paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on drakonus' Review / Comments on drakonus' Review / Comments on drakonus' Review / Comments on drakonus' Review / Comments on drakonus' Review

Comments on drakonus' Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

drakonus Friday, October 1st, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 56 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Um, I guess an Impulse and an Intimidator
Marker Setup: 2003 Smart Parts Shocker - RED - DYNASTY BOARD, Freak barrrel, MacDev Reg, Hybrid Blunt Drop, System X On/Off, Hybrid Hedlock feedneck, 2005 Nasty Shocker - POLISHED SILVER - DYNASTY BOARD, Freak Barrel, System X Shuttle rail, System X On/Off, 68/4500 CU IN ACI BULLDOG tank, RELOADER B
Recommended
Upgrades:
The barrel. It's crazy small and if you walk onto a field and buy some crappy paint, it ain't fitting in that small bore barrel.
Strengths: Speed!
Weaknesses: This gun hates dark paint. Don't believe the hype on the eyes.
Review: I got this gun from the local store that I frequent. I dry fired this bad boy and fell in love. I got number 62 off the line and it rocks! I took it to an open play and owned people with this gun. It is light, it is fast and it sick looking! The maintenance on the gun itself it pretty easy if you know how to read the manual well. Basically anyone with a third grade reading level can handle this manual! As I was saying, when I got onto the open play, I beat out kids with Angels. This gun is pretty accurate. As a Matrix shooter, it took some getting used to with the flat trigger. It really does get some getting used to. the finish on the gun is nice. Matt-black. I only wished i got the silver.

Now, the only gripe I have with this gun....well two, is that the barrel is small. I love the Evil PIPE barrel system, I want one, but the one that the gun comes with is too small. The other problem is the eyes. I couldn't get this baby to read any of the dark shell paint. Perhaps the eyes were dirty, but when I had the cleaned, they were still chopping when I started to walk on the trigger.

UPDATE -

Okay, a lot of you guys are going to be pissed when I write down what I did. My Pimp #62 turned out to be a piece of junk. I sent it back to PMI 3 times and 3 times they said they "FIXED" it. The b oard was turning itself on and off during play. The eye was reading and then not reading. It was CHOPPING EVERYTHING! My local paintball tech could not do ANYTHING to fix it. I sold the damn thing and got myself something more reliable.

Conclusion: Listen, I know I might have been the one with the bad gun. That is what's bad about first run guns. They have little problems with them. You guys all might want to buy the later editions, but mine was garbage. I sank a lot of money and time and suffered a lot of heart break on the field because of the PIMP. Good luck to those who want to invest $825 for this gun when a little bit more gets you a shocker.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 8th, 2005 at 8:22 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Downer Saturday, October 2nd, 2004 | 12:18 am PST
The Pimp has break beam eyes, just letting you know if you had chops, clean the eyes. Either that or adjust your BIP.
   

AirSin2000 Saturday, October 2nd, 2004 | 6:26 pm PST
You need to adjust it or clean the eyes like said above, if that doesn't help then Evil will fix it for free.
   

Lazro Saturday, February 12th, 2005 | 12:02 am PST
Using shi... i mean crappy field paint might constitute for the breakage.
   

fallachi Monday, February 14th, 2005 | 4:25 pm PST
Ok , I had similar issues with my PIMP but EVIL repalced it , My new PIMP will not perform well at factory settings , every gun breaks in diffrently, and most other High end guns are modified from spec to perform , If you had turned the dwell up and the LPR at 120 to 140 it will qiut chopping paint , all this is at PB Nation which PMI has a link to . Since you have sold your gun and are no longer an owner perhaps your review should just be removed instead of trashing a good gun that you had rated very High . High performance things are prone to need tweaking and break , look at the bright side it was not a $25,000 race engine with no warranty !! (been there and it really sucks) I hope you truely consider just removing your review or at least change the rating to something acceptable and just let readers read your comments...
   

drakonus Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005 | 4:54 pm PST
What's the matter with some of you people? I can't give you guys an honest review? THIS WAS MY EXPERIENCE! Why should I have to take off my review. Listen, I got one of the first batches of guns. My bad for buying something before checking how they really do. The gun fell apart. It wasn't made well. I am pretty sure that the later editions had the kin ks worked out. I had stated that it was one of the first few. Any person with an objective thought in their educated minds will make their own decision. Don't pad the review score just because you don't like the score I gave and you want this gun to do well. Hell, I want every person that is spending that much money to have their gun do well. So, what, you want me to lie to some kid with $900 bucks to throw his cash away because all of you sensitive people are pissed because I gave this gun a poor, REALISTIC, POST REAL GAMING review? Get a life!
   

propaintist Tuesday, March 1st, 2005 | 7:39 pm PST
Who the heck do you think you are? if you actually owned one of these you would have known how to clean it!
   

drakonus Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 4:48 pm PST
THANK YOU. FINALLY SOMEONE WHO UNDERSTANDS! Alright, I cleaned it. I also now help tech some of my team's guns. I knew what I was doing. The PIMP I BOUGHT (NOT SAYING OTHER PIMPS ARE BAD) SUCKED BIG B**LS! Suck it up boys. A review is a review. Get over it losers. Thanks 1calgary for backing me up.
   

The_Hawk Monday, June 20th, 2005 | 11:38 am PST
But..the eyes wouldn't be the problem. If it wasn't sensing the balls, you wouldn't be breaking...hell, you wouldn't even be firing. So the eyes were not the problem, you were using bad paint.
   

papaintballer15 Tuesday, July 12th, 2005 | 8:27 pm PST
or turned the eyes off... but once u break a ball with crappy paint youll continue to break bc it covers the eyes, with it being one of the first batches and bugs not being worked out i can see where hes coming from. But it does hurt the reviews everybody has made since its the lowest. Id say just test out a newer one and add the review for that along with it and change with updated rating..
   

Angels4lyf Thursday, July 14th, 2005 | 12:17 am PST
all you would have 2 have done waz get a new board and if you had a warrenty then evil would have provided that, oh and by the way just cuz you got the 1 bad gun out of the 6000 that were made dont bash it. it makes you look like an idiot
   

Tangent Thursday, July 21st, 2005 | 11:02 pm PST
you people are just ignorant, he says that he sent it to pmi/evil 3 times and still you tell him to send it to them again. and what does it matter if the score is hurt a little bit, at least with this review prospective buyers are aware that not all of these markers were made perfectly, to be honest, i'm glad that people like drakonus post objective reviews with low scores, they're the first thing i look at before buying anything; it lets me know what's going to happen. don't bash this guy because he had a hard time with the marker, that's just shameful.
   

Narleydawg22 Tuesday, August 30th, 2005 | 7:30 pm PST
why do u think the stock pipe is such a small bore barrel? .689? thats a great size! and maybe u were chopping cause ur loader was too slow.....try gettin a halo B w/victory board, its the best there is.
   

Lyxtwing Monday, October 17th, 2005 | 9:30 pm PST
He has a reloader B. He doesn't need a faster loader.
   

madk9 Saturday, December 10th, 2005 | 7:09 pm PST
if he didnt like the gun he didnt like the gun. lets forget about it. I love the gun and im sure u all do too.
   

Team Frostbite Wednesday, February 15th, 2006 | 9:59 pm PST
Dispute:
not correct. u must have had a old model
   

drakonus Thursday, February 23rd, 2006 | 5:52 pm PST
Alright listen genuises, I HAD PIMP #0062. It was the first run. I had problems with it, the factory could not fix it....so I got rid of it. Don't get pissed off if I gave my honest review on the gun that I bought. Please, grow up people.
   

drakonus Monday, April 3rd, 2006 | 6:51 pm PST
Listen. It was first batch. I made a mistake in buying something that was a first batch production. THE FIRST BATCH GUN THAT U BOUGHT WAS A PIECE OF JUNK. I am pretty sure Evil makes a pretty good gun. Which is why Dye/Proto is no making the Minion for them. If you like the gun, fine. Get off my back. Just because I don't like, it does not mean it is a bad gun. Really guys, grow the F#*K up.
   

Bozark Wednesday, April 19th, 2006 | 8:42 pm PST
I had model number 53. Right from PMI themselves, pretty much the first week the Pimp came out. To this day I still have it, and it still turns heads, as well as keeps up with the Egos and Intimidators on the field. Saying that a Shocker is more reliable is almost laughable. Two of my team mates have them, and they serve more downtime then they do playing time. With the Pimp, it's set, lube, go play, Shocker's are much more finicky and issue-oriented then the Evil Pimp. By the way, break-beam eyes won't break balls. Your dwell settings were probably too high, and don't believe the hype about the eyes, what's that about, they use the exact same style eyes as the SP Shocker, so in essence, you're saying you hate their eyes as well?

If you don't know how to maintain a gun, don't post a review about it, especially one that makes as little sense as that one.

Smart Parts is the bane of all that is evil!
   

drakonus Tuesday, April 25th, 2006 | 6:03 pm PST
Okay...for the last and final time.

The PIMP that I got had some problems with it. Everyone buys a lemon every once in a while that cannot be fixed. It happens to cars and hell, it happens to just about everything out there. I am sorry that every on this forum is so sensitive to people giving realistic reviews about their guns.

The shockers that I run are flawless. They literally have NO DOWN TIME, so if YOU'RE friends can't maintain their guns, then it is their fault. If someone got onto a shocker review and told horror stories about their gun, I would not jump down the person's throat. It is what they experienced with their gun and that's it. Why does this bother everyone else so much?

I purchased a lot of guns out there. I am a gun-whore. I admit it. The PIMP was a difficult gun that I got rid of. Perhaps if I had spent more time on it and spent some money on some upgrades, perhaps it would run flawlessly. But, I opted not to. I've owned, Shockers, Angels, Freestyles, Matrixes, EGos, Nerves and Protos. I've got good and bad things to say about them all. So, are you people going to track down every other review I do and trash it?

Smart Parts is the bane of all that is evil? What are you an idiot? Must you follow everything that everyone else does or says? Business is business. If you have a equal product to another company and sell the hell out of it and do better than the other company...well, good for you. If I were with the Gardner brothers, I do the same.

So, shut up everyone. I won't take the review off and that's it.
   

cory888 Monday, May 1st, 2006 | 3:32 pm PST
learn how 2 clean a gun retard
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media