paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on RyanK's Review / Comments on RyanK's Review / Comments on RyanK's Review / Comments on RyanK's Review / Comments on RyanK's Review

Comments on RyanK's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

RyanK Friday, April 30th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock PowerTube
Marker Setup: 98 custom
Crossfire 70/45
12V Revvy
Double Trigger, Rocket Cock, DOP Bullet Drop
Strengths: It Makes your Wallet a little Lighter, Metal not plastic (like stock)
Weaknesses: High Costs, 2 Different ones Didn't Work
LOSS of ACCURACY when Sanded to fit
Review: When I bought this I thought it would be a vast improvement over the stock plastic (and had seen the reviews here) where they all said this thing was the greatest since sliced bread. NOT TRUE FOR ME!

The Initial one I bought my rear bolt got STUCK when trying to shoot... I'd cock the gun, pull the trigger, shoot one paintball... and listen to the gun hissing that's right stuck far enough forward that it was still pushing on the valve.

So I though ok... just a defective one, talked to DOP and they sent me out another one (no charge - Which was nice)

I go and install the new one... after their tech had said he checked it before shipping it out... and same problem, rear bolt got stuck.

Talked to DOP again... they said they would send me a third one, and have not heard or gotten anything from them since. (this was over 8 months ago)

I borrowed a dremmel and decided to file off some of the metal where it's catching the rear bolt... wasn't too hard and polished it after so it's nice and smooth so it wouldn't damage the rear bolt (or O-ring)

Put it in the gun and went out a few days with it to see how well it preformed... did not work at all like it should... the balls would go for a little while (30-50 feet) and then suddenly veer off in a random direction, taking a closer look the front bolt dose not fit right and wobbles around, So I think when fired it dose not come out properly and is not contacting the ball properly which makes it spin.

I took the Pro-Seal off and suddenly my balls are shooting straight again... 500 balls and have not seen one take a spin like with the Pro-Seal

It does NOT make your gun any quieter... replacing something that dosn't make any noise with something else that dosn't make any noise... how is that supposed to be quieter? The noise in a tippman is from the rear bolt hitting the valve, the air escaping, and the rear bolt resetting. The Pro-Seal makes your gun about as much quieter as replacing the grips would.
Conclusion: I gave it a 2 because the customer support was really helpful when trying to find the problem... well that was until they decided not to send me a working Pro-Seal.

Both of the pro-seals I got (NEW) had the same problems... the rear bolt gets stuck and the front bolt is too loose and spins the balls.

DID NOT WORK!!! I had to sand out the inside for my rear bolt to fit... and the front bolt was wobbley and spun the paintballs.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 30th, 2004 at 3:43 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Zaotin Wednesday, August 17th, 2005 | 11:59 pm PST
did you consider that one of your other modifications might have been the problem, or maybe you just didn't tinker with it to get it in place?

i haven't gotten the product yet but I've been doing some reasearch and your the first I've seen with that problem. I'm just asking.
   

RyanK Thursday, August 18th, 2005 | 8:51 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Zaotin
did you consider that one of your other modifications might have been the problem, or maybe you just didn't tinker with it to get it in place?

i haven't gotten the product yet but I've been doing some reasearch and your the first I've seen with that problem. I'm just asking.


I don't think any other mods would have affected this,
I have taken the gun apart and compared the two pro seals and the stock tube and found that the rear bolt would get stuck in the pro seals while it would just fit in the stock tube.

Since I havn't changed the O-ring on the front of the rear bolt or the front of the bolt itself the problem I had was the pro seals were too small. There are three mods that affect anything around the rear bolt area and could be the cause of my problem: I polished the internals, using a rocket cock (so the cocking arm that sticks out of the gun is different), and the pro seals.

The pro seal and polished internals are the only changes I've done to the workings of the gun. so mods aren't my problem.

And I did try to tinker with it to get it to work, I used a dremmel to widen the hole in the back ( I used the rear bolt and the stock tube as a guide, so I didn't widen it too much) and once I had fixed this problem with the bolt getting stuck my accuracy looked like I was using CO2 and the stock barrel.

I know it seems like a strange problem, and DOP didn't act like it was a common problem, but all I know is what happened to me and that's what I said in my review
   

Draken91 Tuesday, September 13th, 2005 | 8:09 am PST
i didn't have the same issues as you, but thats why reviews are great, i'm running the proseal on mine with a nice 32 deg. delrin bolt, works like a charm....but not everyone will have the same experence, so great review!
   

Draken91 Tuesday, September 13th, 2005 | 8:11 am PST
i didn't have the same issues as you, but thats why reviews are great, i'm running the proseal on mine with a nice 32 deg. delrin bolt, works like a charm....but not everyone will have the same experence, so great review!
   

chikin pickle Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 | 9:15 pm PST
possibly check you bolt o-rings
   

RyanK Thursday, January 5th, 2006 | 12:44 am PST
Hmm... check my bolt O-rings
what exactly would you like me to do?

it's condition - It was in good shape, no tears/pieces missing or anything (and still in ok shape almost 2 years later)

When I directly compared the two tubes (stock vs unmodified pro-seal): The rear bolt and original o-ring fit and sealed well in the stock tube, but got stuck in the pro-seal and had to be pulled loose.

After I used a dremel on the pro-seal to widen the hole to get the rear bolt and O-ring to fit the same as the stock tube (which was the only way I could fire and not have to pull the bolt free and re-cock every time) I couldn't shoot straight past 50' all my balls took off in random directions.
   

Cameron_ward19 Wednesday, March 29th, 2006 | 8:45 pm PST
It sounds to me like you either had a custom 98 pro-seal and own a model 98 gun or you got a model 98 proseal and own a custom 98 gun.... Otherwise it just doesn't make sense...

That or workmanship at DOP is so shabby that somehow an obviously deffective product was both made completely wrong and made it past inspection...

I'm not making a comment towards you, but did this ever come up when you called DOP for customer support?
   

Cameron_ward19 Wednesday, March 29th, 2006 | 8:45 pm PST
It sounds to me like you either had a custom 98 pro-seal and own a model 98 gun or you got a model 98 proseal and own a custom 98 gun.... Otherwise it just doesn't make sense...

That or workmanship at DOP is so shabby that somehow an obviously deffective product was both made completely wrong and made it past inspection...

I'm not making a comment towards you, but did this ever come up when you called DOP for customer support?
   

RyanK Thursday, March 30th, 2006 | 8:12 am PST
I own a custom 98... and I know this dosn't make sense.

If you look at my first post, it pretty clearly says I talked to DOP, they sent me a replacement (and told me they checked it out before shipping it) So I highly doubt that I got 2 model 98 pro-seals by accident this way.

I'm not really sure what your asking about when I called DOP support, This all occured a couple years ago and I don't specifically remember them asking if I had a M98 or a 98C. But I bought the pro-seal in a package group of upgrades, which would only drop into the 98C... so the first one I received *should* have been the right one for me.

I thought the differences between a M98 and a 98C was the custom had predrilled holes and internal space to allow most upgrades to be dropped in, where the M98 had to be shipped back to tippmann for them to install some upgrades. So if I'm right about the difference here.... the pro-seal should be the same for the two versions of the 98 anyways.
   

RyanK Thursday, March 30th, 2006 | 8:14 am PST
I own a custom 98... and I know this does not make sense.

If you look at my first post, it pretty clearly says I talked to DOP, they sent me a replacement (and told me they checked it out before shipping it) So I highly doubt that I got 2 model 98 pro-seals by accident this way.

I'm not really sure what your asking about when I called DOP support, This all occurred a couple years ago and I don't specifically remember them asking if I had a M98 or a 98C. But I bought the pro-seal in a package group of upgrades, which would only drop into the 98C... so the first one I received *should* have been the right one for me.

I thought the differences between a M98 and a 98C was the custom had pre-drilled holes and internal space to allow most upgrades to be dropped in, where the M98 had to be shipped back to tippmann for them to install some upgrades. So if I'm right about the difference here.... the pro-seal should be the same for the two versions of the 98 anyways.
   

Timmyboy14 Saturday, April 15th, 2006 | 8:31 am PST
Of course its going to be inaccurate if you SAND it.
   

paintballfreak= Monday, March 24th, 2008 | 4:02 am PST
Dispute:
Im pretty sure you don't have to sand this item to fit your gun and that probably caused the other problems you experienced
   

RyanK Tuesday, March 25th, 2008 | 4:40 pm PST
Lol... you guys sure won't give it a rest trying to dispute what happened to me.

For clarity I had two problems with the pro-seal, the first was my rear bolt was too big and would get stuck in the back every other time I tried to fire. This I solved by sanding out the back to make it wide enough to fit my rear bolt.

Once I could get my gun to cycle properly (accuracy doesn't matter when you can't shoot consistantly), I tried using the pro-seal again and that's when I found the second problem of the balls veering off after about 30-50 feet. I do not know what was causing this, but when comparing the pro-seal and supplied front bolt to the stock ones... I found the fit was much tighter on the stock parts.

Again, I do not know if that was causing my accuracy problems, but I think it's a lot more likely that the loose fit between the parts that pass the air towards the paintball (or are outright touching it) would affect my accuracy more than widening the hole for the rear bolt.

But I leave it up to you to decide if you think it was my sanding the back that caused the inaccuracy... because at that point I just said screw it as a minor improvement wasn't worth the hassle of trying to sort out the problems I was having.

   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media