paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on jason2015's Review / Comments on jason2015's Review / Comments on jason2015's Review / Comments on jason2015's Review / Comments on jason2015's Review

Comments on jason2015's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

jason2015 Saturday, October 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month49 of 55 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmy's, Ironman Timmy, Cockers with Eblades,
Marker Setup: OTP 10" Stainless Steel Barrel, System X Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stainless Steel Barrel/Freak System, System X Drop Forward, or any Aftermarket Drop Forward that you like. New barrel a must!!!
Strengths: Anti Chop Eye, Delrin Bolt, Shoots Over 20+BPS in Semi Auto Mode
Weaknesses: No real weaknesses for a gun thats under $600
Review: This is a solid gun for tourney players that want to have a bump up from Spyders. It is fast, has a breakbeam eye (same as Timmy) and will keep up with ANY gun on the field. The best thing about this gun besides its speed, is that it is under $600. Good luck finding a Timmy in good condition for under $600. I've been playing Paintball for a very long time and this gun is a huge improvement over any tricked Spyder. Other Spyders cannot keep up with the Primal. I was not looking to spend $1000 for a Timmy so I got the Primal for $500. If new marker budget is in the Super Marker $1,000 range then I recommend a System X Enemy (Will be out VERY soon) if not I recommend the Primal. It is backed by a one year warranty from Kingman/Raven, and if their is any problem with it they will fix it for you without any problems.
Conclusion: If your marker budget is in the $500 -$700 range get this gun. If not, then get a higher end gun like a Timmy or System X Enemy. I got this gun because I wanted to bump up from playing with my tricked out Spyder and try something better. The Primal is real quick, can lay down a lot of paint for you. It will keep up with you no matter how fast you think you can shoot. If you have any questions please feel free to email me I will be happy to help you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ZWCoolkid Tuesday, October 12th, 2004 | 6:37 am PST
Dude, this is such a terrible deal when compared to an impulse. The Smart Parts impulse comes with the proven and extremely effective Max Flo Regulator standard, not one of those crappy Kingman regulators that's the same one you get on a Rodeo. It also comes with a Progressive barrel (normally $50) stock and can come with vision all for $550. Not only that, but I expect it's a much better-built marker as well.
   

ZWCoolkid Tuesday, October 12th, 2004 | 6:40 am PST
Also, the guy below you got his for less than $400. I would pay no more than that for a marker like this, and no I'm not a spyder hater.
   

BiG rENo Saturday, October 30th, 2004 | 6:51 pm PST
Stock Imps suck. No lpr, terrible trigger, crap feed neck, no delrin bolt, and no eye. You have to pay $550 for the vision. No way man, in my opinion, this is ten times better than a stock Imp.
   

BiG rENo Sunday, October 31st, 2004 | 4:41 pm PST
And a progressive sucks balls
   

Pang Man Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 | 4:17 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by drunkdogsdrink
I also agree with the other guy, stock Impulse barrels suck, and so do stock Impulses. No, let me take that back; ALL SMART PARTS GUNS SUCK. They are just crap. The 03 Shocker breakes, Impulses are crappy and break, and Nerves are just pimped out Impulses that are crappy.

Someone needs to meet spellcheck......And how can a pimped out gun suck?
Last edited on Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 at 4:19 pm PST
   

BiG rENo Friday, November 5th, 2004 | 9:34 am PST
The nerve is pro, just the imp and shocker suck in my opinion.
   

Soul06 Saturday, November 6th, 2004 | 4:38 pm PST
Nah wait wait wait I got a question before all this about smart parts. This guy rated the Primal a 10 and compared it to Timmys and Cockers with E-Blades, but then says you bought this gun (primal) to, "...bump up from playing with [your] tricked out Spyder..."

I'm just curious but have you ever own a Timmy or Eblade cocker and if so why would yuo down grade from those to this. That just doesn't make any rational sense to me.

Personally I dont think this marker can even be put into the same category as those Tourney PROVEN markers, and thats coming from someone who likes Kingman.
   

Spike2666 Saturday, November 13th, 2004 | 1:45 pm PST
Everyone needs to stop hating, dont judge markers you've never tried.
   

toothpastedog Sunday, November 14th, 2004 | 9:21 am PST
Stock Imps suck. No lpr, terrible trigger, crap feed neck, no delrin bolt, and no eye. You have to pay $550 for the vision. No way man, in my opinion, this is ten times better than a stock Imp.

the stock impulse is lacking in two things: some sort of solenoid asist and a new trigger. if you spend $50 on a tapeworm and a new trigger, and 150$ on an equalizer board, you will have spend $600 on a gun that can shoot much much faster, more accurately, get more shots per tank, and be able to work for many more years than the Primal. why does something have to have an lpr to be worth owning?

And a progressive sucks balls

except for the fact that it is the best stock barrel for any gun under 700$...

i also agree with the other guy stock impulse berrels suck and so do stock impulses. no let me take that back ALL SMART PARTS GUNS SUCK. they are just crap. the 03 shocker brakes impulses are crapy and break and nurves are just pimped out impulses that are crapy

yes, you, obviously, know what you're talking about...

the imp and shocker suck in my opinion.

why, because sp makes em', or cause you can't afford em;?
Last edited on Sunday, November 14th, 2004 at 9:22 am PST
   

BiG rENo Sunday, November 14th, 2004 | 7:16 pm PST
Hey toothpaste. How's it goin? I know that I said that stock imps suck, but fully upped imps or private label imps, such as rat or freak factory, are fricken awasome. I just have a hard time thinking about buying a gun for $425 that is capped at 13.7 bps and that you need to buy a part for just to make it dryfire. Also, I do not approve of what smart parts stands for or what they have done. They are seriously paintball natzis. But don't get me wrong, private label imps rock.
Last edited on Sunday, November 14th, 2004 at 8:35 pm PST
   

toothpastedog Sunday, November 14th, 2004 | 9:05 pm PST
well, if you don't like that the stock impulse is capped at 13.7bps, make your own ecs cable (about 5$) and download ecs programing onto it. also, you can dry fire a stock impulse fine, you just need to put a cloth or something in front of breach to create some blow back. yeh, i do hear ya about sp's legal pracitces... lets just say i think there were a bit over zelous about suing everyone... but now that should all come to an end since wdp won that last case...
   

AirSin2000 Tuesday, November 16th, 2004 | 3:45 pm PST
Imps require parts that they should come stock with, the one thing the imp has over the primal is a good reg and it is not a spring returned ram marker(ok 2 things)
   

BiG rENo Wednesday, November 17th, 2004 | 8:41 pm PST
right you are
   

toothpastedog Thursday, November 18th, 2004 | 6:49 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by AirSin2000
Imps require parts that they should come stock with, the one thing the imp has over the primal is a good reg and it is not a spring returned ram marker(ok 2 things)

no, they don't require anything to work, and work quite well at that. they NEED parts to work really well and justify the cost of buying one though...
   

CCI Saturday, November 20th, 2004 | 2:23 pm PST
I was under the impression that this was for the Raven primal, not Smart Parts Imps or shockers.
Last edited on Saturday, November 20th, 2004 at 8:13 pm PST
   

toothpastedog Monday, November 22nd, 2004 | 4:42 pm PST
when people brought it up, it became about it ;-)
   

dookiepower!!! Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 | 9:40 pm PST
having personally shot one of these markers i was very surprised on how well it shot when it worked..now dont get me wrong i like this marker a lot by i would rather spend the money and not be a cheap person and buy an impy which actually is tourney proven and has a good company behind it. It didnt work becuase when we aired up with a inline max flo the noid gasket poped. so we replaced that and it shoot pretty good and fast but its got nothing on my adrenaline impy.
   

dookiepower!!! Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 | 9:41 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by dookiepower!!!
having personally shot one of these markers i was very surprised on how well it shot when it worked..now dont get me wrong i like this marker a lot by i would rather spend the money and not be a cheap person and buy an impy which actually is tourney proven and has a good company behind it. It didnt work becuase when we aired up with a inline max flo that was lp the noid gasket poped. so we replaced that and it shoot pretty good and fast but its got nothing on my adrenaline impy.
   

wgp04cocker Saturday, December 18th, 2004 | 10:31 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by ZWCoolkid
Dude, this is such a terrible deal when compared to an impulse. The Smart Parts impulse comes with the proven and extremely effective Max Flo Regulator standard, not one of those crappy Kingman regulators that's the same one you get on a Rodeo. It also comes with a Progressive barrel (normally $50) stock and can come with vision all for $550. Not only that, but I expect it's a much better-built marker as well.

did the person reviewing this product ever mention an imp? Not that I can see.... and by the way.... stock imps suck
   

Crazy_Nut Sunday, December 19th, 2004 | 12:36 pm PST
I would rather have a stock Impulse over this gun...
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media