paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Mogley's Review / Comments on Mogley's Review / Comments on Mogley's Review / Comments on Mogley's Review / Comments on Mogley's Review

Comments on Mogley's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Mogley Thursday, October 28th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year18 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Tippman A5
Marker Setup: Real Action Marker LE Version
Recommended
Upgrades:
LE upgrade for v3 and v4 markers.
Strengths: Exact 1:1scale replica, no other marker is this real. Not armotch, at4, sim4, none.
Weaknesses: Uses .43 cal paintballs made by nelson, some fields wont allow .43.
Review: This is the M4 Ram v4 LE with single shot and full auto modes. For those out there looking for the most realistic markers these cant be beat. So real swat and military orginazations prefer to train with this marker. NO HOPPERS!!!!! This uses real 21 round magazines loaded with paintballs in shell casings that eject when fired and that must be reloaded to provide the real wargame experience. I personally have owned the v4 marker, and now I just bought the latest version of this marker the LE. This new version addresses flaws with the original versions. Has 400fps and as accurate and as much range as a Tippman A5. Capable of 13bps on full auto, and the bps is adjustable.
Conclusion: Great marker for those looking for realistic 1:1 scale replicas. The LE version now puts the range and accuracy in the same range as a Tippman A5.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 28th, 2004 at 5:43 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
NSGSplatmaster Thursday, October 28th, 2004 | 7:13 pm PST
Why is there such an attitude among many milsim ballers and airsofters that faster is better? "The more FPS we can squeeze out of a round, the better!" Yes, I am quite aware that the mass to velocity proportion dictates that a smaller round can travel at a faster velocity while being "safe". Yet the .43 rounds still have enough mass to do damage, especially at 400 or more feet per second. I strongly suggest decreasing the velocity to the normal 300 FPS maximum. Will your shots arc more like a real paintball? Yes. Will that be "less realistic"? Probably. But ultimately, the RAP is paintball technology, and a small sphere full of marking dye is not ever going to fly like a real bullet. Playing with 400 FPS is just asking for it.
   

GUNFIGHTER9 Wednesday, November 10th, 2004 | 8:53 am PST
The RAM's have to push velocity to try to equal what a normal .68 caliber marker can do with much lower speeds.
   

GUNFIGHTER9 Wednesday, November 17th, 2004 | 10:27 am PST
Here's a question for you. What police departments or military organziations use them? Please give some specific examples.
   

dustinlowery Thursday, December 9th, 2004 | 7:40 am PST
GUNFIGHTER9 did you go to the realactionpaintball sight to answer ur question?
   

TippmannPhreak Monday, January 3rd, 2005 | 6:06 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by GUNFIGHTER9
Here's a question for you. What police departments or military organziations use them? Please give some specific examples.

My neighbor Josh trains with one, he's in special forces.
   

brihard Saturday, January 29th, 2005 | 6:59 pm PST
Hm... And which 'special forces' would that be? Specific unit, please.

I'd suggest to anyone wanting to pick one of these up that you try it out extensively first. Turn the fps down to field legal limits, and see how it performs. I've heard bad things about the accuracy of these markers. While the carbine look is certainly attractive, you want to make sure you're not sacrificing performance for looks.

Take the claims about this with a grain of salt... Reviews wouldn't be mixed if there weren't some flaws to the markers.
   

GUNFIGHTER9 Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005 | 11:37 pm PST
Brihard, you are absolutely right, but since these things are only sold via the internet, or you have to go to CA to buy one direct from the dealer, thats not possible. But trust me I had one of the orignal models and they were crap. Read my review for more details. Oh and if you think the new le models are better go to rap4.com and check out all the links with dissatisfied customers.

Oh and yeah, which special forces unit. I was in the Army for three years got out in 2003 and never once saw any unit use any of these markers. So how about backing up the claims with a littel evidence.
   

Trunnion Friday, February 4th, 2005 | 12:24 am PST
My local field will be carrying this shortly as their dealer application has gone through. We'll be getting a demo model to try out and display to the county Sheriff's Department. We're in upstate NY. I work at the field and plan on putting the marker through a thorough testing before recommending it to anyone, especially since I'm sure I'll be the one that ends up fixing them. I'm curious as to when you purchased your's, gunfighter. If it was some time ago, before the new models(which, from your posts, I can only assume you haven't tried), then it is possible that quality has gone up. Afterall, autocockers have seriously fallen in terms of quality since WGP was bought by K2, and that was about a year ago. So, much can happen in a short space of time. Anyway, like I said, I'll be testing one extensively and will post my findings here. I hope they will be rather objective since the field will be paying for the demo model and not myself, so I essentially have nothing to lose or gain from it. As for the velocity issue, I can only speculate that it is intended for the law enforcement versions to give added range and provide a somewhat more realistic training experience. If you check the website, only the LE law enforcement models claim to be capable of the 400 fps velocity. If it does indeed give the ball a flight of 200', then it would be a useful training tool for officers, since as I understand it, the majority of their engagements(when they do occur) take place at that range or below. But, as I said, that's speculation.
Last edited on Friday, February 4th, 2005 at 12:34 am PST
   

GUNFIGHTER9 Saturday, February 5th, 2005 | 12:24 am PST
Trunion, when I first found the ram's on the web a couple of years ago their specifications claimed a magazine capacity of 50 balls. I can assure you that this product will not reach 200 feet. But by all means try it yourself.
   

brihard Sunday, February 13th, 2005 | 7:56 pm PST
Few law enforcement or military agencies will be interested in this, despite what RAP may claim... The Simunitions FX system lets weapon suers fire plastic tipped dye rounds out of their service weapons with only a few changes parts. Why get a RAP4, when you can simply get 5.56mm cordite powered paint rounds for your M4? I've fired them out of one of my service weapons (Canadian M16 adaptation called the C7A1), and they're superior compared to paintball in terms of realstic weapons oerpability- and THAT'S the key. You have to train troops to elarnt he feel of the weapon itself under combat situations. A RAP-4 won't behave the same way a real weapon will, and as such real agencies will almost exclusively go with the mroe realistic training tools.

That's not to say that RAP isn't a neat toy worth further development- if they get their own niche market, good for them. Just don't see it as the be all and end all of training, or as a revolutionary product. It's simply a paintball gun that's cut a lot of corners for looks...
   

(C2) Tuesday, April 5th, 2005 | 1:52 pm PST
Personally, if were going for mil-sim while playing paintball, I would go for a gun from warsensor or scepter-combat systems.... the new windrunner sniper thats coming out from scepter is amazing. Just take a look if your interested......
   

pbplayer55 Thursday, June 2nd, 2005 | 12:04 pm PST
Why would the military use a funky gun when they can buy kit from simunitions to make there m4 shoot paint tipped rounds? this claim that the military uses the rap 4 is bogus, ok maybe law enforcement for CQC training but that's all and for swat they use a .68 cal gun that is for riot control that shoots pepper balls and the gun looks more like a tippmann 98.
   

rrdude Friday, June 24th, 2005 | 1:56 pm PST
the military and various law enforcement agencies use the rap4 as a training device. some of the agencies include the FBI,CIA,some ranger groups,many swat teams,police training schools, and the .68cal gun they are using are a tippmann Procarbine...also you paintball tipped rounds are called simunition which is a very painfull alternitive to rap4 .43 or .40cal paint...and i can assure you that the rap4le will out preform any warsensor/armotech/arikien paintball marker on the lever of basic preformance...becasue you can not compare the totalty becasue of the primary ammunition diffrences.
   

hollywood53 Sunday, February 5th, 2006 | 8:34 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TippmannPhreak


My neighbor Josh trains with one, he's in special forces.


I have six friends that are in the military one still currently in the namads(I beleive uh 60 blackhawks that is currently in tel afar Iraq)one in army rangers ,2 in navy and 2 in the marines I talk to 3 of these guys on a semi-regular basis and have no intention of bringing up these triveal things to them they have much better things to do than this! so tell your neibor "josh" to stay safe and we wish them well!
   

hollywood53 Sunday, February 5th, 2006 | 8:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by rrdude
the military and various law enforcement agencies use the rap4 as a training device. some of the agencies include the FBI,CIA,some ranger groups,many swat teams,police training schools, and the .68cal gun they are using are a tippmann Procarbine...also you paintball tipped rounds are called simunition which is a very painfull alternitive to rap4 .43 or .40cal paint...and i can assure you that the rap4le will out preform any warsensor/armotech/arikien paintball marker on the lever of basic preformance...becasue you can not compare the totalty becasue of the primary ammunition diffrences.

well all is settled then . you say you can assure us that the rap4le will out perform all the aformentioned markers and assuming A-5's also then time will tell. they will become the industry standard! NOT!!!
   

Drew anteater17 Friday, April 14th, 2006 | 1:26 am PST
actualy my friend lives on a national gaurd base his dad has shot one they have a conversion kit to turn an actual m16 to a paintball gun similar to this i never could find a website off a box of old shells but i have seen them use them at camp san luis california they shoot at 500fps sounded realy dangerous the modification for the m16 uses gun poweder in small portions its acurate and i have paint balled for 4 years and have a course i know acurate
Last edited on Friday, April 14th, 2006 at 1:35 am PST
   

hollywood53 Saturday, April 15th, 2006 | 10:15 am PST
Hmmmm, not sure were your going with that but good post. And I assure you I mean no disrespect but here go's~ M16 conversions,Gun powder for propellant. The military doe's use this as a form of training but make no mistake IT WILL NEVER TAKE THE MAINSTREAM OF PAINTBALL OR ANY TYPE OF PUBLIC RECREATION!Can you all imagine how bad it would be , how fast our sport would be outlawed in every state if it was more like a firearm. Our "markers" are not classified as "guns" this is the only reason our sport is alive today. If we stand by and let them change the laws on us then it would be the beginning of the end for paintball. you must understand that tens of thousands of attempts have already been made to legislate paintball out of existence by those who doe not see our game as just that "A GAME". We as paintballers must all ways stand up for the good of the sport. It is a fact that if we do nothing if we do not speak up if we just play ball and bury our collective heads in the sand,our sport will be condemned as it is now in a law their trying to pass in Ohio(I will find the link to the article and post it later). In my opinion we do not have the born right to play paintball we have earned the the privilege to play. By that i mean if we do not as players care enough for our sport to speak up to stand out for the good of paintball at your field or in a town hall meeting ect. ect. then we don't deserve to play. How many times have you heard some one swear at someone else"YOUR ^%%@!^* OUT!,GET THE #^%$ OFF YOUR ^$%@*&^ OUT. i'M NO SAINT BUT THAT IS NOT PAINTBALL!.you can just as easily say"check yourself player or ref check that guy/paintcheck him/her.nothing is worse than playing a game that is an adrenaline pumper like paintball and have some jerk off scream profanity at you or friends, don't forget the most important thing-it's about having fun! It's no B.S. that paintball has grown into this 4 billion dollar a year juggernaut but this is the first year our numbers player wise did not increase it decreased. If you read all the paintball mags out there and I do you will already know these things. If I could instill one thing to people who read this I would say"When you play paintball remember to Treat others with common respect, to treat newbies with a bit more patience may bee just a bit of guidance if need be,and above all RESPECT OUR PRIVILEGE TO PLAY PAINTBALL!
Last edited on Saturday, April 15th, 2006 at 10:16 am PST
   

hollywood53 Saturday, August 12th, 2006 | 3:03 pm PST
Dispute:
Same reasons as stated in other reviews, same things apply-no field in southern central or northern ca that Ive found will let you play with a marker at 400fps period . If you want to compare with a 300fps 68calibur marker then use a 300 fps .068 that is allowed to play on the same field. this all might change some day but even if it changed this year and fields let it play along side standard markers, you all are still wrong at the time you stated your case.
If this will make it easier for you to understand~if you get a speeding ticket and and make your case why the speed your going~55mph~should be legal the speed limit does not change because you want it to. now lets say one year from now they change the speed limit to 75mph you don't get a do-over or the ticket does not go away. as it stands is the way it is .So until they change the industry standard YOU CANNOT COMPARE THESE TO "FIELD LEGAL" MARKERS!
Now all that aside I think that these are some of the coolest markers ever made and will probably buy one within a year, or once I'm sure all the bugs are worked out.
   

kewlman Saturday, November 11th, 2006 | 6:01 am PST
The realism of RAP guns are unmatched, nothing is perfect. There is always going to be someone out there that doesn't like something but does thay make it a bad thing? Not at all.. If you are happy with RAP markers then stick with them! They are very customizable. RAP also has .68 cal markers as well. And the new STORM (Nov '06) has lots of potential and i hope to see reviews of it soon.

I've been selling RAP products online for a little while and haven't had any major problems.
Last edited on Saturday, November 11th, 2006 at 6:02 am PST
   

pbturkey Wednesday, July 11th, 2007 | 7:56 pm PST
wtf ?
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media