paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on YDpaintball's Review / Comments on YDpaintball's Review / Comments on YDpaintball's Review / Comments on YDpaintball's Review / Comments on YDpaintball's Review

Comments on YDpaintball's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

YDpaintball Monday, January 31st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan PGP, PT Extreme, Zeus G1
Strengths: Lightweight, Accurate
Weaknesses: Awkward in basic design, poor construction, low quality parts
Review: I have only tested this marker and for that I say "Thank Goodness!" It would have been a serious waste of my hard earned money to have actually paid more for this gun than what I can get a quality Zeus G1 for.

Here is why:

Awkward in basic design: Not sure what the designers were thinking here, but the trigger guard is one of those large ones used for double triggers. The gun only has a normal, single trigger so it is a huge waste of space AND leads to the biggest problem this gun has. In order to hold this gun, you have to place two fingers inside the trigger housing. One to pull the trigger with and one to just float around in there. Now for me, when I pull the trigger, it gets stuck on my finger rendering the gun useless in combat. It I was wearing gloves this problem would be even worse. You get one pull of the trigger then...nothing. Now, this problem can be fixed buy buying the $50 dollar trigger upgrade that will give you the trigger that should have come with the gun in the first place. Well done Ariakon. Great way to bilk your customers outta more money. Poorly thought out (or was it?!?!) by the manufacturer.

Poor construction: the magazine is loose. the tension spring that pushes the paintballs towards the feed has the tension power of a wet noodle. Shoddy workmanship. Clearly not something anyone wants in a gun costing any amount of money.

Low quality parts: the pins to take this thing apart are cheap and made unnecessarily difficult by using cotter-pins instead of balldetent style quick strip pins. What were they thinking? Do they want customers to lose small little pins in the field when cleaning this gun?

I would go into the good points about this gun, but the three bad points are enough to make me recommend against this gun so strongly that I don't see the need to even go into them. Yeah, it shoots well (when it shoots) and it weighs less than the Zeus. Does that really matter? I want my gun to shoot when I pull the trigger and stay assembled. That is more important to me.
Conclusion: Don't buy this gun. Save money. Save time. Save hassle. Armotech's Zeus series is far more reliable and much better thought out with the consumer in mind.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 3rd, 2005 at 7:36 am PST
 

Review Comments
Robotech Thursday, March 17th, 2005 | 10:36 am PST
Three things:

Number of times my Zeus has fallen apart: 1 out of 3 uses.
Number of times my ACP has fallen apart: 0 out of 3 uses.

Number of times my Zeus hasn't fired because of twisted cocking knob or debris in bolt: 2
Number of times my ACP hasn't fired because of twisted cocking knob or debris in bolt: 1

Number of times my Zeus has failed to load paint because of mag spring: 0
Number of times my ACP has failed to load paint because of mag spring: 0

Number of times I've removed my Zeus from my thigh because the holster wouldn't stay up: 3
Number of times I've removed my ACP from my thigh because the holster wouldn't stay up: 0 (I usually forget I'm wearing it...this is where the weight factor comes in).

Number of shots per 12 gram on the Zeus: 15-18.
Number of shots per 12 gram on the ACP: 22-24. (less time spent reloading as you don't have to change out 12 grams as often).

BTW, before you say the ACP has "Shoddy workmanship" you might want to know the Zeus is made by the same people...the EXACT same people. I like my Zeus, but I find this a bit harsh review from someone who just picked it up and has, apparently, never used a Semi-Auto pistol before.
Last edited on Thursday, March 17th, 2005 at 10:37 am PST
   

Navyator Sunday, March 20th, 2005 | 3:53 am PST
This review really is a bit harsh.

While everybody is entitled to their opinion the exceptions noted are either intentional design issues or have/can be dealt with by simple fixes and/or proper safety procedures.

A 1/10 rating and conclusion suggests this pistol is a total junker which is not the case IMHO. It is clearly on a par with most of the semi-auto pistols currently available and superior in some respects to most.
   

WarHamster Saturday, March 26th, 2005 | 1:09 pm PST
What I find funny about it, is that guys hasn't written any reviews for ANY pistols besides this, which leads me to believe he doesn't have the Zeus he praises so highly either. Meaning he's somehow an expert on both the ACP and the Zeus without owning or having extensive experience with either.

Let's see here. Flaws in the review?

-"Awkward in basic design."
-So the basic design of the pistol is the grip apparently. Since that's all he talks about here. The body is near identicle to the Zeus, as well it should be as they're made by the same people, however, the zeus apparently isn't awkward. Go figure. Still I guess a different trigger (which is replaceable anyways), is enough to change the basic design of the pistol.

-"Poor construction: the magazine is loose. the tension spring that pushes the paintballs towards the feed has the tension power of a wet noodle."
-Granted the magazine tends to be slightly loose, and wobbles slighty, but it's not like it's going to fall off. It just wobbles a 1/8 of an inch or so to the left or right. As for the magazine spring, I suppose you'd prefer a high power spring that could crush, deform, or break paint? The spring is weak by design. It's strong enough to push the paint, but not so strong that it'd cause problems.

-"Low quality parts: the pins to take this thing apart are cheap and made unnecessarily difficult by using cotter-pins instead of balldetent style quick strip pins."
-So the fact that it has a cotter pin on the quick strip pin means the entire thing has low quality parts? For that matter, how do you figure the pin & cotter pin themselves are cheap? They're pretty durable, and have shown no sign of spontaneously imploding on mine (since I can't think of anything else that can go wrong with a pin with a hole in it). Anyways, back to the point, Ball bearings can wear out or come out allowing the pin to slid out easily. The pin will not come out if there's a cotter pin there, period. If you were to loose the pin, although I can't see how, as all you have to is stick it back in the pin once the pin is out, you could make a makeshift one out of something as simple as a paperclip.

-Then you finally decide that these three vague, biased, and uninformative points are enough to sentence the marker, and without commenting on anything else give it a 1 out of 10.

Excellent review, quite unbiased and fair! I look forward to your upcoming (10 out of 10, BEST PISTOL EVER MADE) review of the Zeus
   

totalblackness Monday, June 27th, 2005 | 10:23 am PST
read teh review before, he had the same problem with the wobbling mag.

WarHamster- LOL (last sentence)
   

zcollier Tuesday, November 15th, 2005 | 10:36 pm PST
Dispute:
The reviewer doesn't own the pistol but presumes to review it. Poor form.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media