paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on PsychoCy's Review / Comments on PsychoCy's Review / Comments on PsychoCy's Review / Comments on PsychoCy's Review / Comments on PsychoCy's Review

Comments on PsychoCy's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

PsychoCy Tuesday, September 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Fly,DM4.
Marker Setup: My old marker was an Adrenaline Impulse w/vision,freak barrel,vert reg,stick trigger, & pure energy 72ci. Now I use a Dye DM4 w/Freak Barrel, and Dye 70ci 4500 throttle. Angel Speed 05 w/Freak Barrel, and 70ci 4500 lp Crossfire. Empire reloader B used on both.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Vision,Freak Barrel with the 689,691,& 693 inserts. If you play tourneys dont waste your money on the whole kit, you wont use the other ones.
Strengths: Reliable, accurate.
Weaknesses: Heavier than alot of other high end makers, hard to clean.
Review: I use to own an Adrenaline Impulse. Now I've seen the error of my ways. I have'nt played paintball as long as some of you who may read this, but I have played in every NPPL Super 7 event this year. So when it comes to experience with a marker I know what I'm talking about. It is heavier than alot of higher end guns, which is okay if you play rec ball. But if you plan on taking this thing to play speed-ball, forget about it. Pray you get gogged instead of getting a marker hit, cause if you do, you will spend as much time cleaning the thing as you do playing. Oh I know some of you are saying that "I'ts not hard to clean, you dont know what you're talking about". Yes I do, I owned one. I use to go to my local hobby shop to buy the special degreaser they use on the rc cars, and spray that thing down after every play. It is a beautiful gun, there is no doubt about that. Every one use to stare at it when I took out. But you're by yourself when your cleaning that thing so who cares about the milling. That's one of the problems. You'll be to worried about scuffing your trophy gun to play a proper game of paintball. It just has to many places to get paint into. I thank heaven that Dye designed my DM4 the way they did. I just wipe that thing off and I'm ready to go.

This is a non biased review. I curreently own a DM4 and an Angel Speed 05, and in a year or two I'll probably own something else. But i'll still give any gun the score it deserves.
Conclusion: I realy liked my Adrenaline Impulse. But it just isn't a very practical marker. It's very high maintenance,heavy,has to many openings to get dirt and paint into.and costs way more than it should. I wish I could recommend it, but I cant. The only thing I miss about it, is the look of it. So spend your money on performance, not a pretty marker and you will thank yourself later. I did. Remember, a true tourney marker will be made that way, not upgraded to it. Dont be one of those guys with the import cars that look realy cool, but only have 130hp under the hood.



'The price has dropped on this gun since I bought mine. I think that the new price is reasonable.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 25th, 2004 at 12:12 pm PST
 

Review Comments
dibadiba Tuesday, September 21st, 2004 | 6:11 pm PST
This is pretty ridiculous. As you note, you havnt played paintball as long as some of us. If you were experienced, you may know that markers do require some maintenance, and tuning. I personaly own an Adrenalin. Clean up is done in less than a minute...do you know what "q-tips" are...? Also, the Adrenalin is the second lightest impulse on the market...they are not heavy at all...unless you benchpress like 5 pounds. And as for poor air efficiency? thats the dumbest thing ive ever heard! the adrenalin is the most air efficient impulse on the market, and one of the most efficient markers I have used. I have no idea how you had it set up, but for it to be a gas hog, you must have really not known what you were doing.
   

toothpastedog Tuesday, September 21st, 2004 | 7:29 pm PST
for once, i agree with what someone said 100%... and that someone happens to be dibadiba... one thing though, you say you now own a DM4, how can your possible complain that the impulse requires a lot of maintenence? another question, why have you owned two hugely expensvie pn guns and still only have played a year?
   

saltilance Wednesday, September 22nd, 2004 | 12:51 am PST
haha i gotta agree with the previous 2 people here. 1 question is, why are you buying the most expensive markers out there if you've got so little experience? seriously, you'd probably be a much better all around player if you stick with a cheaper and a more simple marker for awhile. you sound like you have little appreciation for those expensive markers. go to a tourny with a mech spyder with a new barrel like i did in my first year, and then you'll learn to appreciate adrenalin impulses x-mags, angels and dm4's. i'm not suprised that you had a bad experience with an impulse after playing for barely a year. the cons that you list for the marker speak for themself.
   

TheSilentOne Saturday, September 25th, 2004 | 8:39 am PST
Gas Hog-An Adrenalin will shoot faster than any DM4 out there.
Heavy-You gotta be kidding me? Go to the Gym.
Hard To Clean- Give me a Squeegie, few Q-tips, And 1 MINUTE of your time...ill clean it for you.
   

toothpastedog Saturday, September 25th, 2004 | 9:14 am PST
" Gas Hog-An Adrenalin will shoot faster than any DM4 out there. " -while this is very true with a new board that will let the gun shoot >20bps, what does this have to do with efficiency?
   

PsychoCy Saturday, September 25th, 2004 | 12:02 pm PST
Good lord! Adrenaline owners of the world unite! Listen guys, I gave an honest review on a product that i tested extensively. Maybe the words "Gas Hog" were a little harsh. I'm not saying that my DM4 isn't one. That thing sucks air worse than the Impulse did. But it is no where near as efficient as an Angel. Before you get all upset about that listen, I have no reason to make bad stuff up about the Adrenaline Impulse. I bought it, found something better and sold it. I didn't even like the DM4 when it first came out. I thought it was ugly and inaccurate. Now I just think it's inaccurate. It's not a perfect gun either. The Adrenaline is more consistent shot to shot, and is more accurate. But lets be honest, there is no way I would have gotten rid of it if it was faster than the DM4. My brother in-law did the same thing. Two of my team members got DM4's so I got to play with them allot. That's why I know what im talking about. It has nothing to do with experience. A six year old could tell you if one gun is heavier than the other, or if one gun is faster than another one. I'm just being honest. So lets start with the commenter's, and remember i'm just giving an honest reply. So lets not start bickering, keep it civil. To dibadiba- Playing experience has nothing to do with it, but if you must know, my team has 5 of 8 that just started playing paintball in January 2004 and we are currently ranked 45 in NPPL Div III "Rezz Doggs". We practice hard, play hard, and we listen to the advice people give us. I'm proud of what we have done in a short time. We are mid- pack playing against the top rookie teams in the country. All we do before and during tournaments is maintenance so our guns don't go down on us in a critical game. So I know that clean up on the Adrenaline can be fast. But not if you care about your gun. I use to remove the vert reg,lpr,bolt,both valves,and feed neck. So I went through a whole lot of q-tips. Then I had to clean out all the little crevices, do to all the pretty milling. It might be nothing to you but for me it was a pain in the @$$. My DM4's maintenance is this. Remove the bolt, lube the o-rings, put it back in, than wipe the gun off. That's it. I believe no high end gun should require q-tips or compressed air to clean. The DM4 was clearly designed with speedball in mind. You said the Adrenaline Impulse is the second lightest
impulse on the market, and the most air efficient right? I agree! No one is debating these claims vs other impulses. But it does't make it a light weight compared to every other high end marker. As for how I had it set up. I had it set up by the same people who set yours, Adrenaline. I even had it looked over by one of my team mates who owns a paintball store. And as for the 5 pound bench press comment, unless you weigh over 250 pounds I could bench press you. Now on to toothpastedog- The answer to your question is, because I have the money, that's why. I'm not trying to be full of myself, it's just the truth. Saltilance- I have great appreciation for my markers, i'm not some spoiled kid who gets a new toy and forgets about the old one. I understand what you're saying, play with a lesser marker, get good with it, then when you get that high end gun you'll be a better player. That's fine and dandy, but I say why bring a knife to a gun fight. And we just destroyed a team of guys with pumps in NPPL Vegas, while we were down one man. So much for that idea. Thanks for the advice though. I'll just keep practicing hard with what i've got. On to TheSilentOne- I've already given my opinion on the speed issue. I understand that your'e fond of your gun, i was too. But sometimes we have to stop being biased and tell the truth. I don't care that some guns are faster than the DM4, thats just the way it is. Markers are like computers, they keep evolving and getting faster. I think my new Angel Speed 05 will be faster than my DM4 but I'm not getting rid of my Dye. Thanks guys for reading my reply. I will change my review to a 7, because I think I was overly critical about the air issue. But the rest of it stays. Sorry.
Last edited on Saturday, September 25th, 2004 at 12:22 pm PST
   

toothpastedog Saturday, September 25th, 2004 | 5:04 pm PST
"Adrenaline owners of the world unit" -don't own one, just work on a couple of em

"I gave an honest review on a product that i tested extensively" -yeh you seem to don't know how to clean and properly time it...

"But lets be honest, there is no way I would have gotten rid of it if it was faster than the DM4. " -any impulse with an uncapped board and with a delrin bolt can physically fire pbs faster than a dm4... thanks jim drew...

"A six year old could tell you if one gun is heavier than the other, or if one gun is faster than another one." -must be a smart 6 year old if they take the time to read the fine print and actually calculate how long the dwell times of each gun have to be for them to effectively shoot pbs...

" I use to remove the vert reg,lpr,bolt,both valves,and feed neck." -and how hard is it really to clean them?

" The answer to your question is, because I have the money, that's why. " -fair enuogh

"Sorry." -don't appoligize, you have no reason to...
   

master935 Sunday, September 26th, 2004 | 7:31 pm PST
rich stupid noobs
   

master935 Sunday, September 26th, 2004 | 7:33 pm PST
i mean i can buy a $200 gun thats it and i might beat richy there
   

pullethmyfinger Monday, November 1st, 2004 | 7:12 pm PST
i dont see anything about air efficiency sry might have over looked it but why give a gun a 7 because its hard to clean i mean thats kinda harsh but overall u did give a good review

i dont fully agree with it but it is a good review
   

pullethmyfinger Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004 | 5:57 am PST
does any one know if it comes with a magnetic trigger
   

PsychoCy Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 | 8:12 am PST
Mine came with a magnetic trigger.
   

toothpastedog Monday, November 8th, 2004 | 7:23 pm PST
yeh, they all come with magnetic triggers, but the newer ones that come with the AIM frame can use magnets or springs or just nothing.
   

p8ntballer25 Friday, December 17th, 2004 | 2:02 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TheSilentOne
"Ive played in 7 ...NPPL.." Who gives a rats ass, dont mean jack, u prob play back and hide and cry. Impulse owns.

thats bs man, u have to be good to play in the NPPl, and even better to do as well as he did. he explained to all of u what happened and u should respect that, not make fun of him for it. get a life guys, be just as professional online as u do on the field. u guys should know better, we arent all like 4 here.

and as for saying that he plays back, he said he played mid. and even then, i play back an get plenty of people out, the back players are the teams backbone and are kind of like the captians. Same with the mid players, you cant be a pussie and be on a good team and that team be good. I would like to know what team ur on, if ur on one and where u rank. please tell me that, dont critize people when u urself arent even as good as him prolly.
Last edited on Friday, December 17th, 2004 at 2:05 pm PST
   

pimpyimpy342 Sunday, February 6th, 2005 | 8:39 am PST
you at least need to get a tape worm- or drop forward
   

rrrrrrrrr Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005 | 3:29 pm PST
I agree with p8ntballer25, you have to be good to play in the NPPL, but why does that matter in a review? And why does he have to mention that his team beat a team w/ pumps? WHO CARES, especially for a review, i come to this site to read reviews, not listen to a bunch of rich newbs saying they are in the NPPL.
   

rrrrrrrrr Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005 | 3:30 pm PST
Oh by the way phsycocy if you have another extra 1500$ laying around waiting for you to waste it, i'll take it. :)
   

AsRealAsItGets Tuesday, June 20th, 2006 | 12:07 pm PST
i agree with p8ntballer25, backs aren't ---------. I don't play back because im scared, i play back because its the position im most comfortable with. just imagine a team without backs. You'd be lucky get halfway to the 50. Backs are what keep the other team down, so the fronts can get in and kick ---. And the whole speed thing, I think ur all retards. just coz u can walk your trigger fast doesn't make u good, and neither does a fast gun. now, i know ur all gunna call me a stupid n00b, but dont even go there. Ive been playin fer 5 years, and the most expensive gun ive bought was a piranha R6. Guess what, i play woodsball and i can walk 19 bps. do i give a ----? no!
clicking rele fast is what computer geeks do so they can play world of warcraft and stuff. why rely on ROF, which is purely the gun, which takes no skill, when you can take 3 or 4 well placed shots? skill is in the player, not the gun, and having an angel or a timmy doesent matter. everyone relies on there magnetic triggers and bounce and boards and stuff. Its not a sport any more, its a game of who can shoot fastest. Its a game of who has the most money, and fastest fingers. Paintball has become a sport inwhich no skill is needed, and you guys are the ones who keep it that way.

thanks for your time,

-AsRealAsItGets
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media