paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on saltilance's Review / Comments on saltilance's Review / Comments on saltilance's Review / Comments on saltilance's Review / Comments on saltilance's Review

Comments on saltilance's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

saltilance Wednesday, August 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2001 lcd angel, 2003 bushmaster
Marker Setup: e-mag, chrome ule body, freak w/AA front, 68/4500 pmi pure energy, halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, tapeworm, new bolt, lpr of some type, new hammer, definately new trigger, new grips, almost everything on the marker.
Strengths: Its easily upgraded.
Weaknesses: It really wasn't good stock.
Review: Well I got this marker from a shop after reading some reviews and doing my research and shooting the marker a few times. I decided, hey this marker isn't so bad. but then after playing with it for a few months I was thoroughly disappointed. I was getting +-20fps over the chrono. Absolutely unacceptable. I looked at the reg, seemed ok, fiddled with the dwell a little bit just incase, and it didn't do anything, and then I whiped all the grease off the bolt after my buddy recommended it, and it tightened up to +-10 fps. Still not great, and the paint/barrel match didn't seem all that bad either, coudn't have been a whole lot better but the balls were curving every which way. the marker also chopped more than my old mag classic without LX, and I'm not exaggerating at all. I chopped 3+ times a day and i'm not that fast on triggers either so I doubt it was me. Also, with the tapeworm and upgraded internals, I still got horrible FSDO. very annoying the microswitch just completely fell off one afternoon, i couldn't believe it. I called SP and left a message with my number since they didn't pick up the phone during working hours, and never got a call back. I called them again and they put me on hold and hung up on me. Thanks a lot SP. Then i finally got them to talk on the phone and i got my marker mailed in. I got it back about 3 weeks later, and it still didn't work. they mailed it back with another bad board!! I couldn't believe it. I went to a local shop out of frustration and just paid 75 dollars so I could buy a new board and have them put it in, and they did it right. BUT SP did relube my whole marker and maxflow while they had it though....thanks? Then soon after getting my board fixed, the feedneck decided to fall off. but by that point I really didn't give care anymore, I was getting ready to throw the thing in the trash anyways and was happier with the performance of my pirhana. the consistency never was better than +-10 fps on the imp, and I knew how to maintain a marker, I lubed the reg and everything appropriately. But somehow, I found a guy to buy my imp for 400....I don't know why, but thats what he wanted. But the first day he tried to play with it the regulator leaked like crazy. haha not my problem, I had a different, better gun.
Conclusion: This is probably the worst electro I've ever used. Think about it, your paying 400-450 for a marker that has one of the worst, sloppiest stock triggers, is very tempermental, has a heavy not so great stock bolt, the regulator has all kinds of problems, requires an expensive "special" grease, suffers from horrible FSDO, and doesn't even come with decent grips. if you upgrade this marker a lot it can be a good marker potentially I guess. I shot some bushmasters a few days ago and realized how under rated they are, they are much more refined and much better stock than any impulse, hands down. they require much less maintenance too. For 450 dollars, you'd be much better off getting an omen or bushy, seriously, this gun is such a rip off. I realize I mightve just had bad luck and had a lemon or something, but even if it never broke, I couldn't possibly give it above an 8 and I think most of you people are very wrong in giving this a marker a 10. Even for the money this marker does not rate a 10 because it has horrible grips, a horrible trigger and FSDO, and an even worse company for support. It doesn't even come with an LPR. This marker is such a joke, there are other markers out there, that for the money, are so much better. I think people buy this marker for the name maybe?
I don't know. 5 years ago, an imp might've seemed like a good deal for 450, when all other electros were 800+, and there weren't too many choices out there, but nowadays, give me a break. if they sold it for 250 or 300 it'd be more acceptable. you can get an omen or bushmaster or a ule custom for around 400 and have much better quality and require MUCH fewer upgrades.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 at 7:27 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
toothpastedog Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 | 5:45 pm PST
okay, did you ever think about cleaning your ram? also, did you have a delrin bolt, or the stock aluminum one? well, as far as the micro switch falling off, well, that's your falt, from either installing a trigger wrong, trying to mod your trigger, or just some how f'ing it up. if you had just cleaned and re-lubed the ram and hammer assembly, which takes about 3.5 minutes and require 1 allen wrench, you wouldn't have any fsdo period. oh, you fiddled with the dwell, well mr. fancy, it sure seems like you did your research about this gun...

"this is probably the worst electro i've ever used. think about it, your paying 400-450 for a marker that has one of the worst, sloppiest stock triggers, is very tempermental, has a heavy not so great stock bolt, the regulator has all kinds of problems, requires an expensive "special" grease, suffers from horrible FSDO, and doesn't even come with decent grips" -wow, i can see so many problems with that statement. first off, this isn't the worst electo ever, leave that to the war machine 80 or what ever. so are you saying paying 400-450 for a gun that can cycle faster than a dm4 is a bad thing. come off it, buy a new trigger for 20$, buy a tube of dow33 (which almost every other company recomends for their guns), for 8$ which will last you a life time (unless your a fruit fly ;-) ), buy a new bolt for 30$, clean your ram and buy some old dye stickies for 5$ (now you've spent 463$... too much... i think not). oh, and while the maxflo isn't the best reg out there (well, it is pretty much the best reg out there for consistancy and flow, but isn't the best over all because of its size and wieght) you are not going to have any problems with it unless you don't lube it...

...every 10,000 shots!

" i shot some bushmasters a few days ago and realized how under rated they are, they are much more refined and much better stock than any impulse, hands down." -this is true, but were they stock bushmasters? also, did you happen to realize bushmasters cost about 100$ more than a stock impulse?

better off with an omen.... ha


"this marker is such a joke" -as is this review. think abou this, buy an impulse, buy a WAS board, buy a new bolt, a ti bolt pin, a new trigger, and a tapeworm or gp valve. if you do all that, which will cost you 650$, you will have one of the 4 or 5 fastest cycling guns on earth...




btw, any one who owns a gun that is worth more than 200$ and fails to fully learn how to clean, take care of, and how it works, doesn't deserve to have his or her review given much, if any, credit.
   

toothpastedog Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 | 5:53 pm PST
also, if it really was working as badly as you said it was, you should have taken it to sp, or at least called them and talked with them about all its "problems," then sent it in to them to be completely reworked and tested-i personally know that they don't send back out broken markers.
   

saltilance Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 | 7:53 pm PST
well mr. toothpaste. i didn't say it was the worst electro ever now did i? i said it was the worst electro i ever shot. and who says i didn't maintian the marker correctly? cause i did. i didn't just go buying this thing not knowing what i was getting into, i asked around and downloaded the manual off the internet and have eve done some work on similar markers. do you really think i never ever cleaned or relubed the marker? i did it religiously and made sure it was in immaculate condition. and i mailed the thing to SP, do you think i'm really going to make a 20 hour drive to smart parts cause they can't do their job right? thats smart. i didn't install the ND blade trigger either, i took it to the same shop that installed the new board.


and with your statement on how if i buy a was board and all this other garbage for 650 i can have such a great marker. well hey genius, do you realize you pretty much changed out almost the whole freaking marker? if its such a great marker that shouldn't be necessary, and the only thing i didn't upgrade on the impulse was the pull pin (like that really freaking matters) and the WAS board. and i still got FSDO. thats the sign of a great marker, isn't it?

One bushmaster was a 2003, and was stock, and i was very impressed with it. Yes I also realize that they go for about 499. The other bushmaster I tested out had a new barrel and was a 2001 model.

It doesn't matter how much those upgrades are. The simple fact of the matter is that the marker doesn't even come with decent basic parts, so how can a stock imp possibly rate a 10 if the only way you can get a decent trigger or feel for the gun is by going out and buying additional upgrades. Also, what does the cycle rate matter? do you think anyways is ever gonna reach the 30+Cps cycle rate of any of these markers? For goodness sakes, spyders can cycle at 30+Cps., a few cps doesn't make a difference. if you have a disgusting trigger like the impulse its not like you'll ever be close to 30+cps.

The only thing you've really got to say about this review is that you don't think i don't know how to take care of this marker. i guess you live in the same house as me and see me taking it apart and lubing it. must be. you seem to know me so well.

Bushmasters may be an extra 50 or 100 dollars (depending where you shop) but you save a lot of money over the impulse seeing as how you've gotta buy an awful lot of up's for the imp to get it to be decent, and then it still doesn't look as good and doesn't have the quality of a new bushie.
Any thing else you wanna say about my review go ahead. I wasn't necessarily flaming your precious impulse. i was simply letting people know about my experiences with the marker. whether you disagree or think i lubed it correctly or whatever doesn't make a difference. as i said before, i may as well have just gotten a lemon. or maybe the marker is wayyyy over rated?
   

toothpastedog Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 | 9:21 pm PST
well, as far as the trigger and board is concerned, it isn't the gun's fault, it is the shops who installed it; i have seen many people try to install a trigger themselves and break the trigger switch somehow. did you ever lube the ram/hammer assembly; you said you cleaned and lube it religiously, but that doesn't mean you ever lubed those two parts-which just happen to be pretty damn important?

"and with your statement on how if i buy a was board and all this other garbage for 650 i can have such a great marker. well hey genius, do you realize you pretty much changed out almost the whole freaking marker?" -no, not really, all you did was add 5 parts, the maker stayed the same...

"thats the sign of a great marker, isn't it?" -it's the sign of someone who hasn't clean his or her ram properly, or who needs to learn how to take it out and really get at it with dow33.

"if you have a disgusting trigger like the impulse its not like you'll ever be close to 30+cps." -are you really sure, because i know you can. oh, and a few more bps do matter, even if it is for less than 5 seconds, they do matter.

"The only thing you've really got to say about this review is that you don't think i don't know how to take care of this marker. i guess you live in the same house as me and see me taking it apart and lubing it. must be. you seem to know me so well." -well, when someone says their impusle has fsdo problems, they are 99% of the time related to ram cleaning problems, so, there you have it. what else do i have to say about this review, hmmm, well it seems so strange to me that some one's impulses with, apparently, every part upgraded except the board and pull pin (which btw is reasonably important) and who also sent their gun in to sp to get it fixed is still working worse than any other electro he or she has ever tried. also, when someone's trigger switch breaks, it is because some one installed a trigger/board incorrectly. once you get to know the impulse a little better you learn a thing or two about it.

"Bushmasters may be an extra 50 or 100 dollars (depending where you shop) but you save a lot of money over the impulse seeing as how you've gotta buy an awful lot of up's for the imp to get it to be decent," -did you go to comic school or something, cause man you're funny... anyways, to get an impulse up to speed with a b2k4 all you need to do is spend 470-500$, buy an impulse, buy a new trigger, buy a tapeworm, and buy a bolt. there you go, a gun that is at least as good as a b2k4.

"i was simply letting people know about my experiences with the marker." -which i understand, it really just doesn't make any sense. i know for a fact this marker is not way overrated, i have set up about 500 now and have had absolutely no problems with any of them.

i have seen too many reviews of the one gun or whatever it is called that just gave it a 1/10 and used a bunch of b.s. statements to back it up, so i am not a, well, a little paranoid and have gotton a little sick of it.

so now, i will take back all of my little obsesive comments, but can you just give me a little info: did you ever clean the ram/hammer assembly; if so, how; what parts, specifically did you have on it; did you use c02. thanks,
   

saltilance Thursday, August 12th, 2004 | 5:56 pm PST
yes i did clean the ram and hammer assembly. i lubed the 1 or 2 orings on the hammer very well and then i lubed the 1 or 2 orings on the ram generously. i honostly don't remember specifically all the o-rings that were on the thing because its been about 3 years since i've hand my hands on the impulse (ie: see product date) the problem with my first shot drop off wasn't "stiction" in the hammer and ram like you seem to be thinking. it was because my solenoid needed to be cleaned out. so i cleaned it out very thoroughly, the pilot ports plunger and spring and all the area around it. then if i remember right i put a bit of grease on the spool , that combined with the tapeworm eliminated my FSDO. now youre probably thinking "well then why even list fsdo as a problem with the gun if you fixed it", its because most people don't know how to, and its a pain in the arse and its odd that so many people seem to be plagued with that inherant problem. and its just one more headache to deal with that you wouldn't have to worry about with markers in a similar price range. ALSO, if i had FSDO when i first bought it, how dirty could the solenoid possibly be when all i did was test fire it in my back yard a few times?
NO i never ever used c02 in the imp. yes i know that the trigger switch being damaged was likely due to the shop incorrectly installing the the trigger. no kidding, huh? i was simply stating that as another frustration i had to deal with. i probably wouldn't have even mentioned it if smart parts had sent it back (after i mailed it to them) with a correct working circuit board replacement like i specifically asked.

the feed falling off the marker sure didn't help in the rating of this marker either. (it wasn't threaded like the newer ones, but i don't care enough to take that into account, and it shows a lack a quality by SP for any feed to be falling off, cemented or threaded)
if i were to review this gun, assuming i had none of the circuit board or feed or regulator other problems, i'd still give this thing about a 5 or a 6. heres why: because there were (#1)dings around where the bolt pin is inserted that were scratching the heck out of my bolt, thats another shotty sign of quality control, (#2) it felt cheap in my hands, with the hard plastic grips, they can't even give a person paying 450 for a gun a decent pair of grips? every other company out there can but not sp. (#3) is a little tall for my liking and the (#4)trigger, which is supposed to be the best part of a high end marker and electro, was absolutely disgusting. (5#) it requires aftermarket parts to be seriously competitive, regardless of how expensive those parts may be, (#6) the feed fell off...need i say more.....(#7) and smart parts provided downright bad and unresponsive customer service, (#8) its easily stricken wit h a disease called FSDO, (#9) it chopped on me quite often. now tell me, with that all being said how can you possibly expect me to give this marker a"perfect" awesome excellent a 10 or even a 9 when i thought of all those flaws right off the top of my head in about a heartbeat? and with all the other headaches i received from this marker i decided it rated a 1. yes, this is the WORST electro I HAVE USED. how are you going to try to tell me its not? compare this to other markers in the 350-550 price range and there are much better and safer alternatives, alternative that i don't have to immediately go out and buy new grips, a new trigger and a new bolt for because it fails to come with acceptable ones.
the only markers out there that might rate a 10 in my eyes are markers with the likes of an X-MAG, angel4 fly, and maybe a DM4. those markers are simply technically superior, better designed. They don't chop, don't have FSDO, and aren't near as tempermental ( i dunno about the dm4...) i do realize they're like 1500 dollars so its probably a little unfair to even try to compare an impulse to them, so i didn't have those markers in mind when i wrote the review.
does my review and rating i gave the impulse still seem unfair, given my experiences with it? keep in mind, i'm not necessarily flaming your impulse, i'm flaming MY impulse. i'm just saying that I DIDN'T LIKE IT because of those reasons. i understand that other people probably had completely different experiences than me and honostly tell themselves that this thing deserves a 9 or 10 rating. whatever, thats on them, but its gonna do newbies no good if i sit here and just say "its so awesome i love it, its a perfect 10" like half the other people on pbreview.com do. this site is for people to give their opinions based off of their experiences with the marker and thats all i did.
i hope this covered just about all your questions and clarified why i gave the marker a 1.
   

toothpastedog Thursday, August 12th, 2004 | 8:02 pm PST
"i lubed the 1 or 2 orings on the hammer very well and then i lubed the 1 or 2 orings on the ram generously. " -there are 3 o-rings on the hammer assembly. how did you clean the ram's o-ring, because the only way to do so is to remove the hammer, which, no offense, i doubt you did on a regular basis (non of us do). what you should have been lubing on the ram was the shaft itself, and you should have not been so concerned with the hammer assembly's o-rings, and more concerned with filling those 8 little holes in the hammer assembly with dow33 (not hard to do).

"youre probably thinking "well then why even list fsdo as a problem with the gun if you fixed it", its because most people don't know how to" -ahh, it might have been a little more specific to say, "i had problems with the impulse's solenoid which led to very bad fsdo, but were fixed when i clean its spool valve and installed a tapeworm." what you said makes it seem like it is impossible to deal with, not to mention 9/10 who ask me about impulse maintenence do not mind, and can, clean the solenoid.

"i was simply stating that as another frustration i had to deal with. " -ahhh, but it sure seemed to me that you blamed the impulse for this, when it was your shop's fault.

"the feed falling off the marker sure didn't help in the rating of this marker either." -this is very true, the feed tubes, old or new, that sp used are kinda f'd up

" it requires aftermarket parts to be seriously competitive, regardless of how expensive those parts may be" -yours did, the vast majority of impulses can go right onto the field and work marvolously.

"its easily stricken wit h a disease called FSDO" -i still find this very odd, but i never personally saw it, so i'll believe you ;-)

"it chopped on me quite often" -as does any other gun in its price range, except a very well tuned cocker which can actually be made to "pinch" balls stock (not that it isn't a big pain in the ass though).

"with that all being said how can you possibly expect me to give this marker a"perfect" awesome excellent a 10 or even a 9 when i thought of all those flaws right off the top of my head in about a heartbeat? " -i would have not expected you to give this a perfect score, at most a 8/10 just taking into accuont the feed tube breaking off


"compare this to other markers in the 350-550 " -doesn't the impulse cost 400-450$?

"the only markers out there that might rate a 10 in my eyes are markers with the likes of an X-MAG, angel4 fly, and maybe a DM4. those markers are simply technically superior, better designed." -and cost 550-1000$ more, even though you did say that, i just prefer to look at it that way

"keep in mind, i'm not necessarily flaming your impulse, i'm flaming MY impulse" -ahh my child, but i am the impulse guru and [shut him up]... yeh i know, you just got really really really unlucky and took your rage out on your gun here.

" i understand that other people probably had completely different experiences than me and honostly tell themselves that this thing deserves a 9 or 10 rating. whatever, thats on them, but its gonna do newbies no good if i sit here and just say "its so awesome i love it, its a perfect 10" like half the other people on pbreview.com do" yes, well, might i say, other than i think impulses deserve a 7/10 or 8/10, that i enjoyed reading your review more than most

yes, well, thanks for answeing my questions. i think i just assumed you were like one of the people who were just given random guns 1/10 because they though it would be funny, but in the future, it might be better to be a little, well, i hate to say this, but, politcally paintball sensitive, and not just say things like "Also, with the tapeworm and upgraded internals, I still got horrible FSDO." and then have me come here, argue with you a lot, agree with you a little, and finally get you to say after cleaning you solenoid and putting a tapeworm in it worked fine... what i mean is, include things like how you cleaned you solenoid in the origenal review, include everything, be thorough, and write more reviews for us!
   

saltilance Thursday, August 12th, 2004 | 8:28 pm PST
"...yeh i know, you just got really really really unlucky and took your rage out on your gun here."---- YES exactly!


i didn't actually remove the hammer on a regular basis, i only actually played with it about every other day of play. for the most part though i followed the manual pretty well i thought. i couldn't remember how many o-rings the hammer and ram and everything had if my life depended on it, i've owned about 3 different markers since then, and that was back in 2001 or 2002.

and i'm actually very suprised to hear that you've NEVER encountered FSDO. seriously, i've played with 2 different impulses that belonged to seperate people, one didn't have it so bad, but he had a newer imp, but the other fella, with an imp made around the same time as mine had it as bad as mine as well.

its good we have an understanding at least
   

saltilance Thursday, August 12th, 2004 | 9:19 pm PST
i probably do need to be more politically paintball sensitive.....
i sold my well upgraded mag thinking that they were easy to maintain such as a mag (which in general they are) and i was pretty easily ticked off when the thing started falling apart on me, something my mag. BUT the imp was very very fast with the blade trigger i put on it, so i will give that to the impulse.
   

toothpastedog Thursday, August 12th, 2004 | 10:01 pm PST
"and i'm actually very suprised to hear that you've NEVER encountered FSDO" -not as seriously as you did, but that is because i regularly service my, and many of the impulses i have setup/worked on. most people don't take care of their impoulses, for what ever reason, and if everyone just cleaned their impulse exactly as the manual suggests (which doesn't take more than 30 mintues after each day of play), virtually no one would have any problems with them at all, except in extreme circumstances like yours.

"i probably do need to be more politically paintball sensitive...." -personally, i hate all the politcally correct bs the world kinda forces upon us now, but it doesn't hurt... i think though, that what i really meant that the more specific one is, no matter what they are talking about (leaving out no detail period), the better of they are; that also goes along well with cause and effect, which help other hipocrits, like myself, understand why something does what it does.

that sucks that your mag fell apart-not litterally-i owned one for about 2 years and it was rock solid, and i only lubed the bolt and bumper once and a while too.... i'm sooo happy i'm kinder to my impulses ;-)
Last edited on Thursday, August 12th, 2004 at 10:02 pm PST
   

saltilance Thursday, August 12th, 2004 | 11:53 pm PST
oh man i deleted something in that last post, it came out messed up; but i meant i was ticked when my imp fell apart on me. my mag never gave me trouble except for the occasional chop, but it never really chopped as bad as i thought, without LX. i went out and bought an emag while they were still available (seeing how agd quit making them, sadness) and its my little baby.

at least some people are having better luck with their impulses though, a guy at my field has one, decked out with his fancy smancy jackhammer lpr and freak and halo and i'm probably right in assuming he replaced all his internals. definately his bolt for sure though. that thing was fast and accurate but it was ugly as can be.
   

toothpastedog Friday, August 13th, 2004 | 8:41 am PST
yeh, with my old mag, it would chop like crazy so i bought one of those bolts with the littke fomie in them and that solved it then i bought a lv10 and, danm, i loved that gun...
   

Smart Paint Sunday, August 22nd, 2004 | 5:38 pm PST
Whoa! Check out the long-going battle between "toothpastedog" and "saltilance"! I, for one, thought it was a decent review. "toothpastedog" had no right jumping on "saltilance". "saltilance" made the review to share his experiences with his Smart Parts "Impulse"- he didn't do it to bring down the reputation of the marker by making statements about how it did not perform to his liking.
Last edited on Saturday, September 4th, 2004 at 3:16 pm PST
   

toothpastedog Monday, August 23rd, 2004 | 7:00 pm PST
like i said, i, at first assumed this was one of those reviews that were ment to bring down the tes or one, but i was very very wrong.... thanks for posting though, that sure helped us to become friends again .... ;-)
   

kingman89 Thursday, November 11th, 2004 | 9:53 am PST
i have only chopped 1 ball and i have owned my impulse for a year now. i play almost every single weekend at the kapp feild here and i have never had any of these problems. when you said that you shot it over the chrono and you only got 20 fps, maybe that was first shot drop off. did you shoot it again? the only problem i had wasnt even the guns fault, it was the idiot at the paintball store who oiled my delrin bolt causing it to swell.
   

OWNAGE17 Tuesday, January 11th, 2005 | 5:52 am PST
first bush masters blow big ones and i am with toothpaste... maybe if we didnt have stupid noobs buying high end electros then we wouldn't hear about how this and that broke... get over it you stupid noob and stick to spyders or better yet a pump.... this should be your sign to never get in the sport of paintball.
   

OWNAGE17 Tuesday, January 11th, 2005 | 5:53 am PST
first bush masters blow big ones and i am with toothpaste... maybe if we didnt have stupid noobs buying high end electros then we wouldn't hear about how this and that broke... get over it you stupid noob and stick to spyders or better yet a pump.... this should be your sign to never get in the sport of paintball.
   

Se1Fer Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 5:30 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by OWNAGE17
first bush masters blow big ones and i am with toothpaste... maybe if we didnt have stupid noobs buying high end electros then we wouldn't hear about how this and that broke... get over it you stupid noob and stick to spyders or better yet a pump.... this should be your sign to never get in the sport of paintball.

Wut does stupid noobs have to do with buyin high end electro guns and hearing that this and that was broken i knew wtf i was doin with my impulse and it just snapped in half, can u explain that was that MY FAULT? no it wasnt i sent the thing to smart parts and they apologized and gave me a refund, they later imed me and said my gun was poorly made so i used the $500 i got back thinking maybe i got a lemon which i did now the new blue impulse i got worked better but it still had major flaws so.......smart parts is a crappy bussiness and i fail to see how u guys enjoy ur impulses becuase mine is fugged up like you.

   

Se1Fer Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 5:31 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Smart Paint
Whoa! Check out the long-going battle between "toothpastedog" and "saltilance"! I, for one, thought it was a decent review. "toothpastedog" had no right jumping on "saltilance". "saltilance" made the review to share his experiences with his Smart Parts "Impulse"- he didn't do it to bring down the reputation of the marker by making statements about how it did not perform to his liking.

ya i agree with u 100%
   

Pulp Fiction Thursday, March 31st, 2005 | 4:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by saltilance
well mr. toothpaste. i didn't say it was the worst electro ever now did i? i said it was the worst electro i ever shot. and who says i didn't maintian the marker correctly? cause i did. i didn't just go buying this thing not knowing what i was getting into, i asked around and downloaded the manual off the internet and have eve done some work on similar markers. do you really think i never ever cleaned or relubed the marker? i did it religiously and made sure it was in immaculate condition. and i mailed the thing to SP, do you think i'm really going to make a 20 hour drive to smart parts cause they can't do their job right? thats smart. i didn't install the ND blade trigger either, i took it to the same shop that installed the new board.


and with your statement on how if i buy a was board and all this other garbage for 650 i can have such a great marker. well hey genius, do you realize you pretty much changed out almost the whole freaking marker? if its such a great marker that shouldn't be necessary, and the only thing i didn't upgrade on the impulse was the pull pin (like that really freaking matters) and the WAS board. and i still got FSDO. thats the sign of a great marker, isn't it?

One bushmaster was a 2003, and was stock, and i was very impressed with it. Yes I also realize that they go for about 499. The other bushmaster I tested out had a new barrel and was a 2001 model.

It doesn't matter how much those upgrades are. The simple fact of the matter is that the marker doesn't even come with decent basic parts, so how can a stock imp possibly rate a 10 if the only way you can get a decent trigger or feel for the gun is by going out and buying additional upgrades. Also, what does the cycle rate matter? do you think anyways is ever gonna reach the 30+Cps cycle rate of any of these markers? For goodness sakes, spyders can cycle at 30+Cps., a few cps doesn't make a difference. if you have a disgusting trigger like the impulse its not like you'll ever be close to 30+cps.

The only thing you've really got to say about this review is that you don't think i don't know how to take care of this marker. i guess you live in the same house as me and see me taking it apart and lubing it. must be. you seem to know me so well.

Bushmasters may be an extra 50 or 100 dollars (depending where you shop) but you save a lot of money over the impulse seeing as how you've gotta buy an awful lot of up's for the imp to get it to be decent, and then it still doesn't look as good and doesn't have the quality of a new bushie.
Any thing else you wanna say about my review go ahead. I wasn't necessarily flaming your precious impulse. i was simply letting people know about my experiences with the marker. whether you disagree or think i lubed it correctly or whatever doesn't make a difference. as i said before, i may as well have just gotten a lemon. or maybe the marker is wayyyy over rated?


A spyder that can cycle at 30 cps? What are you smoking, I need some of it. It is suprising if you can actually get a Spyder to shoot, but it is impossible to get one up to 30 bps. Impossible.
   

th3man Tuesday, April 5th, 2005 | 4:27 pm PST
I personally think anyone who gives a 1/10 has given a bad review because they are angry that they didn't get what they wanted, but the gun DID shoot, so thats an extra point? isnt it. And you said yourself, satilence, I decided, hey this marker isn't so bad, for the first 3 monthes. Well I think those 3 monthes definetely got you higher than a 1 out of 10.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media