paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on tye1138's Review / Comments on tye1138's Review / Comments on tye1138's Review / Comments on tye1138's Review / Comments on tye1138's Review

Comments on tye1138's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

tye1138 Monday, December 6th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months39 of 76 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
LED, LCD, IR3, A4, FLY, DM3, DM4, Alias, Freestyle, pretty much everything.

This is a 3 month wrap-up review of the 05 Speed. I've had a pre-release since before NPPL Vegas, so I've had plenty of time to test it.
Marker Setup: 2k5 Speed, Stiffi 12" barrel, Nitroduck 45/45 adjustable tank, Empire B Reloader, CP rail.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Evolve Kit, Jam Plus bolt, You'll need a big tank!
Strengths: Faster then shyt, excellent trigger, well built, fun to shoot, 9v operation!
Weaknesses: Still chops, to heavy, out of control speed, consistancy is so-so, 9V dies
Review: I'm a certified Angel Tech and this is WDP's BEST marker to date. They fixed almost all the problems and created a MEAN BEAST of a marker. This thing goes faster then shyt and truthfully can put holes in people if not watched after. The trigger and frame is 100% flawless, the feel is perfect and overall, its wonderful. Having an angel with 9v operation is just sexy!
Conclusion: I've run over 40k through my 2 05 speeds, in games and in tournaments. I've tested them to death and here is my PERSONAL OPINION:

Well, if I were like the other kids who post here and on PBnation, I'd say this thing is the best. What I can tell you is simple, this marker still breaks paint. They never fixed the paint breaking issue which they DO on the G7. WDP tries so hard to produce an out of the box good marker and they succeed. For players like myself, I can't stand markers that chop and I'd rather throw paint across the field then have a marker that does not work.

My solution was to create a bolt that removes chop. Jam enterprises and I worked out the design of the Jam Plus bolt and we are putting it to market in January of 2k5. With the bolt, paint breaking is removed from the equation. This $50 upgrade was just the beginning.

Gas efficiency on the 05 still sux. Out of the box I was getting 4 pods and a hopper from my 45/45 warm fill. Thats like not very good. 68/45 it would increase to 8 pods and a hopper. I play back and I can't shoot just 8 pods, so I decided to fix the problem with the Newton Valve kit from Evolve paintball.

The Evolve kit give you a bit more efficiency and delivers less kick. An adjustable ram cap allows easier access to the adjustments of the marker. At $155.00, this upgrade is well worth it.

Final price: $989.00 for the marker + $155.00 for the Evolve + $50.00 for the Jam Plus. NOW you have a marker! With those upgrades, WOOP the thing rocks house. No more chopping, problems will be gone for ever. Ehh, not for ever.

I have 2 of these 05's and both of them have had bad LPR's. I've replaced them, but I'm starting to see a trend of LPR's going bad. The marker goes out of control when the ramp is turned up. This can cause injury if the player does not stop shooting. The ramp is uncontrollable its an ON/OFF switch practically. One minute 8 BPS, next 24 BPS! Our video : http://www.behindthenettv.com/movies/818speedvid.mov is a great example of how fast the dam thing runs, but never the less, it can't run that fast in any tournament.

Conclusion: WDP, great job guys, I truly like this marker. For me its still too heavy to play front with. Without the upgrades, it will break paint on you, barrel break or breech break, never the less its a break. I enjoy shooting it and really like the trigger frame and trigger design, but the board is lacking. BPS is not that important if you can't control it.

Score: 10.0 for construction, 10.0 for frame and trigger, 10.0 for feel, 6.0 for the board, due to it being so un controllable and the battery dying so much. 6.0 for efficiency which they CAN FIX, EVOLVE DID! 4.0 for out of the box chopping and consistancy is not great at all!

Final Score: 7
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 at 11:23 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
speedy2k4 Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 | 2:56 am PST
you are an angel tech right? well can't this be adjusted to like 50psi bolt pressure by just changing lpr shims? at 50 psi, you won't chop, even if the eye doesn't work right, you will just pinch. my dm4 shoots at around 60psi and i can stick a paintball halfway infront of the bolt and shoot and it doesn't chop. after i did some tuning and lpr work on my 03 speed it ran at about 60psi and it wouldn't chop either.


just wondering.
   

papaintballer15 Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 | 9:25 am PST
"For players like myself, I can't stand markers that chop and I'd rather throw paint across the field then have a marker that does not work."


Uhh... so u know any gun will chop, wether its pump,semi,blowback,electropnuematic... anything. Its just all a matter of your settings. Heck timmys chop,angels chop,my matrix chops,spyders chop,tippmanns chop,cockers chop,impulses chop... everything. As speedy said u can drop your pressure and then it wont chop. And if youve put 40k through it u can definatly have a 50psi set lpr and not have a problem. Stock without being broken in u can achieve 55psi and occasionally your pressure might spike but when broken in it wont.
   

tye1138 Tuesday, December 7th, 2004 | 10:04 am PST
Ahh, my matrix never breaks a ball, same paint, same barrel (stiffi) same tank and hopper. I've owned every angel there is and I've continuously chopped with every one. Go drop the pressure on an 05 to 40 psi, have fun! It does not work, we are not talking about a A4 here. The Evolve kit and Jam Plus bolt fix ALL chops and they work great. My point is simple, why could WDP not release a marker that had the modifications built in, similar to the G7? My review has taken some time to compile and what you see is the TRUTH. I've had several people shoot my 2 05's and several others buy them from me. All of them have chopped out of the box!
   

tye1138 Friday, December 10th, 2004 | 12:13 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by leons
HI
I've owned my 05 for 3 months and I have'nt chppe a ball


Thats most excellent, no barrel break? not one jam? nothing at all? just perfection?

Most Angel owners won't admit they break paint, infact all of the ones I know will wipe the paint off the breech door so I don't see it when I work on the markers. I'm not saying your 05 does not chop, all I'm saying is; its almost impossible to get Angel owners to ADMIT there markers chop.

I've personally sold 8 05 speeds and 4 A4 Fly's and every one of them has chopped ONE BALL since I've sold them. Its probably the paint here, but thats no excuse since I use the same paint in my trix and have NO issues!

OHH and also, 3 of the 05 speeds I sold had bad LPR's, and I had not even touched them before they came in leaking!

Anybody else???
Last edited on Friday, December 10th, 2004 at 12:15 am PST
   

SM6 Friday, December 10th, 2004 | 5:11 am PST
Nice, honest review. I hadn't heard about the LPR problems, that's very interesting.
   

tye1138 Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004 | 10:19 am PST
I'll put it a bit more simply. When you break paint in the barrel, you have to squeegee the barrel. This stops your playing in the game and if you choose not to squeegee your barrel, you'll not be shooting straight.

So, barrel breaks are just as much of a problem. To give you some reference...

I've owned 9 Angels over the past 4 years, all of them had paint breaking issues.
I've switched over to spool valve type markers like Matrixes and now Freestyle's. All my breaking paint issues are gone. I shoot the worst paint and the best paint without any problem. No matter how fast my hopper loads, or how fast I shoot, the markers never give me any grief.

So answer me this question: why shoot a marker that breaks paint, barrel or breech?

This is the reason WHY the review of the Angel is the way it is.

BTW: All the 05 speeds that were on our teams: LA Exodus, Vatos Locos and So Cal, are now gone! None of them worked properly and now they are all sold! They are all moving over to spool valve markers like DM4's and sadly Timmys... what can you do??
   

xenerox Thursday, December 23rd, 2004 | 10:00 pm PST
dude
every gun chops
even the angel 05 chops
but dude, if u get the right barrel for the gun than if a ball so happens to chop in it, in about 2 shots the barrel would clean out the paint itself and u would happily be shooting straight again

ive seen it done many times and even myself with the stock barrel or my friends freak set and empire set

LPR does have a problem though my front man had to fix his like 3 times, but its not a big deal if u are patient


i still give the 05 speed a 10 out of 10 cause u can rip this gun mad on the field
   

tye1138 Friday, December 24th, 2004 | 2:01 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by xenerox
dude
every gun chops
even the angel 05 chops
but dude, if u get the right barrel for the gun than if a ball so happens to chop in it, in about 2 shots the barrel would clean out the paint itself and u would happily be shooting straight again
ive seen it done many times and even myself with the stock barrel or my friends freak set and empire set
LPR does have a problem though my front man had to fix his like 3 times, but its not a big deal if u are patient
i still give the 05 speed a 10 out of 10 cause u can rip this gun mad on the field


I can say from being a certified WDP tech that fixes markers all the time AND from using them, Angels have a better chance of chopping then any other marker in the price range. The reason being, WDP until recently, never admitted the 4mm gap between the bolt and the edge of the feed neck was a problem. The LPR breaking 3 times on your teammate is HORRIABLE quality and just proves my point.

Listen: To make a good marker, its has to be PERFECT! Broken LPR's, breaking paint and unreliable performance is not acceptable.

I'll tell you guys again; both my freestyle and matrix NEVER break paint and never have LPR issues or bad orings. Lube the sucker and your ready to go. The Angel will break on you MID GAME and you will be out of the game stuck on the sidelines fixing it. This is a problem and it is the soul reason why my review is the way it is.

Please read back on my re-postings...
   

xenerox Friday, December 24th, 2004 | 8:39 pm PST
personally i like the old school angels better, with a little added upgrades

ive got a 2k1 lcd with a fly conversion and that sucker doesnt break paint, chop, no problems with lpr or anything
i havent even had to send it to a master tech for anything(cept for the conversion)
havent had to fix my gun in the middle of that game or anything

im telling u its the new stuff thats messing everything up
old school is the way to go with some new upgrades

i just laugh at the people who think that my gun will mess up in mid game and go soft on me cause they are all like " o look its just and annngell it wont do anything but just mess up" and shoo the crap out of them!!!
   

Turtle1 Monday, December 27th, 2004 | 9:11 am PST
tye 1138: sounds to me that your trying to sell something and post a bad review on a great gun!
"My solution was to create a bolt that removes chop. Jam enterprises and I worked out the design of the Jam Plus bolt and we are putting it to market in January of 2k5. With the bolt, paint breaking is removed from the equation. This $50 upgrade was just the beginning"

i don't think your to much of a tech, and you don't chop in a matrix!! haha lol your in denial about matrix's, i haven't seen a matrix not chop or stop working in a game.

we are sponsored by DYE and we shoot proto/dm4/dm5 and they still once a game or two chop a ball or break in barrel, its painball it happens, you have to tinker with your gun.

i havent met a tech that really could play paintball anyway!!! lol dude thats just a little humor, thats all.
but i love this gun, i like the trigger and the eyes rock and the price for what you get is unreal! sweet buy! 950.00 retail
Last edited on Monday, December 27th, 2004 at 9:12 am PST
   

f2f4 Monday, December 27th, 2004 | 1:45 pm PST
Good review and all, but could you show me this bolt you speak of? Link?
   

kangaroodent Monday, January 3rd, 2005 | 5:11 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by tye1138
I'll put it a bit more simply. When you break paint in the barrel, you have to squeegee the barrel. This stops your playing in the game and if you choose not to squeegee your barrel, you'll not be shooting straight.

So, barrel breaks are just as much of a problem. To give you some reference...

I've owned 9 Angels over the past 4 years, all of them had paint breaking issues.
I've switched over to spool valve type markers like Matrixes and now Freestyle's. All my breaking paint issues are gone. I shoot the worst paint and the best paint without any problem. No matter how fast my hopper loads, or how fast I shoot, the markers never give me any grief.

So answer me this question: why shoot a marker that breaks paint, barrel or breech?

This is the reason WHY the review of the Angel is the way it is.

BTW: All the 05 speeds that were on our teams: LA Exodus, Vatos Locos and So Cal, are now gone! None of them worked properly and now they are all sold! They are all moving over to spool valve markers like DM4's and sadly Timmys... what can you do??

Post proof of your certification.
   

xenerox Wednesday, January 5th, 2005 | 6:27 pm PST
nice!!!
that was a good idea
post your certification
   

Rosa Monday, January 17th, 2005 | 4:05 pm PST
Are you sure you are an angel tech??
If you are, then why haven't you tried to fix your chopping problem, why haven't you fixed it?

My angel chopped out of the box too, and I want to let alot of you people know, if you buy an 05 speed it maay chop, and you will have to tweak your angel a bit to fix this. A tuned angel 05 speed will not chop like a blender. I just want to warn you all that no gun on earth will NOT CHOP EVER. Every single gun can chop and nothing has fixed this yet. Even though WDP claims that they properly adjust the angels before shipping, you still need tweak them out of the box.

One of the biggest things to fixing chopping on your 05 speed is ADJUSTING YOUR RAM.

You don't need his Jam plus bolt, and you don't have to buy the newton evolves kit. A 68/ 4500 tank should do you fine. And there are much cheaper ways to lower your air usage than the newton kit.

The 05 speed is one of the best guns WDP has made (besides the G7). You won't get much better for that price and this gun rocks when its tweaked,

I beg you to learn more about fixing chopping problems at www.angel-owners.com
Many people are complaining about this and it is easily fixable.

I HAVE FIXED MY CHOPPING PROBLEM AND YOU CAN TOO ITS EASY. HERE IS A LINK THAT SHOULD POINT YOU IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION.

http://www.angel-owners.com/showthread.php?t=34390
Last edited on Monday, January 17th, 2005 at 4:08 pm PST
   

Hekrill Wednesday, January 19th, 2005 | 12:39 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Turtle1
tye 1138: sounds to me that your trying to sell something and post a bad review on a great gun!
"My solution was to create a bolt that removes chop. Jam enterprises and I worked out the design of the Jam Plus bolt and we are putting it to market in January of 2k5. With the bolt, paint breaking is removed from the equation. This $50 upgrade was just the beginning"

i don't think your to much of a tech, and you don't chop in a matrix!! haha lol your in denial about matrix's, i haven't seen a matrix not chop or stop working in a game.

we are sponsored by DYE and we shoot proto/dm4/dm5 and they still once a game or two chop a ball or break in barrel, its painball it happens, you have to tinker with your gun.

i havent met a tech that really could play paintball anyway!!! lol dude thats just a little humor, thats all.
but i love this gun, i like the trigger and the eyes rock and the price for what you get is unreal! sweet buy! 950.00 retail


Where did you find one for $950? Show me please!!
   

james52 Friday, February 4th, 2005 | 7:50 pm PST
Out of control speed, lol that's what i would like to hear
   

PULSEPLAYER16 Saturday, February 5th, 2005 | 10:28 pm PST
I have been looking at buying an A,4 fly 05 Speed, or a DM4, i want to make sure that i get the best one out of those, because i wont be able to buy another paintball gun for quite a while, i want to know which one has a higher R.O.F. and is more accurate
   

PsychoCy Saturday, March 12th, 2005 | 12:45 am PST
You guys are idiot's. All he's saying is that the damn gun should work right but it doesn't. My team had four of them in December, now we have zero. I know what happens, someone get's a shiny new gun. Then they go on pbreview to see what people are saying about their new gun. Oh my gosh what's that. Someone is saying bad things about my new gun. ATTACK! Get over yourselves. Lets put it in a way even the most narrow minded person should understand. You work 40 hours a week, save your money for months to buy a new car, buy it, and as your'e pulling of the lot the damn thing breaks down. What do you do. Be patient, fiddle with it, say to your self , "hey with a little time and work it will be okay"? No! you take it back and go get a different brand of car. The bottom line is, if you spend your hard earned money on something that costs as much as the Speed 05, it should work right out of the box. No adjusting or breaking in needed. "Go ahead report me far saying DAMN, I don't give a F...
   

spedhunter88 Thursday, March 17th, 2005 | 6:56 am PST
I hate to say it but Psychocy is dead right. I come and look at these reviewsBEFORE I buy the marker not after. Thats what theyr'e here for. I'm gonna keep looking at the other reviews but keep this one in mind. Tye made a heavily detailed review that shows exactly what i look for in these reviews: somneone whos not afraid to say somethings wrong with it and let everyone kno in the process. When i look at these reviews i specificaly look for the ones that bash the product and give low scores. Those are the reviews that reveal the flaws and imperfections of the product in question.
   

theprotokid Sunday, March 27th, 2005 | 12:34 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by speedy2k4
you are an angel tech right? well can't this be adjusted to like 50psi bolt pressure by just changing lpr shims? at 50 psi, you won't chop, even if the eye doesn't work right, you will just pinch. my dm4 shoots at around 60psi and i can stick a paintball halfway infront of the bolt and shoot and it doesn't chop. after i did some tuning and lpr work on my 03 speed it ran at about 60psi and it wouldn't chop either.


just wondering.


Wont that even make you efficiency even worse?
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media