paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on PaintballNasty1's Review / Comments on PaintballNasty1's Review / Comments on PaintballNasty1's Review / Comments on PaintballNasty1's Review / Comments on PaintballNasty1's Review

Comments on PaintballNasty1's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

PaintballNasty1 Wednesday, December 29th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months29 of 205 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
maybe a brass eagle talon haha but seriously one of those budget sheridan pumps which are reliable but suck for everything else unless you enjoy having your gun sound like a cannon and feel like a cannon to shoot
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
>phsyco ballistics drop forward
>double trigger
>12v revy
>dye boomstick
>crossfire nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW GUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! if you're a begginner get the new pirahna gun evo 2004 its mad quick, mad cheap, no chop because of eye, perfect in comparison with a tippmann just stock
Strengths: >Strong trust me it takes a beating.
>Consistent to a certain extent
Weaknesses: >Chops.
>Balls spin when firing quick.
>Heavy
>Stock tank placement
>Feels newb
>Slow shooting
>Versatile
Review: Pros- the gun can withstand some beatings and is consistent at low speeds

Cons- its such a newb gun in almost every aspect and can just be a pain to have with you when you want to be playing but you're worrying about not being able to keep up with the other quality guns. definutely a scenario and gun that you'd only use when you were with friends- at a course you'll feel like a newbie to paintball, inferior, and helpless
Conclusion: DoN't get it- save your money and you'll be pleased quicker
Rating:
1 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
                            
McEd Tuesday, December 25th, 2007 | 9:43 pm PST
I can fairly say that i am not a huge fan of tippmans but i know for a fact that they are much better than you have described
   

paintball noob Monday, January 7th, 2008 | 10:45 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by chugalug
Dude, what's the deal? Why are you bashing the Tippmann, just because yer a horrible baller? I hope you drop yer mask in the mud the next time you paintball. If you ever want to get respect from other ballers, you better get a grip, and realize the Tippmann is an awesome marker! It's not Tippmann's fault that you can't shoot straight you retarded lump of turds. Man yer a moron!!! I'd like to know what retarded gun you think is better than the Tippy.
how can you drop your mask in a pudle that would meen you take your mask off on the feild meening you are the moron
   

paintball noob Monday, January 7th, 2008 | 10:54 pm PST
umm if i may why do you need to have a fast gun in speedball? i personaly think that speed should always come second to accuracy if you can nail someone in one shot you dont need to shoot 30bps
   

RedRussianRage Monday, January 21st, 2008 | 2:00 pm PST
I'm what most of you would call a noob at paintball, having played only a dozen times or so. But, when I finally decided to actually get a gun, I got the Tippmann 98 Custom.

Now, the way I see it, for a person who doesn't play very often and doesn't want to make paintball his way of life, the Tippmann is a great gun. I don't really know, but I'm gonna guess that it certainly can't compete with higher-end electronic guns of its class, and I would not be surprised if a $300 or higher gun would outshoot my Tippmann. I like the Tippmann because I know that if a friend calls me up to play a little woodsball in the forest behind his church, I can pull the gun out of my closet and just play. I've had too much experience with friends who have more expensive, electronic markers that show up at the field and spend half-an-hour trying to get them to shoot and eventually just give up; while I screw on my barrel and CO2 tank in a minute or two and know I'll be ready to play.

Also, Tippman lets you easily change your commitment. If you play less than a few times a year, you can just buy a Tippmann and play. If you like playing, you can then buy a barrel and expansion chamber or something. And if you get even more serious, you can load it up with electronic hoppers, crazy barrels, whatever.

So basically, I agree with whoever posted a review earlier that a Tippmann is like the paintball AK-47: cheap, durable, and effective. Sure, there are much better guns out there if you're a serious player, but for the rest of us schmucks, Tippmann is quite good enough.
   

Sgt._Schultz Tuesday, January 22nd, 2008 | 11:04 am PST
That's right Russian... Tippmanns can be upped to out-shoot higher end markers, and personally, I'd much rather have a tippmann 98 with an egrip and cyclone feed during a speedball game, than I would a Shocker with a halo hopper and all that jazz. That's just me personally, but.......
   

Fefethil Sunday, March 2nd, 2008 | 8:20 pm PST
Dispute:
That is a load of.......no profanity............quack.(does that work???) This gun is great! I can soot at my buddies from 4 1/2 feet of water in D-Day scenarios. I've never had a chop, a spinning ball, or anything you've said.
   

tippyalltheway Monday, March 3rd, 2008 | 2:53 pm PST
ok, first off in a year of almost daily use mine has only chopped one ball, second the ball spinning can add to the accuracy, I buy barrels that spin the ball, if you think its heavy you need to hit the weight room, your clearly out of shape, the stock tank placement isnt different than any other stock gun, who cares if it feels like a noob gun because it performs. you dont need a fast gun to compete, you just have to have SKILLS which you apparently dont have, besides I can squeeze 30 bps out of mine, two definitions of versatile are capable of or adapted for turning easily from one to another of various tasks, fields of endeavor or having or capable of many uses, which is a stregnth because it can be used for almost all games. you clearly dont know what youre saying, and the way you wrote this review makes me SEROUSLY doubt that you have played for more than 2 days.
   

mariners02 Wednesday, March 19th, 2008 | 4:09 pm PST
The Tippmann is meant for woodsball, the evo is a low end speedball gun you really cant compare them, its like comparing a race car and a jeep. A race car would kill a jeep on the track but wouldn't stand a chance on rough terrain. The bottom line is this whole argument is retarded especially because the review is about a tippmann. This review is not accurate at all, he says the gun is strong and consistent and lists versatility as a weakness. His only weaknesses is innacuracy (probably due to the paint he was using or the stock barrel which can be swapped out for like $40) and him saying the gun "feels newb" which is totally a perceptive and i disagree with. If your gonna play woodsball buy a tipmmann dont listen to this guy, If your gonna play airball buy a used dm4 or used shocker on ebay for like $300.
   

Sencha Monday, April 14th, 2008 | 11:18 pm PST
(Groans and rubs forhead)

I read all of these posts, yes all of them, and I am lost for words. I got angry, laughed, got angry again, laughed some more, was confused by pure lack of logic, was angered, etc.

I have been paintballing for half of my life, and I can remember when the original 98 came out. Not everyone may agree with what I have to say, but clearly even the people on the same "side" can't agree. when the 98 first came out it was about a 8/10. A great gun with many advantages and well above an average gun, an average gun is a 5, but not an amazing or perfect gun (9 or 10 respectively). Now in the MANY year since then and the many sales and reincarnation sof the gun it is about a 6. It is still above average, and the light to which all other candles are compared, but there are many better guns in the respective price range or cheaper if one takes the time to shop for them.

If someone is buying their first gun, and I don't know how much they will play, I will recommend a Tippmann. If they are looking for a great gun rather than a good gun, then Tippmann 98 is shunted aside. Look at A-5 as the only Tippmann product in the great category. Sorry but the X-7 is an ugly overpriced A-5.

And this entire distance deabate....the answer is physics AND chemistry. Review your notes or books please. Many factors...more than 4. But seriously....the bolt is not affecting range in any way any of you has explained.
   

pballer813 Tuesday, May 20th, 2008 | 3:14 pm PST
Dispute:
Why a one out of ten? That deserves better
   

Avenger5 Monday, June 30th, 2008 | 2:40 pm PST
it all depends on how you play. a tippmann is ment for woods while the evo is ment for speed. end of story stop wining about which is better. it depends on how you play
   

darksquirel Monday, August 25th, 2008 | 7:47 pm PST
Dispute:
this is an amazing woodsball gun if some speedballer is breakin balls in one he or she should get a cruddy speedball gun.
its not meant to shoot uber fast so thats why you were not likeing it you should try not wasting paint and taking a few well placed shots
   

h3king085 Saturday, October 11th, 2008 | 10:12 am PST
haha look at this noob. Hes got a 98 himself with a boomstick and a crossfire tank!! Those are worth more than teh gun, and hes telling ppl to get a new 1 when he has that set up!!!
   

killjoy93 Friday, January 9th, 2009 | 9:09 pm PST
What are you thinking? The only thing I agreed with is the balls do spin a LITTLE when it's firing fast, but any gun will do that unless you have a really nice barrel. I have the regular barrel and it's worked just fine for me. It never, ever, ever, ever, chops paint!
   

theEndoftheEra Friday, January 9th, 2009 | 9:22 pm PST
In woodsball, I would use a Tippmann 98 custom against an Angel.

This review is horrible, newb gun? I think that's just stupid. Use whatever gun you want.
   

cdnduck Monday, March 30th, 2009 | 5:00 am PST
Dispute:
this gun is fine
   

Barrel Tagger Tuesday, September 22nd, 2009 | 2:59 pm PST
Dispute:
This is totally incorrect it is the most reliable gun ever. Can't remember last time i chopped ball. GREAT GUN
   
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media