paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on chazmatazz's Review / Comments on chazmatazz's Review / Comments on chazmatazz's Review / Comments on chazmatazz's Review / Comments on chazmatazz's Review

Comments on chazmatazz's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

chazmatazz Tuesday, September 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months30 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imp vision, Spyder Elise, Dragunfly Mech, Traccer, Tippman a-5, tippman 98, 03 shocker
Marker Setup: 48/45 carbon wrap tank, freak jr barrel kit, Kapp Drop forward, max-flow reg, ricochet 2k4 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit is a must, a hopper that can feed at least 21bps, and plenty of air
Strengths: VERY fast, very accurate, quiet, low maintenance, great looks, very small profile, comes with vision
Weaknesses: A bit of a gas hog
Price
Review: I recently bought an octane vision shocker, and I haven't looked back since. This gun is abso-friggin-lootly amazing. I've shot angels, cockers, tippies, impies and older shockers, but this one takes the cake.

For the price, this marker can keep up with any angel out there (minus the neat angel accessories) it's just as accurate as any cocker, looks like it should cost about 3 times what it's worth, has a sweet low profile that allows you to snuggle up to the gun and let rip without any real fear of getting tagged on it...the 10 degree reg offset makes a HUGE difference in comfort, allowing you to basically use your entire hand as tight as possible to the gun, while cutting down on profile. The color choices are amazing...and this was the hardest part I had in choosing my octane.

Definitely get a hopper that can keep up. My ricochet is rated at 25bps avg, and i've out shot it a few times. also, getting a barrel system is a must as well, especially if you wanna show up the guy on your field who owns an angel...
Conclusion: When I bought this gun, at first I thought the price was a little stiff, but as I got to play more often with it...I think I got a deal. Definitely a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
trev-dog3 Sunday, September 26th, 2004 | 4:39 pm PST
why did u buy freak jr when it already comes witha freak all u need to buy is inserts
   

chazmatazz Thursday, September 30th, 2004 | 6:28 am PST
I already owned a cocker thread Freak jr. Kit...and shockers use cocker thread barrels
   

oldgoalie72 Saturday, October 16th, 2004 | 6:46 pm PST
Hmmm. The Octane is a house model paid for by Badlands Paintball Canada. Was this review by them? Not to knock the Octane too much, but same money for a Nasty etc...Why buy this?
   

chazmatazz Saturday, October 23rd, 2004 | 5:49 am PST
I enoyed the way the 10 degree vert reg felt. in my hands. and No, this isnt a product plug by Badlands...although I do give them props for their continued support of the sport of paintball and the work they've put in to help local distributors, and paintball in general across Canada.

The one thing that set this gun apart for me, in comparison to all the other shockers was the look and feel of the gun. The angled reg made holding this gun so much more comfortable, and since I have big fingers (due to my boxing and kickboxing years) this was a defenite plus. Second, I don't like fade anno jobs...and the nasty shockers they had at Badlands were all fade anno jobs...in fact, I don't think you can get a Nasty WITHOUT a fade anno job. third, I didn't want a Nasty shocker cause my friend has one, and being unique is important to me. I've tried his marker, and I've compared it to mine...and the only difference is the way it feels in your hands (other than looks, which are superficial) It came with all the bells and whistles you get with the Nasty (Vision, MaxFlo, the sweet 0.5mm trigger pull, Freak)
Now don't get me wrong, the Naty is a great gun, it's the reason I bought this one, just short of being a carbon-copy of my friend, I had to get this one (And now he wants one cause he likes the way mine feels) Besides, if I were to plug a PB destributor, it would have to be my own home field.....

www.paintballpark.ca (yoink)
   

da5mikeY Thursday, November 4th, 2004 | 5:01 am PST
Hey, I'm buying this gun, and I wanted to know if it was high or low pressure, I'm guessing low, but I just want to make sure...and do you have to have a preset tank to run this gun?

please email me at MCastriota5@yahoo.com if you know the answer
   

nameless143 Thursday, December 9th, 2004 | 2:52 pm PST
This doesnt come with an HE bolt does it? If it doesnt, Nasty is better.
   

Jimbosbarbq Sunday, January 23rd, 2005 | 11:57 am PST
What ricochet are u talking about.? I don't know of any ricochet hoopers that can feed 25 bps. The fastest ricochet i know of is the apache which is rated at 17-19. The only lodaer than can feed 25 bps is the Empire reloader B.
   

IhaveAangel Friday, March 11th, 2005 | 1:38 pm PST
or the halo b with V-board
durr
   

ViNNYPROTO9 Wednesday, March 23rd, 2005 | 9:26 am PST
lol
   

Freak_A5_dude Thursday, June 30th, 2005 | 6:49 pm PST
Hey Ace. How could you of outshot your hopper when it shoots 25 bps. Rather your stupid or your hopper is screwed. The fastest shooting human (Chris LaSoya) shoots 23 bps on semi-auto. So dont say stuff ya dont know.
   

Tangent Friday, July 22nd, 2005 | 3:47 pm PST
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
wtf, have you tested every human being on the planet to see how fast they shoot?
don't say stuff ya don't know, retard
   

maxpain912 Tuesday, November 1st, 2005 | 4:46 pm PST
How many bps can it get out?
   

drtalent Wednesday, November 9th, 2005 | 9:23 pm PST
I think hes assuming anyone that can pass 23 is a pro and they have contests at tournaments to see whos fastest
   

mattmaster34 Saturday, December 17th, 2005 | 12:48 pm PST
Dude, I think Ollie Lang can shoot 23 as well
   

wunderman4 Sunday, January 15th, 2006 | 12:15 pm PST
octaneshocker.com tell you everything it has and dosnt have so stop fighting lol
   

icdbko32 Wednesday, April 12th, 2006 | 2:41 pm PST
man what richo puts out 25, none that i have ever seen or heard of put out 25 but for that other guy that said chris losaya is that fastest as 23 wrong, my friend literally got 27 in semi on ego and he isn;t a pro either, i dont see how it is possible either but the guns lcd, and the chrono both said 27 so it must have been.
   

chazmatazz Saturday, April 22nd, 2006 | 1:44 pm PST
Ok, new review update. It's been a while since I got rid of the Octane. I really liked it, but even with the Freeflow bolt, 90 angel frame grip (Yes, I made it fit), and numerous other upgrades to try and make this gun easier on gas...no dice. This gun rips, no doubt about it, but I was tired of getting my air tank filled between games. So i'll knock off 1 point from my original review
   

schweeney43 Friday, May 12th, 2006 | 9:39 am PST
ok, if you wanted efficiency, y the freeflow bolt, i have the HE and it still gets 1400 a bottle, so u might have had ur reg running too hot or something. So if your looking for efficiency, get the HE.
   

chazmatazz Saturday, May 20th, 2006 | 3:24 am PST
Dosent matter now...I don't own the gun anymore...
   

smartparts guns Thursday, May 17th, 2007 | 8:14 pm PST
Don't say stuff u don't know about the gun. I have the gun and have used it for 3 years. It rules.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media