paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on BottleRocket's Review / Comments on BottleRocket's Review / Comments on BottleRocket's Review / Comments on BottleRocket's Review / Comments on BottleRocket's Review

Comments on BottleRocket's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

BottleRocket Tuesday, February 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested34 of 105 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k3 Mech Cocker - Slower, more accurate
2k2 Worrbladed Black Magic - Faster, more accurate, slightly heavier, more efficient
Lasoya Timmy - Faster, equally efficient, less accurate
2k3 Matrix - Faster, equally efficient, heavier, more accurate, LESS KICK
Rat Impulse - Equal speed, less efficient, less accurate
Marker Setup: Stock
Strengths: Size, price, shells
Weaknesses: Sock parts, upgradability
Review: Recballers, this is for you. I know how it felt to go out there with a rental gun back in the day and be next to a guy with a timmy and see 6 or 7 balls of his fly for every one of mine. it is depressing. dont waste your time on spyder clones, give this a shot.

This marker will enable people to get into paintball and level the playing field among other rec players. For woodsball I still would recomend an A5 before this gun, but for all around recball, this is a great marker. its better then most markers in it's price range, and better then all of them at what it does. It is fairly light and easy to handle, big advantages for beginners. This marker will allow new players to have a fast marker to help them keep up with the big guns for cheap. It might not be as nice, as fast or as consistent, but its a hell of alot better then spyder clones, impys and other low end electros.

As for tourney play, I dont recomend this as a primary gun. Go for something that has an established aftermarket and reputation. The ion is a good marker, but just not cut out for Novice or higher level playing. It would be ok to use to try out tourney style play, but not if you want to stick with it. Invest in a DM4/5 or a Proto.

However, there is not enough of an aftermarket. it is cheap feeling compared to other markers i have used. stock parts arent the best. I'd compare it to the WGP Trilogy in that it is somewhat like a stripped down Shocker like a Trilogy is a bottom of the line cocker.
Conclusion: I'd recomend this marker to anyone looking for a start in the sport without spending too much money. Sure you can go out a buy a used angel for $400, but that is older, worn out and has no warranty. The Ion is a great marker for what it is built to do. As for SP's claim that it is a "high end marker for $300", i have to disagree. I say it is among the upper of the low end electros with the impys.
Rating:
7 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
goldengun Tuesday, February 15th, 2005 | 9:54 pm PST
Dude this IS a high end gun, and for 300 bucks its amazing what you get. As far as upgrades, there's not many right now, but there will probably be new boards, bodys, bolts, and other internals.
   

Freaky Behavior Tuesday, February 15th, 2005 | 10:08 pm PST
i do agree with u on the fact that this is an upper low end gun, but i would probably give it an eight or a nine just because u have to admit for that price, this is unbeatable. it is much better than an imp but as for facing of against real high end guns such as dm4's, dm5's, a4 flies, 05 speeds, e2 cockers, private label shockers, many timmies, g7's, ego's, and maybe like dye, gen e, or aardvark trixes, this gun cant really compete not to mention keep up
   

LuckXIII Wednesday, February 16th, 2005 | 2:26 am PST
7 is close to a fair rating i would think. The can't really give a higher 8-9-10 just because of the price and whats its competing against. If this was the case then we should give 8-9-10 for brass eagle markers becaus their cheap, not great but hey they do their job as a blowback entry marker. 300 is still pretty high for an electro just incase if you compare it to whats in that price range also
   

The Misfit 11 Wednesday, February 16th, 2005 | 5:10 am PST
Have u even shot the gun?
   

Flynnruss Prod. Wednesday, February 16th, 2005 | 6:00 am PST
This isnt a comparison war this is a review for what you get for 300 bucks......
   

bbrp54 Wednesday, February 16th, 2005 | 8:29 am PST
Prod. is correct. Review this gun in it's own merits and not those of other guns. If you are going to compare it with other guns do it withing the price range of 250-350 (maybe 400). You will not see many guns that have these features in this price range.
   

Sporefrog Wednesday, February 16th, 2005 | 9:57 am PST
None of you people seem to have never heard of the BKO. You guys should really check out the 05 BKO.
   

james52 Wednesday, February 16th, 2005 | 12:32 pm PST
Obviously there is no upgrades for it yet, the gun just came out, i think in a couple months there will be tons of upgrades you can get, triggers, boards, feed necks etc. I think it also deserves a higher score, i mean look at the price 300 bucks and this is a lot better than an impy, i think in the future you may be able to upgrade it to be almost as good as a shocker.
   

papaintballer15 Wednesday, February 16th, 2005 | 3:51 pm PST
theres lots of ups and improvements coming for it in the near future, for 300 bucks the gun mows. Few little parts on it and it could easily compete. Alot of people cant shoot faster then this gun on their high end guns (legit anyway), unless raking or have something really fast and capable of shooting fast with little to no effort like flys and matrix's

also 05 bko and bushy arnt out yet... and other versions of bkos get smoked by the ION. do bkos have break beam eyes no? do they cost 300? no are they small? no are they light? no
i can keep going on. The ion is the best buy there is at the moment.
   

LuckXIII Wednesday, February 16th, 2005 | 4:01 pm PST
280 Diablo Wrath 200psi operation 20bps w/ 2 break beam eyes. 2k5 bko will (for now) start price of 350 with pds system, new lighter tighter body, 350 more than likely will drop quickly and who knows what the final bko might also have added on
   

RgMekanic Wednesday, February 16th, 2005 | 9:34 pm PST
Are you all on crack? BottleRocket is right on the money.

Its a cheap Shocker clone. And how can you all disagree with him, when I can almost guarantee that NONE of you have held one, let alone shot it.

I've seen bolt kits for spool valves go for more money than this gun, how do you think they're getting the price down so low? By using low end components, that no one even knows how they will stand up over a month or more of playing.

All I can say, is keep your hearsay to yourselves, until you've actually played with one for 6+ months.
   

mountainexplor Wednesday, February 16th, 2005 | 10:53 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by RgMekanic
Are you all on crack? BottleRocket is right on the money.

Its a cheap Shocker clone. And how can you all disagree with him, when I can almost guarantee that NONE of you have held one, let alone shot it.

I've seen bolt kits for spool valves go for more money than this gun, how do you think they're getting the price down so low? By using low end components, that no one even knows how they will stand up over a month or more of playing.

All I can say, is keep your hearsay to yourselves, until you've actually played with one for 6+ months.


Amen... NOBODY knows how this gun is going to hold up in the long run. NOBODY. Its simple physics-- if it is cheaper, then cheaper time, and parts had to of gone into it.. Maybe Smart parts has a good (entry level gun)--I say that because I highly doubt you will EVER see this gun being shot at an NPPL PRO tournament. I owned an Odyssey O2 $299.00 and it shot great,, would I use it at a tournament--no! I would be too afraid of how well it will keep up and perform on a consistent basis. All Im saying is leave the man who posted this review in peace. I feel it was the best (unbiased) review of the gun so far.
   

weebl_man Thursday, February 17th, 2005 | 1:01 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by LuckXIII
7 is close to a fair rating i would think. The can't really give a higher 8-9-10 just because of the price and whats its competing against. If this was the case then we should give 8-9-10 for brass eagle markers becaus their cheap, not great but hey they do their job as a blowback entry marker. 300 is still pretty high for an electro just incase if you compare it to whats in that price range also
the point is that brass eagles suck overall...and for their price they suck more...


I shouldnt say anything bout the ION cuz I've only tested it...uts ok, but I might actually consider getting one
   

leemoe5500 Thursday, February 17th, 2005 | 1:22 pm PST
The 05 bko is only semi auto.
   

leemoe5500 Thursday, February 17th, 2005 | 1:29 pm PST
The 05 bko is only semi auto.
   

bunkerdive Thursday, February 17th, 2005 | 3:12 pm PST
it does feel like a shocker. it is much better than a bko. (i own both) and brass eagle....dont even go there
   

Turtle1 Thursday, February 17th, 2005 | 3:13 pm PST
Good Post!
   

brandon davis Thursday, February 17th, 2005 | 3:46 pm PST
This gun is NOT a low end gun. i dont know what u r talking about. For 300 bucks this gun is a great deal. I think that the ions will be a big hit
   

LuckXIII Thursday, February 17th, 2005 | 3:51 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by weebl_man

the point is that brass eagles suck overall...and for their price they suck more...


Do they suck? yes. But you can't find another blowback for 13 dollars. With dirt prices on few time use markers, they give intro to new players.

quote:
Flynnruss Prod.

This isnt a comparison war this is a review for what you get for 300 bucks......

Part of a good review is comparison though. Course you have how the gun performs but you also have another body comparing it to other guns at the same price range or cheaper.
   

pulseXX Thursday, February 17th, 2005 | 5:53 pm PST
I agree with anyone who thinks this gun deserves a 9 or a 10. give this gun a few months and the companies will be pumping out mods for it and it will be so upgradeable that it will be a new shocker!...and so what if it has a plastic body if u break it or scratch it bad u can buy a new one and in a different color no other gun offers that. its a good gun and dont compair it to DM5, and DM4 thats just stupid they are 5 times the price!! this gun owns any gun in the 500$ and under market.
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media