paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Lucifer_hunter's Review / Comments on Lucifer_hunter's Review / Comments on Lucifer_hunter's Review / Comments on Lucifer_hunter's Review

Comments on Lucifer_hunter's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Lucifer_hunter Wednesday, May 5th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months12 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Fronts
Marker Setup: Angel IR3 Fly
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Light Weight
Paint shoots Through
Silent
Weaknesses: Internal Wear of mine wore off
Review: i ordered mine brand new from Ebay and it was around US$60.

at first when i received it, it was very light and had a really smooth internal finish on the insides of it. The outside design is quite ok i guess and barrel porting is sufficient to reduce the noise.

One really good thing i liked about this barrel tip is that when you have a break in the barrel, all u have to do is shoot about 3-4 balls out and it just shoots through. No squeegie required.

but i'm not completely satisfied with it coz just after about 2 months plus its internal wear is starting to come off and i can see a rough surface on the insides of the barrel. Now whenever i shoot paint it gets caught in the rough surface of the barrel and breaks every 10 or so shots. I dont really know why this happened but i e-mailed them and they've agreed to fix or send me a new stiffi-tip.

lets see how that one holds up in the future
Conclusion: gonna give this a 5 for breaking so easily but when it worked it worked wonders
Rating:
5 out of 10
 

Review Comments
jclaine Monday, February 14th, 2005 | 9:32 am PST
you should update your review to reflect how the product works now.
   

KraxyDrummer Thursday, March 31st, 2005 | 6:28 pm PST
I just want to know what you were shooting out of that thing to make it wear out so fast rocks?(jk) Do u know what the tip of the barrel is made of? because carbon fiber shouldn't get worn out like that.
   

dynamicpaintbal Saturday, June 25th, 2005 | 1:01 am PST
did you use a swab on it or after a day of play clean it out with a shammy/rag?

supposedly, the cotton fibers put microfine scratches inside the stiffi, so if you regularly used a swab on it or cleaned it with a cloth towel, it can wear out quick.
   

PBshot31 Saturday, August 6th, 2005 | 3:54 pm PST
If your Stiffi Breaks theyre sposed to give u a new KIT.
   

Wazzy Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 4:07 pm PST
Dispute:
You have made one of the biggest mistakes you can ever make, ever. on eBay, people are trying to make money. if they can't use their piece of crap, they're gonna sell it for the most they can, in a last ditch attempt to try and break even. if you really did get it new, as in PROVEABLE, please tell us. pics of the barrel would help alot.
   

shot-on-sight Saturday, March 11th, 2006 | 8:53 am PST
I order most all of my paintball stuff off e-bay, i have never had a single problem with a product that was advertised as brand new, just some used products but i bought the item knowing full well the description but as being an autococoker tech there isnt much i cant fix when it comes to what i usually order (mag and cocker parts/guns).
E-bay is a great place to get bargin prices on great items, I have made over 85 transactions with 100% feedback and have never had a problem that couldnt be resolved with contacting the seller.

On a second note, i find it hard to beleive that a carbon fiber barrel would be suceptiable to such defects, SITE has good quality control so there is a small hance you received a lemon barrel, although with e-bay theres always that chance if you dont pay super close attention to what youre buying.

   

iplaypaintbal77 Tuesday, March 14th, 2006 | 9:40 pm PST
you cant use a swab, i bet you did
   

burnballl Thursday, April 20th, 2006 | 5:53 pm PST
my marker says he did
   

hockey2k28 Friday, April 21st, 2006 | 4:01 am PST
you can't run a regular barrel squeegee through it you have to you the rubber barrel swabs that they sell because a regular squeege pulls the carbon fiber up
   

BigNiko Monday, April 24th, 2006 | 8:45 am PST
so your insides of a carbon fiber barrel started to ware out? were u like shooting rocks cause thats not supposed to happen
   

zombie413 Saturday, May 20th, 2006 | 9:00 am PST
I have seen at least one stiffi barrel in which the internal finish wore off. The barrel was on a gun that a teammate traded for. The fibers did not seem to be pulled, but the barrel had NO internal finish. The finish was not spotty, it was universally wore down to the fiber. I have no idea how old the barrel was or how it was treated, but it does seem that over time the finish can wear off.
   

^_^ Tuesday, December 19th, 2006 | 3:48 pm PST
I know what you did you used fuzzy squeegees now didn't you?
   

pbmylife Wednesday, January 10th, 2007 | 2:28 pm PST
i have seen one break from sliding into a bunker, but site will replace them.
   

ionman369 Tuesday, July 31st, 2007 | 8:27 pm PST
Dispute:
not true
   

elparking Wednesday, March 19th, 2008 | 10:48 pm PST
i just want to know if i should buy the stiffi on ebay and if i need sometihng else?
   

phantom01231 Monday, September 8th, 2008 | 5:32 am PST
Ok people Carbon Fiber will wear out. When these barrels are advertised not to wear out thats for the "life of the barrel". This guy might have just got a bad one. I dont care how good your QA is stuff still gets through. Something may have just happened to his somewhere in the process that made the Carbon Fibers weak thus making them wear faster. And as far as the swab thing. You can use a swab in them. Its not recommened to use them to clean the paint/shell/dirt out and dont use a crap one from walmart. Best bet to use a Redz Swab. I use one on my sly all the time and it still looks brand new. and if you use a spray car wax down the inside and buff it out with a CLEAN QUALITY SWAB it will make the finish on the inside last longer and smoother. So stop bashing the guy becuase you THINK you know something.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media