paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on delirious39's Review / Comments on delirious39's Review / Comments on delirious39's Review / Comments on delirious39's Review / Comments on delirious39's Review

Comments on delirious39's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

delirious39 Wednesday, July 21st, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 123 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
various timmys, and shockers
Marker Setup: empire timmy, empire b,cp reg,68 3000 crossfire,
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, just dont buy this gun
Strengths: small... thats all I can think of
Weaknesses: This gun is not reliable at all.
Gas hog.
Review: out of the box this gun shot fairly well. I was amazed on how quite it was. I threw a halo on it and ripped about twenty balls through it. It was accurate but not all that fast.

the next day I decided to shoot it in the tournament my team is in. the first game it did ok but then started to break paint. I broke paint all day. I took it home and read the manual and fixed it all was is the front reg needed to be adjusted. later i was using it blew up and was leaking air every where. I fixed but it did again. I couldn't figure it out. later my brother's did it to. so I got rid of it and got a empire timmy which hasn't failed me yet
Conclusion: Dont buy this gun get a timmy.
Rating:
2 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
jhorgan Thursday, July 22nd, 2004 | 5:57 am PST
Sounds to me like you gave up on fixing the problems with this marker WAY too quickly. You have got to keep in mind that the Freestyle is a brand new marker for ICD and there is probably a few bugs that need to be worked out.

If anyone reads this review...please keep the fact that the Freestyle is new. I know ICD customer service will work with you to solve any problems that you may have. I've owned ICD products before and the customer service I got was above and beyond. If you are thinking of purchasing a Freestyle you can either buy one and fix problems as they arise or wait until the next years model comes out. I think the Freestyle will be a great marker (even better than a Timmy) once the bugs are worked out. Not everything works perfect the first time out.
   

Zorath Thursday, July 22nd, 2004 | 10:48 pm PST
Its called product testing. The consumer shouldn't be the one to work out the bugs in a product, that's the responsibility of the manufacturer.

Saying that next year's model will be better does not change the fact that the current models are unreliable.
Last edited on Thursday, July 22nd, 2004 at 10:49 pm PST
   

jhorgan Friday, July 23rd, 2004 | 5:18 am PST
In an ideal world that's what should happen. But sometimes a manufacturer rushes an item to production. It's not not fair to the consumer but it happens. Just about every company has done it at one time or another. Heck, look at Saturn. The first cars they came out with were absolute garbage. But they revamped everything and came out the following year with a much better car.

I have seen the Freestyle in action and was amazed. Of course the person that had it wasn't having any problems with it that day. I'm not sure how its performing now as I have not seen him.

Hopefully ICD will work out the bugs and come out with a better product next year.

Not to mention there are just certain things that a manufacturer cannot duplicate when it comes to consumer use of a product. I.E. wear and tear over time, problems that may come up when people try to customize their set-up, and who knows what else.

ICD has very good customer service and I know they will work with anyone who is having problems with one of their products.
   

Mike Blodgett Friday, August 13th, 2004 | 6:40 am PST
It happens with every gun. When a new model comes out all of the other companys rush their latest thing out to try and keep up with the market. Which means that product testing cannot be totaly fulfilled. '03 shocker is horrible with gas, so a few months later they had high efficency bolts and different models to combat its problems. DM4 isnt the best on gas at all, that's why the DM5 is coming out shortly. Its hard to find a new model of gun that is excellent on gas out of the box. There is nothing wrong with this gun. patience is a virtue and in this case ICD will have any efficincy problems worked out before the DM5 can get on the market.
   

pump12 Saturday, August 28th, 2004 | 7:26 pm PST
can you say user error?
   

tippmann_nick27 Friday, September 17th, 2004 | 8:08 pm PST
i no man...what kinda prob are u guys talking about..."bugs" what bugs???air efficiency? thats not a bug.. thats common with many high end guns. other than that i think the new 04 freestyle with the new valves, boards, and frames are awsome markers and are depenable indeed.
   

bulzeye Sunday, September 26th, 2004 | 4:23 am PST
he complains about air efficiency but yet has owned various shockers. also talks about bugs adn how a customer shouldn't have to deal with it but still has owned various shockers. sounds more like a spoiled kid who didn't want to set his gun up right the first time.
   

tippmann_nick27 Sunday, September 26th, 2004 | 8:35 am PST
read the manual..ur suppose to lube after every day of use. as long as u do that and no how to set up the regs properly the freestyle is amazing and will be very dependable.
   

superrocker Tuesday, September 28th, 2004 | 6:15 pm PST
Its a awesome gun figure out how to take care of it
   

supernothing76 Saturday, November 6th, 2004 | 7:58 am PST
i newb thats why noobs shouldnt get good gun to start playing pb adn that 5 years dont mean nothing your sill a noob to me
   

Msabercr Monday, November 29th, 2004 | 7:46 pm PST
this guy needs to change his diaper. It sounds like he probably ripped out the macro line which i would replace immediately any ways. For efficiency I would definately get a 2 litre or at the least a gladiator. Those will definately help with consistancy. The new guns now come with the new HE bolts wich are higher flow and delrin. Finally does anyone know what threads this barrel is and do they make SCM 2's for the FS?

P.S. LEARN TO TYPE you 12 year olds!!
Last edited on Monday, November 29th, 2004 at 7:49 pm PST
   

Hitokiri_1 Friday, December 10th, 2004 | 4:48 pm PST
THe gun has autococker barrel threads, and they do not have an SCM 2 for the FS yet. They are, however, planning production of one. Oh and I agree this guy is a newblet, 90% of problems with ICD products are user error.
   

Goat Master Wednesday, December 15th, 2004 | 5:40 pm PST
"It was accurate but not all that fast."

Is it just me, or is that blasphemy? Damnit, if a marker's capable of 20 bps it's FAST ENOUGH!!! Unless you're Keely Watson, and can actually shoot 23 bps, shuttup! (his fingers probably are too slow, that's GOT to be it...)
   

bugundertherug Sunday, January 16th, 2005 | 6:22 pm PST
"it was acurate, but not all that fast"

markers don't shoot themselves, u gotta be able to walk fast for your marker to be fast. i agree w/ Goat Master
   

Denbent Wednesday, January 19th, 2005 | 9:09 pm PST
Wow, you traded an IC FS for a Timmy? My IC FS eats Timmys for a snack. The higher the performance of the machine, the higher the required intelligence of the user. Performance requires CARE and PREP. In NEWBEE terms, CLEANING and LUBE!!!!!! Oh, by the way , allot of people don't realize that this marker is a LOW PRESSURE marker. That means 450 psi max coming out of the air vessel. This could have been your problem. For those of you that want to know the barrel thread, it is Autococker.
   

Team smurf Saturday, January 22nd, 2005 | 2:37 pm PST
Virtually all electro pneumatic markers are low pressure denbent and maybe your freestyle woops a timmy but a stock timmy is a better gun than a stock freestyle ask any pro shop of what gun they have to fix the most and they will say ICD.
   

General Spyder Thursday, January 27th, 2005 | 12:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Goat Master
"It was accurate but not all that fast."

Is it just me, or is that blasphemy? Damnit, if a marker's capable of 20 bps it's FAST ENOUGH!!! Unless you're Keely Watson, and can actually shoot 23 bps, shuttup! (his fingers probably are too slow, that's GOT to be it...)


keely watson...nice....
   

doyoung2win Monday, January 31st, 2005 | 6:01 pm PST
i agree with both sides of the arguement, the freestyle HAD many flaws, and ICD has great service

there is a generation 2 freestyle that fixed the flaws and an 05 is shortly expected.
   

racer14_9 Friday, February 25th, 2005 | 5:53 pm PST
hey dud there is no gun that deserves a 2 not even a spyder. after i read all the comments all u guy/girls wrote, i still dont know if i should get this gun or not. i just want to know, is it good or bad.
   

Goat Master Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 6:32 pm PST
It's a-friggin-mazin' man. I'm gonna trade my up'd A4 for one as soon as I get the chance. They're light, fast, accurate, and now, gas efficient!
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media