paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Nwilson's Review / Comments on Nwilson's Review / Comments on Nwilson's Review / Comments on Nwilson's Review

Comments on Nwilson's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Nwilson Friday, November 12th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested14 of 51 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
If it's round and filled with paint I've shot em...
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with a 14" smart parts pregressive

SPyder Imagine - 14" J&J Ceramic, Evo2, 20oz CO2

Spyder Agressor - Stock
Recommended
Barrels:
No barrel will make these horrible things work!
Strengths: If I think of one I'll let you know
Weaknesses: HUGE dimples, no where close to round, half full of paint
Review: I would buy 10 cases of brass eagle paint before I would put one more of these paintballs in my gun! These are just awful. I normally don't buy wal-mart paint but it was a last minute paintball trip so I thought what the heck, I'll try the super swirls. I will regret that decision always. For starters, the balls are not even round, they're more of an oval shape! Not good considering all the barrels that I own are ROUND! If that's not bad enough most all the balls are horribly dimpled. Some had dimples almost as large as dimes - I kid you not ! Now for the icing on the cake. Most if not all the balls I looked at were only 1/2 to 3/4 filled with paint !!!! You could actually look at the ball and tell that the balls were not even full of paint....GEEZ !!! Sooo, you don't have to be a physics genius or a paintball pro to know that a paintball that is oval, with dimples, and half full of paint is not going to fly so well, if it even makes it out the end of your barrel in one piece. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE spare yourself and DO NOT buy these!!! BUY Brass eagle after burner, before you buy these. (Wow, I never thought I would recommend brass eagle over anything!) Did I mention DO NOT BUY SUPER SWIRL?
Conclusion: Spend a few extra dollars and get some decent paint. If you MUST buy wal-mart paint, get something other than these. These are hands down the WORST paint I have ever seen.
Rating:
1 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
DANTE A-5 Thursday, February 3rd, 2005 | 5:18 pm PST
obviously the paint was old .... and wal-mart employes treat their paintballs like shiit ... ive watched their employes toss and drop cases of paintballs around the store....
   

Daryn Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 8:31 am PST
You must have gotten a bad or old case or something. i bought some from there and they were awesome. no dimples, etc.
   

Phathed Sunday, March 13th, 2005 | 4:04 pm PST
Yeah the cases i bought were in great condition!
   

SuperMan23 Tuesday, March 29th, 2005 | 3:58 pm PST
If i MUST buy from wal-mart...what other ball (from Wal-Mart) will do good in a fast gun such as a ICD Freestyle with out having any ball breaks in the gun from the fast speed ?
   

NewBaller Saturday, April 16th, 2005 | 7:36 am PST
I think mine were old to. I boutght 1000 of these and went to play with a friend and i swear my gun turned into a blender. none were round and had a few broken in the box but that was wal-mart's falt.
   

bepaintinu Monday, July 25th, 2005 | 1:51 pm PST
these are great paintballs
   

FockerJ9 Thursday, December 15th, 2005 | 9:12 am PST
dude if u go for wally world paint always cut the box open and take a look first, all walmarts allow u to do this

super swirls are like the best cheap paintballs ever ever, id say they are close to tourney grade but still far from the old JT maxims which were the best pball ever

super swirls is my choice of ball for any occasion
   

cjgura Monday, January 23rd, 2006 | 7:19 pm PST
Dispute:
i have used these for 3 games and have not had any problems at all. no dimples no squares and they're not half full of paint.
   

paintball_fiend Wednesday, February 8th, 2006 | 2:03 am PST
Dispute:
obviosly got a bad box of very old paint
   

Renegade6 Wednesday, February 8th, 2006 | 8:56 pm PST
Dispute:
Yes,
No real reference to what paint he is comparing to.(fact) Not an indepth set up description no barrel Inside D. paint ball is between .687 .689.(fact) he is complaining about breakage/brittle shell when the main advantage of this paint is that it doesnt bounce it breaks on contact.(subjective) This paintball uses the same shell as marbs it is a tourny shell with a cheap fill so u can practice and get the same break/acc. as your tourny paint but without the tourny paint cost.(fact)

Thanks for your time and delete that inacurate review.
   

Nwilson Friday, February 10th, 2006 | 11:20 am PST
Let's be clear, I am not disputing the veracity of anyone who has used this paint and had good results, I was simply reviewing the product based on MY experience! I described where I bought the paint (wal-mart), my marker set up including barrel (in the marker set-up section - J&J Ceramic 14") and I described accurately the condition of the paint in the box when I opened it. I will also add that I have bought many other brands of paint at walmart and have never had paint in as poor condition as the super swirl I purchased that day. Is it possible that the paint was old or mihandled? YES. One day I may purchase another box from another location to compare. However, in the meantime I stand my by review and the accuracy of the information contained within.
   

Renegade6 Sunday, February 12th, 2006 | 12:00 pm PST
I understand you may have gotten a bad case at wally world.....where do you think i bought mine at? (hint not from the paintball fairy.) I will not say that they didnt come dimpled because I was not there. however I can only recomend that you check them before you buy them some small child may have tossed that colorfull box on the floor lol. (btw I did learn something from your post and have since started checking every box I get for misformed/broken/dimpled paint so thanks for being "that guy") I realise my post calling for you to delet your review was not the best thing for me to do I should have merely asked you to buy an undamaged case and pls test again since it is obvious that the case you got last time were DAMAGED GOODS. Thanks for the review but your experience was just not in the same ballpark as what I had so I reacted harshly. Thanks for your review and pls test this product again. Scott

edit: could you also include your inside D. of the barrel you used that could have (coupled w.) the horrible condition of the paint you bought to create flyers and breaks note the paint is a medium size (.687-.689)

Thanks again Scott
Last edited on Sunday, February 12th, 2006 at 12:04 pm PST
   

Timmyboy14 Sunday, March 12th, 2006 | 11:10 am PST
I bought my super swirl from Garts and they don't break. They are all round too.
   

evan21 Wednesday, March 29th, 2006 | 4:44 am PST
These are great, like marbalizer jr's. I only use these and scorch, and JT tactical. Never had a problem with any.
   

saleenvp Sunday, April 2nd, 2006 | 6:00 am PST
I buy monster balls at wal-mart and they are great. Never found a broke one in the box
   

CockerFanatic Thursday, April 13th, 2006 | 12:30 am PST
I don't think you can accurately rate walmart balls. In my area they almost always come with broken balls and often sit in overstock without rotation. The broken balls come from poor handling and if you sit and watch I've seen people come up and look over the gear then pick up the paintballs and give the cases a big squeeze. This happens more in the prefilled guppies and clear boxes. Walmart is not a field or proshop, has no respect for the equipment balls included and doesn't care for them as required. If you consistantly buy good Walmart paint then I congradulate you on having decent employees there and good shipping.
   

Skunk300 Monday, April 17th, 2006 | 10:21 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Renegade6
I understand you may have gotten a bad case at wally world.....where do you think i bought mine at? (hint not from the paintball fairy.) I will not say that they didnt come dimpled because I was not there. however I can only recomend that you check them before you buy them some small child may have tossed that colorfull box on the floor lol. (btw I did learn something from your post and have since started checking every box I get for misformed/broken/dimpled paint so thanks for being "that guy") I realise my post calling for you to delet your review was not the best thing for me to do I should have merely asked you to buy an undamaged case and pls test again since it is obvious that the case you got last time were DAMAGED GOODS. Thanks for the review but your experience was just not in the same ballpark as what I had so I reacted harshly. Thanks for your review and pls test this product again. Scott

edit: could you also include your inside D. of the barrel you used that could have (coupled w.) the horrible condition of the paint you bought to create flyers and breaks note the paint is a medium size (.687-.689)

Thanks again Scott


Yep sounds like bad paint.... had the same thing with a case of allstars.... same exact thing... just old...thats all.... and I wish the paintball fairy would pay me a visit and leave me a couple cases..... :(
   

wjpurdue Sunday, April 30th, 2006 | 6:28 pm PST
This review cannot be accurate. He got a bad case.
   

pidman426 Friday, May 5th, 2006 | 12:19 am PST
Dispute:
wilson, its your fault u were dumb enough to pick from the front of the shelf, and i guarantee u didnt open the box and check either... i open my boxes and they never have a problem. try giving it a shake and u can tell, if theres not much rattle, theres broken paint or something. get a rattley box. anyways, i hope his review is erased
   

a5ghilleman Monday, May 15th, 2006 | 12:48 pm PST
hey i had the same problem.................................. i bought from wally world
these balls are good sometimes but common wallmart keps it in storage and throw them around
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media