paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on donut10591's Review / Comments on donut10591's Review / Comments on donut10591's Review / Comments on donut10591's Review / Comments on donut10591's Review

Comments on donut10591's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

donut10591 Saturday, September 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested15 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nexion
other e-spyders
Marker Setup: angel4
nduck45 68
revy x intellifeed
pipe
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Eye
22bps
Stock Reg
Weaknesses: Only black color(for now i suppose)
Overpriced
Barrel
Bolt
milling
Review: Aight here's the review... When i ordered this gun to the proshop, (from pb gear) it came in a nice box... opened the box, and there was a spider? Literally it was walking around (i have to include that...) Anyways i opened it, read the manual and looked at the gun. Nice, for a 2nd made gun from a fairly new company. I did the "scratch test" i went outside took a tiny rock and rubbed it very slighly on the underside of the gun. It had a little hairline scratch that was 1cm in length. Milling is weak, but it looks nice. So i took it out, with an evlution 2. 500 paintballs (drax blaze). It ripped and it actually went at least 15 bps. Then a chop. I noticed it was one without the z board. So i got the one with it.. and it kept up 20 bps. Chop. Third time i looked, i turned the eye on. Then it caps at abount 17-20 bps. Yes it is an "anti" chop bolt but i chopped didn't i? I did put on the eye and put in a revolution to try it out but it still chopped once but.. i overshot. The barrel was what i didnt' like, it was loud and fugly but what can you expect from a stock barrel (some markers). When i screwed in the tank i closed my eyes thinking the reg would mess up.. but it didn't!! I didn't like how it was only in matte black too but it just came out so... After that, i have to say over priced. It is a good gun but it isn't worth 400 bucks. The most is 350. Spend the 50 on upgrades.
Conclusion: This gun is nice and i recommend it to .... intermediates. Easy to take apart, nice stock reg, 17-20 bps, eye (not the best eye but it still has it..) Nice box with a funny spider. What more can you ask for? 9.5-10 so.. 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
crackpipejoe Tuesday, September 14th, 2004 | 3:27 pm PST
nice review, but i noticed a few things:

1. kingman doesnt say the gun comes with an anti-chop bolt, on their site it just says a derlin bolt.

2. why is the milling weak? you didnt state any reasons why you thought so.

3. Kingman owns raven, and im pretty sure they design their guns, so its not really a second gun by them (if what i think is true)

4. you said with the eye on it caps at 17-20, but i keep reading that the board is uncapped when the eye is enabled. im not sure what it is mechanically capable of.

i personally dont think 400 is too bad for this gun, since the msrp is 600.


   

dibadiba Tuesday, September 21st, 2004 | 6:20 pm PST
The primal looks like a great marker to me. price seems fair, parts look good, features look nifty. My friend is going to get an impulse. I saw this, and was going to recommend it. But to think about it...raven/kingman honestly isnt what i call a 'quality' name in paintball. They seem to have loose tolerances and poor quality parts. My spyder worked very well, but my friend's didnt at all. I WOULD choose the primal over an imp, but im not too sure just how well the quality would be.
   

donut10591 Thursday, September 23rd, 2004 | 3:26 pm PST
crack pipe-
1. well i checked the one out at my pro shop and it does have an anti chop i don't see delrin anywhere.
2. The milling is really sensitive to harder stuff like rocks and sand. compared to other spyders this one is better in performance and worse in durbility (sp) due to it's material i'm not sure what it's made of though but i'll know soon enough
3. I see your point but technically it is raven's 2nd gun (under the name raven)
4. lemme check
   

donut10591 Thursday, September 23rd, 2004 | 3:28 pm PST
dibadiba-
True, i would go for an impulse over this since the imp is more popular (people can help you with your gun) more upgrades, and the impulses's eye is more trustworthy seeing that many people don't have trouble with it., check out the impy reviews.
Last edited on Thursday, September 23rd, 2004 at 3:29 pm PST
   

un4givnpb Monday, October 11th, 2004 | 7:54 am PST
i dare you to go out and give a timmy a tickle under its trigger frame... see what happpens.
400 to much? what are you nuts? the other guns in this range are the imp and BKOs, bhoth of which are more than 500 with eyes....

FOOL BAN ME
   

PBplaya001 Tuesday, October 19th, 2004 | 4:21 pm PST
BKO's are about 300 and have no eyes, you are thinking of a bushmaster which is much nicer IMHO
Last edited on Tuesday, October 19th, 2004 at 4:21 pm PST
   

General Spyder Sunday, January 23rd, 2005 | 1:43 pm PST
primal over stock imp any day my friend
   

Tabris17 Tuesday, June 21st, 2005 | 10:54 am PST
Definately take a stock imp over a primal after what I went through with mine. Waste of money and I could be ripping with an Imp right now if I didn't get a primal.
   

cooldude9000 Tuesday, July 19th, 2005 | 12:03 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by donut10591
crack pipe-
1. well i checked the one out at my pro shop and it does have an anti chop i don't see delrin anywhere.
2. The milling is really sensitive to harder stuff like rocks and sand. compared to other spyders this one is better in performance and worse in durbility (sp) due to it's material i'm not sure what it's made of though but i'll know soon enough
3. I see your point but technically it is raven's 2nd gun (under the name raven)
4. lemme check

Read the site stupid, it says an anti chop eye and a derlin bolt not anti chop bolt read the whole thing!!!
Last edited on Tuesday, July 19th, 2005 at 12:03 pm PST
   

rodeodude Monday, April 3rd, 2006 | 8:19 pm PST
Just as an update, as of right now primals are $169 at 800paintball.com i think I might get one
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media