paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on cruiser0002's Review / Comments on cruiser0002's Review / Comments on cruiser0002's Review / Comments on cruiser0002's Review

Comments on cruiser0002's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

cruiser0002 Thursday, August 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month42 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
empire reloader
APP 240 (the worst hopper ever, patented ball-jamming channel and all - 1 jam every 3 balls)
Marker Setup: spyder xtra
teardrop
Strengths: Cheap, very very cheap
Weaknesses: Belt is weak and slippery
Review: Of course, you get what you paid for; in comparison to more expensive hoppers like the reloader, the overdrive seems slow.
Pros:
-price
-better this than shaking a gravity hopper every 5 balls
-9bps is more than plenty for low-end semi
-makes for a great modding project (see below)
Cons:
-the funnel is belt and gear driven, but the belt isn't very tight so expect it to have problems when the hopper is fully loaded (that's ok, just shake a little)
-it's constantly on, this gets annoying
-if you left it running on fast, it will actually bounce balls away from the funnel if there's a light load
-the funnel increases hopper height

Solution:
-obtain the following:
2x NPN transistors
1x pc board
4x 1000ohm resistor
1x infrared LED emitter
1x infrared LED detector
1x 100ohm resistor
1x 5v activation relay
1x toggle switch
lots of wires
-connect detector through 3000ohm resistance
-connect to first transistor
-cascade the second transistor
-series connect to relay switch
-limit power consumption of relay with 100ohm resistor
-interupt hopper power with relay so that motor only turn when relay is on
-series connect 1000ohm with infrared emitter
-interupt main power supply with toggle switch
-drill opposing holes on the neck of the hopper below the funnel assembly
-mount emitter and detector on opposing sides
-secure all components

The above procedure turns this hopper into a optically activated electric hopper. This means the hopper only feed when the infrared beam is detected. It works, but since the physical limit of this hopper is 9bps, it will only feed up to 9bps. But for $10 from radio shack, you never have to hear the incessant motor noise again.

update:
http://www.pbreview.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&postid=
2659801#post2659801
I hope the link works.... otherwise look at the custom pictures thread in the forum.

update2:
Seems like the new version is directly driven by gear, the funnel should not slip anymore.

update3:
I like to plug nocpan's website for his wonderful instructions on this mod.
http://www.nocpan.com/pb_ext_rage.htm
Conclusion: The overdrive makes for a good project platform, would you risk gutting a >$50 hopper?
10/10 if the hopper is modded... since you saved a bunch of money by switching to geico
6/10 unmodded because it works, no more, no less.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 2nd, 2007 at 9:41 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Psycho_warden Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004 | 8:04 pm PST
Yeah, i did the same mod, or similar at least, on a viewloader quantum, which i bought for the exact purpose of modding it. And of course i replaced the impeller with a custom made one, out of some straws filled with epoxy.
   

XxtippxX Tuesday, February 8th, 2005 | 3:02 pm PST
are you sure the mod works? cause im goin to try it and i dont want to breat my hopper. :P
   

inpayne Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005 | 9:31 am PST
after that mod it would be cheaper just to buy a revvy witch is faster and better.
   

gangisHANS Monday, September 19th, 2005 | 8:13 am PST
but what would the fun be in that?
   

Duave Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 | 10:20 pm PST
my paintball gun is a never-ending project. I enjoy tinkering with it to see how I can make it better. maybe you can mod the engine to spin faster with more power. I would like to see that. but this is also the reason why I bought a halo tsa backman lcd. I can just mess with the lcd to change it. and i only paid $55 for it!
   

pidman426 Saturday, April 15th, 2006 | 10:25 pm PST
way easier than that, i did this with my rainmaker and ricochet rhino. simply place a microswitch (3 bucks for two) behind your trigger, (rough it up with sand paper and epoxy is the best method) run the two wires from microswitch to the black or red, making the hopper activate only when the trigger is depressed. also saves battery life TREMENDOUSLY, the only thing running when hopper is on is the small green LED light, the motor draws no power until the microswitch completes the circuit to the motor and it spins. after u do this upgrade u can easily replace the motor to a faster one, and if u want a little more UMPTH when running semi, add two 9v's to the hopper, and special order a 18 to 10v fixed output thingy, gives the motor (new or old) an extra volt which gives it a little more torque off the line, and i dont think one volt extra frys the board because ive been running it for a few months with no problems. all said and done i got a hopper that feeds with each trigger pull (beats sound, eyes, or flex sensors) that keeps up with my stock early 99 rainmaker selectfire for 25 bucks. 15 for the hopper on ebay new, 5 dolalrs shipping, and 5 more dolalrs for the wire sleeves. the wires i used were found from old chargers and stuff that went kaput. excellent hopper the Rhino.....
   

DGerman Thursday, August 10th, 2006 | 3:53 pm PST
How about not spending a bunch of $$$ on modds and just use that $$$ on a better hopper like a revy or something.
   

sledgehammer Monday, January 1st, 2007 | 12:01 pm PST
ahman to that !! much easier to just buy a rev or better yet a reloader2 , because they are very very sound sensitive and i have never outshot it nore replaced both 9 volts in over six months, but that was because i was running lithium 9 volts.
   

tippy_fan Tuesday, January 30th, 2007 | 4:04 pm PST
Revy's suck compared to this idea. In the time youve spent complaining with people on this site you could have already had fun modding this thing. Revy's by the way are the same style as this loader when modded so this is better dum dum.
   

jungleman Monday, April 30th, 2007 | 3:22 pm PST
I need to go to radio shack, let ya know how it goes, the microswitch is a good idead too.
And also, glue stuff to the funnel so it feeds faster. I have piece of zip tie glued on now which helps and I am working on a shaped piece of plastic that will do more in the way of impelling than agitating
   

corrado11 Thursday, October 18th, 2007 | 8:13 am PST
This hopper and revvy suck A$$ get a halo b or reloader b, these hoppers are junk dont buy them and dont waste money modding a sh!tty hopper you retards. Get a halo or reloader.

NoObs!!!
   

pepsi4all Monday, June 30th, 2008 | 7:35 am PST
Halo B is not really the best out there....
You dont wanna use a halo on a pump autococker, because they are heavy, reason they like the one - 9 volt battery hopper is that it is light... good for pump, hopper does not feed fast enough, but satisfy pumps craving.... stop saying that people are noob....
sometimes people love to tinker, and this tinkering stuff, advances paintball because players discovers new stuff, and manufacturer does it for them eventually, most of the times.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media