paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on SocraticB's Review / Comments on SocraticB's Review / Comments on SocraticB's Review / Comments on SocraticB's Review

Comments on SocraticB's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

SocraticB Sunday, May 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year132 of 138 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
HaloB; Egg; 12v Revy w/X-Board & JMJ Impeller; 12v Revy and 9v Revy

Only the Halo fed faster; Apache fed AT LEAST as fast as the Egg. It was as light as a 12v Revvy and had NO problems with forcing balls past detents, like the Halo does on some setups.
Marker Setup: 2K3 JMJ Crusader Viking w/ WAS, Mac Dev Conquest 68/4500 at 450psi output, stock feed neck, one wire detent, AND
2K3 Evil Omen, PMI 68/3000, stock feed neck, no detent.

Both tested with 2 brands of Diablo paint ranging from .685-.689 ID.
Strengths: Fast
Light
Easy use
Can work as a gravity-feeder in emergencies
Appears durable
Weaknesses: Loading is a PITA;
Slows w/low on ammo.
Bad fit in screw-collar feednecks.
Review: I. DESCRIPTION OF TESTING:

Bought the Ricochet 2K2 Apache recently, tested it out in the shop on my Viking and a buddy's Omen. I was very impressed.

We used some Diablo field paints, (Diablo Heat and a Diablo generic-box type), that had been sitting for a couple months; one was fragile and had a lot of variation in size, the other was larger, more consistent in size and less prone to breaks. We tested on both markers in single-shot style over a chron, and at rapid fire in both burst and empty-the-hopper style. We used about 1000 rounds total.

I can get the Viking going pretty fast, and my buddy's Omen has rather sick bounce. We can't calculate the BPS, as neither marker has a readout of it. Tried an X-boarded 12v Revvy w/ JMJ impeller, and both markers easily outshot it at least 1 in every 7 balls or so.

II. STRENGTHS:

SPEED: This is the most important facet of any loader. Neither marker EVER outshot the Apache, even at the highest speed we could get them to when firing to empty a full hopper. I can't remember when I had to come close to doing that on the field, so I believe we tested it in speed conditions it won't have to deal with in real life. There was no jamming, overfeeding or other problems. The bend sensor in the neck caused the Apache to feed when necessary, without problem. I have had problems with my Halo forcing balls past my detents; this was not a problem here.

SIZE/WEIGHT: Apache sits low on the marker, (when in appropriate feedneck, see Weaknesses, below), is light and takes 2 9v batteries that are placed in a clip then inserted into the loader body. It is much lighter than a Halo, and about the same weight as a 12v Revvy.

DURABILITY: It is made of lightweight plastic that appears to be stronger than the thin-shelled Brass Eagle Eggolution plastic. Reports indicate it is durable; based on my review of the Apache, I will take them at face value until proven otherwise.

ON/OFF: Very easy on/off switch with LED display that beeps loudly when it turns on, and a game timer. The display seems to be a little overkill; I'd have been happy with just an on/off. Game timer is nice touch; makes that one less thing I have to take with me on the field.

DESIGN: No force-feed means my Crusader won't have problems with balls being forced past the detent, messing up the eyes. O-Rings on the feed neck will help it fit snug in most feed necks, however, it was a little loose in a feed neck that my unsanded Halo is a little loose in. It was VERY tight in all other feednecks we tried. I'm not sure I buy the hype about the angled body deflecting shots - I think that's prolly just marketing at work.

PRICE: $85 isn't a bad price, when you consider that it's cheaper than a Halo and only $10 more than an Egg, and will be cheaper to keep fed with batteries than the Halo, and possibly the Egg. I've heard some horror stories about Egg shells and feednecks breaking and cracking, and if the Apache's plastic proves more durable, the extra $10 is more than worth it. It's a tad expensive for most woods-ballers, who don't generally need the Apache's kind of speed.

III. WEAKNESSES:

LOADING: The top-loading was a PITA, until we had a little experience with it. Still, you have to tip the marker sideways to make sure you don't lose balls when you load it. That can lead to having a bottle or arm exposed and you in the deadbox. A little basic skills and attention to detail should prevent this.

SLOWDOWN: I've edited this review to address the slowdown in feed speed the Apache has when about 20 or fewer paintballs are in the hopper. The paddles are very flexible rubber rods; they seem to catapult the balls about when there aren't too many in the hopper, which prevents them from going down the feedneck. I have noticed slowdown due to this effect, as well as some blank shots while the Apache tried to catch and feed the stray balls.

FIT TO NECK: I've edited this review to address the issue the Apache has with fitting into collar-style clamping fee necks. While the Apache fits just fine in normal and screw-clamp necks (like the popular CCM model), it has a problem in the collar-style neck. First, the Apache's neck, especially with the o-rings, is too wide to fit in a collar-style neck unless the collar is screwed all the way out; it also seems to stop most collars before they screw all the way down, leaving the Apache a few eighths of an inch higher than it needs to be. Second, the o-rings on the Apache's neck get ripped up by the tightening screw collar. Finally, the supporting plastic flanges on the Apache's feed neck cause the Apache to sit up a little higher than I'd like.



Edits: Added analysis of fit to collar-style clamping feed necks; 2-4-05. Corrected BPS feed rate error from 18 to 15, responded to comments. I will try Apache out on 17 BPS marker and post finding; 1-26-05. Added comments on bend sensor and bolding; 4-8-05.
Conclusion: IV. CONCLUSION:

I can't reach the 22+ BPS the Halo claims, but I can come close to 15, and the Apache fed our markers every ball we needed. No missed shots, low profile, less expensive than comparable loaders, appears to be durable, easy to use, no forcing balls past your detents. Unless you actually NEED to shoot more than 15 BPS on the field, there's no reason to get a Halo; get the Apache. If you play mostly woodsball, use a mechanical marker or can't get your marker going more than 12 BPS, all you need is a 12v X-Board Revolution at best.

This hopper loses one point due to the top loading issues and problems feeding when only a few balls are left. It loses another for the feed neck issues and lower ROF than the highest-end loaders.. It is still the best value in a high-end loader (as of 5-19-04)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 8th, 2005 at 6:52 am PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
joejoe61689 Monday, April 25th, 2005 | 5:12 pm PST
Is there a difference with the 2005 motor and paddles? If they are faster then where can u get them? I got an 2004 and i've got an ACS 13 bps spyder and i chop every once in awhile and i'm sick of it.
   

SocraticB Wednesday, April 27th, 2005 | 1:49 pm PST
joejoe61689: I am unaware of new motors or paddles; I suppose you can get them from Apache or one of the major online retailers (i.e. pbgear.com) if they do exist. I don't know if they are faster. You may want to try a faster loader, such as a Halo or an Egg, on your ACS Spyder before buying anything, though. If it still chops with a Halor or an Egg, your problem is most likely the marker or the eye system rather than the loader.

If you want to stop chops, though, I'd recommend getting a better marker. I love Spyders (was my first marker), but there are definitely better markers out there.

Fritz1970
   

sabretooth Thursday, April 28th, 2005 | 6:03 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by joejoe61689
Is there a difference with the 2005 motor and paddles? If they are faster then where can u get them? I got an 2004 and i've got an ACS 13 bps spyder and i chop every once in awhile and i'm sick of it.

Gear box turns at a higher rpm than 04s, according to warpig.com. And you can get them through rico for more info see http://www.ricochet2k.com/?apache
   

kingman player Monday, May 16th, 2005 | 6:44 pm PST
now i had the ricochet AK. and i had problems with the tab sensor. and i ws wondering if you had any problems with the tab on your apache?
   

SocraticB Tuesday, May 17th, 2005 | 5:26 am PST
kingman player: Never had any problems with the tab sensor; the motor always runs when balls aren't in neck, and stops when they are.

Your screen name suggests you use Spyders, which can have a lot of blowback up the feedneck. I suspect that severe blowback may cause problems for the sensor, but haven not run any tests to see. There are ways to reduce blowback in Spyders - going LP helps.

Fritz1970
   

kingman player Monday, May 23rd, 2005 | 4:53 pm PST
i just ordered 1 and got it today.. but it doesnt work rite. it will turn on and show the timer, but it wont beep, or spin. did i do something wrong? or do i just need to return it and get a new 1?
   

d4m4don3 Tuesday, July 5th, 2005 | 5:21 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by SocraticB
kingman player: Never had any problems with the tab sensor; the motor always runs when balls aren't in neck, and stops when they are.

Your screen name suggests you use Spyders, which can have a lot of blowback up the feedneck. I suspect that severe blowback may cause problems for the sensor, but haven not run any tests to see. There are ways to reduce blowback in Spyders - going LP helps.

Fritz1970

I had a similar problem with my apache not working all the time and not giving me the diagnostic beep and spins. But, I might be able to shed some light on the tab sensor issue. I noticed this problem on my ricochet as well and decided to do a little investigation. I took apart my apache and examined the circuit board. I noticed that one of the devices on the circuit which I think is an scr was damaged. It has three legs and is a square device. I figured that after they soldered the thing they bent the scr to make it fit into the space the apache has for the board. I did a quick fix for this and got a cheap soldering iron and some solder and soldered the broken legs together. It's a cheap fix but now my apache's working again. If you break the scr I'm pretty sure you could find it at a an electronics shop/catalog. Just make sure you don't damage the other parts of the board.
   

pbdude55 Thursday, April 20th, 2006 | 6:35 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by PBSpartan
Does the ball deflection on the ricochet line of loaders actually work or is it just another marketing scheme. The design looks like it would work but only if the position of the hopper when hit was in a correct position. Thanks.


The Ricochet Apache can deflect balls but not all the time. The paintball has to hit the hopper just right.
   

pber13 Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 | 10:47 am PST
The Apache ball deflection marketing scheme is true, the loader does occasionally cause deflection, but unfortunately that deflection ususally deflects the balls right into my body or my mask, but sometimes it does work and it deflects them past me, like when i'm in the snake and they hit the outside portion of your Apache
   

pber13 Saturday, August 19th, 2006 | 1:30 pm PST
kingman player- the apache, unlike a halo or egg does not spin its paddles when it is turned on, so you didn't do anything wrong, as for the diagnostic beeps, my LED apache has never beeped before so I can't help you there, but it doesn't spin when it's turned on. Just try putting a few balls in the hopper and turning it on, if it feeds, then its working.
   

calaustria Thursday, November 23rd, 2006 | 6:40 am PST
I've had mine for about 2 months now on my spyder imagine and the only time i chopped a ball was when I ran out of co2. As for the ball deflection, it helps me quit a lot. I was pinned behind a tree, and i stuck my gun out on the right side of the tree so i wouldnt get shot, and a ball hit the right side of my hopper. i thought i was out until i heard the ball hit a tree behind me :).
   

boing7472 Thursday, December 28th, 2006 | 10:08 am PST
dont buy the hopper specifacly for ball deflection.... the hoppers light and its feeds decently.. ball deflection is just a bonus that may or may not work, it better than most hopper that would be a shure break every time.
   

Cookie Monster Wednesday, March 14th, 2007 | 12:45 pm PST
uuuhh i haven't written a review for it yet but i have one. the egg seems much tuffer thn the apache. the apache also messes up with the bend sensor technology, if it jams when u load which it likes to do it is more of a pain than u can imagine to get ti working again. last but not least the paddels are NOT rubber they are hard plastic. sorry if that sounded bad it's a great hopper don't get me wrong, i love it, jsut wanted to point out a few things.
   

hokiefan1 Wednesday, May 9th, 2007 | 7:57 pm PST
dude in ur review u said that "Very easy on/off switch with LED display that beeps loudly when it turns on" the LED dosent beep i think thats the LCD 1 and my apache will go 20 BPS i timed it for three seconds and i counted at theres was like 62 so it feeds like 20 BPS
   

lespaul_rentals Monday, May 14th, 2007 | 8:54 am PST
This is a great loader. I used it with my Spyder Pilot ACS and it fed very well. I was getting 13+ bps consistently. I went through 800+ rounds, and it only "chopped" 5 times. Those chops were saved by my ACS bolt, though, meaning the Apache and ACS worked together to keep my barrel perfectly clean for 3 hours of speedball. Buy this loader.
   

lespaul_rentals Monday, May 14th, 2007 | 8:55 am PST
This is a great loader. I used it with my Spyder Pilot ACS and it fed very well. I was getting 13+ bps consistently. I went through 800+ rounds, and it only "chopped" 5 times. Those chops were saved by my ACS bolt, though, meaning the Apache and ACS worked together to keep my barrel perfectly clean for 3 hours of speedball. Buy this loader.
   
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media