paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on marko_sotto's Review / Comments on marko_sotto's Review / Comments on marko_sotto's Review / Comments on marko_sotto's Review / Comments on marko_sotto's Review

Comments on marko_sotto's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

marko_sotto Monday, August 2nd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month89 of 94 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dragun TES
Dragun "The One"
Tippmann A5
Odyssey O3

Iv'e tested Vikings, Shockers, and all sorts of Cockers
Marker Setup: Evil Pimp
HPA
Halo B
Stilleto angled drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better On/Off
New barrel
Strengths: Excellent speed
Attractive styling
Reliable
Accurate
Compact
Original
Rare
Weaknesses: Anodizing is of suspect quality
Air efficiency could be better
Review: Here we have PMI's Evil Pimp. A Hybrid marker made with ideas from both Impulses and TImmys. Come's stock with a teflon bolt, break-beam eyes, uncapped board, and Pipe barrel.

First Impressions:

Out of the box the Pimp impresses. The lines are clean, and the marker has a great feel to it. The body resembles a customized Impulse, with a smaller, sleeker footprint. It appears to be made of a very high quality, something that one would expect of a product from PMI. Included is a matching anodized barrel similar to an Evil Pipe, but of slightly lesser quality. The "kit " comes with allen wrenches, O-rings, ball deents, a decent manual, and some Evil puss. The most innovative feature of this marker is the position of its trigger, very unique. After a little getting used to, and some trigger adjustments, one immediately realizes the design is meant for function not fashion. Walking the trigger while dry-firing is a snap, and it's amazing how easy it is to achieve incredibly high rates of fire with little effort. Because the trigger is 3-Way adjustable ,the Pimp's operator can tweak it to there hearts content, legality issuedsput aside.....wink...wink. Because I ordered a flat powder black model the anodizing was satisfactory, although there have been problems with the Gold/Black fades with the finish.

Field Test:

So I took the Pimp out for it's first day of actual play. First adjustments at the chrono took some time, which is normal. When ajusting The Pimp for the first time, one must keep in mind that the marker has a break in period of around 2000 shots. After a series of a few games and a whole lot of paint, the consistancy noticably improved. I adjusted the trigger sensitivity, comparable to a debounce feature, and had at it.

THE MARKER PERFORMS WICKED FAST! Unbelievable rates of fire can be achieved, pairing the leveraged trigger with the Pimps uncapped board. Yes, UNCAPPED! Alias's, Angels, E-Blades, and E-Mags, all seemed to be just a cycle or two behind when the Pimp was ripping, A Victory boarded HALO B is a must for talented operators. Accuracy was great, and the marker seemed compact. Also notable was the Pimp's weight. Compared to other compact markers like the Bushmaster, or Odyssey O3, the burden is slightly greater with the difference in weight at a little over one pound. The body design, as well as many of the internals of the Pimp, are based of an Impulse. While the design is effective and high performing, it does weigh more than smaller "super-guns" out there. The Pimp also seemed to be satisfactory, but not amazing, when it comes to air efficiency.

Conclusion: I found PMI's Pimp to be one impressive marker. Stylistically speaking, the Pimp just plain looks better than most other high-enders it faces off with. Add screaming performance to the package, coupled with a price tag well below what many direct competitors can offer, and you have THE muscle car of todays "super-gun" marker class. PMI provides quality customer service, giving owners a sense of security, and the feeling that they as a , manufacturer believe in their product. The Pimps production numbers are low, making it a rare breed. But as time progresses, I feel that PMI and Evil will gain support as player begin to notice what this product can do.........RIPPPP!
BUY IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
joshbo Wednesday, August 25th, 2004 | 5:44 pm PST
mandude, dis is da fastest tim tim on da black market. it rare, but it can rip a lot and is sexy and supa shiny!!!!!
   

tippmann_nick27 Sunday, September 26th, 2004 | 9:06 am PST
naw..freestyles faster..all this is, is another stacked tube marker with an uncapped board. nice but not worth the price.
   

tippmann_nick27 Monday, September 27th, 2004 | 6:35 pm PST
good price...but its not to good.
   

xtrpaintball Tuesday, September 28th, 2004 | 8:13 pm PST
yeh u rule
let me hear youre battle cry
   

AirSin2000 Monday, October 4th, 2004 | 3:37 pm PST
This is an uncapped marker, no marker can be faster than a uncapped marker, and for the price of the marker, it is cheap. It comes stock with aftermarket accesories.
   

tippmann_nick27 Tuesday, October 5th, 2004 | 4:00 pm PST
omg....ur never goin to hit 80 bps on a freestyle and ur never goin to get any faster with an uncapped baord...its as fast as u can pull.
   

Goat Master Thursday, October 14th, 2004 | 3:05 pm PST
uhh... nick? Wtf are you talking about? It doesn't MATTER if your gun can rip 30 40 whatever, it's if it can keep up with YOU. Have you even shot one of these? They RIP, and I don't care, the freestyle's speed doesn't EVEN matter when compared to this, they might as well be the same dame ROF.

Oh yeah, and DM4s beat the living HELL out of the freestyle, along with just about ANY e-cocker, matrix, timmy... yeah, :P
And yes, I've shot a freestyle, a dm4 and all others I just listed along with imps, angels and blah blah blah!
   

tippmann_nick27 Friday, October 15th, 2004 | 12:53 pm PST
k bud u take ur little cocker and keep up with the freestyle...stfu newb u didnt shoot any of those guns ur talkin about cause if u did u'd no the freestyle is one of the fastest guns out there...u just cant shoot newb...ur shootin the freestyle like ur shootin ur cocker..newb.
   

ZWCoolkid Friday, October 29th, 2004 | 5:48 pm PST
Wow. I respect AirSin2000; he capitalizes. Anyways, is there a way you could upgrade to a full Pipe kit for like $100 more? I think a deal like that would increase their sales.
   

plaztik Sunday, December 5th, 2004 | 5:47 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by tippmann_nick27
k bud u take ur little cocker and keep up with the freestyle...stfu newb u didnt shoot any of those guns ur talkin about cause if u did u'd no the freestyle is one of the fastest guns out there...u just cant shoot newb...ur shootin the freestyle like ur shootin ur cocker..newb.

You know it says on your review that you have only tried out the matrix. Why are you posting here on the pimp? People can shoot some things faster than others. It all depends on what they are used to. There's no need to come and bash the reviews of a gun you have not tried.
   

drunkdogsdrink Sunday, December 5th, 2004 | 9:42 pm PST
i think that there is no diffrence of 20 and 30 if your shooting a stream at them instead of a 1/9 inch of distince from each ball theres are 1/5 inch difrence there still going to run into it
   

wulf1010 Monday, December 13th, 2004 | 2:45 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by drunkdogsdrink
i think that there is no diffrence of 20 and 30 if your shooting a stream at them instead of a 1/9 inch of distince from each ball theres are 1/5 inch difrence there still going to run into it

haha damn strait
   

mxc1090 Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004 | 6:21 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by wulf1010


haha damn strait


yeah home boy
   

I'm_A_Baller Tuesday, January 4th, 2005 | 5:19 pm PST
Wow nick ur g@y ur probably just mad cuz it ownz ur impy.
   

General Spyder Saturday, January 22nd, 2005 | 12:08 pm PST
freestyles r awesome, i hate the pimps trigger so much.
   

Lazro Monday, January 31st, 2005 | 8:39 pm PST
First off, I thought Evil produced the Pimp Kit. Secondly, the ICD Freestyle and the Evil Pimp Kit are two comparable guns. The ICD Freestyle and the Evil Pimp Kit have a PDS, Custom Grips, Low Pressure Systems, and high rates of fire. Where the Evil Pimp Kit jumps ahead is when Evil decided to put in Aftermarket parts. The Evil Pipe barrel compared to the stock barrel of the freestyle. Uncapped board compared to the capped one. Also the adjustable neck for the Pimp Kit was a brilliant move by Evil (o-rings in neck to insure any hopper to fit). There are many more extras for the Evil Pimp Kit too. The question is if you want to spend $825 for the Pimp or $688 for the Freestyle?
   

Team smurf Wednesday, February 9th, 2005 | 10:13 pm PST
It is the best new marker out there bye far the pimp is awesome
   

chumbawumba Saturday, February 12th, 2005 | 7:20 pm PST
one word P_I_M_P



Yeah sweet ass name
   

guns+me=fun Saturday, March 26th, 2005 | 3:44 pm PST
would you say that if i traded my 2k3 worrbladed cocker with full nexus kit, 2k2 max flo reg, full pipe kit ect.... would that be a good trade for me if i traded for a pimp?
   

©® CB Sunday, April 10th, 2005 | 9:05 pm PST
Sigh....

Around here, we say "Hey, your gun rips!" And then we hear "Hey, your gun rips, too!"
Then we say "Wanna switch for a couple games?" And we hear "Sure. Always wanted to shoot one of those." After a couple of games we say "Here's your marker. That thing throws ropes!" And we hear "So does yours. Thanks for lettin me play with it." Then we tell our friends "I shot a super bling bling widget-olater at the field today. I'd like to pick one of those up." And we hear (from the next room over) "Don't you even THINK about buying another paintball gun! You can only play with one at a time! Why on earth do you need ANOTHER one?"

So you see, it's not about what gun is the best. Each gun has it's strengths and weaknesses depending on who's pulling the trigger. Instead of arguing about what guns better, shouldn't we be working together to create the perfect response when our wives/girlfriends/moms/dads/husbands/third-cousins-thrice-re
moved-by-four-divorces-and-one-common-law-marriage tell us we can't have another marker?

Just my two cents...
Last edited on Sunday, April 10th, 2005 at 9:06 pm PST
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media