paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Scarface9386's Review / Comments on Scarface9386's Review / Comments on Scarface9386's Review / Comments on Scarface9386's Review / Comments on Scarface9386's Review

Comments on Scarface9386's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Scarface9386 Tuesday, November 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month48 of 55 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, Spyder E-99
Marker Setup: Auto Cocker Trilogy Pro
16 inch Freak Barrel
CORE Universal Drop w/ guage
20oz Co2 (until I upgrade)
Egg 2 electric Hopper
Off Set site rail
Black Magic rear cocking rod (for looks only)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gun comes out of box with almost no upgrades necessary, the stock barrel is insanely accurate, although it might just be because its an auto cocker and thats what they're known for. Of course a new barrel can only help though. Run comp-air not Co2, even though the gun runs pretty good on Co2, and the only upgrade that you need that I would recommend is a electric hopper.
Strengths: ACCURACY, ACCURACY, ACCURACY, More so then Angels and other expensive markers.
Weaknesses: Not WorrBlade compatible, no biggie though. And don't short-stroke.
Review: OK, Ive only been playing paint ball for about a year now, Ive owned 2 other guns (mentioned above), which were pretty basic guns, ok for beginners, but I'm getting past that now. This gun is incredible. I just turned 18 and got a full time job making $1500 a month and I love with the parents and I have hardly any bills, so I decided to look for a good gun. I searched all through pbreview and when I saw an auto cocker for $260 I didn't believe it. Id heard great things about them, so I read the customer reviews and everyone gave it a 10, so I ordered it. Out of the box I was a little disappointed in the trigger pull of the cocker (its the same with all of them, w/out worrblade) but when I gassed her up and started testing, I couldn't believe the accuracy. If you can be this accurate then you don't need to shoot 13 BPS, I mean its great. I just got the freak barrel today and the accuracy now can be better. With all the upgrades mentioned, and the gun itself, I only spent around $500 or so, maybe $550, and all I really need now is to stop running Co2. My $550 gun (upgrades included) is just as good as a $1200 angel you could buy.

In your hands the gun feels great, its not too heavy, and with the drop forward it feels very balanced in your hands. Don't expect to get off more the 6 to 8 balls per second but expect them to be dead on target. Site rail is useless just like Spyders with the hopper blocking your view. The rail is more for decorative purposes, but with an offset rail it wont matter, and they're only like $15, or just aim down the side of the gun if you don't want the rail. Most accurate marker in the world and you cant use the site rail. But thats ok.

Now looks. The gun itself is nice looking, but the finish I'm not sure about. Its unique, a anodized chrome finish, with a slight purple tint, but when you buy your barrel or other accessories they wont match, but looks don't matter, its the gun quality that does. But I know some people take a lot of pride in the markers looks as well.

The gun is pretty quiet too, you wont have any problem there, and a barrel upgrade will only make it better. Pull pin for easy maintenance, VERY easy maintenance.

Ive had the gun about a month and no air leaks, almost no chopped balls (i short stroked when I first got it, but you'll get the hang of it in a day or 2) My friends like using it as well, a little bit of jealousy from them, owning guns like a 98 custom, E-99, Piranha, and such.
Conclusion: This gun is a great choice for long time players of and newbies. Its the most accurate gun on market (cocker's in general are) and the price is great. You could easily spend $1000 and get a gun thats not even as good as this, for a quarter of the price. If your looking to buy a high end marker, look no further.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
toothpastedog Wednesday, December 1st, 2004 | 7:28 am PST
More so then Angels and other expensive markers.

accuracy comes down to the barrel, and this gun's stock barrel is terrible when compaired to the stock infinity, so....

If you can be this accurate then you don't need to shoot 13 BPS, I mean its great.

would you rather have an extremely accurate gun that can't shoot fast, or a accurate gun that can shoot fast. being able to shoot faster is always better, and it always helps.

y $550 gun (upgrades included) is just as good as a $1200 angel you could buy.

you're living in a fool's paradise; your gun is way way way way way way way slower, less efficient, much less consistant, chops more, and isn't any more accurate, than, lets say the new 05 speed. in fact, stock, the 05 speed is better in every way that this gun. do you know why? the 05 speed costs a lot more and actually delievers that extra punch for that extra $$$. this gun is not compairable, even when upgraded, to a gun like the 05 speed in any way. this gun is a very good gun for the money, but it stops there. in other words, don't compair it to a 1200$ angel, because even the old angel leds out perform this gun in ever respect.

You could easily spend $1000 and get a gun thats not even as good as this, for a quarter of the price.

again.... don't fool yourself...
Last edited on Wednesday, December 1st, 2004 at 7:30 am PST
   

Moose0nTheLoose Wednesday, December 1st, 2004 | 3:11 pm PST
i agree with toothpaste dog. ok review but i wish new players would stop insiting that the exact gun that they have is the best. im not saying this gun is bad, i migh even get one but it doesn'y compare to anything up there. also you said that youve used an e-99 and a 98c. how do you know what an angel even feels or shoots like?
not to make you feel bad about your purchase but with the income ur getting and the money ur putting on this And the price you paid. you could've got a NEW 04 vert for 299 and gotten nice stuff like eblade and such.
   

Scarface9386 Thursday, December 9th, 2004 | 4:33 pm PST
Yeah you guys are right, I just got over excited about having an autococker and wrote this review while I was on a "high" so to speak. It is great for the price, but I know its not better then angels, ill change my review sometime, make it more accurate so ppl dont buy it thinking its better then it is.

I have a question unrelated to this stuff though. I was thinking of getting the 05 Angel speed which shoots 31 BPS. Whats the point of that, there is no hopper that can support that rate of fire, or correct me if Im wrong?
   

nightbringer Tuesday, December 14th, 2004 | 10:23 am PST
a Q-loader can feed pretty fast, but not that fast. Besides, those are a pain in the booty to use. But yeah, there really isn't a whole lot out there that can keep up with 31bps rate of fire.
   

whs watty Wednesday, December 15th, 2004 | 6:20 pm PST
good rieview thanks for the info. Made me buy one.

P.S. I love my parents to. lol jk
   

MorrDubay Tuesday, December 21st, 2004 | 8:16 am PST
i would have to agree with nightbringer in that the q-loader could keep up with the angle but only for about 3 seconds then it would be out of balls and the q-loader is not a speed ball item but still your review could use some revisions but im still gona get the marker
   

Scarface9386 Friday, December 31st, 2004 | 7:22 pm PST
well im glad I could help. the more i use this gun the more i think maybe I wont go for the angel. i really like it a lot.
   

MorrDubay Saturday, January 1st, 2005 | 9:11 am PST
i gust got this marker yesterday and i was frigging amazed. i have been using spyders and the 98c the accurate is way better and it can shoot faster than my spyder pilot when it is in semi mode I'm taking it to the local field tomorrow to try it out for real.
   

sktbrdngpetey Sunday, February 13th, 2005 | 1:53 pm PST
ahuman being can even pull 31. ur finger only does 2 and any more is impossible. the trilogy is a really good gun. has a kaner barrel, delron bolt, better valve then a 04 cocker. and has better effientcy. wgp is working on the eblade for it. and if u put an eblade on it i would take it over an angel anyday. first angels kick alot more then cockers. and cockers are more accurate the angels because they havea closed bolt operation.
   

lostazncause Thursday, March 24th, 2005 | 2:26 pm PST
closed bolt doesnt mean anything, BUT
this thing comes stock with two barrel backs making it more accurate b/c you can match paint to barrel.

also, you can turn the lpr down so you can pinch paint, something you cant do with an angel. haha, the new g7 operates at 225psi to operate the bolt, a tuned cocker can operate at 60psi and pinch paint. eyes wont even be required
   

aimedplanet Wednesday, March 30th, 2005 | 5:21 am PST
personally, I would rather shoot 1 ball deadly accurately, then shoot a wall of 31. Such a waste. It only takes one ball to eliminate someone from the game, so why shoot 30 times that? Other then that, I can't wait to buy this gun. Unfortunately, just before these came out I bought my Spyder so probably by the end of the summer I'll buy my Trilogy.
   

sueypaintballer Saturday, April 9th, 2005 | 8:54 am PST
Aimwsplanet..... knows nothing about speedball....... stay in the woods
   

Erepetor Thursday, May 26th, 2005 | 2:06 pm PST
as a matter of fact you can use the e-blade on the trilogy.
   

slaminator3323 Friday, June 10th, 2005 | 7:18 pm PST
u kno u could have saved tht 200 something dollars and spent it on upgrades for ur tipmannn 98c
   

Lilac Wednesday, October 19th, 2005 | 7:19 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by toothpastedog
More so then Angels and other expensive markers.

accuracy comes down to the barrel, and this gun's stock barrel is terrible when compaired to the stock infinity, so....

If you can be this accurate then you don't need to shoot 13 BPS, I mean its great.

would you rather have an extremely accurate gun that can't shoot fast, or a accurate gun that can shoot fast. being able to shoot faster is always better, and it always helps.

y $550 gun (upgrades included) is just as good as a $1200 angel you could buy.

you're living in a fool's paradise; your gun is way way way way way way way slower, less efficient, much less consistant, chops more, and isn't any more accurate, than, lets say the new 05 speed. in fact, stock, the 05 speed is better in every way that this gun.

You could easily spend $1000 and get a gun thats not even as good as this, for a quarter of the price.



An angel speed has useless consistency compared to any autococker make or model. I agree that the trilogy is by no means a tournament gun, but quite possibly one of the best rec' guns out there.
   

Sheps Tuesday, December 20th, 2005 | 10:11 am PST
Keep in mind, what's making this marker accurate is not the closed-bolt operation, it's the regulator and barrel that comes with it stock. Both of these accesories are relatively high-quality and add greatly to consistency. Closed-bolt operation does not make it more accurate, if you want proof, then check the technical section of Warpig.

Here's the URL:

http://www.warpig.com/paintball/technical/paintguns/balistic
/closedopen.shtml
Last edited on Tuesday, December 20th, 2005 at 10:12 am PST
   

Djeder1 Wednesday, February 8th, 2006 | 4:57 pm PST
Hi, I Purchased this gun because of all the great reviews and it is the first autococker i have owned, i am looking to upgrade the barrel , ( i am looking at a freak kit ), Does it just need to have autococker threads, and it should fit??? , also how is you freak kit
   

Cohen Anderson Monday, February 27th, 2006 | 6:52 am PST
dude toothpaste so crushed your newb butt lol. ive had this cocker for a while now and ive been through some tough times. this cocker doesn't even compare to angels and all those other high end markers. to tell ya the truth im kinda getting tired of mine. im thinking about just selling this gun and getting the new electra. now that is a gun that will put this cocker in the dirt. so next time when u try to write a review, dont make it inaccurate and sorry. no one wants to hear people exaggerate over a lil low end cocker.
   

lilfreakwitagun Monday, June 26th, 2006 | 6:08 pm PST
angel<cocker
   

alliedcommando Friday, December 1st, 2006 | 8:05 am PST
First of all, it does not matter if you spend even $3000 on a paintball gun, if you are a good player you can rack heads up even with the worst paintball gun made. It's the player not the gun.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media