paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Goldfinger's Review / Comments on Goldfinger's Review / Comments on Goldfinger's Review / Comments on Goldfinger's Review / Comments on Goldfinger's Review

Comments on Goldfinger's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Goldfinger Tuesday, November 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month53 of 66 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
'01 Autococker
'02 System X Vengeance cocker
'01 PMI Pro 2
Tribal Twister 2.0
Tribal Fluster 2.0
Classic Intimidator
Tippmann 98c Flatline
Marker Setup: '04 Trilogy Comp
16 oz pure energy Co2 anti-siphoned
Ricochet AK
Recommended
Upgrades:
Medium bore barrel i.e. Lapco Bigshot, Dye excel, CP one piece.
Strengths: Air efficiency, closed bolt operation(no kickback), designed for co2, price is affordable for beginners.
Weaknesses: Compact hinge frame, large bore barrel, fade just a line between black/red.
Review: OK, called WGP and asked them about running co2. The Trilogy line was designed for co2. I took mine out to the field and the marker did what it was supposed to do. For example, we were defending a castle of about 50 on 50 and a player ran in to bunker us. As he ran in, I quickly without hesitation, popped off 3 rounds. Without any kickback from the gun and no malfunctions, the marker performed well. I believe cocker's are much better performers than stack tube blowback's. The only hesitation I think most beginners will have is the timing/pneumatics which WGP made easier with the Trilogy series. Only one grudge, I didnt realize the compact frame was so compact, lol I have to use my midde finger to fire(6-8bps) but thats fine with me considering I dont waste paint. The barrel is large bore some where around .690(pmi premium just caught friction) and I was told when I called WGP, the tech said the trilogy series runs about +/- 10fps on co2 and anti-siphoned will run better considering decent paint of course(pmi premium was asked).

There you have it, no bashing, no glory just a review.

For the price though, get the pro, I should've. It has the full size hinge frame and 2 piece barrel for $40 more.

Update 5/1/05

Tri-comp with full hinge, warped dark delrin bolt, and powerlyte scepter kit. I had the lug lowered a bit to reduce short stroking(I was double and triple feeding when I first got the marker and couldn't figure out why only to find out the lug was sitting hi and not catching the bolt.) And now thinking back and for the price I am glad I purchased it. My preference was for an economical marker that was consistent, efficient, and accurate. And with the minor upgrades, I couldnt be happier. I now just show up at the field, slap on my Ricochet 2kx, tank and chrono for a few shots and play!!! 7-8 Bps and +/- 8 with A/S co2 with powerlyte kit, what more can you ask for the price you invest.
Conclusion: Great gun for those who are intermediate rec players that are tired of upgrading their stack tubed blowback markers or tired of using a flatline tippmann.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 5th, 2005 at 5:06 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
karnfury8 Saturday, November 27th, 2004 | 9:28 am PST
what kind of paint do u suggest for this gun, and how does it function with cheap paint?
   

Goldfinger Saturday, November 27th, 2004 | 11:17 pm PST
I used pmi premiums and they just barely fit. The bore is around .691 or so and if you had a .689 bore barrel then pmi premiums would work well. If you wanted to pick up big ball, zap rec, scorch, dusk, blue streak or tc venom would work with the stock barrel.
   

nightbringer Monday, November 29th, 2004 | 9:31 pm PST
When you say the trigger frame is compact, just how compact are we talkin? Is it still a double finger frame?
   

karnfury8 Wednesday, December 1st, 2004 | 5:17 pm PST
i think it is considered a double finger frame but to fit both fingers comfortable your fingers would have to be pretty small
   

Goldfinger Sunday, December 5th, 2004 | 9:38 pm PST
The compact frame is really just a single hinge frame for the middle finger. You wont fit both fingers with a decent sized hand, unless you were 10 yrs old. I just put the WGP full hinge frame on it and it works like a charm.
   

fayceballer Wednesday, December 8th, 2004 | 12:41 am PST
Do you actually need A/S CO2 for this cocker, or does it really matter?
   

P8nt burner Wednesday, December 8th, 2004 | 8:20 am PST
no its not a double trigger at all just a single-trigger blade
   

nightbringer Friday, December 24th, 2004 | 7:07 pm PST
by the way, goldfinger, I couldn't agree with u more on the crappy fade annodizing. If they'da just made the whole thing black, it'd be hottt!
   

DixieDude14 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 | 4:34 pm PST
Hey...new guy here...but when u buy it, is it compact or is that like a diff. model u can order. I dont own this gun but i am looking into it.
   

Virus_Nyne Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 3:51 pm PST
What you see is what you get. If the trigger frame is too small, live with it until you can get a KAPP Reflex II frame.
   

bam wannabe Tuesday, March 8th, 2005 | 7:10 pm PST
just save up and get an 02 or 03 cocker... they are only like 250 bux now

this gun is like 1 step above a spyder, u cant even change the 3 way on it
Last edited on Tuesday, March 8th, 2005 at 7:12 pm PST
   

the pickle Wednesday, March 9th, 2005 | 5:03 pm PST
1) it is a "compact hinge" trigger frame. that means that if you don't have childs hands or like gloves, your going to get a new trigger frame or live with it like me.
2)the built in three way sucks, but its not that bad.
3)i have use the crappiest paint in the world with this gun, just be shure the size is not too small for this big bore barrel. or just get a new barrel(i have a freak!!).
   

the pickle Sunday, April 3rd, 2005 | 10:20 am PST
the barrel is ok, but it is a large bore. so if u use small paint, get a kit. i have a freak.
   

mr metallica Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 | 2:44 pm PST
i dont know much about cockers ive been playing with semis for years but iam looking into this one for the price if i get it i better not be disapointed any one know a good place in canada for up grades?
   

Goldfinger Monday, May 9th, 2005 | 11:54 pm PST
Metallica,
Just get a good delrin bolt, full hinge frame of some brand that you like and a barrel kit of your choosing. That is all you'll want to do if you care to keep it economical and satisfactory. Want more? just get an 04 or 05 prostock.
   

j_elmore44 Tuesday, May 24th, 2005 | 8:26 pm PST
My friend just got a prostock and he loves it so that is a god choice
   

tippperson Saturday, June 18th, 2005 | 7:49 am PST
how do you time an autococker im looking to get one but im nevous that it will be to complicated
   

TJK12345 Wednesday, July 13th, 2005 | 9:52 am PST
You don't have to time this line of cockers. When I got mine I just slapped a co2 bottle on loaded it and went off firing. It worked awesome and I didn't even touch it.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 13th, 2005 at 9:53 am PST
   

evil ed54 Thursday, August 4th, 2005 | 2:44 pm PST
ed rules
   

Air Canada Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005 | 4:37 pm PST
so no timing needed?!?!?!?!
and does the movie or instructions show/tell you do u tune it and fix it?
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media