paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on SM6's Review / Comments on SM6's Review / Comments on SM6's Review / Comments on SM6's Review / Comments on SM6's Review

Comments on SM6's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

SM6 Monday, October 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested43 of 51 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LED, LCD, Speed, IR3, A4, and Fly
Different Intimidators, Impulses, AKA guns, ICD guns, Matrices, etc...
Marker Setup: Of my guns, the one I use the most is my Matrix LCD, with Reloader B and Max Flow 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
A fast loader is a must. I personally prefer the reloader B.
A barrel kit is nice, but not necessary if you're on a tight budget.
You must have a high flow air system to keep up with the high rates of fire.
Strengths: Anti-chop eye, Trigger, Ergonomics, Reliability, Affordability
Weaknesses: Milling, Software (see below)
Review: Well, I first saw the new speeds in Vegas, and I've been itching to run some paint through one ever since. Yesterday I finally got my chance.
The marker I tested was a black '05 with entirely stock settings. Here's my take on it, from top to bottom:

Feed neck... is a twister low rise (same as the fly). It's lower than the old speeds and a4's, which is good, though I personally prefer the check it clamping neck.

Barrel... new infinity barrel (.689 I believe) had a nice finish inside and out. Shot fine. I can't say how it performs with breaks because I didn't break any paint :P

Body... I don't really care for the milling, however with the black anno it's not that bad. The anno was perfect, with zero imperfections.

Bolt/Engine/Eyes... Same as the Fly. Best design in paintball IMHO.

Reg... is different. It works fine. The gun was chrono'ing at +/-4 with less than perfect paint and a bad paint-barrel match. Although the foregrip is ugly to some, there is no denying that it is a lot more comfortable than the old style. It was much easier for me to wrap my ogre hands around it.

Frame and trigger... is easily the best improvement. There is ample room for the largest fingers, and the new grips are surprisingly comfortable. The trigger is just butterly smooth, and has no side to side play.

ALRIGHT, TIME TO SHOOT IT
The good: right away I was able to run off long strings of paint, without breaks, that was at least as fast as my matrix and probably faster. The trigger is truly great.

The bad: after I had my fun emptying a hopper I got serious. Within 5 seconds I was able to find the sweet spot that produced a double shot. The gun was set to the most conservative snub setting, btw. Then I tried to shoot a fast burst and take my hand completely away from the frame. The gun, on average, continued to fire 3 more shots. In other words, this marker had the same problem that plagued many pre v3.5 fly's.
Conclusion: This is probably THE best value on the market right now for people who want top of the line performance without having to take out a second mortage. Speed, size, efficiency, reliability, it has it all. On top of that you have the backing of WDP, one of the last class act companies in paintball.
The only real drawback I can see is the bounce issue. Of course, this will most likely be fixed with future software upgrades, as happened with the fly. Additionally, it may just be a hit and miss thing. Other guns may not have a problem with bounce, but this one did, and for that reason I will not be buying one right now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
doyoung2win Saturday, October 23rd, 2004 | 6:34 pm PST
bounce can be eliminated with trigger adjustments.
   

master935 Wednesday, October 27th, 2004 | 8:14 pm PST
is this better than the a4?
   

mobileschu Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004 | 5:01 pm PST
I just thought you should know that kurupt457 ripped off your review word for word on Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004. Check for yourself.
   

trev-dog3 Sunday, November 21st, 2004 | 12:55 pm PST
im ot a big fan of angles but i like this one im debating now between the speed 05 and the proto matrix can u gimme some ideas or opinions
   

drunkdogsdrink Thursday, November 25th, 2004 | 2:44 pm PST
id say get the matrix. its fast and small. it has all the stanghts of a dm4 and its cheaper and lighter
   

SM6 Friday, December 10th, 2004 | 5:20 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by master935
is this better than the a4?
Considering the prices are generally the same I'd say yes. The addition of the eye is really invaluable.
   

SM6 Friday, December 10th, 2004 | 5:23 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by trev-dog3
im ot a big fan of angles but i like this one im debating now between the speed 05 and the proto matrix can u gimme some ideas or opinions

I haven't shot the proto yet, though I hear they are very light. Other then cosmetics and size/weight it will shoot just like any other matrix. I'm personally a big fan of matrixes and would recommend them to anyone (my next marker will be a DM5). Either one would be a great choice, though.
   

SM6 Friday, December 10th, 2004 | 5:46 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by doyoung2win
bounce can be eliminated with trigger adjustments.
1) That is not always the case
2) The guns I reviewed were completely stock, with plenty of pull length and resistance, not to mention maximum snubbing. There is really no way they should have ANY bounce.
3) Furthermore, since I was referring to mechanical bounce it really has more to do with the reciprocal mass, switch weight (none in this case), and operating pressure.
   

flAngel Wednesday, January 5th, 2005 | 2:47 pm PST
I had a similar problem with trigger bounce. I'm not sure why but, I stopped it by increasing the snub setting.
   

e2eclipse Tuesday, February 1st, 2005 | 7:26 pm PST
personally, I think I would probably prefer the 05 speed, but then again, I haven't shot the proto yet, but I think you should try both of them out and then decide. You should also compare prises to see what would be a better deal.
   

Nightmare1989 Friday, March 18th, 2005 | 7:35 pm PST
I haven't shot the angel speed, but I shot my brothers proto matrix and that gun is awesome. Also the angel 4 fly is very nice if you were thinking about getting that gun. The 4 fly is about just as good as the matrix. I have an alias intimidator it is probably the best performing gun I have ever seen. However, I like the feel of the angel 4 fly and the matrix better. If you get a chance then try to test all of the above guns.
   

Robert_pb Sunday, June 19th, 2005 | 6:42 pm PST
I just finished ordering my 05 speed, and i was wondering how the accuracy was. Do you think i need to get a barrel upgrade, or the stock is fine.
   

alivehalob Friday, April 28th, 2006 | 7:22 pm PST
what are the firing modes for this gun
   

Goldeneye7 Wednesday, August 16th, 2006 | 6:50 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Robert_pb
I just finished ordering my 05 speed, and i was wondering how the accuracy was. Do you think i need to get a barrel upgrade, or the stock is fine.

Well you probably will not see this (Sense you wrote that about a year ago) but lots of people like the stiffi or freak on the angels.

I am about to get an angel speed 05 or 06 in about three weeks and I thing I will get a freak.

But that is just me.
   

Goldeneye7 Wednesday, August 16th, 2006 | 6:51 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by alivehalob
what are the firing modes for this gun

I would like to know the same thing.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media