paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on RockdaTrix's Review / Comments on RockdaTrix's Review / Comments on RockdaTrix's Review / Comments on RockdaTrix's Review / Comments on RockdaTrix's Review

Comments on RockdaTrix's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

RockdaTrix Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month48 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
There ain't nothin' comprable to this machine, but in this review I am comparing it to the DM4 which in my own truthful opinion is the ONLY gun that can compare to this beast.
Marker Setup: Pewter Dynasty Shocker, Halo B, Crossfire 68/4500
Blue to Black Fade DM4, Halo B, Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Out of the box this thing comes with a SmartParts ASA with an on/off and a drop forward that I replaced with a CP Rail since I'm fairly tall and have long arms so I can't stand drops. So set up your air tank the way you like it on this gun, you don't have to keep the one the gun comes with. Also consider using Steel Braided Hose with a Quick Disconnect rather than macro-line because I've had better experiences with SB Hoses rugged durability.
Strengths: Extremely Fast
Extremely Light(lighter than DM4!!!!)
Extremely Accurate
New Bolt= betterefficiency 8-9pods easy
Weaknesses: Tedious work setting gun up to maximum potential.
Review: Out of the box, this gun can easily compare to 95% of the guns out there, but to tweak and trick it out to it's full potential is a tedious process of flipping the micro-switch on the board and adjusting the trigger to your liking while still keeping the gun legal. The process of flipping the micro-switch requires soldering and desoldering tools and only let a professional shocker tech do this job, it is potentially hazardous to your Shockers health if it is done incorrectly. For most techs it is probably a 45 minute-1 hour job to do this and then another 5-10 minutes to get the trigger to fit your particular tastes. Once this is done the gun is ready to rip at its full potential and just let me say that that is a lot. I received my gun from a co-worker who had the connection to get me one in a week and when we were done tricking it out after the paintball shop we worked at closed, we took it outside to test. Unfortunately the only paint we had was old paint that we use as free chrono paint for people to use to test guns that need repairs. Reluctantly, we loaded my halo up and went outside to the chrono range. Easily hitting a steady ROF of around 17-18bps, this gun put ball on ball, I'm talking a 2" spread at 40 yards with probably the crappiest paint you can imagine!!!! Only one ball shattered in the last three inches of the barrel out of three hoppers and it was because the ball was VERY old and was deformed and enlarged. A teammate of mine who stuck around to watch us trick the gun out ripped a hopper on it. He easily has the fastest fingers on the team and we were estimating that he was hitting around 23-24bps, he emptied the fully loaded Halo in about six seconds. It chronoed in at 285-291-287-289-284-285-285-286-287-287, very consistent right out of the box. This gun is also extremely quiet with the freak barrel and 14" AA front on it. A noise comprable to a DM4 yet slightly higher in pitch. A very quiet and IMO a sexy and attractive sound.
Conclusion: I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to maximize their equipment to the fullest. This or a DM4 are the only guns that you can own and say to yourself that you can't get any better. Fast, light, and accurate . . . the three magic words a tournament player looks for in a gun. And it is drop-dead sexy to boot, to people who hate on Dynasty and say this gun sucks because it says Dynasty all over it, check your eye-sight. It has Dynasty milled into the back of the grip frame(which will be covered by your grubby mitts anyway) and a Dynasty dragon jewel on either side of the body. I don't think that qualifies as having Dynasty written all over it, you hating fools. The milling is incredible and makes the gun noticeably lighter than a stock shocker, if you can imagine that. Performance: Like I said, the three magic words: Light, fast, accurate; this gun has those in spades, it is an all-out monster.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
PULSEPLAYER16 Thursday, August 5th, 2004 | 12:23 pm PST
you work at rocky mountain so i gotta ask a question right now i have a stock impulse and i am looking to get a new gun i cant deside to get a dynasty shocker, dm4, angel speed, or angel 4, you probaly have had experience with all of those guns wich one would be the best to get?
   

RockdaTrix Monday, August 23rd, 2004 | 1:40 pm PST
Sorry it took me a long time to reply, haven't been to this site in forever. Right off the bat I'd have to say scratch the Speed right off your list, it just is not up to par with the other guns. The Shocker and the DM4 function in almost the exact same manner so they shoot very similar to eachother. I think to help your choice there is to choose which one you think is better looking, it is too close to judge. Now if you think about getting the Angel 4 make sure you get the Fly version with the eyes in it, it guarantees no broken paint while the original 4 still chops from time to time. The trigger is much better on the Fly in my opinion too. With Angel and Smart Parts you get very quick, very helpful tech help if you ever have a gun problem. DYE seems to be a little slower with answering phones and mailing stuff to you and such, probably because they are so popular and have so many people calling them. I sent my Shocker to Smart Parts for a bolt problem that was my fault and I got it back 6 days later. They are very fast at that stuff and Angel is right there with them. If you can find the opportunity, shoot each gun and see which you like best. In my experience, Shockers are the most accurate and the quietest while DM4's are just sickening fast. The A4Fly doesn't have a real strength performance-wise but it is probably the simplest to maintain, but it is extremely fast and fairly accurate.
   

jo_cool17 Sunday, February 13th, 2005 | 12:43 pm PST
about how light the gun is, i know it id dang light and i love it. every other gun feels heavy to me now. but the dynasty is slightly haeveir than the stock shocker. i have a friend with a stock with dnastyy board and vision and comparing the two his is lighter.
   

Nightmare1989 Saturday, March 5th, 2005 | 1:21 pm PST
If you really want a fast, accurate, light gun then go with the Alias Intimidator. I was able to test it at a proshop and I loved that thing. The alias is the best gun I have ever shot. The gun shoots unbelievably fast and it is a true rope of paint. You can seriously hit the same spot every time with that gun. If you are planning on getting an expensive gun then definately go with the alias. I have nothing against the shocker, it's just that I prefer the alias. I'm getting an alias next week. Ooh I can't wait.
   

Nightmare1989 Saturday, March 5th, 2005 | 1:28 pm PST
If you really want a fast, accurate, light gun then go with the Alias Intimidator. I was able to test it at a proshop and I loved that thing. The alias is the best gun I have ever shot. The gun shoots unbelievably fast and it is a true rope of paint. You can seriously hit the same spot every time with that gun. If you are planning on getting an expensive gun then definately go with the alias. I have nothing against the shocker, it's just that I prefer the alias. I'm getting an alias next week. Ooh I can't wait.
   

dm4plyr Sunday, March 6th, 2005 | 10:00 pm PST
what do u like moe the dm4 or shocker and y
   

angel 4 life Saturday, March 19th, 2005 | 12:27 am PST
whoa whoa whoa back up a bit rockda did you say shockers are accurate... as if they were any more accurate then any other gun ???

uhh the myth has been debunked man, accuracy is pure paint to barrel match. that has been known for the longest time

http://www.icedillusions.com/PBP/Physics/Lesson_2.html
^^^ it's a nice sight explaining all of that crap. you need to keep up with the times. that site was from 2003 ! pulse... go wit the fly and get the 4.0 (i believe ) upgrade !!! cfoa mode is capped at 50 friggin bps !!!
im gettin mine put in tommorow

OH YEAH !
   

YnGgNz14 Saturday, May 14th, 2005 | 2:25 pm PST
My friend messiah has a shocker and he could bunker any one with his dynasty shocker
   

cooper16 Wednesday, September 21st, 2005 | 2:38 pm PST
since when does the kind of gun you have affect how many people you can bunker
   

LI_PbFreak Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 3:34 am PST
ok, I own a Angel G7-awesome
DM6-awesome
Hybrid Shocker- awseome

The angel speed 05 or 06 are both great guns.....You would be very happy if you got a speed, trust me on that..
   

PiranhaUser Sunday, February 19th, 2006 | 7:29 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by angel 4 life
accuracy is pure paint to barrel match. that has been known for the longest timeb>

^^^^^^^^^ Uhhhhh no? If accuracy was PURELY paint to barrel match then I could put an Ultralight on a Spyder w/ CO2 and an Ultralight on a Shocker w/ Compressed air and a Regulator with the same paint and the same bore and they would shoot the EXACT same as far as accuracy went. WRONG, consistency in air pressure (hence people buying better regs) pushing a ball out of the barrel AND a paint to bore match is what defines a guns accuracy.

If the Spyder shoots 283 291 250 239 285 294 over the chrono it's not going to shoot as accurate as a Shocker shooting 285 284 285 287 289 284 over the chrono because the paint is going to leave the barrel at a more consistent speed, giving it a better accuracy.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media