paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on buddychad's Review / Comments on buddychad's Review / Comments on buddychad's Review / Comments on buddychad's Review / Comments on buddychad's Review

Comments on buddychad's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

buddychad Friday, August 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 vert cocker- more reliable/standard part sizing
Marker Setup: Oddessy O3m cocker
Freak Barrel
CCM LPR
CT 3-way
CP Vert Reg
CP Rail
CP 2005 ASA
Richochet AK Hopper
Crossfire 68/4500 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
HPA
Mech hopper, Revy or Richochet will do fine
if your came like mine you'll need to replace some parts of the front pnuematics
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Eye Ready
Delrin Bolt
Weaknesses: Weird working Reg
Rail keeps loosening up
Needs some Timing/Trigger job
Barrel Bore .693
Review: All in all a nice cocker, looks good and is nice and light. Mine had some problems with the ram and hammer arriving unlubed and the o-ring on the barrel was a couple sizes too big but these are all easy fixes. The Timing came a little funny but i'm having the local shop mess around with it, i'll update with a performance review
one of the front hoses also needed replacement

update- the reg design is a wierd "floating reg" where the adjustment conects right to your pin valve, so you need a tank that has one (no on/off's), took my tech an hour to figure that one out

update- turns out the LPR was no good... was putting 250psi on the ram no matter what adjustment was made to it which is way to high, i put a Chipleys custom Reg on it and it fixed it right up, running 70-80 psi, cut down on the chops and missfeeds alot

update- there was a machining problem with the stock 3-way, it had a nick in it that chewed up the orings causeling a bad leak, slapped a wgp ct 3-way on there and it's working great again

update 01/06/05 - The bottom line reg is still giving me problems (leaks like major if you screw the tank in all the way) i took to ethan and proffesional paintball (inventer of freeflow) and he couldn't get it working right so i'm scrapping it and getting a cp reg. if they had just given this gun a halfway decent vert reg instead of this POS bottom line reg it would have been a much better gun, if i hadn't gotten such a good deal on the gun i would have never bought it as is

update 01/27/05 - Have replaced the bottem line reg with a CP vert reg and CP on/off guns working much better i can get it cycling reliably although i have to work some vodoo everytime i gas it up. Basically i gas it up and nothing happens but if i plug the front of the 3-way with my thumb and cock it once then pull the trigger about 4 or 5 times the gun leaks like crazy for a sec then the ram seals up and it's fine..... don't know how it works but it does everytime, For giving me 5 months of problems and having to add $200 in parts to get it working properly i'm dropping it's rating from a 8 to a 6

Good Design
but the reg needs a good amount of work and the fittings are mixed imperial and metric (typical dragun stuff) which makes it a pain in the arse for some gun techs

2/10 out of the box, again this is probably just my individual marker but if it happens once in can happen again
9/10 after repairs, cycles like a dream and the trigger can get off around 6 true bps (it's really faster than it sounds) with the stock trigger set up, i'll be tweaking mine around and will update when i get it going faster
8/10 performance, (when working) accurate but the stock trigger pull is heavy and all my shop's attempt to fix this resulted in more problems due to some non standerd threading, i can get off a solid continuous 6 bps, with maybe a 10 bps max speed
Conclusion: Adequate Cocker but needs a lot of work out of the Box, at least mine did, it was made in Taiwann and shipped overseas, so it might vary from gun to gun. If you don't mind tweaking/replacing some of the front block. what really puts this over a stock wgp cocker is the absolutly beautiful milling and anodizing.... so light and pretty
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 27th, 2005 at 7:17 pm PST
 

Review Comments
PiranhaUser Tuesday, December 21st, 2004 | 5:36 pm PST
I just recently bought the O3m and i have a 4500 psi 68 ci bottle with a 800 psi output (preset) and i noticed that the guage on the bottom line reg only goes to 600 psi. Will i break my guage if i screw on my tank? What level of pressure does your tank have? Does it work well?
   

pyromonkey Friday, July 8th, 2005 | 4:33 pm PST
That gauge is supposed to be at low pressures. A 800psi tank will work fine, the reason the guage is so low is because the bottomline is actually a regulator ( not the forgrip). The forgrip is a gas-through, so adjust your pressure at the bottomline.
   

GT2K Thursday, August 11th, 2005 | 12:55 pm PST
Nice review buddychad. Sounds like this gun is a real piece of crap. You shouldn't have to spend that kind of money to get a decent shooting gun. I'm kind of surprised you stuck with it. I would have sent it back with a note saying thank you for the nice boat anchor and I would have asked for a full refund. Anyway you did a nice writeup, I wish more reviews were as thorough as yours.
   

paranoid Monday, October 24th, 2005 | 4:44 pm PST
wow, you have the patience of a saint.

I just bought one these becasue it was cheap, and man, I really got what I paid for.

I have had cockers for years and and I am having issues with the same crap pnuematics.

I am ready to toss this thing.
   

Nebacanezher Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 | 6:55 pm PST
the made in taiwan sticker on the bottom is what did it for me, that just showed me the real quality of this gun
   

Mc.Chimp Friday, January 13th, 2006 | 10:57 pm PST
This is my first cocker,I just bought one off e-bay for $120. It's pretty new, it came in the box. The bottomline reg, drop, and gas line were gone when I got it. The guy that sold it is sending me a different one. Is there anything I should look out for with this gun?
   

904paintballer Thursday, January 4th, 2007 | 3:28 pm PST
Mc. Chimp, based on what I heard from the review, if you replaced the pneumatics and regulator/asa then it should be fine.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media