paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Robotech's Review / Comments on Robotech's Review / Comments on Robotech's Review / Comments on Robotech's Review / Comments on Robotech's Review

Comments on Robotech's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Robotech Friday, July 9th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Laseraim Illusion
Marker Setup: Warsensor WS66 Elite
Strengths: Price
Optic size
Easy to mount
Durable
Weaknesses: Absolutely useless in bright sunlight
Review: I got the BSA at my local Walmart for $30. For the price it is pretty decent. I tried it and it seemed to work fairly well. It was easy to sight in and mounted to the weaver rails well. In low light conditions, the unit functioned well and the 30mm optic made it pretty easy to pick up when you could see the dot.

Then I used it during the day. Once you were in bright sunlight, the dot was washed out. You had to really look hard and be looking at a dark background to pick it up. Once you did, you had to focus on the dot to keep it in your vision when trying to put it on target. It was horrble. Even with a new battery it was no better. If you sighted at a wooden bunker you lost it completly.

I picked up a Laseraim Illusion the other day. These are discontinued but you can find used ones on the net. When I compared it to the BSA, the Illusion was by far the superior optic. Smaller in diameter than the BSA (it mounts using standard 1" weaver scope rings) the Illusion has far brighter dot. In bright sunlight I compared the two and with both units turned up all the way (11 adjustments on the BSA and 7 on the Illusion), the BSA washed out against a mint green wall...the Illusion was very easy to pick up...almost the same brightness as a laser at dusk. With the Illusion set at 2 it was just a bit brighter than the BSA set at 11. Best of all, you can find these sights for $70 on the web. Well worth the extra $40.
Conclusion: Even though the BSA looks good and is very cheap, you are getting what you pay for. If you really plan on using a red dot, don't spend your money on the BSA. Go to your local gun shop and look at what they have to offer. Chances are while you may pay more, you'll get a sight that works in all lighting conditions. If you have to have a red dot though and all you have around you is a WalMart (or only play in the woods where the light is not so bright because of the canopy) then the BSA may work for you. The only reason I gave this sight anything other than a 1 is because of price, optic size, and the fact that in low light conditions, it will work.
Rating:
4 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Pro_Tippy13 Sunday, December 25th, 2005 | 6:22 pm PST
Dispute:
what was your setting on?
3? Try it on 11.
I have 1 and it is extremely bright. I live in Fl. and it is extremely sunny here.
I have no problem seeing it.
   

chikin pickle Wednesday, March 1st, 2006 | 8:32 pm PST
He got the "wal-mart" sight. Wally world has a cheapened up version of everything. (Sad but true)
   

slyfox21892 Monday, March 6th, 2006 | 3:53 pm PST
Dispute:
There are brightness settings.
   

matt_conti Tuesday, June 27th, 2006 | 7:11 am PST
Dispute:
yo ok, on 5 i can see it perfect in the bright sun! either it has a dead baterie, or u just need to go for ur anual eye check-up haha
   

purelycanadian Monday, July 10th, 2006 | 7:41 pm PST
Here's a tip you idiot: Don't point you're paintball gun at the sun, you won't hit much. This works fine when you are in bright sun.
   

spr Monday, October 2nd, 2006 | 8:30 pm PST
While I don't fully agree with you, I can see why you would say that you lose sight of the dot. Let me explain why.
I just ordered an Ion and a Tactical body kit. I wanted a new electronic sight to go with it. So, I got a Swatforce red/green electronic sight. It is absolutely amazing at how much brighter it is over the BSA I have mounted on my A-5.The smallest brightness setting on it is brighter than the BSA on the brightest setting. I payed $37 for it including shipping and handling, which is fairly cheap.
Now that being said, the BSA is still a good pickup. I used it for two years before I considered replacing it with something better. It does take a little bit of focusing your attention to find the dot, and comparing it to the Swatforce, it does seem a little weak. But it is not complete junk though either. And I would recommend it if you asked me, although now I would recommend the Swatforce over the BSA.
   

ducksauce71 Wednesday, November 15th, 2006 | 3:28 pm PST
Dispute:
i use my sight in the sun all the time and it doest efec sight
   

Robotech Friday, April 19th, 2013 | 10:08 pm PST
For those that doubted this...

BSA on maximum brightness 11 and fresh battery...
http://www.b17queenofthesky.com/paintball/images/sights/redd
otlow.jpg

Laseraim on maximum brightness 7 and same battery that ws in the BSA...
http://www.b17queenofthesky.com/paintball/images/sights/redd
othigh.jpg

(Don't know why the links are wrapping and adding spaces like this...cut, past, remove the space.)

The idea behind a red dot is to pick up and aquire your target quickly. While the BSA dot can still be seen, you have to hunt for it thus defeating the purpose of a red dot. Some posters seem to have an issue with reading comprehension as I never said I was aiming into the sun and clearly stated that the BSA was set on 11.

As you you can see by the above images, I even assisted the BSA by aiming it at a dark background. On a lighter background it was almost impossible to see. By comparison, the Laseraim has a lat of light coming into the scope and yet the dot is still so bright it is washing out and looking 30% as large as it really is.

Perhaps the Wal Mart version of this BSA sight is substandard, it wouldn't suprise me, but it is the experiance I had with it. As spr mentioned above, he found that he had to hunt for the dot on the BSA as well and recommends his Swatforce over the BSA. I didn't score the sight a 1 but gave it a slightly below average rating because of the poor visibility of the dot in bright light conditions.
Last edited on Friday, April 19th, 2013 at 10:12 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media