paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Robotech's Review / Comments on Robotech's Review / Comments on Robotech's Review / Comments on Robotech's Review / Comments on Robotech's Review

Comments on Robotech's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Robotech Monday, January 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus G1 Very similar in design and function.
Marker Setup: Both the ACP and Zeus are bone stock...come on...they're pistols.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None at this time.
Strengths: Light weight, comfortable trigger, and 20+ shots to a 12 gram
Weaknesses: Trigger isn't bad...but with big hands and gloves it can be an issue
Review: Having owned a Zeus for a while I was very interested when I received my ACP. The first thing I noticed was weight. Every Zeus owner that has picked it up said the same thing..."Man, this thing is light." I always had a problem with my Zeus in a thigh holster. With its weight, the holster tended to move around and become uncomfortable in a very short time. With the ACP, I forgot it was on my thigh most of the day. Much nicer to carry as a sidearm with that reduced weight.

The other nice thing was the amount of shots I got out of a 12 gram. With my Zeus, I got around 15-20 on a good day. With the ACP, even under fairly rapid fire I could get a consistant 20+ shots per CO2. That was nice.

The trigger is a bit funky. Overall, I find the trigger set up more comfortable than the Zeus because you get more support with the frame between the middle and ring finger giving it a more comfortable feel. However, the trigger will rub on your middle finger and this only gets worse with gloves. I may try modifying the trigger some and seeing if this doesn't aliviate the problem without requiring me to change triggers.

The magazine was a bit of a disapointment. It does not fit tight and Zeus magazines will not work. There is no quick cap option at this time as well. While the ball feed spring is a bit on the week side, I haven't had any issues yet with it not feeding so I'm not concerned about this yet. HOWEVER, the good news is that the steel mag mounts on the receiver of the marker are VERY durable and look like they will take forever to wear out. When they do, they are replaceable. Good call on this one. Also, Ariakon is talking about releasing the Rapid Release Magazine system from their new Overlord pistol for the ACP. If the system works as good as they (and the few who have Overlords in their posession already) say, then magazine changes can be done in a couple of seconds without having to look at the pistol. That would be a HUGE improvement...now if we can get something done with the 12 grams. LOL

The Barrel inserts are nice too. The one that comes attached to the marker makes it a bit quieter than a Zeus (more "porting" I'm guessing). There is a second one that comes with the marker that has a different look and a little different inner diameter for matching paint a little better. The insert only goes into the barrel about an inch but testing found it to be the best compromise of consistancy and efficiency. It was found a complete insert down the barrel reduced the number of shots per CO2.
Conclusion: Overall I love the ACP and it has replaced my Zeus as my backup marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
YDpaintball Monday, January 31st, 2005 | 8:31 am PST
I am curious. What is this Overlord gun you are talking about and how do you know about it?
   

UNGER Monday, January 31st, 2005 | 9:01 am PST
I see that you are a tech, do you work for Ariakon or one of their dealers? If so, do you know of any affordable fixes for the ACP problems like the loose magazine, quick strip cotter pin, and especially the trigger? Mine will not rapid fire without freezing the cup seal and bleeding out the CO2, how did you overcome this problem?
Last edited on Thursday, February 3rd, 2005 at 8:12 am PST
   

UNGER Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005 | 12:09 pm PST
YD...I suspect that the Overlord is a modified .680Delta with some different milling and a Zeus RIS, but without the quick load CO2 lever. It has a Sci-fi like milling and not the sleek clean look of the Delta, but I am pretty sure it is a Delta. For a hard game of milsim it has a lot of places to catch sticks and dirt and get hung up. The Delta is a pretty good marker, but after being out $130 bucks on the ACP which was advertised as "A pistol that was more accurate, more reliable, more efficient, and more durable than anything on the market", I am hesitant, and question how tight this one is. I have a Zeus G2+ coming in Friday, I have already seen one and it is built the way a heavy duty milsim pistol should be. I will give an honest review on this one too after I test it. But, here is the Overlord link and you can decide for yourself:

http://forum.ariakon.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=3015&get=la
st

Robotech, can you back up your review statement with facts; "It was found a complete insert down the barrel reduced the number of shots per CO2." Where did these inserts come from and what was the bore size and test criteria, did you perform this test, if not how did you come across this info and how did you verify it's accuracy ???
Last edited on Tuesday, February 8th, 2005 at 7:26 pm PST
   

YDpaintball Tuesday, February 8th, 2005 | 7:53 am PST
Thanks for the info, Unger. After taking a look, it seems to me that Ariakon does nothing but copy other peoples work and put out less than stellar products just to make a buck. Sad.

I am so glad I didn't end up like you with a $150 paperweight on my hands.

Oh, and to Robotech (and anyone else voting 8 or above)...how on earth can you give this gun a 9? You work for the company or something?
   

UNGER Tuesday, February 8th, 2005 | 6:55 pm PST
Your welcome YD. I purchased a WarSensor Zeus G2+ last week. I am still testing but the preliminary tests are very good, so it looks like the ACP is going to be the secondary back-up for my primary back-up.

On second thought the Zeus appears to be rock solid, the ACP might be get more use as a paperweight...or...maybe one of the reviewers who replaced the Zeus with the ACP wants to trade...

HEY ROBO...want to trade your Zeus for my ACP???
Last edited on Tuesday, February 8th, 2005 at 7:11 pm PST
   

Robotech Thursday, March 17th, 2005 | 10:24 am PST
Didn't see these until now.

No, I don't work for the company. Nor am I a tech...I'm just an end user.

As for these markers being copys, there are only so many ways to make a pistol and keep the price out of the $300 range.

The loose magazine I didn't fix. I've learned to live with it for now until the Rapid Release Magazine becomes available. I would like to see that tightened up though. If it is that big of a deal for you go to your local hobby shop and get some inexpensive Nitro Car Fuel tubing. Cut short, equal lengths and then put them on the magazine pins towards the outside so that when you put the mag on the receiver the magazine will be centered. The carter pin problem ISN'T a problem. I've ran Radio Controled cars for years and we use the EXACT same pins in our cars. Actually, I take that back, we use much smaller pins in those and they hold up to some SERIOUS forces without coming off. The pin on the ACP stays on very well for me, has not come off, and is not in a location that will make it easy to pull out by hitting something. For the trigger, I have yet to do anything with it. Again, it is a sidearm and backup weapon, I've had my focus elsewere lately.

I do find it odd that people say the Zeus is rock solid and the ACP is not. They are made by the SAME PEOPLE. Different specs, same people. As for durability...talk to me in a year when you're magazine on the Zeus is held on with tape because the mag mounts have been damaged or worn down. We have two Zeus pistols suffering from that in our group now. Steel should hold up better than aluminum and the parts are replaceable on the ACP. I took a spill with my Zeus and damaged those mounts within 3 outings.

Again, I love both my Zeus and my ACP...the Zeus, because of its quick cap ability and available options, will probably become a primary pistol when I run my WS-66 as an Anti-Tank marker. However, that will be with a bottom line kit because the air effeciancy issue.

As for the rapid fire solution that was easy...I live in Sourthen California...I shoot in temps that are 70-90 degrees F...not 40 degrees.

The comment on the inserts was made by those who did the testing. Even in your comments you mentioned a difference with the insert in and the insert out. Also, my inserts have a step up in them...the inner lip of the insert is considerably smaller than the outer lip. The inner lip matches up with the ID of the barrel so, at least with my inserts, they are NOT the same size as the barrel...something I found off in your review but perhaps they overmilled your inserts.

YD, how can you, someone who has never even held the marker, comment on why we rate markers we own the way we do?

I'd not trade my Zeus for an ACP...not because I don't think it is a good trade but because I already have an ACP. If it was for an Overlord, I'd consider it. :)
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media