paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on D-Block's Review / Comments on D-Block's Review / Comments on D-Block's Review / Comments on D-Block's Review / Comments on D-Block's Review

Comments on D-Block's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

D-Block Sunday, January 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Any non-electro cockers/mags
Marker Setup: Tac-One, ULT, eVlution 2, Check-It Products On/Off ASA, System X 68/3000, Dye Rhino '05
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Needs a bottom line setup
- HPA is a must (literally you need about 750psi to cock the bolt)
That's it!
Strengths: - Extremely quiet
- Small, lightweight, perfect for frontman play
- Lvl 10 bolt ( no chops )
- Stock barrel
Weaknesses: - Will not operate under 700psi
That's it!
Review: Okay, so I ordered my new Tac-One from WWA and it comes in. First thing off the bat you need to install a bottomline (does not come with marker). The stock barrel ( J&J Ceramic 2-piece) is amazingly accurate and self-cleaning. You don't really need a new barrel. You will however need an HPA, mags will not operate under 700psi. You will probably have problems with the bolt sticking during the first 1,000 rounds of paint but trust me it will end eventually. Tacs can be tuned to personal preference with over 20 different settings, but usually the middle spring and .5 carrier works fine. Make sure, if you use an on/off, that you turn the knob all the way "on" instead of stopping when the gun gasses up. Not doing this will cause shoot down and more bolt sticking. Tacs are amazingly lightweight and small, perfect for that player that likes to get in the other team's face. Very Very Very quiet and semi gas efficient. I get about 900 off a 68/3000. Adjust your velocity once and it usually stays the same ( providing you keep the same settings ) but you should still chrono before every game! An electro hopper is a must, an egg (eVlution2) is reccommended but a 12v Revvy will do fine.
Conclusion: All in all this marker is one of the best out there. Markers don't get any quieter. Durability is at the level of Tippmanns and speed is usually about 13-15bps stock. Bottom line: Buy It!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 2nd, 2005 at 1:56 pm PST
 

Review Comments
bam wannabe Thursday, January 27th, 2005 | 11:58 am PST
excellent review, very detailed.

quick question, will this do fine on airball and all, even tho it says "scenario player in mind"
i was either gonna get this or the rt pro....
   

D-Block Thursday, January 27th, 2005 | 7:06 pm PST
Yes it will, my suggestion for you would be to go with the R/T Pro if you're going to play mostly airball. Same gun, just more expensive for the Tac-One body. Unless your partial to the looks like I am, you wont need all the weaver rails so just go with the R/T Pro. The same performance as stated in my review for nearly $100 dollars less.

DBlock
   

angel 4 life Wednesday, February 9th, 2005 | 7:43 pm PST
what do you mean accurate like cockers???? accuracy is paint to barrel match
   

D-Block Thursday, February 10th, 2005 | 2:04 pm PST
This is true.....I retract my statement and will say the J&J 2-piece barrel is a great barrel
   

automagsrock68 Monday, June 20th, 2005 | 8:37 am PST
the consistency of the regulator (integrated on Mags) is another factor in accuracy, as well as paint to barrel match
   

LennyNo.1 Tuesday, June 21st, 2005 | 9:24 pm PST
Accuracy is also based on the amount of disruptance placed on the ball. Autococker bolts have zero contact on paintballs when working proberly, thus it is only air pushing the ball forward; whereas the Automag bolt smacks the ball into the breech, then allows the air to take over.

But either way, this isn't the end-all-be-all of accuracy, but it does play a big role.

Now, (while completely reversing my argument) I am an Automag lover also! Not so much a 'Cocker fan.
   

Massriot Friday, July 1st, 2005 | 5:45 pm PST
I have a couple of questions....
1.) what is the operation?
2.) ow quiet are they compared to an autococker?
and 3.) "13-15 bps stock" does that mean you can actually walk it?!?

thank you for your time,
Massriot
   

LennyNo.1 Monday, July 4th, 2005 | 11:44 am PST
Massriot, to answer your questions,
1.) All Automags are Blow Forward in design (kind of like the Ions and the new Shockers, but 'Mags have a completely different valve design).
2.) Yes, with the ULT upgrade (stock with the Tac-One) makes the trigger walkable. It is possible to shoot litterally 13bps (I would know, I have before!). Also, there is a company out there making what they call the PTP Trigger Frame for Automags. The PTP has a .1mm trigger pul, allowing it to shoot up to 20bps! It utilizes a series of internal gas chambers and the like to keep it 100% COMPLETELY MECHANICAL.

I can't wait 'til the PTP comes out! I'm going to buy one!
   

sledgehammer Sunday, November 26th, 2006 | 8:39 am PST
does enyone have a used 68 automag classic for sale at fair price, i used to have one and it was upgraded like crazey, and miss it very much, let me know at KCFRITZ@ROGERS.COM thanks
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media