paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Bhudduh's Review / Comments on Bhudduh's Review / Comments on Bhudduh's Review / Comments on Bhudduh's Review / Comments on Bhudduh's Review

Comments on Bhudduh's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Bhudduh Sunday, February 13th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month145 of 165 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath
Odyssey HaloB w/Rip Drive
Spudnuk'l Nylatron Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Hopper
Drop Forward
Strengths: See Below
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Alright, heard about this one from a friend of mine who works down at Alamo City Paintball and just had to try it out. I have to say, after test firing it, I just had to have it. This gun is great. The white to blue fade is pretty good looking, and it also comes in solid black. It comes stock with a clamp feed neck, which means no more having to sand down hoppers to make them fit. The stock barrel is pretty good, with a little bit of a curve around 70ft which was fixed with some velocity adjustments. The easy to use LCD allows you to go from 4 to 20 bps in seconds, keeps track of how many balls you've shot, and even includes a timer. I also liked the addition of the break beam anti chop eye system. I have to tell you, even though you can turn it off, don't, cause there will never be a reason to, unless you want to chop. I tried it both on and off for 350 shots each setting, and out of that I only broke 3, all of which where when the eye was off and I outran my hopper. Also cleaning on the fly is a breeze, all you have to do is pull the pin in the bolt up, pull the bolt out, and then you can run a squeegee straight through from the back all the way through the barrel. The trigger is very sensitive, which is a plus, but has a slight side to side shake, along with a little recoil. But once you get used to the recoil it actually keeps you from even noticing the side to side shake and doesn't detract from the gameplay.
Conclusion: Overall, this gun is definetly a bargin for the price. I only paid $280 for mine, and "I'm loving it." This is a good upgrade for those rec ballers who feel the need to go entry-level tourny. May not be as fancy as an Autococker or shoot as fast as an Angel, but it gets the job done for minimal price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 15th, 2005 at 7:08 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
duck_boy Sunday, February 13th, 2005 | 5:54 pm PST
what kind of barrel / foregrip threads are on this marker?
   

Moose0nTheLoose Sunday, February 13th, 2005 | 7:49 pm PST
i think you meant "as fancy as an autococker or as fast as an angel" autocockers are generally slower markers unless you have eblade. oh and thx for the review. nobody had reviewed it yet.
   

PaintJared Monday, February 14th, 2005 | 6:09 am PST
hehe autocockers aren't meant to be speed demons.
   

PiranhaUser Monday, February 14th, 2005 | 3:43 pm PST
what type of air were you running the gun on when you shot it?
   

ZWCoolkid Monday, February 14th, 2005 | 6:28 pm PST
Is this gun actually an electro because a friend of mine said it actually doesn't say that it is anywhere. I believe it is, I just want to make sure it's another blowback sear tripper being passed off as an electro.
   

MasterMiko Monday, February 14th, 2005 | 8:09 pm PST
since it has a break beam eye and an lcd i'm guessing its electronic, does anybody know how upgradeable this is going to be or is the SP ion where its at? i can't believe there are markers like this out now, i bought an eblade for the cocker i was building last year and it was more expensive than this, and the eblade's eye isn't even a break beam.
   

verypoorguy Monday, February 14th, 2005 | 8:42 pm PST
what is the bolt made out of?
   

verypoorguy Monday, February 14th, 2005 | 8:48 pm PST
oh yeah, are there any aftermarket parts for this gun too?
   

Bhudduh Tuesday, February 15th, 2005 | 4:49 am PST
Hope I answered most of your questions up till now, I'm trying to get a digital camera from my friend so I can take a picture and post it. And as for this vs. the SP Ion I had the pleasure to try one before I bought this(as part of a promotional trial) and found that both are really good, solid built guns. My choosing the Wrath was only a matter of personal preference, mostly cause I liked the look of it better than the Ion. And don't let people tell you the Ion is cheap because the plastic on it, cause the gun is all aluminum with plastic over it for the look.
   

supersam08 Tuesday, February 15th, 2005 | 2:31 pm PST
this isnt going to be another Mongoose is it, cuz that would be no good. Sorry if you own and like your goosey... AND what about this reaper by diablo, is that an electro???
   

LittleBigs Tuesday, February 15th, 2005 | 3:13 pm PST
The wrath is fully electronic. It can take most of the upgrades a Timmy can take because it uses many timmy parts. It's stock reg. is a bob long reg. The threads are autococker. My local store owner has told me this is better then the Ion and the BKO.
   

africanhottie Tuesday, February 15th, 2005 | 8:04 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by duck_boy
what kind of barrel / foregrip threads are on this marker?
cocker threads
   

PiranhaUser Wednesday, February 16th, 2005 | 7:03 am PST
Thats good news, i want to wait a little bit longer for a few more opinions though.
   

PBObsessive Wednesday, February 16th, 2005 | 7:25 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by verypoorguy
what is the bolt made out of?

aluminum *yuck* but delrin bolts will be available soon
   

Kill_StompyDBI Thursday, February 17th, 2005 | 1:57 pm PST
It comes with a rechargeable battery, right? Is that stock barrel a 14 inch? Would you recommend upgrading the barrel to a Boom-Stick or a All American?
   

Bhudduh Thursday, February 17th, 2005 | 2:49 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Kill_StompyDBI
It comes with a rechargeable battery, right? Is that stock barrel a 14 inch? Would you recommend upgrading the barrel to a Boom-Stick or a All American?

No, comes with a regular 9V. The stock barrel is a 14 in. I can't make any recommendations on which barrel to upgrade to because I haven't used either as of yet. The stock on this one isn't the greatest, but it is enough to get you by for awhile
   

puckface Thursday, February 17th, 2005 | 4:44 pm PST
so would you say Wrath or Ion? cuz im stuck between the two, they are virtually the same price (wrath is 5 bucks cheaper)
   

biglou Thursday, February 17th, 2005 | 5:24 pm PST
yea wich gun is better the ion or the wrath because im tring to choose between the two what are the diferences
   

Bhudduh Friday, February 18th, 2005 | 5:59 pm PST
I'd have to go with the Wrath as my recommendation here. The Ion is good, but the Wrath is a better buy overall in my opinion.
   

PBObsessive Saturday, February 19th, 2005 | 8:14 am PST
I second that. The only advantage the ion has is the spool valve design. The wrath is spring return, but can cycle just as fast. The wrath looks better, has an LCD screen, and is slightly faster and also slightly cheaper.
   
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media