paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on SilentButDeadly's Review / Comments on SilentButDeadly's Review / Comments on SilentButDeadly's Review / Comments on SilentButDeadly's Review / Comments on SilentButDeadly's Review

Comments on SilentButDeadly's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

SilentButDeadly Thursday, January 6th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
04 BKO, Impulse, Timmy, Angel, E-cockers, etc....
Marker Setup: Black/red 2k2 Timmy, .689 CP 1 piece, , frenzy board v. 113, cip full force bolt, cip ram, cip ram adjuster, new style clamping feedneck, trinity uni, Halo B

Red 04 BKO "extreme," BL Torp, Trinity Uni, .689 CP 1 piece, Halo B

Black pre 2k ANS right feed cocker, .689 CP 1 piece, WGP stock regs, WGP ACM ram, orracle valve and springs, Shocktech bomb 3-way, ANS hinge frame, Kapp patriot cocking rod, system x beaver tail, Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, reg maybe (didn't test it much).
Strengths: Fast (for a kingman product), light trigger pull, eyes
Weaknesses: Price, it just can't compete with other guns in it's price range.
Review: First of all, I'd like to point out that I only dry fired this gun at a field. I never shot paint through, never took it to the chrono, or other things that people do to test new guns out. In fact, the only reason that I'm writing this review is because of the 4 other terrible reviews for this gun.

Ok, now that that's out of the way I can begin first with the speed/trigger/circuit board of the Primal. Before I shot this gun, I figured it would have a weighty trigger pull much like that of an E-spyder (same company, kingman). To my surprise, the pull was quite light and easily walkable. I didn't note any adjustments on the trigger, but those could have been overlooked because I didn't have much time to check over the gun. I got up to around 13-14bps (if I am any judge) pretty easily, and I'm not exactly the fastest speed shooter. The new cap of 22bps in kingman's new boards is a vast improvement over the older 14bps cap, the new board also seems more responsive and better at picking up trigger pulls than the older ones too. It had a little bounce in the trigger, but it was very unnoticeable. Also, the eye switch is easily located and accessible on the back of the trigger frame. I did not get a chance to test the eyes because like I said before, I didn't put any paint through it.

The actual functionality of the gun itself is practically identical to that of ICD's BKO. The Primal has the same basic setup and design as a BKO and it has a spring return ram too. Kingman was a little vague in the description of the operation of the gun, describing it as a "SDE system" (Solenoid Direct Electro). This caused me to believe that it could have been a full electro (like an impulse) but sadly, it remains a spring returned firing system (which limits the rate of fire to around 18bps)

With that said, this pretty much brings to a close on what I can really say about the Primal without further testing. If you read any review for this gun, make it this one. I'm not trying to brag, but the other 4 reviews are biased, and written by those who have little real paintball experience(actually the reviews written by donut10591 and <Sch> Raven arne't bad, but they're still very biased).
Conclusion: In conclusion, this gun is definitely NOT worth the money. What you're basically paying ~$550 for is a BKO with eyes. That's it. BKO's can be had for $300 new, and older ones for even cheaper. Furthermore, you could get a B2k with pds for the same price and it's better that the primal in every way. I'm not saying that this is a bad gun, and if the price was around $350 it would be great, unfortunately it is very expensive and that's a huge drawback.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 5th, 2005 at 1:17 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Omega_Pirate Thursday, March 30th, 2006 | 9:47 pm PST
It doesn't even matter that he gave this marker a bad score. When someone reads it and sees that pretty much everyone else gave it high scores they will see this for what it is.
   

spyderlover6mil Wednesday, April 12th, 2006 | 4:23 pm PST
Dispute:
Admits to never using the marker, unuseable and unfair reveiw
   

el diablo Monday, April 17th, 2006 | 4:40 pm PST
you guys seem to know a lot about paintball and heres a quick question,

Which gun would u rather buy a PRIMAL, a DIABLO WRATH, or a SMART PARTS ION.

i never used iether one of them but i need to buy one

please answer

thanks
Last edited on Monday, April 17th, 2006 at 4:46 pm PST
   

Ebonclaw Wednesday, May 17th, 2006 | 11:54 pm PST
SBD's review stays. As a Super-mod on PBR I can tell you first hand that without passing paint through a gun, you can still give a decent review of it.
SBD did NOT rate the gun on it's choppage, consistency, or shootdown. This is what would have been rated had he put paint through it. Anyone thinking "well how about accuracy" is a moron due to the fact that paint/barrel match controls accuracy, not what kind of gun fires it. So'nuff said there.
Second, there is no way in my mind that the Primal should be recieving 10s. There are guns half the price that perform faster, are lighter, and better made. The Wrath and Ion spring to mind. I won't delve into these two other guns, suffice it to say, however, that both perform at least equally at half the price. Price is certainly a factor which I beleive to influence a gun's rating. A strong point for the Talon, for instance, is that while it's a cheap piee of crap, it's a CHEAP piece of crap. Tippmanns are pretty fair for what you're buying. A Raven Primal for $450...heck, even $300 is a rip compared to other guns on the market at a cheaper price range.
Like I said, you don't need to put paint through a gun to tell if it's cheaply made or not. I can just look at the guts of a computer and tell you if it's gonna run Doom III or not without ever turning the thing on. I can look at the specs of a 2006 'vette and tell you about what to expect performancewise out of it. I can also pick up a gun, look it over, dry fire it a few times and get a general idea of what to expect out of the gun.
Long story short, I can just look at a Primal's operating system, specs, and never even hold one and tell you it ain't worth $400.
The review stays, SBD has more brain cells than half of you flaming him, and el-diablo, post on the frekaing boards, not in a review thread. That's just spam. Nuff said.
   

GoWH3fan Monday, March 12th, 2007 | 12:35 pm PST
If you look at this gun online you now can get it for alot cheaper than it used to be so his reasoning for it being bad is now not a problem.
   

Deception Tuesday, April 10th, 2007 | 9:06 am PST
This review needs deleted, this fool has no idea what he's talking about. He never should've reviewed a product he knows nothing about.
   

SilentButDeadly Thursday, April 12th, 2007 | 9:41 pm PST
To Deception:
Listen here kid, I've forgotten more about paintball than you'll ever know. I suggest you scroll up two posts, recognize that a PBR Super-Moderator is backing up my statements, and kindly refrain from calling me a liar when it is quite obvious that it is you who is the fool.

Now, that said, if you have a more specific gripe about my review, or cannot understand why I only gave your precious Primal a 4 out of 10, I'd be happy to answer any questions via personal message. If not, then please stop filling this already overflowing comments section with directionless, meaningless flames.

To GoWH3fan:
This review was written by me two years ago, of course the price of the gun has dropped. You can expect the price to drop signifiganlty when a gun tanks in sales like this one did, nobody wants these things anymore (not that many ever did). Same thing happened to the Impulse when the Ion came out.
Last edited on Thursday, April 12th, 2007 at 9:49 pm PST
   

GoWH3fan Wednesday, June 20th, 2007 | 10:39 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by SilentButDeadly
To Deception:
Listen here kid, I've forgotten more about paintball than you'll ever know. I suggest you scroll up two posts, recognize that a PBR Super-Moderator is backing up my statements, and kindly refrain from calling me a liar when it is quite obvious that it is you who is the fool.

Now, that said, if you have a more specific gripe about my review, or cannot understand why I only gave your precious Primal a 4 out of 10, I'd be happy to answer any questions via personal message. If not, then please stop filling this already overflowing comments section with directionless, meaningless flames.

To GoWH3fan:
This review was written by me two years ago, of course the price of the gun has dropped. You can expect the price to drop signifiganlty when a gun tanks in sales like this one did, nobody wants these things anymore (not that many ever did). Same thing happened to the Impulse when the Ion came out.


Yeah but thats mostly due to the fact that it had kingman backing it (people think bad of kingman because there guns are know more for new people). More people probley would have bought it if they did not know Raven = Kingman (most companies stay in the dark for this reason to keep bad reputation out of the picture).
   
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media