paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on signal's Review / Comments on signal's Review / Comments on signal's Review / Comments on signal's Review

Comments on signal's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

signal Wednesday, May 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: I bought this for my Dye Matrix. I like woods ball so I am slowly changing the Dye into a scenario shooter - not easy as nothing is made for it except speedball acccessories. I had been running the Dye ultralite barrel which is nice. Use a Dye throttle air system. Mounting an Aimpoint red dot sight on it next week-gunsmith making mount for it.
Recommended
Paintballs:
The better Evils and Slam. NOT Medievil as they were a poor performer.
Strengths: It is quieter. It looks cool. It's a little intimidating to other players.
Weaknesses: Plastic ring between barrel and shrowd fell off. Chrono did't read fps well.
Review: I found the acccuracy to be on par with the Dye ultralite. My test were at 75 ft. It is quieter than the Dye barrel. I had problems getting consistant fps readings on my chrono which I did not have with the Dye barrel. It could be because of the shrowd. This could lead to issues at fields.
Conclusion: Well at this point since I didn't get an accuracy or distance improvemeent over my Dye barrel and the quieter shots are not a big improvement I have to say I just paid for the looks. No manufacturer support is bad news as well.
Rating:
6 out of 10
 

Review Comments
TXtippmann Saturday, August 28th, 2004 | 6:21 pm PST
Why would the shroud have anything to do with the chronograph readings? Maybe your chronograph is screwed up.
   

Moose0nTheLoose Wednesday, December 15th, 2004 | 11:24 am PST
well probaly because you have to hold the chrono farther away from where he ball is traveling and there is metal in the way too rather than the small couple of millimeters it takes on a normal barrel.
   

Ytryharder Saturday, March 19th, 2005 | 7:36 pm PST
I highly dout that some1 whos only been paintballing for 2 years has a dye matrix. If you realy do I apolgize.
   

Ace-o-Spades Wednesday, July 20th, 2005 | 7:51 am PST
dye matrix + woodsball = not a very good choice
   

archenemyballer Friday, July 29th, 2005 | 9:42 am PST
why is a trix not good for woodsball. a good marker is a good marker. i've been known to tromp around in the woods with my timmy and never had any problems. all the guys i play with shoot high end stuff. vikings, e cockers, a couple of trixes. if you think you can only play woodsball with your piece of crap blowback, then you're and idiot.
   

paintballerx123 Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 | 2:22 pm PST
I agrea with archenemyballer.
   

Rhino 7188 Monday, August 14th, 2006 | 9:59 pm PST
Originally posted by archenemyballer
think you can only play woodsball with your piece of crap blowback, then you're and idiot.
ouch i say every one with a gun is the same on the field or wood or arena it only takes one shot to eliminate some one
   

Ace-o-Spades Friday, August 18th, 2006 | 12:34 pm PST
sorry, i meant fast shooting gun + silenced barrel = not a good idea because the matrix shoots really fast, and while the gas from the first shot is still getting absorbed by the suppressing material, another burst of shots comes in. the sound absorbing material cant absorb the gas, so it has to come out with the paintball. that makes the barrel not worthwhile, which is why i dont recommend it for the matrix, or any fast shooting gun for that matter.

P.S. for all those who are about to jump all over me for thinking that the matrix is not good for this barrel thats not what this particular kind of gun is for. "nothing is made for it except speedball acccessories." and archenemyballer, i may have a 98 custom but it is certainly not a peice of crap. the 98c actually has a sight rail so you can aim where you are shooting easier.
Last edited on Sunday, February 4th, 2007 at 11:38 am PST
   

sueypaintballer Thursday, December 28th, 2006 | 9:14 pm PST
First i will start off stating that a 6 out of 10 is a horrable rating for this barrel.
1) Your going from a dye ultra light one of the best barrels made + you said the accuracy was the same
2) You stated that there was a difference in the sound levels between barrels, hence what this barrel was made for therfore it did what it said it would

With that being stated if the dye scored 9.7 and this was as accurate + quieter= greater than a 6 rating

As for the Matrix, i happend to have played with it at skirmishes dday 2005. Any gun can be a woodsball gun, who says you need laser dots, scopes and flashlights. AS long as its black its functional.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media