paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Ruffneckscout15's Review / Comments on Ruffneckscout15's Review / Comments on Ruffneckscout15's Review / Comments on Ruffneckscout15's Review

Comments on Ruffneckscout15's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Ruffneckscout15 Tuesday, January 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop, Freak, UL Boomstick, All American, many stock barrels.
Marker Setup: 2005 Proto Matrix, Blue-Black fade, 68/4500 max-flow, Reloader B, SS Freak Kit.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Definitely X-ball series, Chronic, or Jt Elite.
Strengths: Light, accurate, cheap.
Weaknesses: Doesn't really clean well through breaks, but that's what a squeegy is for.
Review: I'm happy to be the first one to right a review! Anyways, this barrel came stock on the Proto gat...I mean matrix. The anno on the barrel is perfect, no flaws. I went to my local field, air'd up, put some x-ball bronze series paint in, and hit the field. The barrel is very accurate for a 12 inch and the accuracy was close to my teammates freak barrel on their nerves! Don't expect to shoot through too many breaks. I chopped, but only from the cold temperature. Once it warmed up for a bit I shot it and wow no chops. For a 40 dollar barel that came stock on my gun I was impressed.
Conclusion: Overall excellent barrel for the price. If you want bore sizing though Proto doesn't make sizes so you may want to find a kit. If your in the hunt for a chaep barrel want quality and performance get this. Just remember x-ball paint shoots perfect through this barrel. No chops w/ x-ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 17th, 2005 at 3:09 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
frontsniper Tuesday, January 4th, 2005 | 3:43 pm PST
Saying that it was accurate for a 12 inch barrel is a overstatement. Barrel length does not affect accuracy. Ask Glenn Palmer or Bob Long, there is no way barrel length will affect overall accuracy.
   

AirSin2000 Tuesday, January 4th, 2005 | 5:46 pm PST
^Untrue. Up to 14 inches you gain a little more accuracy. Why? because of a more stable flight path.
   

BigTarget04 Tuesday, January 4th, 2005 | 5:49 pm PST
Proto one pieces have .691 bore, I think, for anyone wanting to know and lacking money for a kit.
   

ViNNYPROTO9 Monday, January 10th, 2005 | 1:47 pm PST
NO !!!! There bore size is .689 .
   

Spidey Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005 | 3:50 pm PST
Ummm, I read at www.protopaintball.com that the 1 piece bore is .690...
   

bobtheguy23 Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 4:34 pm PST
I read it was .690 too...
   

SWAT2291 Monday, March 7th, 2005 | 7:46 pm PST
Hey if anything a longer barrel will make it less accurate. I would like to get his barrel but I got one already.
   

Benno125 Friday, March 25th, 2005 | 8:44 am PST
from my crappo experience with spyders.. longer barrel makes it shoot about half the distance... well then i agian i was using a spyder and went form 12" to 16"... and im sorry to say that my 12" stock was overall much better.
   

the_mafia Thursday, April 21st, 2005 | 11:06 pm PST
all barrels in the same class are the same. if you have a 16 in dye ultralight, and a 10 in stiffi barrel, and have them both shoot at 280 fps, they will have the same range. the accuracy will not be affected either, because the 10 in stiffi will already have it's 8 inches of barrel with no porting. anything after that 8 inches is just porting, which makes the gun quieter. so length does not matter in a barrel, except a longer one will be quieter than a shorter one.

and by the way, i went to proto's website and also saw that both the 1 piece and 2 piece barrels have a bore size of .690
Last edited on Thursday, April 21st, 2005 at 11:06 pm PST
   

AirSin2000 Friday, April 22nd, 2005 | 7:51 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by the_mafia
all barrels in the same class are the same. if you have a 16 in dye ultralight, and a 10 in stiffi barrel, and have them both shoot at 280 fps, they will have the same range. the accuracy will not be affected either, because the 10 in stiffi will already have it's 8 inches of barrel with no porting. anything after that 8 inches is just porting, which makes the gun quieter. so length does not matter in a barrel, except a longer one will be quieter than a shorter one.

and by the way, i went to proto's website and also saw that both the 1 piece and 2 piece barrels have a bore size of .690



Not true at all. The longer the barrel(generally over 16 inches) the shorter a paintball will trvel and the more air used. There is not much of a difference between a 12, 14, 0r 16 inch barrel
   

lostazncause Saturday, April 30th, 2005 | 11:41 am PST
depending on whether the ball is already decelerating when it leaves the barrel, distance will vary a litte bit. If you had a 14 in. all american vs. a 14 in lapco and chrono'ed them to 280 there WILL be a difference in range (albeit EXTREMELY slight) why? well if you were to put a chrono about 15 yards in front of the lapco barrel, you'd realize that the paintball actually got faster than the 280 you clocked exiting the barrel. On an all american, you'd see a slight drop in fps. why is this?

barrel length doesnt matter so much as...
BARREL DESIGN!!!!
(look at both barrels and check the extreme differences between the two)

people seem to forget that the design of the barrel plays a large part in "range"
well all this wont really matter because the most you'll get is an extre few feet
Last edited on Saturday, April 30th, 2005 at 11:42 am PST
   

G 2 Sunday, May 22nd, 2005 | 8:35 pm PST
man thx that was helpful...i can only use my fields paint when i play there and they have xball bronze...so i am happy lol thx
   

slaminator3323 Sunday, June 12th, 2005 | 8:42 pm PST
ok just to let u kno some barrels r more accurate than others because of lenght
   

Nightkast4Life Monday, August 8th, 2005 | 3:56 am PST
Proto barrels are manufactured with premium 6061-T6 high-grade aluminum and honed to .690 and 8 micron finish. Proto barrels are available in two models, single tube construction and two piece configuration. Additionally, straight porting makes the Proto barrel a quiet and most accurate addition to your gun.

Available in black, red, blue and clear. Sizes are 12" and 14" lengths for single tube and 14" and 16" lengths for two piece. Made for most markers.
   

njpaintballer5 Friday, February 17th, 2006 | 5:56 am PST
i just got this barrel not to long ago and i didnt get to use it cuz it is snowy and wet, but by the looks and feel of it, i think it will be a good barrel (better then my spyder imagine stock barrel at least). i looked at this review before i bought it and it really helped alot. thanks fo gettin me a good barrel.
   

njpaintballer5 Friday, February 17th, 2006 | 6:01 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Spidey
Ummm, I read at www.protopaintball.com that the 1 piece bore is .690...

i just bought it and the store clerk said it was a .689
   

shadonite Tuesday, February 21st, 2006 | 2:32 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by slaminator3323
ok just to let u kno some barrels r more accurate than others because of lenght

That is in a way true but in another way not true. The way a paintball barrel works is something like this. The unported section of the barrel stableizes the ball and gets the ball to whatever velocity the gas gets to , thats where you get accuracy. The unported section quiets the shot down, since the unported section has the ball moving already, the unported section only lets the gas behind the ball out causing a quieter shot. So....when the ball leaves the barrel it will fly just as far as any other barrel, that is if your velocity is the same as others. The only difference a barrel can make besides accuracy is the amount of gas used. If a barrel only has 2 inches of unported barrel and like 14 inches of ported barrel, then it would take much more air to get that ball moving faster because all that porting would only slow the ball down since its letting all the gas out before the ball leaves the barrel.
   

FDS Wednesday, May 31st, 2006 | 2:51 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by SWAT2291
Hey if anything a longer barrel will make it less accurate. I would like to get his barrel but I got one already.

are you a retard it will actually make it go farther and and more acurate because it will have a longer time to fly strait and however more the barrel is longer then yours it will go that much longer
Example 14 in barrel upgrade to 18 in barrel will go 4 inches longer
   

sureshot98 Monday, September 4th, 2006 | 4:18 pm PST
a longer barrel doesn't do anything. the longer the ball is in the barrel the more friction there is which slows down the ball. the lenght of the barrel is so that the portings vent most of the air out of them instead of the barrel. the more portings the quieter a barrel is. a longer barrel doesn't make it more accurate. i have a pipe kit and it has a 5 inch spread from 50 feet away. the only part of the pipe barrel system that actually touches the ball is the back. the tip is just there to make it quiet. shadonite couldn't be more wrong.
   

gaston gavrage Thursday, January 11th, 2007 | 1:18 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by FDS


are you a retard it will actually make it go farther and and more acurate because it will have a longer time to fly strait and however more the barrel is longer then yours it will go that much longer
Example 14 in barrel upgrade to 18 in barrel will go 4 inches longer
quote:


no offense but im pretty sure thats not how it works dont tell some1 theyre retarded and then go and say an 18" barrel will make paint go 4" farther then a 14" barrel
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media