paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Superdude169698's Review / Comments on Superdude169698's Review / Comments on Superdude169698's Review / Comments on Superdude169698's Review / Comments on Superdude169698's Review

Comments on Superdude169698's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Superdude169698 Tuesday, October 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month74 of 88 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4, matrix
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix
Cp Roller Trigger
Proto 12" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Barrel if you want a 14" one
Strengths: Faster than dm4 stock
Accurate
Small and super light
Weaknesses: Comes with a 12" barrel
Review: This thing is better than the dm4! It is smaller and more compact then the dm4....and if you put them side by side stock, the proto shoots faster. The stock barrel on the proto is a 12" proto one piece barrel....and it throws darts. The only thing is that its not 14", so the range might be not as good as a 14"....but its great for a mid/ front player. This gun is so light... so it counteracts the heavy halos.... to be more center balanced. The kick on this is not even noticable. Its less than the dm4...to hardly nothing. This thing is a lot more air effecient than its predecessor, with only 1000 psi spent on a hopper and 3pods. The looks are great, and with the lpr being in front instead of the annoying on/off of the dm4....makes for a very user friendly gun. Just turn on and go. The buttons are the same for the dm4. The settings are friendly as well....all in the led interface. It says in the manual that this beast has trigger sensitivity (debounce) that can go to one.... and it warns you not to put it on one cause it will shoot full auto, and at 24.6 bps thats not a bad feature to have. Its definately a fun one.
Conclusion: All in all a great gun to get, save your money from getting a dm4 and get one of these... youll be just as happy, if not happier;
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Zorath Tuesday, October 26th, 2004 | 8:16 am PST
If you think a 14" barrel improves range, you don't deserve this gun.
   

freehand Tuesday, October 26th, 2004 | 12:00 pm PST
full auto? it has full auto on 24 bps? thats pimp as all heck, i'd love to take that into a rec ball match.... HAHAHAH kill someone with that. imagine empying a halo b on someone in 7 seconds, corner em in abunker and shoot till it's empty they aint goin anywhere once the balls start flying!!

so cool, should i get this or an angel/05
   

master935 Tuesday, October 26th, 2004 | 12:35 pm PST
were you shooting stock settings?
   

bennyboi Tuesday, October 26th, 2004 | 12:41 pm PST
3 pods and a hopper off of 1000psi, huh? not.
thats bs, that means you can get around 2400 off a 68/4000 fill

and faster/smaller than the dm4? doesn't look or sound like it to me

what a hyped up review.... other than that, i think that proto looks cool
   

master935 Tuesday, October 26th, 2004 | 12:57 pm PST
and whet dose it come with out of the box?
   

Impulsefreak128 Tuesday, October 26th, 2004 | 3:53 pm PST
obviously youve never shot a dm4 before, otherwise you would know that the dm4 has absolutely no kick whatsoever, and that the on off on the front never even needs to be turned if you dont want to use it, and even though it might be shorter or smaller, it is now fatter, increasing the chances of it being hit when you are wrapping a bunker. Also, efficency wise, the only time the dm4 isnt efficient is out of the box, i now have it running at 65 psi and i tuned in my reg to the lpr to make it most efficient, not to mention that i lube it after every day of play and the thing gets 6 pods (140's) plus a full halo out of a 68/4500. You also mentioned the full auto thing but i thing it might happen occasionally in very small bursts(sounds like bounce to me!?)and it seems that it hasnt happened to you because if it had you would probably have told us. Even though it is trying to look like a dm4 and has a fancy 05 in front of it, it doesnt mean that it is in any way its seccessor. Im not trying to be mean or start a fight, im just stating what i know and not assume, except that fat gun part
   

Goat Master Wednesday, October 27th, 2004 | 2:20 pm PST
Yeah, DM4s are better than this stock,

But how much do these things cost?
   

Division Effect Wednesday, October 27th, 2004 | 4:52 pm PST
950 all stock
   

bennyboi Wednesday, October 27th, 2004 | 5:56 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Impulsefreak128
obviously youve never shot a dm4 before, otherwise you would know that the dm4 has absolutely no kick whatsoever, and that the on off on the front never even needs to be turned if you dont want to use it, and even though it might be shorter or smaller, it is now fatter, increasing the chances of it being hit when you are wrapping a bunker. Also, efficency wise, the only time the dm4 isnt efficient is out of the box, i now have it running at 65 psi and i tuned in my reg to the lpr to make it most efficient, not to mention that i lube it after every day of play and the thing gets 6 pods (140's) plus a full halo out of a 68/4500. You also mentioned the full auto thing but i thing it might happen occasionally in very small bursts(sounds like bounce to me!?)and it seems that it hasnt happened to you because if it had you would probably have told us. Even though it is trying to look like a dm4 and has a fancy 05 in front of it, it doesnt mean that it is in any way its seccessor. Im not trying to be mean or start a fight, im just stating what i know and not assume, except that fat gun part
yep its a wayyyy hyped up review... just stick with the dm4
   

matrixman55 Friday, October 29th, 2004 | 6:07 pm PST
shoot, he might have a big tank...thats prolly why his efficiency is up there...
i like to think of the proto as a crossbreed between the old school and the new...merfect mix...then again, once i get my hands on an evolve v2, my dm3 will blow all else away...
   

trev-dog3 Friday, November 5th, 2004 | 11:55 am PST
i like the looks of these and there cheaper than a dm4 so im goin to look into one i was thinkin a nerve or this one what do u guys think
   

speedy2k4 Sunday, November 7th, 2004 | 6:34 am PST
my dm4 has no kick so you can't reduce it. also, how is this faster when it has the same trigger and a slower board? it is smaller, i'll give you that. but lighter is not helpful because the dm4 is very light. and you said because it is light it balnces a halo and centers the weight. well, if it is lighter and the halo is heavy, that would mean the weight would be up top? i think is a gun is too light it is hard to hold because the tank and halo are so heavy there is no stability.
   

speedy2k4 Sunday, November 7th, 2004 | 6:37 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by trev-dog3
i like the looks of these and there cheaper than a dm4 so im goin to look into one i was thinkin a nerve or this one what do u guys think


i'm not a big fan of this, but i would definately go with it over a nerve trev-dog3. how about an 04 angel speed or a dm4?
   

LiVe4PaiNtBaLL Tuesday, November 9th, 2004 | 6:21 pm PST
DM5 / Proto Matrix Comparison

Tie- Same regulator
DM5-Better Barrel
Tie- Same Eyes
Tie- Same Bolt, LPR
Tie- Grip Frame
DM5- On/off setup
Tie-Same LED system, Grips, Simmilar Milling

So how do you figure a DM5 and DM4 is so much better? Everything that COUNTS is basically the same. Dont get me wrong The DM4,5 are both sick but this is the same thing, the only thing its like a private Label gun, so evryone thinks its bad because it doesnt Say DYE all over it. StopHating And remember it not the gun its the player. (but the gun Helps)
   

trev-dog3 Wednesday, November 10th, 2004 | 6:58 pm PST
i thought bout a dm4 but i like the milling better on this and its basicly the "same" i no its not but close and i hevent heard nuttin on the nerve so im thinkin this and im not a big fan of angles to complex thanks tho
   

oreo10891 Wednesday, November 10th, 2004 | 7:50 pm PST
OK first off the proto kiks a** I know its hard to believe there is such a thing than less kick than the dm4 but it does. it is lighter but not much. its pretty much a dm4 new milling lighter it works same basic way. and it does have full auto i know this guy who is sponsered by dye had dm4s but moved to the proto and he programed it after 4 shots to go auto,
   

LiVe4PaiNtBaLL Thursday, November 11th, 2004 | 5:56 am PST
I Just bought the gun today, It shoots just as or faster than the DM4..If you dont believe me buy one. I did.
   

Hu5tleR Thursday, November 11th, 2004 | 9:34 pm PST
i would get a proto matrix over a dm4/dm5 anyday .... sexy as hell .. smaller and can probly match it on the feild any day for alot less. ...... plus its sexy... and smaller(not as long)
   

trev-dog3 Sunday, November 14th, 2004 | 11:59 am PST
thanks i need a 100 more bucks and its mine
   

MatrixLCD Wednesday, November 17th, 2004 | 5:25 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Impulsefreak128
obviously youve never shot a dm4 before, otherwise you would know that the dm4 has absolutely no kick whatsoever, and that the on off on the front never even needs to be turned if you dont want to use it, and even though it might be shorter or smaller, it is now fatter, increasing the chances of it being hit when you are wrapping a bunker. Also, efficency wise, the only time the dm4 isnt efficient is out of the box, i now have it running at 65 psi and i tuned in my reg to the lpr to make it most efficient, not to mention that i lube it after every day of play and the thing gets 6 pods (140's) plus a full halo out of a 68/4500. You also mentioned the full auto thing but i thing it might happen occasionally in very small bursts(sounds like bounce to me!?)and it seems that it hasnt happened to you because if it had you would probably have told us. Even though it is trying to look like a dm4 and has a fancy 05 in front of it, it doesnt mean that it is in any way its seccessor. Im not trying to be mean or start a fight, im just stating what i know and not assume, except that fat gun part

wow, ok actually the dm4 and pm5 are literally identical in size literally every dimension is like the same, a player on my team just bout one at world cup and it is quite comparable to each other in size. the pm5 is a dm4 that comes with a lesser barrel, and isnt tweaked as well. also the board inside has the IC chip atached so tadao is not an option right now. also you are nuts if you think a dm4 has no kick, cause a dm4 has kick, you've never shot one before obviously, either that you dont rip your trigger very hard. and anybody whos anybody knows that a gun CAN'T run on 65 psi, that is imposible, your gun wont even be able to cycle the bolt with 65 psi. 160 psi is lowest you can set your matrix,dm4,dm5,pm5, and to do that you would proabally need to be a gun tech supreme and have the best of of the best everything please do not give false information.
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media