paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Xhero's Review / Comments on Xhero's Review / Comments on Xhero's Review / Comments on Xhero's Review

Comments on Xhero's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Xhero Monday, February 14th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months37 of 99 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi Switch - Murders the Hammerhead.
Kaner Kit - Much better.
Basically any barrel system is better.

Marker Setup: Palmerized PMI/Sheridan Piranha Long Barrel.
AGD Sydarm
AGD Tac-One
AGD Morlocked E-Tac
Tippmann ProCarbine
Tippmann A-5
WGP Karnivor
Recommended
Paintballs:
None.

Strengths: Looks good, durable construction.
Weaknesses: Inaccurate after breakage, breaks in barrel.
Review: I purchased this barrel system with high hopes after reading many good reviews. Unfortunately, the reality turned out to be much worse than I could have anticipated. I purchased this direct from the manufacturer's website, buying the barrel and all 5 backs for nearly $300. Less than 4 months later I sold it on eBay for about $110, and was glad to be rid of it. I tested this system on two different guns, the Tippmann A-5 and the AGD Tac-One. That was the point in getting a "scenario" type barrel. To go with my scenario guns.

The first day I used this barrel system I was astounded at the inaccurate firing pattern. After using it for about 10 minutes I took myself out of the game and examined the barrel, discovering that I had a barrel break and the bore was dirty. This barrel most definitely won't shoot itself clean. I ended up having to pour water through the barrel to clean it and clean it with a battle swab, since the grooves prohibited my squeegee from cleaning it properly.

I thought it might have been the paint I was using at the time, Empire Fuel, so I decided to try out a variety. Marbellizers, Evil, Anarchy, Dynasty Dragon, and I even tried out some Menace I had won. All returned the same result. The barrel actually shoots as accurately as any other high end system, until you break a ball. Once that happens your accuracy is guaranteed be horrible unless you can scrub the barrel out with water, which is a complete pain when you're stomping around the woods at an all day scenario event.

After trying the different paint I decided to try it on another gun and ended up with the same results. This was an AGD Tac-One with a level ten bolt, so no chopping was going on in the marker. Once again I was less than impressed with the results. No matter what paint I used after the first break the barrel was worthless. It seemed to happen every hundred or so rounds for me.
Conclusion: I'd recommend staying away from this product. The hype just isn't true and for the price you can get much better products. I give this product a 1 for the flat out lie regarding the system's ability to clean itself after breakages.
Rating:
1 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Tom37 Thursday, February 24th, 2005 | 2:13 pm PST
Dont just give the barrel a 1. just because you think that it has an inability to clean its self... it brings down the rating. you said yourself that it fired well until you broke paint. I dont work for hammerhead and am not sponsored by them (i wish!) but you got to give this barrel at least a 5. if only for the sake of the rating.
   

lostazncause Monday, February 28th, 2005 | 9:07 pm PST
i did a lotta research and finally figured out why it was horrible for some and great for others.

PLEASE READ!!!!
THE HAMMERHEAD TIP IS A .687 TIP!!!! EVEN IF YOU HAVE A FIN KIT, NO PAINT OVER 687 WILL WORK ANYWAY!!!

i was told this by the father who owns the company at a trade show.
   

Xhero Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005 | 8:06 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Tom37
Dont just give the barrel a 1. just because you think that it has an inability to clean its self... it brings down the rating. you said yourself that it fired well until you broke paint. I dont work for hammerhead and am not sponsored by them (i wish!) but you got to give this barrel at least a 5. if only for the sake of the rating.
Why would I give an absolutely horrible product any more rating than a 1? Just because you fool yourself into thinking this is a decent product doesn't mean that I will. This kit is terrible compared to anything else on the market.
quote:
Originally posted by lostazncause
i did a lotta research and finally figured out why it was horrible for some and great for others.

PLEASE READ!!!!
THE HAMMERHEAD TIP IS A .687 TIP!!!! EVEN IF YOU HAVE A FIN KIT, NO PAINT OVER 687 WILL WORK ANYWAY!!!

i was told this by the father who owns the company at a trade show.

Yeah, I bet. So you're saying that they purposefully engineered a barrel with 5 backs that you can't use with paint over .687? That half the backs they make won't make a difference and you'll break paint anyways, huh? I'd believe they are capable of that. Just another reason not to buy Hammerhead, folks.
   

Tom37 Friday, March 4th, 2005 | 1:16 am PST
10/10, 10/10, 10/10, 9/10, 10/10- thats all thwe reviews on this product currently, aside from xhero's review- tell you anything?
Last edited on Friday, March 4th, 2005 at 1:17 am PST
   

Xhero Tuesday, March 8th, 2005 | 8:18 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Tom37
10/10, 10/10, 10/10, 9/10, 10/10- thats all thwe reviews on this product currently, aside from xhero's review- tell you anything?
It sure does. It says a bunch of kids that don't know much about paintball reviewed this prior to me telling the truth about this product. Very few things deserve a 10 out of 10, and you have 4 out of 5 reviews prior to mine rating it as the best system out? That's part of what's wrong with PBReview nowadays. People that have never actually used a product giving it an outstanding rating.
   

haruspex Sunday, March 20th, 2005 | 8:34 pm PST
Okay, from all ive read in these comments, you guys (and perhaps gals) argue like old married couples! Look, if the tip of the Hammerhead battle-stixxx is really a .687, than buy the fins that are below/up to .687! That simple. Most barrels that you get on the market nowadays are a pain to clean, this is no exception. For instance- the flatline barrel (for the Tippman 98/A-5) is highly incapable of firing accurate with a ball break. ITS COMMON SENSE!!! BALLS WILL BREAK NO MATTER WHAT, AT SOME POINT IN TIME, AND THE BARREL WILL BE INACCURATE UNTIL CLEANED!!! this is with the acception ofcourse, of the ceramic barrels. they are self claning (mainly). If it shot inaccurate from the beginning, than turn down your velocity a bit. every barrel for the tippman series (and perhaps other series) shoots highly inaccurate with too much force behind the ball. make sense? there is so much pressure, that when it comes out of the barrel, the gass pushes it off some direction. you need to do your research on how to maintain your gun and how to use it, cuz you are destroying a good rating on a barrel that many people like (you know, the people that know how to adapt to problems and how to play paintball). I'll be honest, i have never used this barrel. i am looking foreward to buying it. i just wanted to clarify that the problems that Xhero is claiming to be caused by the barrel, is actually clearly caused by his utter lack of common sense.
   

Trojan Monday, March 21st, 2005 | 1:18 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by haruspex
Okay, from all ive read in these comments, you guys (and perhaps gals) argue like old married couples! Look, if the tip of the Hammerhead battle-stixxx is really a .687, than buy the fins that are below/up to .687! That simple. Most barrels that you get on the market nowadays are a pain to clean, this is no exception. For instance- the flatline barrel (for the Tippman 98/A-5) is highly incapable of firing accurate with a ball break. ITS COMMON SENSE!!! BALLS WILL BREAK NO MATTER WHAT, AT SOME POINT IN TIME, AND THE BARREL WILL BE INACCURATE UNTIL CLEANED!!! this is with the acception ofcourse, of the ceramic barrels. they are self claning (mainly). If it shot inaccurate from the beginning, than turn down your velocity a bit. every barrel for the tippman series (and perhaps other series) shoots highly inaccurate with too much force behind the ball. make sense? there is so much pressure, that when it comes out of the barrel, the gass pushes it off some direction. you need to do your research on how to maintain your gun and how to use it, cuz you are destroying a good rating on a barrel that many people like (you know, the people that know how to adapt to problems and how to play paintball). I'll be honest, i have never used this barrel. i am looking foreward to buying it. i just wanted to clarify that the problems that Xhero is claiming to be caused by the barrel, is actually clearly caused by his utter lack of common sense.

Maybe you should try the barrel before you comment on whether or not someone is lacking common sense. Do you honestly think he would complain about the barrel not shooting itself clean, if the barrel only broke say 2% of all the balls through it? The reality is that this barrel kit breaks balls like mad. The reality is that it costs $300 and for $40 you can get a barrel that will perform the same. The 2 sets of barrel kits that Xhero received were in fact pieces of crap. Why would he rate something good if he was sent crap? Perhaps he was just unlucky to receive a poorly constructed barrel that happens every once in awhile, but that should still be reflected in the rating.

   

Xhero Monday, March 21st, 2005 | 2:21 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by haruspex
Okay, from all ive read in these comments, you guys (and perhaps gals) argue like old married couples! Look, if the tip of the Hammerhead battle-stixxx is really a .687, than buy the fins that are below/up to .687! That simple. Most barrels that you get on the market nowadays are a pain to clean, this is no exception. For instance- the flatline barrel (for the Tippman 98/A-5) is highly incapable of firing accurate with a ball break. ITS COMMON SENSE!!! BALLS WILL BREAK NO MATTER WHAT, AT SOME POINT IN TIME, AND THE BARREL WILL BE INACCURATE UNTIL CLEANED!!! this is with the acception ofcourse, of the ceramic barrels. they are self claning (mainly). If it shot inaccurate from the beginning, than turn down your velocity a bit. every barrel for the tippman series (and perhaps other series) shoots highly inaccurate with too much force behind the ball. make sense? there is so much pressure, that when it comes out of the barrel, the gass pushes it off some direction. you need to do your research on how to maintain your gun and how to use it, cuz you are destroying a good rating on a barrel that many people like (you know, the people that know how to adapt to problems and how to play paintball). I'll be honest, i have never used this barrel. i am looking foreward to buying it. i just wanted to clarify that the problems that Xhero is claiming to be caused by the barrel, is actually clearly caused by his utter lack of common sense.
Wow, kid. You're right. My lack of common sense made me buy a barrel I should have know wasn't going to work. Especially after all the people I talked to reminded me of the fact that it wouldn't work. I put over 20,000 paintballs through my A-5's Flatline barrel and never had a single break. Not a single break. At least Tippmann doesn't make outrageous claims regarding the Flatline's performance. I bought 400 dollars of paint just to test the Hammerhead out. None of it worked and it all had problems. You want to live in ignorance of the truth, go right on ahead.

Then you even admit you've never used it, go ahead and drop your money on this. I encourage you to do it. Making mistakes is the only way you'll learn. Other people claim the barrel system increases their skill by 200%, that it can get one hit eliminations at 300 yards, that it shoots itself clean in two shots. Whatever. Run with the hype herd, talk it up (even though you've never shot it), have a good time.
   

haruspex Wednesday, March 23rd, 2005 | 8:43 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Xhero

Wow, kid. You're right. My lack of common sense made me buy a barrel I should have know wasn't going to work. Especially after all the people I talked to reminded me of the fact that it wouldn't work. I put over 20,000 paintballs through my A-5's Flatline barrel and never had a single break. Not a single break. At least Tippmann doesn't make outrageous claims regarding the Flatline's performance. I bought 400 dollars of paint just to test the Hammerhead out. None of it worked and it all had problems. You want to live in ignorance of the truth, go right on ahead.

Then you even admit you've never used it, go ahead and drop your money on this. I encourage you to do it. Making mistakes is the only way you'll learn. Other people claim the barrel system increases their skill by 200%, that it can get one hit eliminations at 300 yards, that it shoots itself clean in two shots. Whatever. Run with the hype herd, talk it up (even though you've never shot it), have a good time.


Im just trying to prove a point, in the way that i understood Xheros's comments. You said that it shot way off to begin with, mostly this is caused by velocity being too high. The ball breaks are common, though. i mean seriously. if you have a ball break after shooting 250 paintballs, than thats good. but i do agree with trojan (now that i think about it) that yea, you must have broken alot of balls to complain about it. quick question, did the barrel come with a warranty at all? if it did, wh dont you send it back for a new one? maybe you just got a bad barrel. And yea, i did admit that i have never used the barrel. I would rather give the impression of a person that hasnt used it(an outsider veiw you might say) than a false impression that i have used it. well, have fun yall. (by the way, i decided not to buy the hammerhead barrel, mainly cuz of the price, and i had to think about what you said before it made much sense. i was using more of a "Majority Rules" outlook before. Sorry if i offended you.)
   

Tom37 Sunday, March 27th, 2005 | 8:42 am PST
so just because 1 guy thinks this barrel is bad your not going to buy it?! thats crazy, whats to say that he didnt get a bad barrel- judging by the rest of the reviews he did.
   

Tom37 Sunday, March 27th, 2005 | 8:43 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Xhero

It sure does. It says a bunch of kids that don't know much about paintball reviewed this prior to me telling the truth about this product. Very few things deserve a 10 out of 10, and you have 4 out of 5 reviews prior to mine rating it as the best system out? That's part of what's wrong with PBReview nowadays. People that have never actually used a product giving it an outstanding rating.

Hang on- ive written a review on this barrel- and im pretty sure ive used it...
Yea so if a barrrel has no faults why give it anything less than a 10?


Also- almost no products deserve a 1!
Last edited on Sunday, March 27th, 2005 at 8:49 am PST
   

haruspex Monday, March 28th, 2005 | 3:28 pm PST
yea, i do agree with you in the rating of the barrel. i mean, cmon. nothing deserves a one. to give a barrel a one, it would need to not screw in right, be way bigger than the paintball, weigh 100 lbs, and not shoot painballs at all and it needs to be 10ft long. anyways, i decided to order the barrel, and so i bought 3 bore sizes, and it should be coming here pretty qick. if i dont like it, like xhero said, than i will post that he was right. if not, than i will rate it myself. until then, have fun!
Last edited on Monday, March 28th, 2005 at 3:30 pm PST
   

Tom37 Wednesday, March 30th, 2005 | 12:44 pm PST
good choice! you wont be disapointed- i hope you sent it ups though... mine took like three months to get here, although i live in england this was a bit of a pi$$ take.
   

Xhero Friday, April 1st, 2005 | 8:06 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by haruspex


Im just trying to prove a point, in the way that i understood Xheros's comments. You said that it shot way off to begin with, mostly this is caused by velocity being too high. The ball breaks are common, though. i mean seriously. if you have a ball break after shooting 250 paintballs, than thats good. but i do agree with trojan (now that i think about it) that yea, you must have broken alot of balls to complain about it. quick question, did the barrel come with a warranty at all? if it did, wh dont you send it back for a new one? maybe you just got a bad barrel. And yea, i did admit that i have never used the barrel. I would rather give the impression of a person that hasnt used it(an outsider veiw you might say) than a false impression that i have used it. well, have fun yall. (by the way, i decided not to buy the hammerhead barrel, mainly cuz of the price, and i had to think about what you said before it made much sense. i was using more of a "Majority Rules" outlook before. Sorry if i offended you.)

No offense taken, man. I did try to return it. It took me a month to get the barrel originally, then the owner of the company had me send the first bad barrel back and sent me a new one. So during the time I didn't even have the barrel system the price dropped about 70 bucks from what I paid. Then when I got the new one it didn't work, either. The owner of the company again wanted to send me another new barrel, and that wasn't the solution I wanted. I had already waited almost three months for the barrel, a good portion of the paintball season in Wisconsin, and didn't want to make it five.

I feel that I should report when there are problems of this magnitude with a product. Very rarely have I seen paintball manufacturers lie about their products. Overhype, sure. Flat out lie, not so often. This is a case where the manufacturer is lying about their product's ability and I'll judge it accordingly because of that. The ability to shoot clean after a barrel break is very important while playing. I don't demand that it shoot darts after a break, but I do demand that it have functional accuracy. This barrel fails in that regard, and then Hammerhead lies about it.

I guarantee I'll rate any product that affects my game like the Hammerhead did a one. Why do you care if the rating goes down based on someone's negative experience? It's like you're defending the product for no reason other than the fact you bought it, which doesn't make sense when there are plenty of other barrel systems out that work better. Feel free to criticize me for telling the truth all you want. It won't change the fact that this barrel system is junk from the ground up.
Last edited on Friday, April 1st, 2005 at 8:08 am PST
   

Tom37 Monday, April 25th, 2005 | 8:58 am PST
U GAVE THE ION TRIGGER A 10/10?!?!?! i thought that nothing deserves a 10...
Last edited on Monday, April 25th, 2005 at 8:58 am PST
   

bafrank@att.net Saturday, May 7th, 2005 | 12:44 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Xhero

It won't change the fact that this barrel system is junk from the ground up.


Except that your review contradicts virtually all others who use this barrel, including myself. I can "make" this barrel shoot badly. With care in the set up (correctly sized fin and a clean bore) this barrel shoots a smaller group at 150 to 200 feet than any other I have used...and I have tried several that have been rated excellent. My Flatline is finicky, this barrel is a piece of cake shooting 6-8" groups(in still air) at these distances with virtually all brands of paint I have tried.
   

bafrank@att.net Saturday, May 7th, 2005 | 12:45 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Xhero

It won't change the fact that this barrel system is junk from the ground up.


Except that your review contradicts virtually all others who use this barrel, including myself. I can "make" this barrel shoot badly. With care in the set up (correctly sized fin and a clean bore) this barrel shoots a smaller group at 150 to 200 feet than any other I have used...and I have tried several that have been rated excellent. My Flatline is finicky, this barrel is a piece of cake shooting 6-8" groups(in still air) at these distances with virtually all brands of paint I have tried.
   

Xhero Wednesday, May 11th, 2005 | 7:58 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Tom37
U GAVE THE ION TRIGGER A 10/10?!?!?! i thought that nothing deserves a 10...
It's a good product handmade by a great guy that was delivered on time as promised. Why wouldn't I give him a good rating? I only bag on products that suck.
quote:
Originally posted by bafrank@att.net

Except that your review contradicts virtually all others who use this barrel, including myself. I can "make" this barrel shoot badly. With care in the set up (correctly sized fin and a clean bore) this barrel shoots a smaller group at 150 to 200 feet than any other I have used...and I have tried several that have been rated excellent. My Flatline is finicky, this barrel is a piece of cake shooting 6-8" groups(in still air) at these distances with virtually all brands of paint I have tried.

You shoot a 6 inch group at 200 feet, huh? Yeah, ok. While you're grossly exaggerating you should throw some other wild claims in there like it has improved your game 3000 percent and that you've never lost a match since you started using it. Tell people how you regularly shoot through 1 inch holes to gog enemys at 400 feet. Throw some stuff like that in there and add to the hype.
   

Tom37 Monday, June 6th, 2005 | 9:37 am PST
well there was this 1 time.......... :-)
   

bafrank@att.net Friday, June 10th, 2005 | 7:33 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Xhero

You shoot a 6 inch group at 200 feet, huh? Yeah, ok. While you're grossly exaggerating you should throw some other wild claims in there like it has improved your game 3000 percent and that you've never lost a match since you started using it. Tell people how you regularly shoot through 1 inch holes to gog enemys at 400 feet. Throw some stuff like that in there and add to the hype.

No, my groups open up to 8" at 200 ft firing from a clamped rest setup on a heavy table. No human factor involved, just the quality of the barrel. Old paint flies in a spiral pattern. Intentionally broken paint in the barrel takes a long time to self clean. (carry a swab during the game...solves the problem quickly. I have never used a barrel that shot worth a darn when contaminated with broken paint or rainwater. Particularly my Flatline)

There may be smooth bores out there that shoot as well, but I don't have the time or the money to take chances. I have been able to get this barrel to shoot badly by using the incorrect fin or not cleaning the barrel well after it has become contaminated (In 10,000 rounds through it so far I have had only 8 or 10 barrel breaks when using inferior paint) I have had other players shoot or splatter into the end of my barrel. Really is odd when accuracy goes haywire and you don't know what has happened. I have shot paint accurately, with the proper fin, with paint sizes ranging from .683 to .693. Rather than claims that positive ratings are coming from company employees, maybe the negative ratings are coming from the competition.
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media