paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on SilentButDeadly's Review / Comments on SilentButDeadly's Review / Comments on SilentButDeadly's Review / Comments on SilentButDeadly's Review / Comments on SilentButDeadly's Review

Comments on SilentButDeadly's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

SilentButDeadly Thursday, January 6th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
04 BKO, Impulse, Timmy, Angel, E-cockers, etc....
Marker Setup: Black/red 2k2 Timmy, .689 CP 1 piece, , frenzy board v. 113, cip full force bolt, cip ram, cip ram adjuster, new style clamping feedneck, trinity uni, Halo B

Red 04 BKO "extreme," BL Torp, Trinity Uni, .689 CP 1 piece, Halo B

Black pre 2k ANS right feed cocker, .689 CP 1 piece, WGP stock regs, WGP ACM ram, orracle valve and springs, Shocktech bomb 3-way, ANS hinge frame, Kapp patriot cocking rod, system x beaver tail, Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, reg maybe (didn't test it much).
Strengths: Fast (for a kingman product), light trigger pull, eyes
Weaknesses: Price, it just can't compete with other guns in it's price range.
Review: First of all, I'd like to point out that I only dry fired this gun at a field. I never shot paint through, never took it to the chrono, or other things that people do to test new guns out. In fact, the only reason that I'm writing this review is because of the 4 other terrible reviews for this gun.

Ok, now that that's out of the way I can begin first with the speed/trigger/circuit board of the Primal. Before I shot this gun, I figured it would have a weighty trigger pull much like that of an E-spyder (same company, kingman). To my surprise, the pull was quite light and easily walkable. I didn't note any adjustments on the trigger, but those could have been overlooked because I didn't have much time to check over the gun. I got up to around 13-14bps (if I am any judge) pretty easily, and I'm not exactly the fastest speed shooter. The new cap of 22bps in kingman's new boards is a vast improvement over the older 14bps cap, the new board also seems more responsive and better at picking up trigger pulls than the older ones too. It had a little bounce in the trigger, but it was very unnoticeable. Also, the eye switch is easily located and accessible on the back of the trigger frame. I did not get a chance to test the eyes because like I said before, I didn't put any paint through it.

The actual functionality of the gun itself is practically identical to that of ICD's BKO. The Primal has the same basic setup and design as a BKO and it has a spring return ram too. Kingman was a little vague in the description of the operation of the gun, describing it as a "SDE system" (Solenoid Direct Electro). This caused me to believe that it could have been a full electro (like an impulse) but sadly, it remains a spring returned firing system (which limits the rate of fire to around 18bps)

With that said, this pretty much brings to a close on what I can really say about the Primal without further testing. If you read any review for this gun, make it this one. I'm not trying to brag, but the other 4 reviews are biased, and written by those who have little real paintball experience(actually the reviews written by donut10591 and <Sch> Raven arne't bad, but they're still very biased).
Conclusion: In conclusion, this gun is definitely NOT worth the money. What you're basically paying ~$550 for is a BKO with eyes. That's it. BKO's can be had for $300 new, and older ones for even cheaper. Furthermore, you could get a B2k with pds for the same price and it's better that the primal in every way. I'm not saying that this is a bad gun, and if the price was around $350 it would be great, unfortunately it is very expensive and that's a huge drawback.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 5th, 2005 at 1:17 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
BoneDaddy68 Friday, April 8th, 2005 | 1:36 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by SilentButDeadly

Of course I'm going to keep replying, this is terribly entertaining :D


yea this is pretty funny, but sbd, you can't review a gun if you haven't shot paint through it, it just doesn't make sense. if i went out and got an old matrix and shot it w/ no paint, I'd probly say it sucks cuz its big ugly and heavy, not realizing its consistancy, accuracy, and overall good performance. but the biggest problem with your review was you gave it a 4 for being overpriced. take off 2 or 3 tops, but 6 is just overkill. my 2 cents
   

SilentButDeadly Friday, April 8th, 2005 | 7:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by SilentButDeadly
And even if I tested the Primal out fully and everything worked flawlessly I would still have given it the same rating. That rating was based on the assumption that everything else on the gun worked perfectly. Besides, consistancy and accuracy are the only other things I could judge it on had I actually tested it out on the field, and both of those are relative to the quality of the barrel and regs on the gun. Both of which, I would replace immediately if I owned one of these anyway.
That's all I have to say about the accuracy/consistancy. Kingman barrel + kingman reg = crappy accuracy and consistancy. And who said I took off 6 for the price? This gun is not worthy of a 10 rating even if it was reasonably priced.
   

BoneDaddy68 Tuesday, April 12th, 2005 | 2:02 pm PST
how would u know how accurate it is? you enever shot paint through it. and how would u know how consistant it is? u never chronoed it.
   

SilentButDeadly Tuesday, April 12th, 2005 | 7:47 pm PST
^ Refer to previous posts...
   

fenixman Saturday, April 16th, 2005 | 1:08 pm PST
SBD-
You said-

"And even if I tested the Primal out fully and everything worked flawlessly I would still have given it the same rating. That rating was based on the assumption that everything else on the gun worked perfectly. "

You said that you gave this gun a 4 because of its price. Most people here can already see the price, and dont want an evaluation on that. They want to know how the gun performed, they can think for themselves whether or not its too expensive. The review isnt bad, its just rated for the wrong things.
   

SilentButDeadly Saturday, April 16th, 2005 | 5:53 pm PST
fenixman-Congratulations on being the first person to post an intelligent form of criticism, I greatly appreciate it. Also, I can understand your point on dwelling so much on the price, but it just boggles my mind to know that you can get a B2K4 with pds for $300 and Primals are still $430. Regardless, some people have found my review to be helpful so it'll remain the same unless I get a chance to do further testing.
   

chaz25 Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 | 7:46 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by SilentButDeadly
fenixman-Congratulations on being the first person to post an intelligent form of criticism, I greatly appreciate it. Also, I can understand your point on dwelling so much on the price, but it just boggles my mind to know that you can get a B2K4 with pds for $300 and Primals are still $430. Regardless, some people have found my review to be helpful so it'll remain the same unless I get a chance to do further testing.

Price and the fact it is spring returned are the only flaws you seem to mention. What are you my finacial advisor, tell me why the gun doesn't shoot well, why the gun doesn't shoot acurately, why maintenance is so difficult, then perhaps your low rating would make sense. According to the review the only reasons for rating the marker a four are the fact it is spring returned and overpriced. Do you finally see why your review is horrible.
   

chaz25 Wednesday, May 4th, 2005 | 8:04 pm PST
I'm not done, I own one of these primals and I can come up with more reasons to give it a four. It's a gas hog, the stock barrel, and the thing is louder than my upstairs neighbor. The price and spring do not make this gun a four. Perhaps, all the factors together might. Incomplete and useless review. Thank you and goodnight! don't forget to tip your waitress on the way out.
   

SilentButDeadly Friday, May 6th, 2005 | 7:59 pm PST
So you're saying that price has nothing to do with what you buy? In that case, I can get you a great deal on a Talon for $500.

Anyway, I'm pretty sure that I did recommend a new barrel and reg, as a matter of fact, I know I did because I just read it. Also, the reason that it's loud is not the gun, but the junk stock barrel. Of course, since you're such an expert, you knew this already, right?

Well, you're welcome and good night yourself. Btw, I never forget to tip my waitress, although I'm not entirely sure what that has to do with the matter at hand anyway.

ps: There's an edit button for a reason, I suggest that you use it.
Last edited on Friday, May 6th, 2005 at 8:00 pm PST
   

chaz25 Saturday, May 7th, 2005 | 3:07 pm PST
You really are retarded, I will trust the recommendation to upgrade the barrel and regulator from someone who has not shot paint through the gun. I might let the regulator slide, but the barrel. The stock barrel is not why the gun is loud, if I took the stock barrel off and fired the gun it would be just as loud, if not louder. Yes, I do know why I needed to upgrade the barrel to a Freak, a barrel with more porting will help make the GUN quieter, think before you write something. You recommend upgrades, but no explanation as to why (read it again), Your just upset because you know my remarks are painfully true. I am no expert, but I can recognize a crappy review when I read one.

P.S. please don't offer me any more suggestions, try editing your review.
Last edited on Saturday, May 7th, 2005 at 10:27 pm PST
   

SilentButDeadly Monday, May 9th, 2005 | 1:44 pm PST
It's a kingman barrel and a kingman reg, what more reason do you need to upgrade it?

And, of course the gun is loud with no barrel on it, ANY gun is loud with no barrel, bar none. Anyway, this statement you made confuses the crap out of me: "The stock barrel is not why the gun is loud" and then you said "I needed to upgrade the barrel to a Freak, a barrel with more porting will help make the gun quieter" .... It appears that you just contradicted yourself, but feel free to try and explain your way out of that. Also, please spare me the pre-school paintball lessons, and try thinking before you write something.
   

chaz25 Monday, May 9th, 2005 | 1:56 pm PST
"Also, the reason that it's loud is not the gun, but the junk stock barrel. Of course, since you're such an expert, you knew this already, right?" isn't that what you said SDB


The barrel isn't making the gun loud "jacka$$". The gun is loud, the kingman stock barrel doesn' t help. The freak barrel did help. Get it yet, stupid. The barrel doesn't produce sound, the "GUN" does produce the sound. So if I take the stock kingman barrel off the gun, the gun will no longer be loud, I believe that is what you were saying. My friend, you are wrong. Talk myself out that one pretty good.
Last edited on Monday, May 9th, 2005 at 2:08 pm PST
   

chaz25 Monday, May 9th, 2005 | 2:13 pm PST
"And, of course the gun is loud with no barrel on it, ANY gun is loud with no barrel." isn't this another bit of your wisdom SDB.

But I thought the reason the gun was loud, was the barrel. Why is the gun still loud if I take off the barrel? Isn't the barrel the reason the gun is loud? Please educate me SDB.
   

SilentButDeadly Tuesday, May 10th, 2005 | 10:08 am PST
The gun isn't any louder than any other gun out there, it's dry fire volume is comparable to that of Imps, Angels, BKO's (since it is one), and any open bolt e-pneus. With a highly ported barrel it could be just as quiet as anything (save for closed-bolts). I think you need to slow down a bit before you hurt yourself, especially since your interpretation of what I said was completely wrong.
   

chaz25 Tuesday, May 10th, 2005 | 10:55 am PST
I think I proved my point. Thanks.
   

SilentButDeadly Wednesday, May 11th, 2005 | 5:56 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by chaz25
I think I proved my point. Thanks.
I know you didn't but, bon voyage!
Last edited on Saturday, June 11th, 2005 at 8:56 pm PST
   

Tabris17 Wednesday, May 11th, 2005 | 7:53 pm PST
Okay, I bashed SBD myself and didn't listen to him about the primal and I learned the hard way. I pissed away 500 bucks for this marker and ended up selling it at a pawn shop because it's just not worth the money. The eyes, the rate of fire, everything is nice but when you come down to it you can get an impulse for the same price or better yet get an Ion or Wrath. Same stuff for a fraction of the price. Don't believe me? Look at my review. I praised it and then when I did my edits the story changed. It's too heavy, to long/big, the drop forward and asa are weak; my tank would unscrew itself during firing sometimes and the bolt jammed on me and leaked air.
It's just not worth the money, that's what it comes down too. If you don't believe SBD then at least consider my opinion before you piss away your money. Like I said, I owned one and I sold it. Enough said.
   

Lapco Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 | 7:16 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Lapco
I think this review is wrong to view here, because the user have just writing alot of crap about kingman and the marker, he is not seriously at all.

He give it just a 4-10 when even not have shooting whit the marker, (just dry firing)
He give it 4-10 by personaly feelings of the kingmann produkt (that this is), maybe he have bad things wiht Kingman before but that is not a good reason to written review like this.
He have not trying the marker.
I think it is not good at all to have a review lik that to effakting the Avreg Rating.

Personaly i think this review should be ersed / removed from this place than it not are seriously at all.


..
   

Baker2g180 Saturday, January 28th, 2006 | 5:14 pm PST
How can you rate this gun without firing paint through it? This gun is good, the eye is great, and it is super fast gun. You have to play a couple rounds with a marker to get a real feel for it.. not dry shoot it and say wow this gun sucks
   

pOp N frEsH 017 Sunday, January 29th, 2006 | 8:11 am PST
I am only posting this because i know that one of the reasons you didnt like the gun was because of the price. While i have never tried the Raven Primal i am very interested in it and am thinking of buying it. I can get it for $330 and from all the other reviews ive read, that sounds liek an excellent price and would therefore prove your complaint on the price wrong
   
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media