paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Geico not Gecko's Review / Comments on Geico not Gecko's Review / Comments on Geico not Gecko's Review / Comments on Geico not Gecko's Review / Comments on Geico not Gecko's Review

Comments on Geico not Gecko's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Geico not Gecko Wednesday, February 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Verticle Feed cocker, ANS gx2 cocker, Angel, WGP Black Magic
Marker Setup: Black GX4 autococker
Black Halo B loader
68/45 Nitro Duck plasma tank
Freak
2 Q.E.V.s
ANS delrin bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, Q.E.V.s, delrin bolt
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: The Good:
-Very quite
-Accurate (obviously)
-very fast for a mechanical cocker
-short trigger pull
-smooth trigger pull
-stock barrel is pretty good seeing how it is stock (14 inch two piece)
on a side not if there are people looking to buy this gun and they are confused whether the gun comes with a 8" barrel or a 2 piece 14" barrel. It first came with an 8", but it now is being shipped with a 14" 2 piece barrel. So if you buy a gun it will be with the 14" barrel.

The Bad:
-Stock bolt is a venturi which will scratch the inside of the gun sometimes (but all venturi bolts will do that no matter what bolt or what gun)
-The regulator is kind of uncomfortable to grip, but its really not that bad.

---------------------------------------------------------

This is a great buy. You can buy this gun at www.ansxtreme.com for only 450. My friend has a WGP prostock (AKA vertical feed) and another friend of mine has a WGP Balck magic. This gun out shoots booth of them. It is faster and comes with better stock parts. The great thing about ANS is that they put their best parts on all their guns. Which means that there is less to have to upgrade because it is already upgraded when you buy it. Dont listen to the people on these forums. Most of them have no idea what they are talking about and are VERY biased towards WGP.
Conclusion: If you have the money and want to great, accurate, quite gun go for the ANS Gx4. WGP is good, but besides their higher level guns (which are mcuh more expensive than ANS) they just can't match ANS in quality and service.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 21st, 2005 at 4:52 pm PST
 

Review Comments
smartparts Wednesday, February 9th, 2005 | 5:56 pm PST
Totally agree with you. OPnly part that really needs to be changed is the bolt. I hate that bolt that it comes with but now i have an oracle bolt which is very heavy but its derlin. Im uping it up to a shocktech. Anyways nice review. Good to see that someone actually cares about the quality rather then looks, and the wieght. Most people give it a 8 cuz its heavy which is stupid.
   

Geico not Gecko Monday, February 21st, 2005 | 4:51 pm PST
It's not even that heavy. Many of my friends also own cockers. Almost all of them are WGP and they really dont have that much of a weight difference. I think the VF is heavier actually, but that is just oppinion.
   

SuperMan23 Sunday, February 27th, 2005 | 8:22 am PST
Iv been thinking about this gun for a while...right now i own a WGP Triogy Pro and it shoots fine..i just think here soon like a year or so if i upgrade do you think this would be a better buy over the Smart Parts Impulse...i have read some great reveiws over both....im not a speed demon and really dont care if its electric or mech.....besides that what do you guys think ? I think both are really great looking guns.
   

Rush Legion Thursday, March 3rd, 2005 | 1:11 pm PST
how quiet is the gx-4
   

Geico not Gecko Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 1:11 pm PST
Superman23-The impulse is a good gun, and super fast too. The only problem that I have heard of them is that many times they take a lot more money to become a great gun. I have heard from many impusle owners that they wish that they had just bought a shocker instead. Now, that may be wrong, I have never owned an impulse. It reall comes down to this. Do you want speed or accuracy? The good thing about a cocker is that you can always put an eblade or a raceframe on it (for about 450 more) and make it ultra fast. With an impulse you can get a real nice barrel on it and make it pretty accurate (not as accurate as a cocker with a decent barrel on it though). Wow, I didnt answer your question at all. So let me go with my previous statement. Speed or accuracy?
   

Geico not Gecko Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 1:15 pm PST
Rush Legion- Its one of the quietest guns I have ever shot. Definitly quieter than my friends WGP Verticle feed and I think it is quieter than my other friends free flow. Quieter than a dye cocker too. The main sound on my ANS the flow or air, and bolt moving back and forth. It is a very quiet marker.
   

Geico not Gecko Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 1:41 pm PST
let me give you a better answer superman. If you have a steady source of income (which you should if you are playing paintball) then buy an ANS GX4 cocker. Then save money and buy an ANS Raceframe. It is faster than an Eblade 2 and it is the same price. It will be better in the long run, and its not like it is a slow gun to start off with, just not electronic (which will change if you buy a raceframe). So my advice is to go with the ans gx4 and then buy an ans raceframe for it later. Or if you want look into an orricle e-blade. It is another nice cocker from WGP, not as fast as an ANS GX4 with an ANS race frame on it, but still fast. I hope that helped more than my last post.
   

SuperMan23 Monday, March 14th, 2005 | 1:01 pm PST
Yah Thanks....i still dont know what i would like to get...right now i can find an Indian Creek Designs Freestyle for like 475 to 550 on ebay...boy i love those guns..i still might consider an ANS though
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media