paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on helmet_indabush's Review / Comments on helmet_indabush's Review / Comments on helmet_indabush's Review / Comments on helmet_indabush's Review / Comments on helmet_indabush's Review

Comments on helmet_indabush's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

helmet_indabush Wednesday, July 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months38 of 50 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
there is nothing that ive really used to compare, as this marker is similar, yet unsimilar, with other markers. ive used a tippmann a5 and a spyder avant. the a5 is the closest marker to match the distance and accuracy.
Marker Setup: ariakon(armotech) sim4 w/sling, ricochet ak , 32 degrees slide check remote w/on/off, vforce shield, 20oz. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
a sling and a remote w/slide. thats it.
Strengths: APPEARANCE!!!, accuracy, distance, durability, quality, and awsome customer service.
Weaknesses: Velocity is too hot out of the box. rear sight.
Review: i have really nothing negative to say about this in any way. i tightened down the velocity screw to breakin the spring. i left it like that for about three weeks. it didnt work with speeds over 340fps. i had to cut five rungs off of the springs before i could get it between 270-280fps. ive never had a barrel break yet and ive fired well over 6000 rounds. its skipped once but i forgot to turn on the hopper and the balls jammed up. after which i havent had a problem yet. its well balanced and comfortable. fires from the hip and from the shoulder extremely well. i have out distanced the autocockers and been accused of playing hot. on the spot chrony tests shown me at between 250-260fps with three shots several times. HA!!! so they will cry and whine when they realize that you have the same abilities they do. its beats my spyder and is of the same caliber with my brothers flatline a5. we havent done any formal tests but in the field, what he can hit, i can hit. i cant see through the rear sights with my mask on. however, i use the front sights with ease and no compensation. just lower the front sight slightly. ive had perfect accuracy at over 60 yards, and it efficiently uses gas. durability is "tough as nails". it can handle the rigors of the battle field with ease. mine has been dropped, smashed to the ground, hit against trees and still looks and operates like new. ariakon provides two springs(high and low velocity) with their markers and if you already own one, then all you have to do is call and theyll sent ya a low velocity spring free of charge. its also a bit heavy for a marker but they are trying to simulate the real thing, so no biggie. a three point sling solves that problem
Conclusion: i have no need for another marker. it has done what ive read and held more that its own in the field. it is FAR WORTH THE PRICE. i give it a 9.8 but well just have to round off.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 22nd, 2004 at 5:19 pm PST
 

Review Comments
DierWolf Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 | 6:48 pm PST
Ariakon is not Armotech... please dont associate the two.
   

BC0 Saturday, July 24th, 2004 | 5:31 am PST
Armotech lcc recently switched its name to Ariakon if you didnt know.
Last edited on Monday, August 23rd, 2004 at 1:25 pm PST
   

cockerwalker05 Monday, August 30th, 2004 | 5:00 am PST
mmm u didnt outshoot a cocker at 250-260fps, no way that happened. if u had a cocker and a spyder fire at the same fps, theyd have the same distance basically.... cockers r just a lot more accurate
   

WarHamster Saturday, September 4th, 2004 | 12:45 am PST
Cocker; while you're correct that they should have the same distance. However, most tests that have been run found autocockers (and closed bolt designs in general) no more accurate the open bolts... I now refer you to Warpig... go look up their test results betwen open/closed bolt guns.

Kamka; I can just feel the sarcasm dripping from that comment since you know dang well they have a 90 day warranty. However, their customer service is 2nd to none and they'll help you out, whether you're inside your warranty or not.
Last edited on Saturday, September 4th, 2004 at 9:07 am PST
   

AriakonDevilDog Tuesday, September 14th, 2004 | 8:43 pm PST
The warranty is now a full year for the SIM-4 and SIM-5. The SIM-15 comes with a 90 day warranty.
   

THE KAMKA Wednesday, September 29th, 2004 | 6:55 pm PST
yea...i just realized i could delete that...lol...it was back before i opened my mind
   

pbcornholio Monday, January 3rd, 2005 | 6:57 pm PST
Cocker; while you're correct that they should have the same distance. However, most tests that have been run found autocockers (and closed bolt designs in general) no more accurate the open bolts... I now refer you to Warpig... go look up their test results betwen open/closed bolt guns.

Kamka; I can just feel the sarcasm dripping from that comment since you know dang well they have a 90 day warranty. However, their customer service is 2nd to none and they'll help you out, whether you're inside your warranty or not.

please ive used a spyder for three yrs and just got a trilogy pro (autococker)and its a humongous diffrance
   

h0taZn9rAndMa Sunday, January 9th, 2005 | 7:05 pm PST
wow- a 10...this...is a dark day in paintball. Did you knoe the dm5 got an average rating of 9.7, so do u really think that this gun stacks up at all with anything near the dm5, angels, timmies, etc.?? didnt think so. The only reason you gave this gun such a high rating is because your a noob whos like "ow wow an m4 that is soo kewl i have to buy it!!!"...this is nothing close to a rating 10 gun, and idk how accurate your gun is but 250-260 fps isnt what i really call accurate, +-10 is not a 10 rating gun, this gun is a looker and a looker only, and performance is no where near 450 dollars.
Last edited on Sunday, January 9th, 2005 at 7:06 pm PST
   

WarHamster Sunday, January 23rd, 2005 | 1:03 pm PST
Granted a 10 is somewhat excessive (I rated mine at a 9), however I don't think are are ANY paintball guns out there that are PERFECT which is what a 10 rating would be.

As for the rest of your comments, that's about what I would expect from from someone with a name like yours. The "performance" you're talking about is nothing more then how many cases of paint a marker can go through in 15 minutes... A lot of rec., woodsball, and scenario players are looking for things OTHER then 33 balls per second. In consistancy, durability, customer support, and many other things I venture to say the Armotech & Ariakon lines would beat out most "high performace" markers you would match against it.

Also, as a last note: Has it perhaps occured to you that the majority of the reviews you read for these markers are rated very high for a reason? Perhaps the customer is <gasp> EXTREMELY SATISFIED with the marker! I very much doubt a great looking gun that gave it's user nothing but trouble and shot like crap all day would recieve a ten after the customer had to use it.

   

Paintbaallaa Monday, June 20th, 2005 | 2:05 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by h0taZn9rAndMa
wow- a 10...this...is a dark day in paintball. Did you knoe the dm5 got an average rating of 9.7, so do u really think that this gun stacks up at all with anything near the dm5, angels, timmies, etc.?? didnt think so. The only reason you gave this gun such a high rating is because your a noob whos like "ow wow an m4 that is soo kewl i have to buy it!!!"...this is nothing close to a rating 10 gun, and idk how accurate your gun is but 250-260 fps isnt what i really call accurate, +-10 is not a 10 rating gun, this gun is a looker and a looker only, and performance is no where near 450 dollars.

First of all, the dm5 and all those guns are completely different type of guns then the sim-4.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media