paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Stan_the_HitMan's Review / Comments on Stan_the_HitMan's Review / Comments on Stan_the_HitMan's Review / Comments on Stan_the_HitMan's Review

Comments on Stan_the_HitMan's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Stan_the_HitMan Saturday, November 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years29 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All american
flatline-more of a technolidgy than a barrel, so not comparible
3A 4 peace
many stock barrles
Marker Setup: Ion
Hybrid Shizzle Grips
68/4500 Maxflo
Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Rec paint such as big balls, zap, draxxus, ect
Strengths: Accurate
versatile
$$cheap$$ LIKE 35 BUCKS
comes stock on impys
Weaknesses: Difficult to clean
Only standard Bore
Review: I used this barrel as a primary barrel for 2 years before getting my flatline and while i was still learning how to install and collaborate my flatline as a backup.
it only comes in standard bore so all of you paint matching freaks should look into the freak.

I myself became somewhat of a paint-to-barrle matching freak as well but didn't want to buy the $200+ freak barrel and settled with the $100+ 3a four piece.

but with standard boar ball breakadgeisnt relay a factor **THIS BARREL IS EXTREMELY GOOD FOR NOT BREAKING PAINT**

Even at high rates of fire minimal ball breakage occurred, this barrel may be just a memory to me now, but it is a memory with no squeegee! and any memory without a squeegee is a good one.

HOWEVER, when debris got in the gun such as dirt or sand ball breaking does occur and it doesn't matter what barrel you have.
In this event the portings instantly become the anti-christ. accuracy with portings clogged (especially portings at the end of your barrel such as this one) increase your patterning in this way:

clean barrel w/ good paint at 60 feet: 2-3 foot pattern (slow ROF)
crapped up portings w/ good paint at 60 feet: 10-12 foot pattern (slow ROF)

At high rates of fire the pattern does not suffer dramatically with this barrel.

The range is not the best with this barrel, and it can only be found in 14" and 12" now i believe. it is relatively quiet though, compared to many other low end barrels.

But i shouldn't call it a low end barrel, just because of its price which is a huge plus, it is a middle preforming barrel above almost every stock barrel.
Going along with that, this barrel is available to virtually every gun out there and is very easy to get a hold of so it is usually the barrel of choice for the people hoping to upgrade in the future and the middle class player alike.



Conclusion: Accuracy: 7/10
ball break factor: 9/10
looks: 7/10 (5 color choices to match your gun)
volume: 7/10

so overall that is a 7.5, round it to 8.
i do think this barrel deserves an 8 though
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 19th, 2005 at 6:37 pm PST
 

Review Comments
skippertipper Sunday, April 3rd, 2005 | 7:11 pm PST
How would you comapre this to a flatline?
   

Stan the HitMan Thursday, April 7th, 2005 | 3:38 pm PST
The fatline (when installed correctly) has much much more range and accuracy.
at high rates of fire and speed ball i would use this barrel, less breaks at high rates of fire.
progressive is also shorter and quieter.
wood= flatline
speedball = progressive
   

A-5's r cool Wednesday, June 1st, 2005 | 9:39 pm PST
a boar is a male hog.......... a bore is the inside of a barrel
   

Stan the HitMan Sunday, June 19th, 2005 | 6:41 pm PST
I fixed it for you, happy?
   

TJK12345 Sunday, July 10th, 2005 | 11:00 am PST
lol
   

Tippmann pb Sunday, March 19th, 2006 | 6:53 am PST
You must have a bad gun if it was 10-12 ft pattern at 60 ft.

*the BORE is inside the gun, its not a boar...lol
   

Tippmann pb Sunday, March 19th, 2006 | 6:54 am PST
You must have a bad gun if it was 10-12 ft pattern at 60 ft.

*the BORE is inside the gun, its not a boar...lol
   

Stan the HitMan Sunday, April 2nd, 2006 | 7:52 am PST
the bore is inside the barrel actually...and the 10-12 foot pattern is with a broken ball, read the whole post before criticizing
   

DesertEagle16 Sunday, June 18th, 2006 | 6:05 pm PST
Nice review. I have a few questions that maybe you could help me with:

1. What's the difference between the Progressive and the All American? In other words, is an AA front + AA tip the same as a Progressive only more expensive? If that were true, does that mean that people usually only buy the AA two-piece to put in a Freak back and that people who just want the AA tip and AA back kinda should just buy a Progressive? Or does the AA have better accuracy/easier cleaning or something of the sort? Sorry if this question is a bit confusing.

2. Since you have a Max-Flo on your Ion, I was wondering if you could tell me if the Max-Flo tank comes in carbon-fiber options, you know since the metal tanks are really heavy and all.

If you, or someone else who also knows, could get back to me soon, I would really appreciate it. Thanks.
   

Stan the HitMan Friday, June 23rd, 2006 | 6:58 am PST
I don't use an ion any more but i still have a maxflo and yes you can get it in carbon fiber.

The all american ( i have heard) has a better micro Hone and is polished more, but basically a progressive is a one peice all american, as a tear drop is a one piece freak. But in doing that you lose interchangeability and upgrade ability. Im not sure about the new style progressives though.
   

DesertEagle16 Saturday, June 24th, 2006 | 7:59 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Stan the HitMan
I don't use an ion any more but i still have a maxflo and yes you can get it in carbon fiber.

The all american ( i have heard) has a better micro Hone and is polished more, but basically a progressive is a one peice all american, as a tear drop is a one piece freak. But in doing that you lose interchangeability and upgrade ability. Im not sure about the new style progressives though.


I see. Thanks for getting back to me so quickly.
   

wesserman Friday, April 20th, 2007 | 7:20 pm PST
i agree about the paint to barrel match with the big balls i put one in the barrel to see if i could see light around it and i couldnt but the paintball still rolled down the barrel freely
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media