence in my gun.
Conclusion: This is a wonderful product with great quality and design. It is smooth, fast, and worth the money. If you want to instantly improve your aim, cycle rate, and entire game, buy this product!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 23rd, 2004 at 1:29 pm PST
 

Review Comments
dan77904 Monday, May 24th, 2004 | 3:35 pm PST
Great review. I don't see how someone could have labeled it NOT helpful. Oh well.
   

shaasta Wednesday, July 6th, 2005 | 12:46 pm PST
mabey because an upgraded hammer has absolutely nothing to do with marker accuracy.
   

Pattons3rd Wednesday, August 17th, 2005 | 8:31 am PST
it indirectly affects accuracy. it is lighter and reduces recoil, therefore reducing the up/down/sideways movement of the gun therefore increasing accuracy/consistency
   

westwrestlngguy Monday, September 19th, 2005 | 7:56 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by shaasta
mabey because an upgraded hammer has absolutely nothing to do with marker accuracy.
Shaasta, do the math. Less weight being transfered within your gun means less movement. If your gun doesn't move as much, then your shot pattern will be tighter. That means better accuracy.
   

cradle_of_filth Saturday, December 24th, 2005 | 11:29 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Pattons3rd
it indirectly affects accuracy. it is lighter and reduces recoil, therefore reducing the up/down/sideways movement of the gun therefore increasing accuracy/consistency

thats the most asinine and retarded comment i have ever heard
   

mjr_paranoid Saturday, January 13th, 2007 | 8:26 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by cradle_of_filth


thats the most asinine and retarded comment i have ever heard


Then you do not know how to effectively fire a marker or a firearm.
Less recoil makes a more accurate grouping. Why do you think an M-16 is only a .223(5.56mm) caliber firearm? Small rounds can be projected farther with less recoil. And the M-16 shoots with virtually no recoil and is deadly effective at several hundered yards.

Even your breathing creates movement, and a real shooter always holds thier breath before taking a shot.

This poster placed a well thought review out and documented thier findings very well. It doesn't really matter if you think its garbage if you have never used the product. Your opinion is not valid.
Last edited on Saturday, January 13th, 2007 at 8:27 am PST
   

WhiteFoxYoko13 Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007 | 6:29 pm PST
you would usually break two balls with 100 shots? i usually break two balls out of 2000 shots
   

mjr_paranoid Monday, August 6th, 2007 | 1:22 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by WhiteFoxYoko13
you would usually break two balls with 100 shots? i usually break two balls out of 2000 shots

Agreeed.

Sumptind fishy in that thare review.

And to just throw my two cents in.

Shot to shot accuracy is what kick effects, not single shot with paintmarkers.
The 100 ball shot test means nothing without knowing at what BPS the shots were fired.
   

509th Brujah Saturday, August 30th, 2008 | 2:44 pm PST
OK, here's the real deal from a former soldier and a guy who watches way too much History Channel.

Less recoil means a more accurate "second" shot. The first shot's recoil has no bearing on its accuracy (unless you fear your gun and you flinch,) but a great deal of bearing on how quickly or easily you can get your subsiquent shots on target. It will improve rapid shooting, especially in burst or full auto firing.

That's why the MP5 is so popular. 9mm rounds have little recoil and it's fairly easy to keep the gun on target while firing full auto. Don't try that with a 30.06.

Secondly, good shooters don't *hold* their breath. Holding your breath places your body in a state of tension. Just breath for a second and pay attention to how you do it. Breath in, breath out, slight pause, repeat. Good shooters breath out and use that relaxed pause after the release of air to fire their weapon.

But enough about real guns. Let's talk paintball markers. I can't think of any marker/paint combination that's has either the accuracy or range to even worry about how you breath or how much recoil throws your second, third, etc shots off of target. For goodness sakes, they barely have sights.

I'm not an advocate of spray and pray or walking in your shots, but to be honest there is a reason most people play that way. Most markers/players are just not about marksmanship.

So in the long run, I would be far more concerned about my balls constantly breaking than I would be about my cool new slicked up titanium bolt. I've had my 98C for three years and I can't remember the last time I broke a ball.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media