paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on EqualsP's Review / Comments on EqualsP's Review / Comments on EqualsP's Review / Comments on EqualsP's Review

Comments on EqualsP's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

EqualsP Friday, November 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years40 of 43 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Squadbusters (SquadBouncers...)
various Homemade grenades
Marker Setup: Marker setup has no bearing on this review
Strengths: 99% detonation rate.
Consistent size/wieght.
No prepwork.
Large volumn of bright paint.
Weaknesses: Can be fragile
Review: Strengths:
* 99% detonation rate (I have literally thrown hundreds of these grenades, the number of times I have NOT seen them go off I can count on 1 hand. Everytime they failed was when they landed in something soft: Very Tall Grass and Snow).
* It is the appx size and wieght of a baseball, meaning you can throw it like a baseball.
* no pin to pull, they explode on contact.
* larger volume of paint than other grenades I have used.
* Very very very bright fill. it doesn't soak into clothes right away and is fairly easy to see from a distance.
* large spray pattern when it explodes. The grenade tends to propel itself around while spraying paint.
* age doesn't affect the grenade's effectiveness - it will still go off.
* come with loops to hook onto your belt or to make holding multiple grenades in your hand very easy.

Weaknesses:
* fragile. if you don't treat it like a grenade, it will go off on you when you aren't expecting it.
* if your throwing style puts undue pressure on the end of the grenade, it can go off in the air.
* Age affects the paint mixture (as you would expect..) old grenades just need a good shaking before the game.
* Long grass and very soft objects are it's archnemisis.

weakness AND strength:
* due to the large volumn of paint, it is a LOT of paint to clean up after 1 goes off.

Review:
Menohl's problem comes down to user error. As I stated above I have thrown hundreds of these grenades (I'm serious, this is no exaggeration). You have to treat this grenade like you would any other grenade or your paintballs. You don't shoot broken paintballs expecting them to travel straight do you?

If he didn't abuse it and knock the band off it would have exploded on contact with an object instead on in flight. The Rubber Band needs to remain ON the grenade for it to maintain it's payload until it hits it's target. If you treat the grenade too rough the elastic band WILL pop off and cause the grenade to explode on you.

Because of the way the grenade propels itself around when it explodes it is perfect for clearing out houses/huts and other contained bunkers, I have seen it shoot itself around corners and bounce around in a small hut eliminating everyone

If there is a slight spin in the grenade when it explodes, it tends to tumble around spraying paint on everything within 6 or so feet of itself.

I had a grenade roll off the tailgate of my truck and hover 2 feet off the ground due to the force of the paint expelling from the end, until it was light enough that it shot 10 feet into the air.

The best way to carry these grenades is on a Caribiner on your belt loop, unless your a runner (or tend to slide a lot) then you will want to loop your fingers through the provided loop and carry it in your offhand. It is possible to shoot and hold the grenade in the same hand too.

I have never had one of these grenades I have thrown, thrown back to me, where as a member of the opposing side and I unwillingly played catch with a Squadbuster for the duration of a 1 hour MXS final battle. The SquadBuster never went off.

I have sold these grenades next to Tippman Squadbusters (even for a price more expensive than the Squadbusters) the Atomic Ordnance grenades out sell them every time for the sole reason that they WORK!.

I admit it, I am a member of Pub Crawling, I am Sponsored by Atomic Ordnance. But I use these grenades due to my own free will. If they didn't work, I personally wouldn't use them, I wouldn't waste my energy carrying them around.

(=Pedit: spelling and to clarify a point)
Conclusion: A very good grenade provided you treat it for what it is, a liquid filled device under pressure designed to eliminate people from the field safely. If you handle it too rough it will go off. But that is what makes it so good, IT WILL GO OFF!! and there is no prep work required to make it explode!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 26th, 2004 at 10:47 am PST
 

Review Comments
Menohl Tuesday, November 30th, 2004 | 9:27 pm PST
OK, i'm tired of everyone's reviews being a bash my review, instead of just talking about their expiereinces with the product.

Atomic Ord just sent me 2 sample big boys, i will test them by friday and rewrite my review based on the test. Yes, i deleted my review i wrote already. I will be video taping my test, and will be putting the tape to mpeg and posting it online to back up my next review, because i'm sick of people saying, you used it wrong, you didn't use a big boy... Next time their will be no room to argue.

Finally if you are sponsered by atomic ord as you have admitted you are, you cannot leave a review for their products... Its the same thing as they themselves leaving their own review on their products which is illegal according to the terms of this website.

As a sponsored user, you can leave comments on others reviews, but that's it. By your actions you have placed your account, and atomic ord's products in jeapordy of being banned from this website.

I would recommend you delete your review before it is done for you.
Last edited on Tuesday, November 30th, 2004 at 9:37 pm PST
   

EqualsP Friday, December 10th, 2004 | 10:56 am PST
Criticize all you want. I Wrote a very objective review and the kicker:
If you are associated with this product's manufacturer or distributor in any way, including, but not limited to, owner, shareholder, employee, or a member of a sponsored team, then you are not allowed to post a review on this product. (Effective: December 2, 2004)
Likewise, if you are associated in any way with a competing manufacturer or distributor then you are also not allowed to post a review on this product. (Effective: December 2, 2004)


look at the dates when I created and edited my review.

=P
   

Rumpeltumpskin Tuesday, December 14th, 2004 | 8:29 am PST
Hrm... Sounds to me like you used a loophole, and the loophole has been fixed because of you.

Seriously, its not cool to leave reviews of products you are sponsored by.
   

jbevo55 Tuesday, January 4th, 2005 | 3:46 pm PST
where can you buy these?
   

headshot4u Thursday, February 10th, 2005 | 10:15 pm PST
what if one was shot while it was hanging from you???
   

EqualsP Tuesday, February 15th, 2005 | 8:23 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by headshot4u
what if one was shot while it was hanging from you???

Depending on your local field rules, you'd probably be out.

I've never had it happen to me, but it would probably have the same result of if someone shot your pod/pack. Close hits would probably set it off, far hits probably wouldn't do anything.

=P
   

Brophog Sunday, February 27th, 2005 | 1:28 am PST
I know by the exact letter of the law the review is legit, but you're cutting corners a bit, are you not? It's a great review for a great product. You know I appreciate your review and opinions a great deal. I also know that you don't support something that doesn't work. I know this, of course, from our dealings on the various pump boards. Many people though only know what is written here, with no prior knowledge.

But the spirit of the rule remains, regardless of posting date. If I were you, I'd take it down. The product works wonderfully! Even without your review, people will come here and find that out. The potential conflict of interest is potentially doing this product and this company a disservice.
   

SeanC Wednesday, April 27th, 2005 | 11:29 pm PST
POST ON! You wrote a very very detailed and objective review, and I feel much more informed now, thank you very much! Ignore anyone who tells you you should take it down or delete it (as obviously you have). I'm tired of reading incomplete reviews filled with spelling and grammatical errors, Shorthand, and obvious bias. Great work on the review and i hope to read more.
   

dirtyA-5_77 Wednesday, January 11th, 2006 | 3:58 pm PST
If these are anything like the f-bombs by special ops (the exact same thing) then they have to be sweet so dont say they suck Menohl because they are freaking awesome and i would like to c this video proof
   

EqualsP Thursday, February 9th, 2006 | 9:59 am PST
I will not be taking down my review. I am not hiding that I am a member of the sponsored team. I stated it outright, readers can make up thier own minds if they want to listen to me or not.

thanks for the confidence from everyone else.

if anyone wants to see the amount of paint in one of these grenades, check out my team's website. www.pubcrawling.org and download the "Hey Buddy" video. granted it's not being thrown, but under the circumstance, it wasn't required =)

=P
   

rooster1 Friday, April 7th, 2006 | 5:58 am PST
Hey everyone,

I too use these grenades now. I am NOT sponsored by Atomic Ordnance, but I did order them directly off Atomic Ordnances' website.

I looked at the sponsorship information posted clearly on their website. It states that sponsorship doesn't mean free products, it means getting a discount on the products.

This means that EqualsP pays for this product, and just happens to get a discount. If they didn't work, I'm sure his team would have moved on by now. I'm sure that Tippmann would offer a discount to any team who plays as much ball as Pub Crawlers and throws as many grenades.

Don't bash someone who writes a fair and honest review of a product HE PAYS FOR and have found it to work well for him.

Jason
Last edited on Friday, April 7th, 2006 at 5:59 am PST
   

Silent Storm Thursday, July 20th, 2006 | 2:05 pm PST
Im not sure what the dispute is about but it doesnt concern me. Good review man.
   

Fenix_Wylde Sunday, July 30th, 2006 | 8:42 am PST
Good review. Is there any european store that has these?
   

EvilDemon98 Thursday, November 30th, 2006 | 4:16 pm PST
I thoroughly enjoyed your review, I too use these excepts made/sold by special ops and I agree with everything you said. I also agree that you are within full legal limits writing this review.
   

Ejk2969 Monday, February 12th, 2007 | 8:02 pm PST
I was wondering if anyone tried to refill these grenades instead of buying new one..........Is this even possible and has anyone even tried?
   

Tippy King Wednesday, April 18th, 2007 | 10:08 am PST
Some places sell refill paint for mines that might work.
   

EqualsP Wednesday, April 25th, 2007 | 3:49 pm PST
these grenades are not refillable. The pressures required to fill the grenades are far beyond safe for the home user as well as the grenade skin will be too stretched out to be effective if refilled.

you can buy more from www.atomicordnance.com

=P
   

Tippy King Thursday, May 10th, 2007 | 3:18 pm PST
Oh DUH.... didnt even think of that
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media