paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on FlyingBeefStew's Review / Comments on FlyingBeefStew's Review / Comments on FlyingBeefStew's Review / Comments on FlyingBeefStew's Review

Comments on FlyingBeefStew's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

FlyingBeefStew Friday, May 14th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested13 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing... this is too wierd...
Marker Setup: Piranha E-Force SRT
Teardrop 14" barrel
20 oz. CO2 tank
Gravity fed hopper
... and some other stuff as well.
Strengths: Can kill small animals way better than a shotgun(j/k).
Weaknesses: VERY DANGEROUS!
Can be modded to shoot other things.
Review: Let's see... where to begin? I have only fooled around with one for about an hour, so I can't properly explain all of the inner workings of the gun. It does, however, have ALMOST NOTHING TO DO WITH PAINTBALL, aside from the fact that it uses CO2 cylinders(it is a gas hog, BTW. I only got off 15 shots with a 12 oz!) It shoots these big foam rocket things that don't seem very dangerous but really are. It doesn't have absolutely amazing range because it's light, but it really does shoot at 120 m/ph(took me forever to find a chrono that could measure the thing). I could knock over a pig pile of bricks at 20 ft. with this, so I can imagine that it would cause severe internal damage to someone at close range. Also, it is a very simple thing when you look at it; it is basically a CO2 tank with a valve and a big pipe attached to it. Anything can be fired from it because of a lack of any precautions to ensure that only the foam rocket i loaded into it: I actually got it to fire a pile of gravel at a 4x4. It ripped the wood apart, which shows how dangerous it is. You can also fire it empty, which sends a big rush of air out of the barrel to mess up someone's hair, blow around papers, e.t.c.
Conclusion: It is pretty damn cool, firing foam missiles at lethal velocities and all, but it's lack of safety features leaves me worried. Also, it's pretty expensive, so I can't imagine anyone getting one on the near future. I can build something out of PVC piping and slide valves for $20.00 that is just like this thing! Nonetheless, very cool. I'll give it a 10, since it cannot be compared to a paintball gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 15th, 2004 at 1:35 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
alijan Tuesday, October 4th, 2005 | 10:58 am PST
you say it is very dangerous, so why give it a 10 out of 10?
   

rob94 Monday, November 14th, 2005 | 1:11 pm PST
ya hes right those things shouldnt even be sold they can seriously hurt someone especially if they get hit in the nuts. they will never have children:(
   

timbertiger20 Monday, November 21st, 2005 | 7:46 pm PST
I took one at 25 feet, very close to the family jewels. Didn't really hurt though! Yes it moves fast but it is so big it doesn't do much. In fact I was arguing with a ref about not getting hit by a ball and asking him to show me where I was hit when I got hit with a rocket. I laughed and said there.......now I'm out and walked away.....LOL
   

dogtag Sunday, November 27th, 2005 | 1:37 pm PST
that thing sounds awsome, but dangerous. What is the range on the thing?

   

dogtag Wednesday, November 30th, 2005 | 1:34 pm PST
thanks for the input cradle of filth, i think this thing is a little over my budget though.
Last edited on Wednesday, November 30th, 2005 at 1:36 pm PST
   

AsRealAsItGets Friday, December 2nd, 2005 | 3:47 pm PST
You said this thing has nothin to do with paintball. Okay, im not going to bash you, but u must be a speedballer, because the main perpose of these is when u play scenario rules, if it hits a bunker, everyone onside and with a 5 metreish range is eliminated. other than that, with ur comment on safety, you would think that someone would have the common sense not to fire a friggin rock at someone! but alas, paintball guns can be just as dangerous in the right hands ;p
   

FGC Friday, December 9th, 2005 | 2:14 am PST
In some scenario games, these are the only things that can take out bunkers and 'tanks'.. not really anti personnel use guys.... thats a bit on the dangerous side
   

DesertEagle16 Saturday, December 17th, 2005 | 3:31 pm PST
Hmm. Seems very dangerous... COOL!
   

elfboy382 Thursday, December 29th, 2005 | 8:28 pm PST
Dispute:
I take it that your a speedballer if you think it has nothing to do with paintball, rocket launchers are used to eliminate tanks in scenario games and to also clear out bunkers.
I do agree with your dispute on safety, if someone is on the business end of one of the's things when it goes of, you can be seriously injured. However, you never, NEVER! fire one of the's at someone.
   

Civil_killer Saturday, December 31st, 2005 | 2:40 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by AsRealAsItGets
You said this thing has nothin to do with paintball. Okay, im not going to bash you, but u must be a speedballer, because the main perpose of these is when u play scenario rules, if it hits a bunker, everyone onside and with a 5 metreish range is eliminated. other than that, with ur comment on safety, you would think that someone would have the common sense not to fire a friggin rock at someone! but alas, paintball guns can be just as dangerous in the right hands ;p


it eliminates everyone in a 5 meter range in scenario?? isnt that a lil much? thats kinda weird, why dont they strap a paint gernade to the front to make it a little more realistic?
   

kobalt Sunday, January 1st, 2006 | 8:04 pm PST
I doubt that the velocity is that dangerous since the average paintball velocity is arround 280fps which is over 190mph.
   

Nebacanezher Thursday, January 5th, 2006 | 5:02 pm PST
that thing is really cool, i dont play scenario but if i did that would be the top thing on my list to get
   

jonah_brock Saturday, January 7th, 2006 | 4:05 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by kobalt
I doubt that the velocity is that dangerous since the average paintball velocity is arround 280fps which is over 190mph.

Take a lesson in physics about momentum. when a object such as a foam rocket has significantly more mass than that of a painball hence by stopping it the force on the object such as your body stopping the foam rocket is significantly greater( meaning more ouch). Being that it has at least 40 times the mass of a paintball, the foam rocket (keeping the laws of momentum in effect, breaking these rules would be catastrauphic) is going to have the same momentum of a paintball going at roughly 16,426 mph or 11,200 fps. personally i would not want to get hit by that.
Last edited on Saturday, January 7th, 2006 at 4:19 am PST
   

jonah_brock Saturday, January 7th, 2006 | 4:17 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by timbertiger20
I took one at 25 feet, very close to the family jewels. Didn't really hurt though! Yes it moves fast but it is so big it doesn't do much. In fact I was arguing with a ref about not getting hit by a ball and asking him to show me where I was hit when I got hit with a rocket. I laughed and said there.......now I'm out and walked away.....LOL
funny story but i doubt you took a shot with one of the foam rockets from this specific laucher anywhere near your "family jewels". read my physics lesson before to find out why or read on for the simple minded who don't understand education. Image getting hit with a tennis ball roughly two times the average speed of a major leage pitcher's throw. I personally welcome anyone to take a hit and still be walking it off from 25 feet. it would hurt more than just a little.
   

dirtyA-5_77 Wednesday, January 11th, 2006 | 4:10 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jonah_brock


Take a lesson in physics about momentum. when a object such as a foam rocket has significantly more mass than that of a painball hence by stopping it the force on the object such as your body stopping the foam rocket is significantly greater( meaning more ouch). Being that it has at least 40 times the mass of a paintball, the foam rocket (keeping the laws of momentum in effect, breaking these rules would be catastrauphic) is going to have the same momentum of a paintball going at roughly 16,426 mph or 11,200 fps. personally i would not want to get hit by that.


Just In case u didnt know there's a thing called air/wind resistance so the FOAM rocket would slow down to a much lower velocity before contact unless your like 5 ft away or something but foam is soft and light and does not hurt at all as a paintball "stings"
   

crazy_hoodlum Friday, January 13th, 2006 | 10:42 pm PST
The rocket also has a bigger surface area, which means that there would be less sting than there would be with a paintball
   

AILD666 Saturday, January 14th, 2006 | 7:30 pm PST
BURNT TO A CRISP!
   

Camo Snipe Sunday, January 22nd, 2006 | 5:39 pm PST
I was just wondering, can you attach a gernade to the rocket to make a bigger boom? Because most of the people that I play with would just say that they got no paint on them and they would stay on the field.
   

Firestorm7 Sunday, January 29th, 2006 | 11:36 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by jonah_brock


Take a lesson in physics about momentum. when a object such as a foam rocket has significantly more mass than that of a painball hence by stopping it the force on the object such as your body stopping the foam rocket is significantly greater( meaning more ouch). Being that it has at least 40 times the mass of a paintball, the foam rocket (keeping the laws of momentum in effect, breaking these rules would be catastrauphic) is going to have the same momentum of a paintball going at roughly 16,426 mph or 11,200 fps. personally i would not want to get hit by that.


Yeah thats why they use foam you idiot! It the rocket was made of the same materials as a paintball (a plastic-like shell and paint) then yes it would hurt like hell when you got hit with it. However, since the rockets are foam, they lose velocity very quickly. Also, the foam is filled with air pockets, so when it hits you both your fat-ass body and the foam absorb the impact, making it decidedly less painfull than you predict...

Get out of the classroom and test your theories before you go spouting off...
   

Wazzy Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 5:18 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jonah_brock


Take a lesson in physics about momentum. when a object such as a foam rocket has significantly more mass than that of a painball hence by stopping it the force on the object such as your body stopping the foam rocket is significantly greater( meaning more ouch). Being that it has at least 40 times the mass of a paintball, the foam rocket (keeping the laws of momentum in effect, breaking these rules would be catastrauphic) is going to have the same momentum of a paintball going at roughly 16,426 mph or 11,200 fps. personally i would not want to get hit by that.


i think you need to learn physics. it doesn't have alot of mass: IT'S FREAKIN FOAM, WHINY, and also it is over a larger area than a paintball, so a paintball is worse. sad sack.
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media