paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Brutus' Review / Comments on Brutus' Review / Comments on Brutus' Review / Comments on Brutus' Review

Comments on Brutus' Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Brutus Wednesday, June 2nd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT EnForcer and Flex-7, Java, V-Force Shield
Marker Setup: 2004 special edition gloss black CCM Series 5, Empire Reloader, St!ffi Switch barrel kit (with CCM control bores), SystemX 68/3000, CP Dovetail and On/Off.
Strengths: Good field of vision
Comfortable
Have yet to fog up
Quick and easy lens replacement
Weaknesses: Poor coverage of neck, lower jaw and top of forehead.
Lenses stain with some paint.
Review: While this mask looks cool and provides a very low profile it also provides rather mediocre protection. Don't believe the hype about bounces, there is no perceptible difference between this mask and others in that department. After playing against someone with pink fill paint I noticed little pink stains on my lenses, this may be a fluke as I've never heard of this happening to anyone else. On another occasion a ball hit the upper part of the mask and the little deflector thingy that goes on top put the ball right into my scalp; the ball not only broke but drew blood along the front of my scalp, while it didn't really hurt I sure caught hell from my girlfriend. Despite all my complaints I still feel that this is a solid mask, the field of vision is excellent, they're comfortable and the lenses are easy to change.
Conclusion: Given the high price of this mask it really should preform better.
Rating:
7 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
pullethmyfinger Saturday, October 23rd, 2004 | 9:59 am PST
wow this guy must have a big head
as for the neck buy a neck guard
   

Evolution 8 Friday, November 19th, 2004 | 9:31 pm PST
what the hell? its not like ur shooting at planes so y would you have to worry about the chin problem and as for the neck yeah get a neck guard
   

Skiznod Saturday, November 27th, 2004 | 2:28 am PST
yah you must have a pretty big head if the "top of forehead" isnt covered and the neck thing, masks arent meant to protect your neck they are for ur face. get a neck protecter son.
   

Dantheman16 Tuesday, December 21st, 2004 | 6:33 am PST
wow, this is probably the first person talk about masks without crying because they got shot in the neck or some other thing, sorry to hear about being shot in the head but you seemed to have sucked it up enough for me not to call you buttercup. lol
   

flipsk8xx21 Friday, December 31st, 2004 | 5:41 am PST
the lense wont stain if you wash it or use the vforce cleaning solution within i think 5 hours of the painbt coming in contact with the lense.
   

supersam08 Friday, February 11th, 2005 | 2:05 pm PST
who wears their visor any way!!?? take that biotch off, get a pimp empire head band, and sport that around the field
   

Pattawa Friday, March 25th, 2005 | 12:20 pm PST
^^^^^^^^yeah
   

toomuchice Monday, April 25th, 2005 | 10:33 pm PST
i like the visor, it keeps the blazing cali sun out of my fikin face.
   

pyro3rg Friday, July 22nd, 2005 | 10:39 pm PST
If the suns in your face get mirrored lenses. and yea dude suck it up if you didnt wanna get hit every once in awhile you wouldnt play.... or youd play woodsball :P
   

mousetrap Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005 | 2:51 am PST
People get hit in woodsball too.
   

Metallherre Sunday, February 19th, 2006 | 10:27 pm PST
Why do woodsballers and speedballers fight? I play both, I love both. Its all paintball here people!
   

BunkerBoys Wednesday, March 8th, 2006 | 3:02 pm PST
woodsball deserves respect. after all paintball was first played in the woods.(even though im a speedballer) :)
   

drtalent Saturday, April 15th, 2006 | 4:03 pm PST
Just play whats available I play PAINTBALL
   

Dan099 Saturday, June 17th, 2006 | 3:12 pm PST
I have a huge head and this thing still covers my forehead. My jaw does hang out but I haven't been hit there yet. So if it doesn't cover your forehead then your head is bigger than mine and that is a scary thought.
   

pballhoser98 Monday, August 21st, 2006 | 2:38 pm PST
Dispute:
this review is inaccurate because any high end mask doesnt have full coverage of ur lower jaw neck and forehead. take a dye invision or a flex for example. both of these masks have the side of your face and your jaw and your forehead. people make hats and beanies and sandanas for a reason. to cover that area up. if u want full head protection and a foggy lense then get a jt specrea full head cover. and about the lense getting stained from paint thats probly because u dont clean ur lense when u get shot. i have had a profiler for 2 years now and have had the same lense, and it is not stained, if urs is, use windex, its good.
   

bumperdog831 Monday, September 4th, 2006 | 1:19 am PST
come on guys, dont be mean to him, clearly he is one of the Coneheads
   

edd Wednesday, October 11th, 2006 | 5:32 pm PST
quote:
use windex, its good.
If you read the manual, it tells you not to use windex cause it messes with the thermocure. But if it works for you, thats cool too! Any way. if it stained, this guy obviously didnt clean his mask for about.................5 days. Or he had some craptacular paint.
Last edited on Wednesday, October 11th, 2006 at 5:32 pm PST
   

Pyromaniac42 Tuesday, October 24th, 2006 | 7:25 pm PST
i had a problem with paint staining the lense too. but the paint stained the inside of my lense. some how a paintball came through the back of my mask and broke on the inside of the lense. there was no paint on the outside, just all over the inside. but thats just one crazy freak accident. im probably the only person on the planet it has happened to. i still love this mask, its the best out there.
   

QuiksilverMV Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 | 5:31 am PST
doif you were so concerned about forehead coverage then you'd stop being lazy and put the deflector on, and as for the neck a proflex only has a 4/1th inch more neck coverage and an eventz is just as small so your not gonna get any better a mask. As for the lenses I have a small stain from pink paint, you may have gotten a bad pair, just get some new ones.
   

vbcarlos Sunday, January 28th, 2007 | 7:35 pm PST
you can always wear a skimask under the helmet or a balclava(sp?) if youre worried about jaw and neck(which on my face it is almost completely covering) granted the ski mask MIGHT cause a little bit of fogging...but never a full lens.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media