paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on A_joe's Review / Comments on A_joe's Review / Comments on A_joe's Review / Comments on A_joe's Review / Comments on A_joe's Review

Comments on A_joe's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

A_joe Wednesday, June 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ptp micromag, sandridge t5, impulse (w/vision), rt mag
Marker Setup: freestyle blue to black fade, cp rail and on off, stiffi barrel, halo or re-loaderb
Recommended
Upgrades:
another gun
Strengths: Small
Weaknesses: Chops a lot of paint, Not air friendally
Review: It might have good potental if it could shoot more than 5 balls without chopping a ball. from the day that i brought it it has chopped more balls than any of my other markers put together. called them to have parts sent they never came in no one was sure if they ever sent them. so i sent my marker to them to be fixed, after 2 1/2 weeks i got it back, so we aired it up and went to shoot it, well to say that did not go well would be a slight understatment the marker was chopping more balls now it is back again allready been another 2 weeks. the marker came back again, but is being sent right back for the 3rd time, it is leaking from the transfer tube we beleive, but we wont take it apart because we just got it back from them the second time, but here goes the third time now
Conclusion: un less you are looking for small and does chop this gun is not for you, very un happy withmarker and with custmer serviceif ICD, and if you have a freestyle, the only person at icd who can help you is greg, no one else there can help you he is the only person at ICD who can help with a freestyle, this is what one of the guys down there said when i called to see if they had fixed my gun again,
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 4th, 2004 at 11:22 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
underated Wednesday, June 30th, 2004 | 10:48 pm PST
gee, did you take your time to check your detents?
I find it hard to belive that a gun can chop that much with a Halo on it: they are kind of hard to out shoot. Most markers, with or with out eyes, cannot out shoot a Halo, much less a person.
It was either the detents, or it was the bolt pressure.
   

A_joe Thursday, July 1st, 2004 | 5:16 pm PST
yes we put new ball detents in and sent it in to icd because that is what they said tooso we did that before we sent it in, after they (icd) set bolt and lpr pressure it still chopped
   

gomster Sunday, July 4th, 2004 | 6:57 am PST
I believe this is a case of user error.
   

A_joe Sunday, July 4th, 2004 | 11:12 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by gomster
I believe this is a case of user error.
how would it be user error? also just got it back from them again and it is leaking out of lowerbody/ grip frame, so yet again it goes back to them.
   

jhorgan Tuesday, July 6th, 2004 | 5:21 am PST
I think you need to completely read the user manual BEFORE you use the marker. How about the eyes? I havent heard you say too much about those. Did you even have them on? I have seen the freestyle in action and I must say it is a force to be reconed with. I wouldn't pay too much attention to this review. It is either a case of serious user error or an unfortunate case of a lemon. Either way, take the time to read other reviews before making your mind up.
   

Mattdieter Wednesday, July 7th, 2004 | 12:44 pm PST
Are you sure you actually own this gun? Or did you have it mistaken for a brass eagle?
   

PBChamp Wednesday, July 7th, 2004 | 4:49 pm PST
Are you sure it is chopping, or are you having barrel breaks?

What size bore is your Stiffi? I noticed that my .687 Stiffi breaks paint sometimes because of the smaller bore, but my .689 doesn't.
   

A_joe Wednesday, July 7th, 2004 | 9:43 pm PST
could be a lemon, as far as it goes it is not a brass eagle never had one, yes eyes were on yes I read owners manual before use ( had to find a non mac) stiffi size was a .689 also used a dye ultralight(.689 off of a dm4) it is breaking in the breach, it is going to greg at ICD here again hopeing that they could fix it, if they do and it runs right I will change this review.
as jhorgan said
"Either way, take the time to read other reviews before making your mind up."
this has just been my experance with this marker.
   

jhorgan Thursday, July 8th, 2004 | 5:15 am PST
Hopefully you will get it back in good condition. But just remember the marker is under factory warranty. And maybe, just maybe they will replace it for you....at least that's what I think they should do. I really think it is a case of a bad lemon....ICD has a pretty good reputation when it comes to their products being reliable and of good quality.
And being that the Freestyle is a brand new marker for ICD there may be some bugs they need to work out. If you find that the Freestyle just isnt going to happen for you maybe consider getting a Bushy. I had one for years and NEVER had a problem out of it. Good luck I hope ICD can fix this thing for you.
   

DrewRiggio Wednesday, July 14th, 2004 | 2:33 pm PST
I was so taken aback by "A Joe"s experience that I actually took the time to contact ICD myself. Interestingly, they immediately recognized the case in question when I mentioned that I was contacting them regarding the experience of an owner that had returned the marker multiple times for repair. Perhaps the product is still new enough that they remember every freestyle that comes in the door for work, or maybe the returning of a freestyle more than once is a rarity enough that it stuck in their minds.

Their position is that before returning it they examined the marker and could find no defect; and when test firing it they could find no difficulty sending paint through it without breaks. I take it with a bit of a grain of salt because, well, one would not expect an ICD employee to say, "Our product stinks" but from their professional communication with me I find it hard to believe they were outright lying about it.

My inclination is to think that "A Joe" has had a bad experience, but that the cause may not be a marker problem in particular. Rather, it could be a problem with paint-to-barrel match, or the mating of the barrel and the receiver not being quite on spec, or something of that sort. I feel badly that he's having trouble, but I'm not sure that the problem is entirely the fault of the marker. I wonder if he'd get better results approaching them as I did and going over the problem with them in more detail, perhaps sending his entire marker as fitted when he experiences the problem, barrel, air system and all so that they can fire it in the same configuration where the problem was observed?
   

A_joe Wednesday, July 14th, 2004 | 8:11 pm PST
i did send my barrel with the only things I did not send was my tank and hopper because he said that he had those two, for no difficulty why did they replace the bolt? I did I have talked to him while looking at it I have talked to him everytime there has been a problem and gave him all of the info asked and what ever else they would need. we have tried 3 tanks and used the tank that he suggested. I have been following any instruction that they had given me to follow. we have also tried 3 barrels a boomstick, an ultralight and a stiffi and all of them have had problems, the balls are breaking in the breach not the barrel.
   

jhorgan Thursday, July 15th, 2004 | 5:20 am PST
Hmmm.....other than what "A Joe" and ICD personnel have done to troubleshoot the problem there seems to be little else they can do. It just may be that the breach itself has a flaw and nothing can fix that except replacing the receiver. Maybe you should talk to them about replacing the Freestyle with a completely different one. If their customer service is as good as it was in the past hopefully they will consider this.
   

DrewRiggio Monday, July 19th, 2004 | 3:01 pm PST
That sounds like an outstanding suggestion. I did make them aware of your comments here, perhaps they'd replace your marker in order to improve your opinion of the product. Maybe you do just have one with a faulty breech or other receiver issue.
   

xXniTemAreXx Tuesday, July 20th, 2004 | 5:03 pm PST
:| maybe youre shooting hot? Maybe youre paint is sucky and old. Maybe its way to cold. Maybe this whole review is BS.
   

A_joe Thursday, July 22nd, 2004 | 5:09 pm PST
no the gun was not hot it was set at 275fps, the paint was brand new, just off the truck it was fresh paint, cold? it is summer I don't know how it is out there but during summer it is warm, isn't it? plus it is an indoor field. it came back and seams ok I will give it a little while and if no problems I will cahnge my rateing, but the custmer service was good
   

jhorgan Friday, July 23rd, 2004 | 5:21 am PST
Hopefully ICD has come through for you A_joe. Please keep us posted on what happens with it.
   

slushii Tuesday, July 27th, 2004 | 9:41 pm PST
Lemon
   

pnda_express Thursday, August 19th, 2004 | 8:16 am PST
How can you have all of those guns and 1 year of paintball experience???
   

pump12 Saturday, August 28th, 2004 | 7:21 pm PST
hmmm, i wonder when you will change your review like you said you would?
   

A_joe Wednesday, September 29th, 2004 | 8:35 pm PST
no I would not change reviw of marker, it still did not function correctally I like icd as far as them looking at it, and trying to take care of it but it did not work correctally
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media