paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Renegade_Ranger's Review / Comments on Renegade_Ranger's Review / Comments on Renegade_Ranger's Review / Comments on Renegade_Ranger's Review

Comments on Renegade_Ranger's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Renegade_Ranger Tuesday, September 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nerf type LAWS
Marker Setup: WS66 w/remote
Strengths: It is as effective as it's appearance is awesome. easy to use and maintain.
Weaknesses: You must keep your fingers off the backside and push the trigger fast/hard enough.
Review: It only takes a little practice before you quickly learn how to fire it accurately and consistently. Scepter Combat sells the everything you need to make grenades that are consistently the same weight and very safe and effective. The grenade kits even come with safety glasses which you use when filling the grenades.
The launchers when used with the Scepter Combat grenades or their sabots filled properly with PB grapeshot are a very safe product. I have personally tested it's hazard potential and find it SAFER than a LAWS/nerf type launcher.

DO NOT USE THESE OR ANY OTHER LAUNCHER TO SHOOT DIRECTLY AT SOMEONE THOUGH! Launchers are intended to be used for INDIRECT FIRE only! To use any product for other than it's intended use is STUPID...so please don't be stupid.
I have ABSOLUTELY no concerns having someone using a Scepter Combat 4000A with my 10 yr old son on the field though.

Conclusion: This is the ticket for anyone wanting to have the ability to clear an enemy bunker and still have your paintgun "at the ready" when they come running out yelling "GRENADE!!!" LOL

I applaud Scepter Combat for their innovative ideas to bring us a more realistic, fun, safe way to use indirect fire to clear out those crowded enemy bunkers! Can't wait to see what they come out with next!
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Xnuke Tuesday, October 19th, 2004 | 7:30 pm PST
Renegade Ranger fails to inform people that he personally knows the owner of Scepter Combat, hosts his forum on his site and that his team is sponsored by
Scepter. Wouldn't call that an unbiased review.
   

Scepter Tuesday, October 19th, 2004 | 10:09 pm PST
What is your point xnuke. At least he has seen and used a launcher, so he could provide an evaluation. Renegade is very respected in the paintball world...even asked to general at several of Blackcat Productions events. You claim that he has no personal credibility? You have not seen one, but you keep tracking us down to bad -mouth our products. You have been banned from other sites, and you should be banned from here too!
   

Xnuke Thursday, October 21st, 2004 | 6:28 am PST
The point is he didn't reveal that he has a relationship with you and your company before posting this review. That he hosts you on his forum and you sponsor his team. You are soliciting sales from dealers claiming the reviews were all 10/10. We received the e-mail and checked. Someone might actually believe the reviews if they didn't know it might be embellished to help you make sales.
This is taken from the last e-mail we received:

"4. Every single reviewer on paintball review has given us a score of 10 out of 10! People love Scepter launchers! Players want Scepter launchers! And, the competition wants to play with the team that has Scepter launchers! "
   

Scepter Thursday, October 21st, 2004 | 9:11 pm PST
yep...#4 is true. You are babbling again. take your meds dude.
   

Renegade_Ranger Thursday, October 21st, 2004 | 10:51 pm PST
Xnuke,

How dare YOU, of anybody, accuse ME of attempting to mislead people!

I have never made any attempt to "fail to inform" anybody of my relationship with Scepter Combat. I list my teams website in my profile, on which MY TEAM PROUDLY displays Scepter Combat as our sponsor! He, unlike some other people in this business (yea you know exactly who I'm talking about) does not try to use his "experience and intelligence" to mislead "young impressionable minds". That is why I am Honored to claim him amonst one of my numerous friends. Paintball needs more people like Scepter Combat and COPS911 who care about the sport, and MORE importantly, THE PLAYERS!

I made an accurate account of my use of this product. I stand behind, and can account for EVERYTHING I post or SAY. If there was anything I didn't like about it, I would expect Greg to fix it or I would point it out. I don't kiss anybody's @$$!
As a matter of fact, One thing Greg MADE SURE he told me before I wrote the review was, "BE HONEST!"

I will gladly debate the Pro's and con's of any product you wish. Why, because I NEVER, EVER take a stance on something I don't believe in. But I have told you before, I will not allow you to make personal stabs at my friends or myself. Isn't that how we came to meet on the Old Armo/Ariakon board? Remember?

You know nothing about me,Obviously!
It's interesting what I hear about you though, even from "fellow" Ariakon Dealers/Members/Users. Care for me to repeat any of it here?
   

mousetrap Thursday, December 9th, 2004 | 7:52 pm PST
Why can't we all just get along?
   

Moose0nTheLoose Thursday, December 30th, 2004 | 9:35 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by mousetrap
Why can't we all just get along?
yeah and xnuke, u argued in cops review too, just drop. i can see why u were banned from other places. p.s. the scepter looks soo awsome, i want one!!!
   

Moose0nTheLoose Thursday, December 30th, 2004 | 9:35 am PST
also, does anyone know how far the scepter will shoot grapeshot?
   

IrishPipe87 Tuesday, February 15th, 2005 | 8:43 pm PST
.... I dont think I need to tell people my origins when I post reviews...
   

fallout11 Wednesday, April 20th, 2005 | 10:13 am PST
Xnuke actually has a point, gentlemen. It is "assumed" by the general populace as a whole that a review on PBreview is written by end users, and unbiased. A glowing review written by a paid spokesman (or sponsored player or team) is anything but unbiased, and little more than propaganda, regardless of the value, pros, or cons of the product in question.
   

marmot Monday, April 10th, 2006 | 1:00 am PST
Agree with fallout. Xnuke - if you think someone is abusing the system as a way to boost sales, then don't argue: report it.

Renegade: sorry bud, but however you paint it (he he) you did not even attempt full disclosure. If you value your rep as much as you claim, you would have told us all up front. And I don't think that being "born again honest" after the fact cuts it either.

As someone who both relies on pbreview and a prospective Scepter purchaser hunting for honest, unbiased reviews, I feel let down by this behavior.
   

ndfreak2006 Monday, August 21st, 2006 | 2:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Renegade_Ranger
Xnuke,

How dare YOU, of anybody, accuse ME of attempting to mislead people!

I have never made any attempt to "fail to inform" anybody of my relationship with Scepter Combat. I list my teams website in my profile, on which MY TEAM PROUDLY displays Scepter Combat as our sponsor! He, unlike some other people in this business (yea you know exactly who I'm talking about) does not try to use his "experience and intelligence" to mislead "young impressionable minds". That is why I am Honored to claim him amonst one of my numerous friends. Paintball needs more people like Scepter Combat and COPS911 who care about the sport, and MORE importantly, THE PLAYERS!

I made an accurate account of my use of this product. I stand behind, and can account for EVERYTHING I post or SAY. If there was anything I didn't like about it, I would expect Greg to fix it or I would point it out. I don't kiss anybody's @$$!
As a matter of fact, One thing Greg MADE SURE he told me before I wrote the review was, "BE HONEST!"

I will gladly debate the Pro's and con's of any product you wish. Why, because I NEVER, EVER take a stance on something I don't believe in. But I have told you before, I will not allow you to make personal stabs at my friends or myself. Isn't that how we came to meet on the Old Armo/Ariakon board? Remember?

You know nothing about me,Obviously!
It's interesting what I hear about you though, even from "fellow" Ariakon Dealers/Members/Users. Care for me to repeat any of it here?


I agree with you Ranger. If you have all the info for your team written on your profile then no one should have a problem w/ it. You have nothing to hide, and if believe it is a good product and it is the honest truth, then there is nothing wrong w/ your review. Good for you for standing up for what you believe in.
   

marmot Friday, August 25th, 2006 | 3:17 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by ndfreak2006


I agree with you Ranger. If you have all the info for your team written on your profile then no one should have a problem w/ it. You have nothing to hide, and if believe it is a good product and it is the honest truth, then there is nothing wrong w/ your review. Good for you for standing up for what you believe in.

Disagree. Firstly, who actually has the time to check everyone's profile and then their websites?

Second, shortly after this, pbreview introduced the rule that "If you are associated with this product's manufacturer or distributor in any way, including, but not limited to, owner, shareholder, employee, or a member of a sponsored team, then you are not allowed to post a review on this product. (Effective: December 2, 2004)."

Seems that the moderators disagree with you on this one, as well.
Last edited on Friday, August 25th, 2006 at 3:24 am PST
   

ndfreak2006 Sunday, November 19th, 2006 | 10:45 pm PST
Whats your point marmot?
   

marmot Wednesday, November 22nd, 2006 | 4:52 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by ndfreak2006
Whats your point marmot?
You can't figure that out for yourself?

Read the rules. The moderators have already opined that Renegade_Ranger's behavior was unethical and have banned it, on pain of expulsion from the community.

What part of that don't you understand?
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media