paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Crockett's Review / Comments on Crockett's Review / Comments on Crockett's Review / Comments on Crockett's Review / Comments on Crockett's Review

Comments on Crockett's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Crockett Wednesday, October 13th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year21 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None can compare.

I had a Brass eagle Blade when i was just starting out, but got rid of it in turn for the Pro/Carbine, then added a J&J Ceramic Barrel. The combination turned out ot be nirvana for me.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine w/ 14'' J&J Ceramic barrel and modified trigger. Also getting an ADCO Sure Shot scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
You should get a new barrel, of course. But, the regular barrel isn't that bad, so no need to rush.

-If your going to get a scope, I reccomend the ADCO Sure Shot.

Strengths: -Durable
-Reliable
-Accurate
-Realistic look
-Distinct "rifle" feel
-Practical/Simple design
-Has a sling
Weaknesses: Nothing big.

-get a new barrel
-Upgrades are availible, but not abundant
Review: After I decided that a plastic Brass Eagle Pump just wasn't enough to compete in paintball, I decided I needed to find a new marker. A real marker that I could use for years. So I got online, pbreview.com to be exact, and started browsing. After looking all over, I happended upon Tippmann's line of paintball guns. I liked Tippmann from the start because their markers didn't have that colorful "space-age" look to them. I play woodball. Tie-dye markers just don't work in my type of woodball. I'm also a deer hunter and have always liked the "rifle" feel. It just comes naturally to me. It was a tough decision between the Pro/Carbine and 98 Custom. But I decided on the Carbine. Something about was just right. It is just as accurate and reliable as the Custom 98, if not more. The decision came down to the style. Now, with my Pro/Carbine and clad in camo, I play with weekend groups of 15-20 similarly armed and dressed players on my farm. We play speedball, capture the flag, ect. Every game I manage to rack up one of this higher kill scores and my marker has been complemented many times. With my J&J Ceramic Barrel, it shoots smooth and consitent. Simply a solid marker. There is really nothing bad about it. There are couple reviews on here that claim it is horrible, but those are nothing but sprawls of words out of empty minded people that run their mouths for a living.
So, if you want top-notch accuracy, reliablilty, and good-looks, choose Tippmann. If you want the "rifle" feel and carry the same marker used by military and police training officials, choose the Pro/Carbine. This is a paintball gun that won't let you down.
Conclusion: If the rare rifle-style paintball gun works for you as much as it does for me, and you want a marker that can withstand snow, sleet, rain, and heat and still hit on target, then I reccomend the Pro/Carbine 100%. If you'd rather have the glitzy, space-age Spyders, then fine. But I'd choose the rugged, reliable, and accurate Carbine over the competion any day. I hope you do to.

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 9th, 2005 at 3:13 pm PST
 

Review Comments
tphelon Wednesday, April 27th, 2005 | 6:28 pm PST
I have the same exact setup on my Pro-Carbine.
   

brandon69hbot Tuesday, April 4th, 2006 | 4:10 pm PST
Dispute:
umm ya, look at the the mr series of spyders space age?, i think not, srry but i own the mr2 and it is simply just not "space aged" as u said but i have yet to shoot a pro/cardine, and a pro, or a carbine for that matter but it isn't "space aged" as u said
   

spyderman89 Friday, April 7th, 2006 | 2:38 pm PST
Now I could go off and rant but I wont.
1) A spyder will last just as long as a Tippmann.
2) Yes the pro carbine does have that rifle feel.
3) He called Spyder's style space-aged, big deal, one review out of 18,000 calls them spaced aged. Seriously get over it. But come on you read it, he said he is a deer hunter and all that good stuff. He has a farm.... Anything newer than a Model T ford is space aged to him.
   

pb_4_life Tuesday, June 13th, 2006 | 7:54 pm PST
Obviously if he has a computer and the internet he at least has some tech saavy, just because someone HAS a farm dosen't mean that they live on it and never leave. And compared to a pro-carbine a spyder might as well be something out of star wars. You sound like an a$s hole to me, you don't just go saying stuff like that.... it's almost racist.
   

Ravenwulfe Sunday, July 2nd, 2006 | 8:07 pm PST
This is an excellent review, as far as I'm concerned. I just have one question, though, if you think you can answer it.

Is the pro/carbine able to accept A-5 threading? I've been thinking of looking into a Pro/Carbine for a different sort of feel and just have it as an alternate to my A-5 and I need to do something with my Progressive barrel, as I havn't found anyone to buy it. I can understand if you don't know about this, but I figured I'd ask. =P

As for the other guys, I believe he thinks most Spyders look space aged because other than the MR series, most spyders have flashy coloured and follow your same generic speedball design, which isn't exactly firearm alike. Not knocking them, or anything, but I believe he speaks of those ones rather than the MR series, which he may not have seen or heard of yet.

Once again, thanks for the review!
   

pb_4_life Monday, July 3rd, 2006 | 8:53 am PST
Yep, The Pro/Carbine uses A-5 threads. Any barrel you can put on an A-5 you can put on a Carbine, except the flatline. Although I'm not at all sure about this, it might be possible to put the A-5 flatline on a Pro/Carbine if the grip/barrel shroud was removed. Again I'm not sure just an idea, it would be cool if someone could try this and then post pics above the reviews or on the forums if it works because that would be a great combo.
   

wakizashi Saturday, July 15th, 2006 | 1:14 am PST
I've seen it done on the pro carbine owner's group-google PCOG and it'll be near the top.
   

pb_4_life Sunday, July 16th, 2006 | 10:55 am PST
Cool, thanks.
   

PvtDBJackson Sunday, July 30th, 2006 | 8:47 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by brandon69hbot
umm ya, look at the the mr series of spyders space age?, i think not, srry but i own the mr2 and it is simply just not "space aged" as u said but i have yet to shoot a pro/cardine, and a pro, or a carbine for that matter but it isn't "space aged" as u said
The review was written in 2004, BEFORE the MR sries came out. Up until the MRs came out, most spyders were flashy colored and space aged compared to real firearms which the author obviously compared them to since he's a deer hunter. Next time open your eyes a little and read the date before you go pouting your mouth off.
Last edited on Sunday, July 30th, 2006 at 8:47 pm PST
   

nateorious Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006 | 5:43 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by spyderman89
Now I could go off and rant but I wont.
1) A spyder will last just as long as a Tippmann.
2) Yes the pro carbine does have that rifle feel.
3) He called Spyder's style space-aged, big deal, one review out of 18,000 calls them spaced aged. Seriously get over it. But come on you read it, he said he is a deer hunter and all that good stuff. He has a farm.... Anything newer than a Model T ford is space aged to him.

srry ya idiot but spyders last like crap they are less reliable then brass eagle or view loader
   

getneglected Thursday, September 28th, 2006 | 1:06 pm PST
tippmann will last longer than then the spyder but than again spyder has some great tecnology ( not space age )
   

wakizashi Thursday, March 8th, 2007 | 8:47 am PST
I think Spyder has been around long enough to make some good markers. My brother has a gunmetal grey TL-R that is pretty nice-stock 12 and 16 inch barrels included-superior to a new pro-carbine barrel. Double trigger of course. It also has a drop-forward and expansion chamber-it doesn't aim as naturally though. I interpret his comment as saying that spyders have a design more upright and modern (non-offset vertical feed, drop forward). It's a nice marker, but it isn't quite as work-ready as the pro-carbine. Modern SMG's are pretty 'space aged' if you've looked at them lately. I've tried an MR-2. Not all that impressed-it chopped a lot more than the imo superior but less space aged TL-R, wasn't as sturdy feeling-and had a stupid fake magazine instead of an expansion chamber or front grip. The Procarbine is an older-tech, .45 style-marker that has both form and function. There-I've said it all.

:P
Last edited on Thursday, March 8th, 2007 at 8:51 am PST
   

jgilk1 Monday, April 21st, 2008 | 1:07 am PST
I have owned to spyders an extra and a rodeo and not to mention a viewloader maxis rg

I have blew the trigger spring out of both the spyders i owned and have had little to no problem with my viewloader so i guess it's not really the gun but the owner cause ive had better reliability out of a viewloader than a spyder which is generly built with better quality


On the other hand my friend has a pro lite he has owned for 8-10 years and other that rarely occuring ball breaks and a broken feed line (he tripped and hit the copper feed line on a rock) he hasent had any problems with his pro lite
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media