paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on GUNFIGHTER9's Review / Comments on GUNFIGHTER9's Review / Comments on GUNFIGHTER9's Review / Comments on GUNFIGHTER9's Review / Comments on GUNFIGHTER9's Review

Comments on GUNFIGHTER9's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

GUNFIGHTER9 Wednesday, November 10th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months16 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: RAM, Red Dot Site, .43 barrel, Two mags, mag cinch
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't buy one get an AT-4
Strengths: The RAM is an extremely realistic Marker, is select fire, and runs off magazines.
Weaknesses: Poor quality, magazines not reliable, not allowed on most organized fields, limited selection of paint
Review: On initially receiving the RAM, I was impressed by the overall realism of it. If it was not for the brass ring on the CO2 tank and the orange muzzle it would be an exact copy. Unfortunately that is where the markers pro's stop. First off upon taking it out of the box, I noticed that the barrel was very loose and required quite a bit of disassembly to tighten. Next I inspected the magazines, and found that one of them broke after only being wound a couple of times. The magazines have a spring that is coiled around a guide wire that is made up of what appears to be thick fishing line. This line snapped in two, which makes the magazine useless. I was going to test range and accuracy, but I was shipped the wrong barrel, by the dealer RAP4.COM. Attempting to dry fire the marker was problematic at best. It would either not fire, or fire continuously, and no amount of adjustment seemed to rectify the problem. I contacted the dealer about fixing the barrel issue and was told to ship it back to them at my expense. Additionally the paint I did receive seemed to be brittle and of low quality since I had numerous breaks when I opened the boxes they were in.
Conclusion: Overall the RAM is a great looking marker, but looks don't eliminate the other team. Its appearance is hampered by a lack of performance, and quality. Service by the dealers is also a big issue, and very lacking. The magazines are frail, and are heavy even when empty. Their low capacity of 20 rounds will create the need to carry a large number of them to maintain any sort of long term play. Though I did not get to range test mine, other reviews from the RAP4.COM forum run rampant with players being able to hit out to only 40 or 50 feet with any accuracy. The .43 and .40 caliber paint these markers run on is not accepted at most fields, and must be purchased at the dealer, so buy in bulk or you'll be waiting a week to go play while your paint is shipped to you. Since what attracts people to the ram is the lack of a hopper I would suggest getting a AT-4 which also runs off magazines. I would suggest this only if you want an expensive tinker toy.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 27th, 2007 at 10:07 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Mogley Wednesday, November 10th, 2004 | 10:36 am PST
Hi gunfighter, what name do you have at rap4.com's forums now. Dont listen to this guy he has been banned from the rap4 forums many times. Not because of his opinion but because he cusses at everyone, respects no one or their opinions and posts garbage on their forum. I dont know if he really has owned one or why he is so mad at rap4 but he has been making a living trying to trash them. Maybe hes from a competitor?? I'm new to this forum but I saw him recognised him and didnt appeciate what hes doing. I just posted a review in this section about the new rap4 LE. Whats funny is some of what he mentions about are related to the first versions of these markers. First of all let me say that the accuracy and range wasnt acceptable with the first versions and suffered many ball breaks. The first version of these markers released was the Version 3 series, this refers to the markers core, the actual launching unit of the gun. It seems the first version for sale in the US was the version 3(full auto only), apparently the manufacturer had already made 2 previous ones. Even this V3 had problems, range and accuracy was good out to 50ft that it, it also had ball breakage issues. Next a V4 was released(semi, full auto) this V4 series improved on the previous generations. Range and accuracy were increased but the ball breakage issues were still there. Well just in the last couple months the latest V4 LE was released. The LE stands for Law Enforcement, as this version was only available to the police and military. This version had a much improved core, actually sealing the chamber from where the paintball is launched now losing no co2 from each shot. This gives the marker more power, now capable of shooting 400fps. This increased the range alot of the previous version. The manufacture also took note of the community that had begun to make custom barrels for the previous versions. This elimanted the ball breakage issue as this was being cause by the ball entering the barrel and breaking on the lip. The manufacture now had produced a barrel better than any of tha barrels on the market, custom or otherwise. So these barrels solved tha ball breakage, accuracy, and added even more range in addition to the new core with the sealed chamber. These improments with this new LE version has now put the performance in the range of a Tippman A5. I have owned all three versions of these markers, the reason I stuck with the markers is that they are the most realistic 1:1 scale markers. I didnt like ugly hoppers on my gun. When I saw these I had to have one. I upgraded my older version markers with new barrels and custom parts to increase the performance. But when this new LE version came out that only the LE community and military had access to I knew It must be alot better. I bought one right off. I was very impressed with the new version. I use this marker in games with tippmans 98's, A5's, and angels and I can compete with this marker. Yeah you only have 21 rounds a mag, but I carry 11 mags on double mag clamps so I can get off 42 shots really fast. Than I gotta get a new clip. But I like the challenge and the realism of reloading. Nothings nicer than taking a guy out with a 200 round hopper with a couple well placed shots, or a clip on full auto These markers are also very strong sturdy and waterproof. I have had the same v4 for a year, my brother a v3, and my cousin a v4. We havent had any problems with parts breaking, we have all used the same mags for over a year without any problems. And Gunfighter has stated at rap4 that he had a v3 or a v4. He hasnt had any aftermarket parts for those version or owned the new LE version. This version is flawless. I wouldnt trade my rap4 for any other marker. It performs just as well and looks so realstic. These markers are attention getters on the field. Everyone wants you on their team. And the customer service at rap4 is great and thats the overall opinion. I'm sure they might have messed up a thing or two but hasnt every company at some point and time? The key thing is that they will take care of you and correct the problems with no hassle. And you just cant knock off these markers because of the flaws of the first versions. Do you think the first Tippman was flawless, NO, it had to be improved upon. How old is tippman now 20-30 years, these markers are a little over a year old and have already improved alot in this short time. They have a M4, M16, SR16, MP5, and glock pistol already out. With probably the ak47 next and the m9 berreta pistol. These markers are here to stay and will just get better and better
   

GUNFIGHTER9 Friday, November 12th, 2004 | 7:44 am PST
Well if you like to play unsafe, unregulated renegade paintball then by all means purchase one, because no field in the US is going to let you use one. Also why is it that all the reviews of a ram only speak of distance and accuracy to 50 ft? Why is getting to 400 fps so dang important? Isn't the established national paintball standard 300 fps or less? Perhaps its because inferior products have to bend or brake the rules to compete with the rest of the market.
   

Mogley Friday, November 12th, 2004 | 12:14 pm PST
Visit www.rap4.com for a list of fields across the US that allow rams. Many will allow it but you must pay a fee if you cant use their paint. That is unless the field is bring your won paint. Gunfigter owned one of the first ever of this series of marker. They are a little over a year old now. They have been updated with newer versions 2 times since them. Gunfighters comparison is of the first ones. I personally own all three. The latest, the LE version, performs as well as a Tippman A5. I use mine in games with A5's, 98's, and angels with no problems. Gunfighter post his same negative posts about these markers on all webites and forums. Although he will never admit he has never owned or tested the latest versions mainly the top performer the LE. So in no way does his opinion reflect the current line of rap markers.
   

Zorath Friday, November 12th, 2004 | 9:20 pm PST
If it runs as well as an A5, why not just save yourself the hassle and just get an A5?
   

GUNFIGHTER9 Saturday, November 13th, 2004 | 11:14 am PST
You continue to side step the issue that rams must exceed the nationally recognized safety limit of 300 fps to perform at all. So do you have a response to that? I'm waiting.
   

dilly man 2 Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 | 4:24 pm PST
no gun should get a 2, not even a brass eagle
   

dustinlowery Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 | 7:20 pm PST
I agree with Mogley .Gunfighter their who seems to put down a paintball breakthrough to realism when he knows that it aint near as bad as he says,he is probably from a competitor though im not positve, but "gunfight" also sidestepped that accusation. and so what if it exceeds the national limit it was made for the friggin army if u cant stand the pain get out of the game!
Last edited on Wednesday, December 8th, 2004 at 5:05 pm PST
   

Marines Thursday, January 6th, 2005 | 11:18 pm PST
Hi, guys, nice forum by the way, I am from the Rap4 forum, yes, Gunfighter has been banned many times under so many names, Don't believe what he says.I also have a Rap4 LE, but I installed the LE kit myself(nice learning experience).

I bought the marker as a .40cal and upgraded with the LE(which is a new copper lined barrel, .43cal paint, new launch rod and a rubber grommet.

Very rugged and ready for action anywhere, built like no other. Completely submergible.

Rap4 just came out with new .43cal paint, and I am now testing it in my LE, I am pleased with it, it breaks at longer range than the old .43cal. It has a cracking shell instead of a shell that squishes(very nice).

I am still testing for the range, which I am currently getting 40ft. accurate, which when I first started using the new paint I was only getting 20ft. accurate, so I'm still improving the range.

With the old .43cal paint in the LE other people are getting 75ft accurate. So I'm going to try and match that range.
I also use a home built shell catcher(holds about 140rds), which is nice so you don't have to rebuy the shells, but sometimes they get warped so you have to discard those.You can also get a 250rd shell catcher from Rap4.
I enjoy every minute of my LE, really nice marker.
Rap4 is running sales, so if you want to buy, now is a good time.
For more information please visit: Rap4.com
Last edited on Thursday, January 6th, 2005 at 11:21 pm PST
   

dustinlowery Monday, January 10th, 2005 | 7:22 am PST
I like how gunfighter hasnt talked in a while
   

GUNFIGHTER9 Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005 | 11:48 pm PST
Lets get some facts straight. First of all I've looked at your list of rap friendly fields, and it wasn't' very extensive like six field in the whole country. Second if you feel that rap4 is so damn great read these links and then decide.


http://www.rap4.com/forum/index.php/rap4/t4200.html

http://www.rap4.com/forum/index.php/rap4/t4302.html

Here are more links to people experiencing trouble with the ram le

http://www.rap4.com/forum/index.php/rap4/t4157.html

http://www.rap4.com/forum/index.php/rap4/t4169.html

http://www.rap4.com/forum/index.php/rap4/t4177.html

http://www.rap4.com/forum/index.php/rap4/t4096.html

Still convinced Rap4 sells quality products read this.

http://www.rap4.com/forum/index.php/rap4/t2100.html

Here's a quote from another satisfied rap4 customer.

My marker was shipped faulty(leaks). The marker came back from repairs and is still faulty.Tiny, I have not trust for you or umbrella as you have lied several times during this transaction the marker still leaks and I have tried fine tuning the marker so I do not believe that I have bad luck but have a bad group of sells reps and a bad company

Taken straight from this link

http://www.rap4.com/forum/index.php/rap4/t4302.html

Lets see them give some answers now. Lets face it, with the bad rep paintball gets from the media anyway do we really want to give our money to a company that promotes playing unregulated games, without full face protection, and with markers firing 450 fps or more? Think about it. If you want a realistic marker that performs and will function buy an AT4 or get an A5. But like I've said before if you don't believe me then go buy one. Its your money after all.
Last edited on Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005 at 11:53 pm PST
   

Marines Wednesday, April 27th, 2005 | 10:22 pm PST
[img]http://www.rap4.com/t68-commando/t68_phantom_2_s.jpg[/i
mg]
Real Action Paintball, a top gun in scenario game merchandise situated in Santa Clara is thrilled to publicize the release of their newest & hottest paintball gun, the T68 Commando.

The T68 Commando is ingenious, solid, quick & loaded with all the hottest features. Every inch of the T68 Commando can be tailored to suit the player's every need and requirement.

This T68 Commando includes an Integrated Barrel Rail (IBR) as well as a Center Rail System (CRS), which will allow attachments such as: laser sight, flashlight, grenade launcher and a vertical grip. The Integrated Flattop Rail (IFR), which is a standard feature of the T68 Commando, will also allow the user to mount a scope, sights and all standard military attachments.

Standard features of the T68 Commando include: Customizable detachable Muzzle Brake, Integrated Barrel Rail (IBR), Float Aluminum Hand Guard, Off- set vertical feed, Integrated Flattop Rail (IFR), Anti-icing system, Center Rail System (CRS), Atom Smasher Trigger System (AST), Ergonomic Trigger Grip.

The hottest feature of the T68 Commando is the Atom Smasher Trigger System (ASTS). The Atom Smasher Trigger pad is half inch wide, which allows for easier trigger pulls. The trigger is constructed of solid metal angled at 45 degrees, which certainly supports rapid fire. The ASTS distributes the center pressure point of each trigger pull therefore reducing trigger pull exhaustion in long scenario games as well as for games that require a great deal of shooting.

The T68 Commando comes with an abundance of features as well as its ability to adapt and change to meet the player's need, but more importantly the T68 Commando is built for reliability and durability. The T68 Commando is an all metal construction, it is heavy duty and rugged. The trigger grip is made with a strong fiber, the same material used for the firearm trigger grip. The trigger grip of the T68 Commando can also be replaced with a standard M4 Assault Rifle trigger grip.

The T68 Commando is a .68 caliber paintball gun that operates a typical 200 rounds loader it is also capable of taking CO2, Compressed Air and Nitrogen. This T68 Commando has a range of 150 feet to 250 feet. The velocity of the T68
Commando is changeable from 250 feet per second to 350 feet per second.

The internal mechanism and break down of the T68 Commando is similar to the Spyder, Piranha, Rebel Extreme and many others. The cleaning and maintenance of the T68 Commando is quick and easy. The complete core tear down of the T68 Commando can be done in less than 60 seconds.
The T68 Commando is designed for players that enjoying speed ball type games with inflatable bunkers as well as extreme scenario games--a two in one paintball gun. [img]http://www.rap4.com/t68-commando/t68_phantom_1_s.jpg[/i
mg]


[img]http://www.rap4.com/t68-commando/t68_commando.jpg[/img]


Standard Features:

1. Customizable detachable Muzzle Brake
2. Integrated Barrel Rail (IBR)
3. Float Aluminum Hand Guard
4. Off- set vertical feed
5. Integrated Flattop Rail (IFR)
6. Anti-icing system
7. Center Rail System (CRS)
8. Atom Smasher Trigger System (ASTS)
9. Ergonomic Trigger Grip

This is an example of a fully outfitted T68 Commando

[img]http://www.rap4.com/t68-commando/t68_commado_loaded.jpg
[/img]

For more information: [url=http://rap4.com/os/product_info.php/products_id/1255]T-
68 Commando[/url]
   

PlayHardDieHard Tuesday, May 3rd, 2005 | 6:29 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by GUNFIGHTER9
... Why is getting to 400 fps so dang important? Isn't the established national paintball standard 300 fps or less? ....
I don't know if any one answered his question, (I'm toooooo lazy to read more than one long post) but if your able to get 400 fps then that mean you have a good gas seal and efficancy. With that being said that marker most prably would be better than a 98c or even the a5
   

pbplayer55 Thursday, June 2nd, 2005 | 11:53 am PST
Can someone tell me at 300 fps how far this gun shoots how accurate it is and what are the groupings of the rounds and what is the max effective range??
   

rrdude Friday, June 24th, 2005 | 2:02 pm PST
i am from the rap4.com fourms aswell....gunfighter was using the out dated version of the Rap4...now, however, the RAP4LE is out and a substantial proformance leapt has been attained from the original...my friend has bought a rap4 and recently upgraded to a LE...we were astonished by the preformance leap.

gunfighter is not a credible source for a review of a rap4 as he has never owned the more current version of the rap4. He has also been banned from the fourm atleast 3times that i know of under mulitpal alias.
   

bayruun Friday, December 9th, 2005 | 7:11 am PST
It's a new style of marker, one which I wholeheartedly encourage, but I have to admit that there seem to be many problems with the early and mid-level markers. There's more to go wrong, and more generally does go wrong.

If, as gunfighter claims, there are problems with returning a defective product, then there's a problem with the company. I can't confirm this among other owners, however.
   

gameshoes Sunday, January 15th, 2006 | 1:23 pm PST
oh crap!!!
i accidentally pressed report inaporapriate comment
whoever i did it to, sorry
and i'm probably gonna get screwed now
   

hollywood53 Sunday, February 5th, 2006 | 1:50 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by dilly man 2
no gun should get a 2, not even a brass eagle

you obviously never owned a brass eagle "poison" I did and it was a chunk of junk the worst peice of metal ----Arrrggg- JUNK = 1 no way around it , I might as well have thrown my $ away!
   

hollywood53 Sunday, February 5th, 2006 | 2:50 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by rrdude
i am from the rap4.com fourms aswell....gunfighter was using the out dated version of the Rap4...now, however, the RAP4LE is out and a substantial proformance leapt has been attained from the original...my friend has bought a rap4 and recently upgraded to a LE...we were astonished by the preformance leap.

gunfighter is not a credible source for a review of a rap4 as he has never owned the more current version of the rap4. He has also been banned from the fourm atleast 3times that i know of under mulitpal alias.


With all the info from all the sources he listed ,with all the negs of these markers on this sight alone and you try to tell me and others this guy is not a credible source or oh wait you and mogley just don't like his comments you both keep saying he bought the first edition or series and he's not telling about the newest one out there! GUNFIGHTER9 BOUGHT ONE AND IS INTITLED TO HIS OPINION -so how many markers are all of these people out there supposed to buy before you agree with their opinions--oh wait ,I personally know of a friend of mine baught one and have first hand experience with the piece of crap(cool looking though)Rap17 pistol that my friend wasted $250.00 on oh but I guess he should buy the next one they put out to get a better designed model that realy works-B.S. ...Fact - if you spend your money on it and it does not function like advertised then it deserves to have truthfull opinions written about it and no amount of insults or accusations from you or others can hold back the TRUTH!

Also just as a reminder you are not allowed to attack or insult others on this website but you both do . so don't try to get all high and mighty about this gunfighter person YOU CLAIM IS SOME ONE ELSE, you ever think that some one else dislikes your marker and might wright about it! you try to discredit him but I've researched his info he offers up from third party's YOU KNOW WHAT THAT MEANS?=something he could not influence.So what now are you going to say everyone here that disagrees with you or your marker is now "gunfighter in disguise" how intelligent is that.

WHEN ANYONE READS UP ON THIS WEBSITE ON THESE MARKERS YOU SEE A PATTERN, yes some like the markers but still have their complaints. SO STEP BACK MOGLEY AND RRDUDE AND READ THEM BEFORE YOU MAKE SOMEONE ELSE OUT TO BE A DISHONEST PERSON THAT YOU DIRECTLY ATTACK AND INSULT IN YOUR COMMENTS WHO PEOPLE SHOULD DISCREDIT -YOU ARE THE ONE'S WHO COME OFF AS DISHONEST! YOU BOTH SHOULD BE BANNED FOR YOU PERSONAL ATTACKS AND INSULTS ON THIS MEMBER, OH YA AND ONE MORE THING, GET AN EDUCATION ABOUT THE FIELD SPEED LIMIT FOR PAINTBALL AND THE INDUSTRY STANDARD FOR MASKS, I did and spoke to JT , DYE , V-Force and all three would not tell me over the phone that their mask is recommended to take a hit over 300fps . I SPENT AN HOUR AND A HALF ALONE JUST CALLING FIELDS TO SEE IF I COULD PLAY WITH A RAP4 ON THEIR FIELD. OUT OF 15 FIELDS I CALLED MOST I HAD TO LEAVE MESSAGES AND WAIT FOR THEM TO CALL ME LATER . BUT IT RESULTED IN 9 RETURNED PHONE CALLS FROM THESE FIELDS-GUESS HOW MANY SAID YES I COULD PLAY WITH A 43 CALIBER MARKER AT400FPS="NONE",NADA,ZIP TRY TO TELL ME I'M WRONG OR DISCREDIT ME! ALL PEOPLE HAVE TO DO IS PICK UP A PHONE AND CALL THEIR LOCAL FIELDS-HA! HOW DO YOU CALL THEM NOT CREDIBLE!
I don't own one and now do not intend on owning one! why because you say?-noway- I educated my self and found to many problems with the marker and lack of available areas to use it . also both your comments and character assassination attempts- your not good reps for a product let me tell you. Now I know you or others might not like what I've said here but really, get past that and if your going to make an argument don't try to argue the facts just with your opinions or accusations about one person out of many who was stating their opinion-you are the reason he checked his facts! and I spent my time to find out for myself! I've got a question for anyone out there-why are these not advertised in ACTION PURSUIT GAMES? would you be as foolish to tell me it's a conspiracy with gunfighter9 or what?
feel free to dispute any of my opinions but if your going to dispute facts you better do your homework because fact is just that FACT!

I would like to say thank you "GUNFIGHTER9" for your opinion here on pbreview, you helped me in MY decision !.
Last edited on Sunday, February 5th, 2006 at 8:14 pm PST
   

hollywood53 Sunday, February 5th, 2006 | 2:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by dustinlowery
I like how gunfighter hasnt talked in a while
YOU SHOULD TRY IT! or better yet you should try reading some facts instead of petty comments!
Last edited on Sunday, February 5th, 2006 at 8:22 pm PST
   

§plit§econd Thursday, March 2nd, 2006 | 1:52 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by GUNFIGHTER9
You continue to side step the issue that rams must exceed the nationally recognized safety limit of 300 fps to perform at all. So do you have a response to that? I'm waiting.

gunfighter I posted it here as well http://team.tacticalmarkers.com/board/showthread.php?s=&
postid=54116#post54116
you need to understand something about impact energey, I actually happen to post right under you here.

Energey impact formula for ballistics is mass times velocity squared. So I very much disagree with you. I cant for the life of me find and info on the weight of a .43 cal but a .68 RPS premium averages 3.187 grams. so 3.187 x 280 squared is 29.872395 Foot pounds of energey. I really doubt a .43 at 400 can beat that. (this is in grams)

300 feet per second limit is a standard to ENSURE noone exceeds the maximuim allowable downrange energey for our standardised mask's Im betting a .43 could be propelled 450-500 and not exceed that.

Edited right after post and then again shortly after:

muzzle energey not downrange...im really tired and trying to pass out reading forums :P

Most (none I know of but I bet theres one out there...somewhere) field workers have no idea about mass times velosity squared = FPE impact or their State ,or in my case province regulations, for allowable muzzle energey. Let alonethe saftey specs on a your average mask. 300 fps or any feet per second mesurement is simply a marketing tool or the "dummies" guide to saftey and its all about insurance policies
Last edited on Thursday, March 2nd, 2006 at 2:10 am PST
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media