paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on fox5100's Review / Comments on fox5100's Review / Comments on fox5100's Review / Comments on fox5100's Review / Comments on fox5100's Review

Comments on fox5100's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

fox5100 Wednesday, January 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months74 of 78 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker,Shocker,Toxic Matrix
Marker Setup: All stock with a unimount
Recommended
Upgrades:
Adjustable Ram Cap not required at all.
Strengths: Accurate
Efficient
Easy maintenance
Consistent
Weaknesses: Horrible Manual
Barbs
Edit:(06/15/05) New Manual on www.pbnation.com
Review: Accuracy: The accuracy is outstanding, i was easly playing hopper ball because it didn't take alot of paint to get people out but that isnt fun. When i played in my first tourney ,with the marker, i was easly putting ball on ball. The whole tourney i didn't chop once and had a barrel break because of a leak that formed down the barrel. Go down to maintenance.

Weight: When i first got this marker it is about the lightest gun you can buy. The shocker is lighter but the weight distribution in the alias is better which makes it feel lighter.

Maintenance: This gun is very easy to work on. Not including the regulators there are 3 parts that move. Most of the orings are just tank orings so that they are very easy to find. Problem is that out of box the marker had a couple of bad orings. The ram cap, hpr, and reg housing had bad orings. Just looked like a bad batch, i dont know what kind of problems this would have caused because before i gassed it up i took the marker apart. When i called blast they sent me new orings and i received them a week later. I had orings of this size so i didn't have to wait but its nice that blast sent me replacements. The only bad thing about this marker is the barbs, if your new to this type of marker buy new ones because unless you want to cut your hose, which i do, you may break the barbs. Once those hoses are on the barbs they arnt coming off without a lot of force. Just cut the hose so that you dont rip apart half your marker. Hoses is not expensive and you shouldn't have to do this unless you have to remove your sleeve. The reason why i had to remove my sleeve is because during the tourney a leak down the barrel formed. To get to the orings on the sleeve you must remove the sleeve. To do this you must remove the hoses and unscrew the barbs. Everything up to this point was easy to do, take your time if you have to do this. Those sleeve orings are 013 even though the manual says 015. One of the orings is liped but an 013 fits fine. Also the manual says put the sleeve back in through the back do not do this it will tear up those new orings and you will have to do this again. Put it back in through the front trust me. As for ram bumbers they have been removed so that you dont have to replace them anymore.

Adjustability: Anything you would like to adjust you can the marker feels and shoots great out of the box. No need to adjust anything but you can if you want.

Efficiency: This marker easliy gets from 1800+ per 68ci 4500 tank. Dosn't get any better. Out of the box the gun get +-15 fps. Don't be dissapointed, once you get a couple of cases through the marker you should get +-3fps. If your not relube the regs.

Kick: There is a slight kick that can only be felt when your dry fireing. The reason is that the marker only weights 1.4 pounds. Yes the matrix dosnt kick but the thing is a rock of course it isn't going to move. During play you do not feel it.

Speed: Everyone wants to know this questions, how fast is it? The marker is capable of shooting a max of 25 bps. It is very fast, it is really easily for you slow guys to shoot 12-13 balls a second consistently. The important thing is consistent. I have shot the shocker and matrix and you can shoot fast but its really hard to get a rope going. You have no problem with this marker doing that. Most people will shot around the 15-16 bps, try running through that if its a rope, you won't. For you people with the older timmies that say they shoot 20bps sorry but those boards are wrong by a lot. The frenzy board has the most accurate bps counter on the market.

Manual: As far as the manual its complete junk. If something dosn't seem right in the manual call blast they will help you out. If your guessing you may run the risk of damaging the marker. I think this is the reason why most newbies that get it say it is unreliable because the manual is horrible and they are just guessing on how to work on it. Dont do this if you dont want to call blast take it to your local pro shop.
Edit:(6/15/05) Bob Long sure take a long time to make a manual but its a good one. You can get the alias manual at www.pbnation.com in there intimidator section.

Edit:(02/01/05) I just found out that now blast offers a ramp upgrade for all 2k4 and up markers. Don't know as of yet if its stock but if you send your frenzy board and 40 bucks you will get 3 modes of fire including ramp. Now this marker kills the competition in every area.
Conclusion: This gun is a great marker and i wouldn't buy any other marker. I give it a 9 not because of the oring problems, its an oring no big deal, its because of the manual. I think this is either greed or laziness. Every manufacture has a manual for there markers and there is no reason they could not hire a person for a week to make a manual. It dosn't cost that much to go to your local copy shop and make a thousand copies. If you get this marker you will be very happy, if we get enough people calling blast with questions then maybe they will release a new manual.

Edit:(6/15/05) With the new manual it makes it alot easier to work on your timmy. Just wish it didn't take so long for them to make one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 15th, 2005 at 5:15 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
fox5100 Monday, November 14th, 2005 | 9:11 pm PST
Ruomo i would get the infamous board, i just never liked the WAS boards for some reason, but that's personal preference.

Keep the stock reg because if you open up a hybrid reg it is the exact same thing as the bob long regs. Actually the new line of timmies come with the hybrid reg stock so that solves your problem of reg. As in my review those regs need about 2 cases or more put through them before you get the +-2fps so don't get frustrated when you take it out of the box and you are getting +-14fps. As far as barrel i use the freak but they have some machining issues, i am lucky enough to go to tourneys that SP is at and they replaced my inserts with the machining problems.

For bolt go with a venturi design, you will lose some efficiency but with more brittle paint the marker will shot without a break. I noticed, when playing with extremely brittle paint, that the timmy would kill the paint and it would never leave the barrel. The venturi design should help out with that but i haven't personally tried it yet, but i will soon.

As far as any customization i always tell people hold the gun, shoot the gun, play with the gun. After that what don't you like then change that, most of my gun is stock except i replaced the lpr because i thought it was junk with a hybrid, love that lpr and volly. Also replaced the trigger and upgraded the board to 127.4D (thanks terry). And last went with the freak kit, the stock barrel isn't bad but it didn't give me the groupings that i wanted.

Frontmanmike lp or hp doesn't matter. If you run hp make sure you lube that reg after every case because it is harder on the reg. Hope this helps you guys keep posting with question. Also i will be reviewing an ego soon when the finals are through.
Last edited on Monday, November 14th, 2005 at 9:15 pm PST
   

cradle_of_filth Thursday, December 1st, 2005 | 12:06 pm PST
wow thats way too much money for a pb gun.plus its an ugly gun.looks like a spyder that someone threw in a mill, and started pushing every button and turning every wheel and dial he could see.for $1500 id get an angel .ive seen them outperform timmies by far and they look better and theyre still faster.this gun is just a rip off
   

fox5100 Saturday, January 28th, 2006 | 1:23 pm PST
You know i would have to disagree, i work at a shop and every angel sold is slower then the timmy and about every other marker out there. Every angel sold at our shop is a blender and the barrel is a horrible stock barrel compared to almost every high end marker out there. This is your opinion and this is mine, keep the comments for my review or if you have questions i will gladly answer them. I don't see a reason for you bashing. Every high end marker is that price including your precious angel.
Last edited on Saturday, January 28th, 2006 at 1:25 pm PST
   

fata_00 Sunday, February 12th, 2006 | 6:23 pm PST
Cradle of filth, Im even an angel g7 fly owner, but i dont say just because its an "angel" its better.my gun isnt better than anyone elses in literacy. its all personal preference buddy, oh and about the price thing, well, if youre into this sport enough it requires a bit of money right? well so does golf, about 2000 dollars for a nice set of clubs. But that doesnt mean "its too much". Let the atheletes of the sport decide what it is and isnt, by the way good review Fox.
Last edited on Sunday, February 12th, 2006 at 6:25 pm PST
   

pb4fun Monday, February 13th, 2006 | 8:51 am PST
Ummmm.... filth..... yea.... NO!.... I have shot almost every angel in existence from 2k3 on.... and I must say that these two markers are about equal in feel. If anything, I would say the timmy is better, as it performs and feels smoother. Just because its an angel, dont assume that it is trash.... And as far as the timmy being a glorified spyer.... ok... your point is...
   

alivehalob Tuesday, March 21st, 2006 | 8:55 pm PST
i was thinking of getting alias or a 2k5 the only real difference i see is the milling and the price
   

fox5100 Tuesday, March 21st, 2006 | 8:59 pm PST
2k4/2k5's are pretty much the same gun if not the same gun with different milling. Go with the style you like and you wont be dissapointed. If your looking for the next leap in timmies go with a infamous or the empire 2.
   

mxmtl Thursday, July 26th, 2007 | 10:15 am PST
What a great review. I'm new to Bob Long markers and I just purchased a brand new Gen4. I had the same problem you did with the O-rings. When I got it, I took it apart to relube it with Dow 33, and I had problems with the LPR leaking. After switching to Dow 55 and three sets of replacement O-rings, it seems to have stopped.
   
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media