paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Dixie Flatline's Review / Comments on Dixie Flatline's Review / Comments on Dixie Flatline's Review / Comments on Dixie Flatline's Review

Comments on Dixie Flatline's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Dixie Flatline Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many barrels....Armson SSR - 32 degrees Carbon fibre - Freak kit
Marker Setup: MacDev Cyborg
Tippmann A-5
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus paint works amazing
Strengths: VERY accurate, quiet, doesn't chop balls, shoots through paint very well
Weaknesses: Can't use swab, Carbon fibre is fragile, autococker threads only
Review: Man, I got this barrel in February, and it didn't work, ( i would get many, many chops) so I sent it back and I got a replacement, hoping that I just got a lemon the first time.

Turns out the breech sizers were the problem, too much anodizing on them... Now that I have it back and it works, I haven't chopped a single ball in three cases.

This barrel looks very nice, It is very light, super accurate and quiet... I'm sorry I ever doubted this barrel when I gave it a review of 4/10, I'm here now to fix my review!!

I use high quality tourney paint (Draxxus Blaze or Inferno) which have a very small bore - you can also use Draxxus midnights without any problems whatsoever.

Not being able to use a swab isn't a big deal, because I really don't think you will need it...I haven't chopped a ball in three cases since I had the bore sizers replaced. Get yourself a nice rubber pull through squeegee and give this barrel the care it deserves.

Since I haven't been able to chop a ball in it, I purposely broke a couple balls with my fingers and slid them through the barrel to make a mess and see how well the switch could handle it... about 3 shots and it was shooting darts again!! By the end of the match when I screwed my barrel off, I could barely even tell that I had paint in the barrel!

I can't recommend this barrel enough to people who ask, GET IT!!! Forget the freak, spend a little extra and get this, you won't be sorry!!

Unfortunately, it only comes in cocker threads for now, but it seems many new markers are using the cocker threads as a standard now, so it shouldn't be too much of a problem... And it keeps all the Smart parts owners from getting it too!! HAHAHAA!!
Conclusion: I have to give it a 9 only because I had to get things fixed with the barrel.. Having said that, their customer service is top notch... I spoke to the president of SITE himself when I had to get my problem solved, and I respect that - they stand by their product. If it had come to me working the way it does now, I would have definitely given this barrel a 10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 5th, 2004 at 10:41 am PST
 

Review Comments
Investorguy Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004 | 11:35 am PST
Wow... about 6 cases of blaze and inferno through mine w/ a .687 spacer and I have yet to have a single barrel break. I've been using fresh paint, but the only paint I've broken is really crappy.
   

sonnemann Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004 | 12:30 pm PST
First of all, it seems as if this guy is reviewing just the stiffi, and not the kit. That leads me to believe that he accidentally ordered a .681 barrel or something, which could explain all the breaks. Fianlly, Freak inserts are notorious for having widely ranging IDs, which may explain why paint fits the insert and not the barrel.

My .02.
   

Dixie Flatline Friday, June 25th, 2004 | 6:14 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sonnemann
First of all, it seems as if this guy is reviewing just the stiffi, and not the kit. That leads me to believe that he accidentally ordered a .681 barrel or something, which could explain all the breaks. Fianlly, Freak inserts are notorious for having widely ranging IDs, which may explain why paint fits the insert and not the barrel.

My .02.


No, I am reviewing the switch kit, I am not stupid... I know of a few people who have this kit, and they are having no problems with it, so maybe the bore sizers on mine have too much anodizing caked on them...I have told SITE about my problems again, and they are sending new sizers to see if that is the problem - I believe it is, because the new barrel they sent me seems to be a little more forgiving to the paint. If the barrel works after I get the new sizers, I will amend my review.

I agree with you about the freak kit - I don't like it very much, and that is why I went searching for a better one. I just used it as a point of reference because I was trying to determine what the problem with my switch was.
Last edited on Friday, June 25th, 2004 at 6:15 pm PST
   

sonnemann Friday, June 25th, 2004 | 6:21 pm PST
Didn't mean any offense, it just seemed to me as if there might be a possibility you were reviewing the barrel and not the kit.
   

mrguru Monday, July 12th, 2004 | 10:27 pm PST
You are having issues that may or may not be your fault, and Site is sending you new backs just to see if it fixes the problem. Now THAT is good customer service. Glad you like it like the rest of us.
   

karni2 Friday, June 24th, 2005 | 6:40 am PST
I am a smart parts owners and I ordered the switch kit.....yay
   

kaziechameleon Wednesday, October 5th, 2005 | 5:27 pm PST
yeah site, and AGD have the best costomer service on the face of the plant.
   

Paintbalfreak5 Thursday, August 10th, 2006 | 7:01 pm PST
They have other threads now don't worry people.
   

BKbunkerking14 Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006 | 1:20 am PST
Can't use swab, Carbon fibre is fragile, autococker threads only



well, you cant use a swab, but carbon fiber is stronger then steal, and you can get them in almost any thred.

i think this guy is talking about the barrel, delet or move this post !
   

RedAngelEyes Wednesday, April 25th, 2007 | 3:48 pm PST
Dispute:
you can use barrel swabs, and it is available in more than just autococker threads.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media