paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on fox5100's Review / Comments on fox5100's Review / Comments on fox5100's Review / Comments on fox5100's Review / Comments on fox5100's Review

Comments on fox5100's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

fox5100 Wednesday, January 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months74 of 78 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker,Shocker,Toxic Matrix
Marker Setup: All stock with a unimount
Recommended
Upgrades:
Adjustable Ram Cap not required at all.
Strengths: Accurate
Efficient
Easy maintenance
Consistent
Weaknesses: Horrible Manual
Barbs
Edit:(06/15/05) New Manual on www.pbnation.com
Review: Accuracy: The accuracy is outstanding, i was easly playing hopper ball because it didn't take alot of paint to get people out but that isnt fun. When i played in my first tourney ,with the marker, i was easly putting ball on ball. The whole tourney i didn't chop once and had a barrel break because of a leak that formed down the barrel. Go down to maintenance.

Weight: When i first got this marker it is about the lightest gun you can buy. The shocker is lighter but the weight distribution in the alias is better which makes it feel lighter.

Maintenance: This gun is very easy to work on. Not including the regulators there are 3 parts that move. Most of the orings are just tank orings so that they are very easy to find. Problem is that out of box the marker had a couple of bad orings. The ram cap, hpr, and reg housing had bad orings. Just looked like a bad batch, i dont know what kind of problems this would have caused because before i gassed it up i took the marker apart. When i called blast they sent me new orings and i received them a week later. I had orings of this size so i didn't have to wait but its nice that blast sent me replacements. The only bad thing about this marker is the barbs, if your new to this type of marker buy new ones because unless you want to cut your hose, which i do, you may break the barbs. Once those hoses are on the barbs they arnt coming off without a lot of force. Just cut the hose so that you dont rip apart half your marker. Hoses is not expensive and you shouldn't have to do this unless you have to remove your sleeve. The reason why i had to remove my sleeve is because during the tourney a leak down the barrel formed. To get to the orings on the sleeve you must remove the sleeve. To do this you must remove the hoses and unscrew the barbs. Everything up to this point was easy to do, take your time if you have to do this. Those sleeve orings are 013 even though the manual says 015. One of the orings is liped but an 013 fits fine. Also the manual says put the sleeve back in through the back do not do this it will tear up those new orings and you will have to do this again. Put it back in through the front trust me. As for ram bumbers they have been removed so that you dont have to replace them anymore.

Adjustability: Anything you would like to adjust you can the marker feels and shoots great out of the box. No need to adjust anything but you can if you want.

Efficiency: This marker easliy gets from 1800+ per 68ci 4500 tank. Dosn't get any better. Out of the box the gun get +-15 fps. Don't be dissapointed, once you get a couple of cases through the marker you should get +-3fps. If your not relube the regs.

Kick: There is a slight kick that can only be felt when your dry fireing. The reason is that the marker only weights 1.4 pounds. Yes the matrix dosnt kick but the thing is a rock of course it isn't going to move. During play you do not feel it.

Speed: Everyone wants to know this questions, how fast is it? The marker is capable of shooting a max of 25 bps. It is very fast, it is really easily for you slow guys to shoot 12-13 balls a second consistently. The important thing is consistent. I have shot the shocker and matrix and you can shoot fast but its really hard to get a rope going. You have no problem with this marker doing that. Most people will shot around the 15-16 bps, try running through that if its a rope, you won't. For you people with the older timmies that say they shoot 20bps sorry but those boards are wrong by a lot. The frenzy board has the most accurate bps counter on the market.

Manual: As far as the manual its complete junk. If something dosn't seem right in the manual call blast they will help you out. If your guessing you may run the risk of damaging the marker. I think this is the reason why most newbies that get it say it is unreliable because the manual is horrible and they are just guessing on how to work on it. Dont do this if you dont want to call blast take it to your local pro shop.
Edit:(6/15/05) Bob Long sure take a long time to make a manual but its a good one. You can get the alias manual at www.pbnation.com in there intimidator section.

Edit:(02/01/05) I just found out that now blast offers a ramp upgrade for all 2k4 and up markers. Don't know as of yet if its stock but if you send your frenzy board and 40 bucks you will get 3 modes of fire including ramp. Now this marker kills the competition in every area.
Conclusion: This gun is a great marker and i wouldn't buy any other marker. I give it a 9 not because of the oring problems, its an oring no big deal, its because of the manual. I think this is either greed or laziness. Every manufacture has a manual for there markers and there is no reason they could not hire a person for a week to make a manual. It dosn't cost that much to go to your local copy shop and make a thousand copies. If you get this marker you will be very happy, if we get enough people calling blast with questions then maybe they will release a new manual.

Edit:(6/15/05) With the new manual it makes it alot easier to work on your timmy. Just wish it didn't take so long for them to make one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 15th, 2005 at 5:15 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
andy15 Monday, January 31st, 2005 | 5:09 pm PST
Hey, buddy, great review. I think you might've just got me hooked on this marker, great job. Keep playing hard....
p.s. thnx a bunch bro...
   

fox5100 Monday, January 31st, 2005 | 10:54 pm PST
reply No problem its a great marker just the manual is horrible. As of now the alias comes with a ramp board not sure if its stock but you can send it to blast for 40 bucks and get it. I love the marker as i said wouldn't get any other marker.
Last edited on Monday, January 31st, 2005 at 10:54 pm PST
   

KorporateChild Friday, February 4th, 2005 | 12:37 am PST
GREAT REVIEW!!! Just a few questions, hope you're still around to answer them:
1. If no adjustable ram cap is needed, why does EVERYONE pushes to have'em?
2. "They" say that all 2004+ Timmies have hi-flo barbs, do I really need to replace'em?
3. So, if I want to add a ramping mode to my Alias, I have to send in my board ONLY with $40, BLAST will add in the 3 modes? Did you send yours in? If so, is it worth it?
4. I just bought mine a few weeks ago. The velocity is fairly consistent after a couple of cases. I play indoor, run my Alias at 65, shooting 250. However, the velocity seems to drop every couple of games. There is no leak. But why?

Thanks
   

fox5100 Friday, February 4th, 2005 | 10:53 pm PST
1. The reason people push them is because the stock ram cap is just plastic. Plastic can deform and cause the bolt to be out of position causing chopping. If your alias dosn't chop then you don't have to worry about it. If it does chop go with a hybrid ram cap. I will eventually replace mine when it wears out. Hybrid all the way.

2.No you do not need to replace them, the only reason to replace them is if you break them, removing the sleeve but if you read my review then you can save them from breaking.

3.Yes the board only with the 40 bucks but always remember to type out an explanation for what you want done, they don't have time to guess. Yes i will send my board in after the last practice for the month. Hope atomix is as good as people say it is. My team plans on playing in psp (chicago) and this board will make us legal. I have heard that it will take a month to get your board back. So thats why im sending mine in after atomix. As far as being worth it its up to you. If you don't play in tourney's then there is no need ,stick with frenzy 116. If you plan on playing in tourney's then send that thing in as soon as you can. In competition mode it caps your bps to 15.4 which is the cap for all major tournaments around the world. If your caught with a marker shooting faster your team will be thrown out.

4. Im guessing on this one first up set your lpr to 70-80 and when your shooting make sure that your lpr cap is not unscrewing on you. This will cause velocity to go down and lpr to creep. Next i would check to make sure that your hpr oring is in good condition this may cause your velocity to change. Lastly velocity does go down when your marker warms up because the springs become softer over time. But this should only be a couple fps not a huge leap.

If you have any other questions feel free to ask.
Last edited on Friday, February 4th, 2005 at 11:21 pm PST
   

KorporateChild Sunday, February 6th, 2005 | 12:37 am PST
Fox5100, You are the best reviewer I've seen so far on Pbreview, please keep it up!

Learning from you, I'm not going to get the adjustable ram cap until it is absolutely necessary. I don't play tournies, so I'm not going to send my board in either. In terms of my velocity dropping, it has to be my spring going softer after a few games or so. I may have to tweak up my LPR to 70-80 to shoot my indoor regulated velocity of 250. However, I figure running my gun at 60 shooting 250 will give me better air efficiency and quieter operaration.

At this point, the only upgrade or accessory I am waiting on is my Techna trigger. I've been waiting for it since Dec. 28 last year. The only other thing I can think of for better performance is the Delirin piston for my Torpedo reg, from Violent Product. That's about it. But bro, thanks for all your helpful input!




   

speedy2k4 Thursday, February 10th, 2005 | 6:18 pm PST
yeah umm i do have one question. are you just really hard to satisfy because you said you wouldn't buy any other gun but you still only give it a 9? now i would give it a 9 but i would also buy a DM4. infact i did buy a DM4. it just seems that if you truly think it is really the best you should give it a 10. or maybe i'm wrong. just my random thinking.
   

fox5100 Friday, February 11th, 2005 | 12:02 am PST
Did you read my review at the end i think that blast is either lazy or greedy. Customer service is part of the marker and blast could do better. I do like the dm4 or 5 its just that that marker isn't for me. I have tried alot of markers out there but nothing has the feel that a timmy has. All these reviews on pbreview or opinion's not facts. I would have given it a 10 if there was actually a manual for this marker. If you don't think a manual isn't important then i hope your dm4 works for you for a long time which i doubt it will.
   

rdneck3430 Monday, March 21st, 2005 | 4:39 pm PST
hey man if you really want to see what this thing can do then buy an infamous board for it and set it on nut mode
   

fox5100 Monday, March 21st, 2005 | 8:16 pm PST
Yep getting one.
   

speedy2k4 Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005 | 2:30 am PST
oh yeah i understand what you are talking about with the manual, i guess i missed that part. my dm4 actually came with a very nice manual, i rarely use it but it's good to have when you are a team tech.

peace
   

99 ANGEL RULZ Thursday, May 5th, 2005 | 3:15 pm PST
id have to agree with you on manuels from blast. they suck. i just recently bought the 2k5 Bob long timmy and it came with a manuel for the 2002 timmy, It also said 14 bps. i was like arrg thats completely sad. But i did the research and it is 25 bps jus like the alias. It also looks very similiar to the alias, wich is completely cool because the alias is the most sexy marker out there.
   

wbwksh719 Tuesday, May 10th, 2005 | 6:24 pm PST
What type of board would you recommend? A entropy board, infamous board, or a WAS board. Or should i just keep the frenzy board.
   

rckid101 Saturday, June 4th, 2005 | 10:20 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by wbwksh719
What type of board would you recommend? A entropy board, infamous board, or a WAS board. Or should i just keep the frenzy board.

infamous board in my opinion it is the best timi board on the market
   

fox5100 Monday, June 6th, 2005 | 7:31 pm PST
Infamous board is the best out there but if you like the lcd go with the frenzy. Either board is nice.
   

Tippmann ace Saturday, September 10th, 2005 | 11:18 pm PST
im not realy a tounrine player im more woods ball, i got an a-5 respose trigger with a flat line barrel, i was wondering how good is the range on this gun, i think im gonna look into it
   

fox5100 Monday, September 12th, 2005 | 11:02 am PST
If your a tourney player this is a great gun but if your a woods ball player stick with your a-5 with the flatline. The flatline will give you more distance because if puts a back spin on the ball. Other then that there is no such thing as range, every marker has the same range. You should ask how is consistency, thats what usually determines accuracy along with paint to barrel match. I get +-2 fps from my alias but it took 6 cases to get that consistency. Before it broke in i was getting +-10. If you plan to come out of the woods this is a great marker to look at. If your a woodsballer stick with that a-5 there is nothing better.
   

myballzurface Thursday, October 13th, 2005 | 9:39 am PST
nice review
i agree with every thing
   

myballzurface Thursday, October 13th, 2005 | 9:50 am PST
nice review
i agree with every thing
   

RUOMO Wednesday, November 9th, 2005 | 3:40 pm PST
hella nice review

im planning on buying one
i have a SP nerve and it doesnt really excite me
but when i look at a timmy its like a gold light from GOD

im gonna get one soon so what is some stuff that should be changed because im a tourney player and i was wondering about what would be a better board out of all of them like the virtue WAS infamous all the good ones

and is the reg any good because i was gonna buy the hybrid reg
and the barrel i see allot of people use CP DYE and SP barrels
which ones are best

and what about the hybrid bolt or the shocktech bolt which is better???

LIKE ANY THAT CAN HELP THE GUN FROM STOCK CUZ IM ABOUT CUSTOMIZEATION

im just wondering

YOUR MY IDOL!!!!!!!!!!!!
   

frontmanmike Wednesday, November 9th, 2005 | 5:45 pm PST
This uses low pressure right?
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media